Statistics Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Non-sampling error

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Aside from the sampling error associated with the process of selecting a sample, a survey is subject to a wide variety of errors. These errors are commonly referred to as "non-sampling errors".

Non-sampling errors can be defined as errors arising during the course of all survey activities other than sampling. Unlike sampling errors, they can be present in both sample surveys and censuses.

Non-sampling errors can be classified into two groups: random errors and systematic errors.

  • Random errors are the unpredictable errors resulting from estimation. They are generally cancelled out if a large enough sample is used. However, when these errors do take effect, they often lead to an increased variability in the characteristic of interest (i.e., the greater the difference between the population units, the larger the sample size required to achieve a specific level of reliability).
  • Systematic errors are those errors that tend to accumulate over the entire sample. For example, if there is an error in the questionnaire design, this could cause problems with the respondent's answers, which in turn, can create processing errors, etc. These types of errors often lead to a bias in the final results.

Non-sampling errors are extremely difficult, if not impossible, to measure. Since random errors have the tendency to be cancelled out, systematic errors are the principal cause for concern. Unlike sampling variance, bias caused by systematic errors cannot be reduced by increasing the sample size.

Characteristics

Non-sampling errors

  • can occur in all aspects of the survey process other than sampling
  • exist in both sample surveys and censuses
  • are difficult to measure

Non-sampling errors can occur because of problems in coverage, response, non-response, data processing, estimation and analysis. Each of these types of errors is explained below.

Coverage errors

An error in coverage occurs when units are omitted, duplicated or wrongly included in the population or sample. Omissions are referred to as "undercoverage", while duplication and wrongful inclusions are called "overcoverage". Coverage errors are caused by defects in the survey frame, such as inaccuracy, incompleteness, duplications, inadequacy or obsolescence. Coverage errors may also occur in field procedures (e.g., while a survey is conducted, the interviewer misses several households or persons).

Response errors

Response errors result when data is incorrectly requested, provided, received or recorded. These errors may occur because of inefficiencies with the questionnaire, the interviewer, the respondent or the survey process.

  • Poor questionnaire design
    It is essential that sample survey or census questions are worded carefully in order to avoid introducing bias. If questions are misleading or confusing, then the responses may end up being distorted.

    For more information, refer to the section on Questionnaire design.
  • Interview bias
    An interviewer can influence how a respondent answers the survey questions. This may occur when the interviewer is too friendly or aloof or prompts the respondent. To prevent this, interviewers must be trained to remain neutral throughout the interview. They must also pay close attention to the way they ask each question. If an interviewer changes the way a question is worded, it may impact the respondent's answer.
  • Respondent errors
    Respondents can also provide incorrect answers. Faulty recollections, tendencies to exaggerate or underplay events, and inclinations to give answers that appear more 'socially desirable' are several reasons why a respondent may provide a false answer.
  • Problems with the survey process
    Errors can also occur because of a problem with the actual survey process. Using proxy responses (taking answers from someone other than the respondent) or lacking control over the survey procedures are just a few ways of increasing the possibility for response errors.

Non-response errors

Non-response errors are the result of not having obtained sufficient answers to survey questions. There are two types of non-response errors: complete and partial.

  • Complete non-response errors
    These errors occur when the results fail to include the responses of certain units in the selected sample. Reasons for this type of error may be that the respondent is unavailable or temporarily absent, the respondent is unable or refuses to participate in the survey, or the dwelling is vacant. If a significant number of people do not respond to a survey, then the results may be biased since the characteristics of the non-respondents may differ from those who have participated.
  • Partial non-response errors
    This type of error occurs when respondent provide incomplete information. For certain people, some questions may be difficult to understand. To reduce this form of bias, care should be taken in designing and testing questionnaires. Appropriate edit and imputation strategies will also help minimize this bias.

More information on editing and imputation can be found in the chapter entitled Data processing.

