Statistics Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Newfoundland and Labrador's farm population: changes over a lifetime

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Newfoundland and Labrador's farm population had increased by 0.7% since 2001 to 1,175.

In 1951, when the province's farm population count was compiled for the first time, 19,975 people were living on a farm—5.5% of the province's inhabitants. By 2006, the farm population accounted for only 0.2% of the province. In less than one lifetime Newfoundland and Labrador has moved from 1 in 18 inhabitants living on a farm to 1 in 430. At the same time, the province's total population has grown from 361,416 in 1951 to 505,470 in 2006.

In the middle of the last century, farmers in the province worked on a large number of small farms. In 1951, there were 3,626 farms, with an average of 23 acres per farm. By 2006, the number had decreased to 558 farms, with an average of 160 acres per farm. However, the total farm area in the province had increased, from 85,040 acres in 1951 to 89,441 acres in 2006.

Age of Newfoundland and Labrador's farm population

Newfoundland and Labrador has an aging population, and the story is no different for the province's farm population. In 2006 those aged 65 and older made up 9.6% of the farm population, up from 6.3% in 1971. Those 65 and over in 2006 made up slightly more of the province's general population, at 13.9%.

Language profile of Newfoundland and Labrador's farm population

Of the province's entire farm population in 2006, 99.3% reported English as their mother tongue, 0.6% reported French, and the remainder (0.1%) reported a mother tongue other than English or French. The profile for province's general population in 2006 differed, with 97.7% reporting English as their mother tongue, 0.4% reporting French, and the remaining 1.8% citing another language. Of the other languages spoken by the province's general population, the Montagnais-Naskapi languages were the largest group, followed by the Chinese languages and then German.

Place of birth of Newfoundland and Labrador's farm population

The 2006 Census of Population counted 30 immigrants in the province's farm population or 2.8% of the total provincial farm population. In 1971, immigrants made up 1.3% of the province's farm population. Conversely, immigrants made up 1.7% of the province's general population in 2006, which is unchanged from 1.7% in 1971.

The British were a significant proportion (45.2%) of the province's immigrant farm population, but they made up less than 28% of immigrants in the province's general population. About 26% of the province's immigrant farm population was from the United States, compared to about 17% of immigrants in the province's general population. Tied for the second most common place of birth for Newfoundland and Labrador's immigrant farm population was Germany at 25.9%, compared to 4.7% in the province's general population.

Newfoundland and Labrador's farm family finances

The total income of a census family is the sum of all incomes received during the calendar year preceding the census by all members of that family aged 15 years of age and over. Income includes wages and salaries, net farm income, net non-farm self-employment income, government transfer payments, investment income, retirement pensions, and other money income.

In 2006, 155 provincial farm families were involved in an incorporated farm. This is considerably less than the 365 farm families in the province involved in an unincorporated farm in 2006, down 17.7% from 440 families in 2001.

The median total income for farm families on unincorporated farms in Newfoundland and Labrador in 2005 was $58,193, compared to $49,639 received by census families in the province's general population.

Education of Newfoundland and Labrador farm operators

In 2006, 15.4% of the province's farm operators had university degrees (bachelor level and above) relatively unchanged from 15.5% in 2001. Approximately 15% of the province's total labour force fell into this category.

Proportionally more farm operators reported apprenticeship or trades certificates or diplomas than the labour force (14.9% compared with 14.4%). This preference may well be the result of a number of factors, including time required away from the farm, and the preference for the more practical approach of college courses on animal care and field-cropping techniques.

What Newfoundland and Labrador's farm operators do

In the 2006 Census, about 63% of farm operators in Newfoundland and Labrador reported their main occupation as non-agricultural. This increased from 49.6% in 2001 and suggests that more operators are working off the farm. A higher proportion of the province's female operators reported a non-agricultural occupation than males (67.7% versus 61.4%).

Among the non-agricultural occupations, the top occupations for the province's male operators were occupations unique to forestry operations, mining, oil and gas extraction and fishing, excluding labourers, while for women operators, teachers and professors were predominantly reported.

Statistique Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

La population agricole de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador : évolution au fil du temps

Information archivée dans le Web

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La population agricole de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a augmenté de 0,7 % depuis 2001 pour s'établir à 1 175 personnes.

En 1951, lorsque le dénombrement de la population agricole a été fait pour la première fois, il y avait 19 975 personnes qui vivaient sur une ferme, ce qui représentait 5,5 % de la population de la province. En 2006, la population agricole ne représentait que 0,2 % de la population de la province. En 55 ans, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador est passée d'une proportion de 1 habitant sur 18 vivant sur une ferme à 1 sur 430. Dans la même période, la population totale de la province est passée de 361 416 en 1951 à 505 470 en 2006.

