Statistics Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Calculating the mode

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

In a set of data, the mode is the most frequently observed data value. There may be no mode if no value appears more than any other. There may also be two modes (bimodal), three modes (trimodal), or four or more modes (multimodal). In the case of grouped frequency distributions, the modal class is the class with the largest frequency.

Mode = the most frequently observed data value

As a set of data can have more than one mode, the mode does not necessarily indicate the centre of a data set. The mode will be close to the mean and median if the data have a normal or near-normal distribution. In fact, if the distribution is symmetrical and unimodal, then the mean, the median and the mode may have the same value.

Categorical or discrete variables

For categorical or discrete variables, the mode is simply the most observed value. To work out the mode, observations do not have to be placed in order, although for ease of calculation it is advisable to do so.

Example 1 – Categorical or discrete variables

During a hockey tournament, Anne scored 7, 5, 0, 7, 8, 5, 5, 4, 1, and 5 points in 10 games. The mode of her data set is 5 because this value occurred the most often (four times). This can be interpreted to mean that if one game were selected at random, a good guess would be that Anne would score 5 points.

Example 2 – Categorical or discrete variables

During Marco's 12-game basketball season, he scored 14, 14, 15, 16, 14, 16, 16, 18, 14, 16, 16 and 14 points. This data set is bimodal; there are two modes, 14 and 16, because both of them occur the most often (five times).

Example 3 – Categorical or discrete variables

The following data set represents the number of touchdowns scored by Jerome in his high-school football season:

0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 2, 3, 1, 0, 1, 2, 3, 1, 0

First, put the data set in order:

0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 1, 1, 2, 2, 3, 3

Find and compare the mean, median and mode.

Mode = most frequently observed data value = 0

The mode is 0 because this value occurs most often. If one game were selected at random, the mode tells us that a good guess would be that Jerome would not score a touchdown.

Mean =

mathematical symbol for sum
x ÷ n
= 14 ÷ 14
= 1

However, on average (mean), Jerome will score one touchdown per game even though the mode indicates he did not score a touchdown in a lot of games. In this case, the mode does not provide a useful measure of the player's performance.

Median = (n + 1) ÷ 2th value
= (14 + 1) ÷ 2
= 15 ÷ 2
= 7.5

Average = (value below median + value above median) ÷ 2
= (seventh value + eighth value) ÷ 2
= (1 + 1) ÷ 2
= 1

Because the number of values in the data set is even, the median does not fit perfectly in the centre of the data set. Instead, the median had to be found using the above equations. According to the results, the median states that Jerome will score one touchdown per game.

Grouped variables (continuous or discrete)

When continuous or discrete variables are grouped in tables, the mode is defined as the class interval where most observations lie. This is called the modal-class interval.

In the example of the height of 50 Grade 10 girls, the modal-class interval would be 160 –< 165 cm, as this interval has the most observations in it.

The mode is rarely used as a measure of central tendency for numeric variables. However, for categorical variables, the mode is more useful because the mean and median do not make sense.

Next, you could determine the midrange of the modal class. The midrange is simply the midpoint between the highest and lowest values in a class. The mode is not used very often in conjunction with the midrange because it gives only a very poor estimate of the average.

The mode can be used with categorical data, but the mean and median cannot. The mode may or may not exist, and there may be more than one value for the mode.

Summary

Circumstances generally dictate which measure of central tendency—mean, median or mode—is the most appropriate. If you are interested in a total, the mean tends to be the most meaningful measure of central tendency because it is the total divided by the number of data. For example, the mean income of the individuals in a family tells you how much each family member can spend on life's necessities. The median measure is good for finding the central value and the mode is used to describe the most typical case.

Statistique Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Calcul du mode

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Le mode est la valeur la plus souvent observée dans un ensemble de données. Il se peut qu'il n'y ait dans cet ensemble aucun mode si aucune des valeurs n'y apparaît plus qu'une autre. Il est aussi possible qu'il y ait dans le même ensemble deux (bimodal), trois (trimodal) ou quatre modes ou plus (multimodal). Dans le cas des distributions de fréquences groupées, la classe modale est celle dont la fréquence est la plus élevée.

Mode = la donnée la plus fréquemment observée

Un ensemble de données peut compter plus d'un mode. Le mode n'indique pas nécessairement le centre d'un ensemble de données. Il se trouvera à proximité de la moyenne et de la médiane si la distribution des données est normale ou quasi-normale. En fait, si la distribution est la fois symétrique et unimodale, il se peut que la moyenne, la médiane et le mode aient tous la même valeur.