Processing errors

Processing errors sometimes emerge during the preparation of the final data files. For example, errors can occur while data are being coded, captured, edited or imputed. Coder bias is usually a result of poor training or incomplete instructions, variance in coder performance (i.e., tiredness, illness), data entry errors, or machine malfunction (some processing errors are caused by errors in the computer programs). The same thing can be said about captured errors. Sometimes, errors are incorrectly identified during the editing phase. Even when errors are discovered, they can be corrected improperly because of poor imputation procedures.

Estimation errors

Statistics Canada and other data-collecting agencies devote much effort to designing and monitoring surveys in order to make them as error-free as possible. If an inappropriate estimation method is used, then bias can still be introduced, regardless of how errorless the survey had been before estimation.

Here is an example of a potentially inappropriate estimation. We know that global warming is an issue where there is a lot of debate. To accurately measure this phenomenon, one should know how to come up with an acceptable "average global temperature". Figure 1 features a common portrayal of climate change data. It shows an average global temperature increase between 0.3° and 0.6°C over nearly 140 years.

Chart showing global climate change from 1860 to 1999.

The measurements that comprise the data set have been taken at various weather stations around the world. In this case, the population is the set of weather measurements, from which a sample can be taken.

Some scientists question the accuracy of a graph like Figure 1 because they feel that the estimates from the sample survey are biased.

Scientists argue that measurements of temperature should reflect the ratio of the earth's land mass to the water mass. For example, if the land mass is half of the mass of water (seas and oceans), then twice as many measurements should come from locations over water than over land. In fact, in Figure 1, few measurements were taken from locations over the surface of water, whereas the great majority of measurements were taken from weather stations on land.

Why might this bias the estimates from the sample survey?

Temperatures on land tend to be naturally higher than on water surfaces owing to the phenomenon known as 'urban heat island effect.' If the sample is too heavily weighted in favour of land-based temperatures, and the estimates do not take this into account (as some scientists claim), then the results may not truly reflect a global average.

For more information on estimation, refer to the Sampling methods chapter.

Analysis errors

Analysis errors are those that occur when using the wrong analytical tools or when the preliminary results are provided instead of the final ones. Errors that occur during the publication of data results are also considered analysis errors.

Statistique Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Erreur non due à l’échantillonnage

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Outre l’erreur d’échantillonnage associée au processus de sélection d’un échantillon, un large éventail d’erreurs peuvent être repérées dans une enquête. Ces erreurs sont habituellement appelées « erreurs non dues à l’échantillonnage ».

Les erreurs non dues à l’échantillonnage peuvent être définies comme étant des erreurs possibles pendant toutes les activités d’enquête, mis à part l’échantillonnage. Comparativement aux erreurs d’échantillonnage, les erreurs non dues à l’échantillonnage peuvent se retrouver aussi bien dans les enquêtes-échantillon que dans les recensements.

Les erreurs non dues à l’échantillonnage peuvent être classées en deux groupes : les erreurs aléatoires et les erreurs systématiques.

  • Les erreurs aléatoires sont imprévisibles et découlent de l’estimation. Elles sont généralement éliminées si un échantillon suffisamment large est utilisé. Toutefois, lorsque ces erreurs ont lieu, elles entraînent souvent une variabilité accrue de la caractéristique d’intérêt (c.-à-d. plus grande est la différence entre les unités de la population, plus grande sera la taille de l’échantillon nécessaire pour atteindre un niveau particulier de fiabilité).
  • Les erreurs systématiques ont tendance à s’accumuler dans tout l’échantillon. Par exemple, s’il y a une erreur dans la conception du questionnaire, cela pourrait causer des problèmes relativement aux réponses du répondant, qui pourraient à leur tour créer des erreurs de traitement, etc. Ces types d’erreurs peuvent souvent donner des résultats finals biaisés.

Les erreurs non dues à l’échantillonnage sont extrêmement difficiles sinon impossibles à mesurer. Étant donné que les erreurs aléatoires ont tendance à s’éliminer, les erreurs systématiques représentent la principale cause d’inquiétude. Comparativement au biais causé par la variance d’échantillonnage, celui causé par les erreurs systématiques ne diminue pas même si on augmente la taille de l’échantillon.