Au milieu du siècle dernier, les agriculteurs de la province travaillaient dans un grand nombre de petites fermes. En 1951, il y avait 3 626 fermes, d'une superficie moyenne de 23 acres. En 2006, il n'y avait plus que 558 fermes d'une superficie moyenne de 160 acres. Toutefois, la superficie agricole totale à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a augmenté, passant de 85 040 acres en 1951 à 89 441 acres en 2006.

Âge de la population agricole de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

La population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador vieillit, et la situation n'est pas différente pour la population agricole de la province. En 2006, les personnes âgées de 65 ans et plus représentaient 9,6 % de la population agricole de la province, en hausse comparativement à 6,3 % en 1971. Les personnes de 65 ans et plus en 2006 représentaient une proportion un peu plus élevée de la population générale, soit 13,9 %.

Profil linguistique de la population agricole de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Sur l'ensemble de la population agricole de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador en 2006, 99,3 % ont déclaré que l'anglais était leur langue maternelle, 0,6 % le français et le reste (0,1 %), une langue maternelle autre que le français ou l'anglais. Le profil pour la population générale de la province en 2006 était différent, puisque 97,7 % ont déclaré avoir comme langue maternelle l'anglais, 0,4 % le français et les 1,8 % restants, une autre langue. Parmi les autres langues parlées par la population générale de la province, les langues montagnais et naskapi constituaient le plus grand groupe, suivis par le chinois, puis l'allemand.

Lieu de naissance de la population agricole de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Dans le Recensement de la population de 2006, on a dénombré 30 immigrants dans la population agricole de la province, c'est-à-dire 2,8 % de la population agricole totale de la province. En 1971, les immigrants constituaient 1,3 % de la population agricole de la province. En revanche, les immigrants représentaient 1,7 % de la population générale en 2006, ce qui est demeuré inchangé comparativement à 1971 (1,7 %).

Les Britanniques constituaient une bonne proportion (45,2 %) de la population agricole immigrante de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador mais représentaient moins de 28 % des immigrants de la population générale de la province. Environ 26 % de la population agricole immigrante de la province provenaient des États-Unis, comparativement à environ 17 % des immigrants dans la population générale de la province. L'Allemagne partageait le deuxième rang du lieu de naissance le plus courant de la population agricole immigrante de la province, représentant 25,9 % comparativement à 4,7 % de la population générale de la province.

Situation financière des familles agricoles à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Le revenu total d'une famille de recensement est la somme de tous les revenus touchés au cours de l'année civile précédant le recensement par tous les membres de cette famille âgés de 15 ans et plus. On entend par revenu les salaires et les traitements, le revenu agricole net, le revenu net provenant d'un travail autonome non agricole, les transferts gouvernementaux, le revenu de placement, le revenu de retraite et d'autres revenus monétaires.

En 2006, 155 familles agricoles de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador vivaient sur une ferme constituée en société. Ceci est considérablement inférieur aux 365 familles agricoles de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador vivant sur une ferme non constituée en société en 2006, comparativement à 440 familles en 2001, ce qui constitue une baisse de 17,7 %.

Le revenu total médian des familles agricoles de la province vivant sur les fermes non constituées en société en 2005 était de 58 193 $, comparativement au montant de 49 639 $ touché par les familles de recensement de la population générale de la province.

Scolarité des exploitants agricoles de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

En 2006, 15,4 % des exploitants agricoles de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador avaient un grade universitaire (baccalauréat ou niveau supérieur), ce qui est demeuré relativement inchangé par rapport à 15,5 % en 2001. Environ 15 % de la population active totale de la province étaient dans cette catégorie.

Proportionnellement, plus d'exploitants agricoles de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ont déclaré avoir un certificat ou un diplôme d'apprenti ou de travailleur spécialisé que la population active (14,9 % comparativement à 14,4 %). Cette préférence peut très bien découler d'un certain nombre de facteurs, notamment le temps pendant lequel il faut s'absenter de la ferme, et la préférence pour une approche plus pratique, c'est-à-dire des cours collégiaux sur le soin des animaux et les techniques des grandes cultures.

Ce que font les exploitants agricoles de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Dans le Recensement de 2006, environ 63 % des exploitants agricoles de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ont déclaré que leur profession principale était autre que l'agriculture. Il s'agit d'une augmentation comparativement à 49,6 % depuis 2001, de sorte que plus d'exploitants travaillent à l'extérieur de la ferme. Une plus forte proportion de femmes exploitantes agricoles de la province ont déclaré avoir une profession autre que l'agriculture, comparativement aux hommes (67,7 % par rapport à 61,4 %).

Parmi les professions autres qu'agricole, la première profession pour les hommes exploitants de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador était les professions propres à l'exploitation forestière, minière, pétrolière et gazéifère et à la pêche, sauf les manœuvres, tandis que pour les femmes exploitantes, enseignante et professeure surtout.