Variables nominales ou discrètes

Pour les variables nominales ou discrètes, le mode est simplement la valeur la plus observée. Pour déterminer le mode, il n'est pas nécessaire d'ordonner les observations, même s'il est recommandé de le faire pour faciliter le calcul.

Exemple 1 – Variables nominales ou discrètes

Lors d'un tournoi d'hockey, Audrey a compté 7, 5, 0, 7, 8, 5, 5, 4, 1 et 5 buts en dix parties. Le mode de son ensemble de données est 5, puisque cette valeur apparaît le plus souvent (quatre fois). Il y a fort à parier que Audrey compterait 5 buts si l'on choisissait une partie au hasard.

Exemple 2 – Variables nominales ou discrètes

En 12 parties de basket-ball, Grabriel a compté 14, 14, 15, 16, 14, 16, 16, 18, 14, 16, 16 et 14 points. Cet ensemble de données est bimodale, c'est-à-dire qu'il y a deux modes, 14 et 16, parce que ce sont les valeurs les plus souvent observées (elles apparaissent cinq fois).

Exemple 3 – Variables nominales ou discrètes

L'ensemble de données qui suit représente le nombre de touchés que Jérôme a marqué au cours de la saison de football :

0, 0, 1, 0, 0, 2, 3, 1, 0, 1, 2, 3, 1, 0

Classez vos données dans l'ordre suivant :

0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1, 1, 1, 1, 2, 2, 3, 3

Trouvez et comparez la moyenne, la médiane et le mode.

Mode = la valeur la plus souvent observée = 0

Le mode est 0, puisqu'il s'agit de la valeur la plus souvent observée. Si l'on choisissait au hasard une partie, le mode nous dirait qu'il y a fort à parier que Jérôme ne marquera aucun touché.

Moyenne =

Sommation de valeurs
x ÷ n
= 14 ÷ 14
= 1

Toutefois, Jérôme marquera en moyenne un touché par partie, même si le mode indique qu'il n'a marqué aucun touché dans un grand nombre de matchs. Dans ce cas, le mode ne fournit pas une mesure utile de son rendement.

Médiane = la valeur (n + 1) ÷ 2
= (14 + 1) ÷ 2
= 15 ÷ 2
= 7,5

Moyenne = (valeur en dessous de la médiane + valeur au-dessus de la médiane) ÷ 2
= (septième + huitième valeurs) ÷ 2
= (1 + 1) ÷ 2
= 1

Puisque le nombre de valeurs dans l'ensemble de données est pair, la médiane ne s'inscrit pas exactement dans le centre de l'ensemble des données. Il a donc été nécessaire de calculer la médiane à l'aide des équations ci-dessus. D'après les résultats obtenus, la médiane indique que Jérôme ne marquera qu'un touché par partie.

Variables groupées (continues ou discrètes)

Lorsqu'on groupe des variables continues ou discrètes à l'intérieur de tableaux, on définit le mode comme étant l'intervalle de classe à l'intérieur duquel se situent la plupart des observations. On l'appelle l'intervalle de classe modale.

Dans l'exemple des tailles des 50 filles de 10e année, l'intervalle de classe modale serait 160 à 165 cm, puisqu'il s'agit de l'intervalle qui compte le plus grand nombre d'observations.

On utilise rarement le mode comme mesure de tendance centrale pour des variables numériques. Pour des variables nominales, cependant, le mode est plus utile, parce que la moyenne et la médiane n'ont aucun sens.

Vous pourriez ensuite déterminer le milieu de l'étendue de la classe modale. Le milieu de l'étendue est simplement le point milieu entre la valeur la plus élevée et la valeur la plus faible d'une classe modale. On n'utilise pas très souvent le mode de concert avec le milieu de l'étendue, parce qu'il ne donne qu'une estimation très grossière de la moyenne.

Contrairement à la moyenne et à la médiane, le mode peut être utilisé avec des données nominales. Il peut y avoir un mode comme il peut ne pas y en avoir, et il est possible que le mode comporte plus d'une valeur.

Résumé

En règle générale, ce sont les circonstances qui dictent le choix entre la moyenne, la médiane ou le mode comme mesure de tendance centrale. La moyenne tend à être la mesure de la tendance centrale qui convient le plus pour obtenir un total, parce qu'on divise le total par le nombre de données. Par exemple, le revenu moyen des membres d'une famille vous permet de savoir combien chacun d'entre eux dépense sur les nécessités courantes de la vie. La médiane est utile dans le cas des moyennes, alors que le mode sert à décrire le cas le plus typique.