Caractéristiques

Les erreurs non dues à l’échantillonnage

  • peuvent se produire dans tous les aspects du processus d’enquête, mis à part l’échantillonnage.
  • se retrouvent dans les enquêtes-échantillon et les recensements.
  • sont difficiles à mesurer.

Les erreurs non dues à l’échantillonnage peuvent survenir en raison de problèmes de couverture, de réponse, de non-réponse, de traitement des données, d’estimation et d’analyse. Chacun de ces types d’erreurs est expliqué ci-dessous.

Erreurs de couverture

Une erreur de couverture survient lorsqu’il y a une omission, une répétition ou un ajout erroné de certaines unités dans la population ou l’échantillon. Les omissions sont appelées « sous-dénombrement », tandis que les répétitions et les ajouts erronés sont appelés « surdénombrement ». Ces erreurs sont causées par des défauts dans la base de sondage : inexactitude, insuffisance ou répétition de données, obsolescence ou données inadéquates. Les erreurs de couverture peuvent également survenir lors de procédures sur place (p. ex., une enquête est menée, mais l’intervieweur oublie d’inclure plusieurs ménages ou personnes).

Erreurs de réponse

Les erreurs de réponse résultent des données qui ont été demandées, fournies, reçues ou enregistrées de façon erronée. Les erreurs de réponse peuvent survenir en raison d’inefficacités relativement au questionnaire, à l’intervieweur, au répondant ou au processus d’enquête.

  • Conception médiocre du questionnaire
    Il est essentiel que les questions de l’enquête-échantillon ou du recensement soient soigneusement formulées de façon à éviter un biais. Si les questions induisent en erreur ou portent à confusion, alors les réponses peuvent être faussées.

    Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez vous référer à la section sur la conception des questionnaires.
  • Biais d’entrevue
    Un intervieweur peut avoir de l’influence sur la façon dont un répondant répond aux questions d’une enquête. Cela peut se produire lorsque l’intervieweur est trop amical ou distant à l’égard du répondant, ou lorsqu’il pousse le répondant à répondre. Afin de prévenir cela, les intervieweurs doivent être informés pour pouvoir rester neutres tout au long de l’entrevue. Ils doivent également porter une grande attention à la façon dont ils posent chaque question. Si un intervieweur change la formulation d’une question, cela peut avoir une incidence sur la réponse du répondant.
  • Erreurs du répondant
    Les répondants peuvent aussi donner de mauvaises réponses. Des souvenirs fautifs, la tendance à exagérer des événements ou à en minimiser l’importance, et la tendance à donner des réponses qui semblent plus « souhaitables sur le plan social » sont plusieurs raisons pour lesquelles un répondant peut donner une mauvaise réponse.
  • Problèmes relatifs au processus d’enquête
    Des erreurs peuvent également survenir en raison d’un problème lié au processus d’enquête. Utiliser des réponses par procuration (prendre les réponses d’une personne autre que le répondant) ou manquer de contrôle sur les procédures d’enquête ne sont que quelques façons d’augmenter la possibilité d’erreurs de réponse.

Erreurs de non-réponse

Les erreurs de non-réponse se produisent lorsqu’on ne recueille pas suffisamment de réponses aux questions de l’enquête. Il y a deux types d’erreurs de non-réponse : les erreurs de non-réponse complète et partielle.

  • Erreurs de non-réponse complète
    Ces erreurs se produisent lorsque les résultats omettent complètement les réponses de certaines unités de l’échantillon sélectionné. Les raisons derrière ce type d’erreur peuvent s’expliquer par le fait que le répondant n’est pas disponible ou est temporairement absent, qu’il est incapable de participer à l’enquête ou qu’il refuse, ou que le logement est vacant. Si un nombre important de personnes ne répondent pas à une enquête, alors les résultats peuvent être biaisés, étant donné que les caractéristiques des non-répondants peuvent différer des caractéristiques de ceux qui ont participé.
  • Erreurs de non-réponse partielle
    Ce type d’erreur se produit lorsque l’information obtenue du répondant est incomplète. Certaines personnes peuvent avoir de la difficulté à comprendre certaines questions. Afin de réduire cette forme de biais, il faudrait porter une attention particulière au moment de concevoir et de mettre à l’essai les questionnaires. Des stratégies de vérification et d’imputation appropriées aideront également à minimiser ce biais.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la vérification et l’imputation, veuillez vous référer au chapitre intitulé Traitement des données.

Erreurs de traitement

Les erreurs de traitement se produisent parfois pendant la préparation des fichiers de données finals. Par exemple, des erreurs peuvent survenir lorsque les données sont codées, saisies, corrigées ou imputées. Le biais du codeur est habituellement le résultat d’une formation médiocre ou d’instructions incomplètes, d’une variance du rendement du codeur (c.-à-d. fatigue, maladie), d’erreurs d’entrées de données ou d’un mauvais fonctionnement de la machine (certaines erreurs de traitement sont causées par des erreurs dans les programmes informatiques). On peut dire la même chose au sujet des erreurs saisies. Parfois, des erreurs sont identifiées à tort au cours de l’étape de vérification. Même lorsque des erreurs sont découvertes, elles peuvent être corrigées incorrectement en raison de procédures d’imputation médiocres.

Erreurs d’estimation

Statistique Canada et d’autres organismes de collecte de données consentent beaucoup d’effort à la conception et au suivi des enquêtes afin que ces dernières soient sans erreur dans la mesure du possible. Si on utilise une méthode d’estimation inappropriée, alors les résultats peuvent toujours être biaisés, malgré le fait que l’enquête était sans erreur avant l’estimation.

Voici un exemple d’une estimation possiblement inappropriée. Nous savons que le réchauffement de la terre est une question qui suscite beaucoup de débat. Pour s’assurer de bien mesurer ce phénomène, il faut être en mesure de trouver ce qui constitue une « moyenne de température planétaire » acceptable. La Figure 1 montre une représentation commune des données sur les changements climatiques. Elle indique une augmentation de la température moyenne du globe entre 0,3 ° et 0,6 °C sur approximativement 140 ans.

Diagramme montrant les changement du climat du globe, de 1860 à 1999.

L’ensemble de données comprend des mesures qui ont été prises à diverses stations météorologiques partout dans le monde. Dans ce cas, la population est représentée par les mesures de la température à partir desquelles on tire un échantillon.

Certains scientifiques questionnent l’exactitude d’un diagramme comme la Figure 1, parce qu’ils croient que les estimations provenant de l’enquête-échantillon sont biaisées.

Ces scientifiques insistent sur le fait que les mesures de la température devraient refléter le ratio de la masse terrestre de la Terre par rapport à la masse d’eau. Par exemple, si la masse terrestre représente la moitié de la masse de l’eau (mers et océans), alors deux fois plus de mesures devraient provenir d’emplacements sur l’eau que d’emplacements sur terre. En fait, à la Figure 1, peu de mesures ont été prises à partir d’emplacements à la surface de l’eau, tandis que la grande majorité des mesures ont été prises à partir de stations météorologiques sur terre.

Pourquoi cela pourrait-il fausser les estimations de l’enquête-échantillon?

Les températures sur la terre ont tendance à être naturellement plus élevées que celles à la surface de l’eau, à cause du phénomène connu sous le nom d’« effet de l’îlot thermique urbain ». Si l’échantillon est trop lourdement pondéré en faveur des températures basées au sol, et que les estimations ne prennent pas cela en compte (ce que certains scientifiques déclarent), alors les résultats peuvent ne pas refléter réellement une moyenne mondiale.

Pour plus de renseignements, consultez la section sur l’estimation.

Erreurs d’analyse

Les erreurs d’analyse comprennent toutes celles qui se produisent lorsqu’on utilise les mauvais outils d’analyse ou lorsqu’on fourni les résultats préliminaires au lieu des résultats finals. Les erreurs qui se produisent pendant la publication des résultats sont également considérées comme des erreurs d’analyse.