Statistics Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Bar graphs

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

A bar graph may be either horizontal or vertical. The important point to note about bar graphs is their bar length or height—the greater their length or height, the greater their value.

Bar graphs are one of the many techniques used to present data in a visual form so that the reader may readily recognize patterns or trends.

Bar graphs usually present categorical and numeric variables grouped in class intervals. They consist of an axis and a series or labeled horizontal or vertical bars. The bars depict frequencies of different values of a variable or simply the different values themselves. The numbers on the x-axis of a bar graph or the y-axis of a column graph are called the scale.

When developing bar graphs, draw a vertical or horizontal bar for each category or value. The height or length of the bar will represent the number of units or observations in that category (frequency) or simply the value of the variable. Select an arbitrary but consistent width for each bar as well.

There are three types of graphs used to display time series data:

  • horizontal bar graphs,
  • vertical bar graphs and
  • line graphs.

All three of these types of graphs work well when you need to compare values. However, in general, data comparisons are best represented vertically.

Example 1 – Vertical bar graphs

Bar graphs should be used when you are showing segments of information. From the information given in the section on graph types, you will know that vertical bar graphs are particularly useful for time series data. The space for labels on the x-axis is small, but ideal for years, minutes, hours or months. At a glance you can see from the graph that the scales for both the x- and y-axis increase as they get farther away from the origin. Figure 1 below shows the number of police officers in Crimeville from 1993 to 2001.

Figure 1. Number of police officers in Crimeville, 1993 to 2001.

In Figure 1 you can see that the number of police officers decreased from 1993 to 1996, but started increasing again in 1996. The graph also makes it easy to compare or contrast the number of police officers for any combination of years. For example, in 2001 there were nine more police officers than in 1998.

The double (or group) vertical bar graph is another effective means of comparing sets of data about the same places or items. This type of vertical bar graph gives two or more pieces of information for each item on the x-axis instead of just one as in Figure 1. This allows you to make direct comparisons on the same graph by age group, sex, race, or anything else you wish to compare. However, if a group vertical bar graph has too many series of data, the graph becomes cluttered and it can be confusing to read.

Figure 2, a double vertical bar graph, compares two series of data: the numbers of boys and girls using the Internet at Redwood Secondary School from 1995 to 2002. One bar represents the number of boys who use the Internet and the other bar represents the girls.

Figure 2. Internet use at Redwood Secondary School, by sex, 1995 to 2002.

One disadvantage of vertical bar graphs, however, is that they lack space for text labelling at the foot of each bar. When category labels in the graph are too long, you might find a horizontal bar graph better for displaying information.

Example 2 – Horizontal bar graphs

The horizontal bar graph uses the y-axis (vertical line) for labelling. There is more room to fit text labels for categorical variables on the y-axis.

Figure 3 shows the number of students at Diversity College who are immigrants by their last country of permanent residence. The graph shows that 100 students immigrated from China, 380 from France, and 260 from Brazil.

A horizontal bar graph has been used to show a comparison of these data. This graph is the best method to present this type of information because the labels (in this case, the countries' names) are too long to appear clearly on the x-axis.

Figure 3. Number of students at Diversity College who are immigrants, by last country of permanent residence.

A double or group horizontal bar graph is similar to a double or group vertical bar graph, and it would be used when the labels are too long to fit on the x-axis.

In Figure 4, more than one piece of information is being delivered to the audience: drug use by 15-year-old boys is being compared with drug use by 15-year-old girls at Jamie's school. Having both pieces of information on the same graph makes it easier to compare. The graph indicates that 32% of boys and 29% of girls have used hashish or marijuana, and 3% of boys and 1% of girls have tried LSD. The graph also shows that the same percent of boys and girls (4%) have used cocaine.

Figure 4. Drug use by 15-year-old students in Jamie's school, by gender.

Example 3 – Comparing several places or items

Figure 5 is an example of a double horizontal bar graph. Hillary sampled an equal number of boys and girls at her high school and asked them to pick the one snack food they liked the most from the following list:

  • popcorn
  • chips
  • chocolate bars
  • crackers
  • pretzels
  • cookies
  • ice cream
  • fruit
  • candy
  • vegetables.

She created a graph to display the results of her survey. Examine Figure 5, and answer the following questions:

  1. What comparison does this graph show?
  2. Which snack food was least preferred by girls?
  3. Which snack food was preferred by substantially more boys than girls?
  4. Which snack foods were preferred by more girls than boys?
  5. Which snack food was preferred equally by both boys and girls?

Figure 5. Preferred snack choices of students at Hillary's high school.

Answers

  1. The graph shows a comparison of snack food preferences by sex.
  2. Vegetables were the snack food least preferred by girls.
  3. A substantial number of more boys than girls preferred chips.
  4. Girls preferred candy, crackers, fruit and ice cream more than boys did.
  5. The same number of boys and girls preferred popcorn as their snack food choice.

Example 4 – Inappropriate use of bar graphs

Vertical bar graphs are an excellent choice to emphasize a change in magnitude. The best information for a vertical bar graph is data dealing with the description of components, frequency distribution and time-series statistics.

A horizontal bar graph may be more effective than a line graph when there are fewer time periods or segments of data. If you want to compare more than 9 or 10 items, use a line graph instead. Figure 6 is an example of when a line graph should be used instead of a horizontal bar graph.

A horizontal bar graph showing car types produced in Global City, January.

Example 5 – Other bar graphs

There are several other types of bar graphs that you may encounter. The population pyramid is a special application of a double bar graph. The following examples are rarely used, but can be useful if used correctly.

Stacked bar graphs

The stacked bar graph is a preliminary data analysis tool used to show segments of totals. Statistics Canada rarely uses them, despite the fact that stacked bar graphs can convey a lot of information. The stacked bar graph can be very difficult to analyse if too many items are in each stack. It can contrast values, but not necessarily in the simplest manner.

In Figure 7, it is not difficult to analyse the data presented since there are only three items in each stack: swimming, running and biking. It is easy to see at a glance what percentage of time each woman spent on an event. Had this been a graph representing a decathlon (with 10 events) the data would have been significantly harder to analyse.

Stacked bar graph plotting the Campbell High Triathalon, percentage of time spent on each event, by competitor.

Another reason that these graphs are rarely used is that they can represent a picture other than the one that was intended. In the example above, it may have taken Bronwyn two hours to finish the triathlon, and Rosalyn three hours, but they spent almost the same percentage of time on each event. Both women spent 30% of their times swimming, but whereas Rosalyn spent 54 minutes swimming, Bronwyn spent 36 minutes swimming. In other words, this graph does not tell you anything about their ranking, only what percentage of their individual race times were spent on each event. This can be misleading for someone who does not read the graph carefully.

Horizontal, vertical and stacked bar graph guidelines

You should keep the following guidelines in mind when creating your own bar graphs:

  • Make bars and columns wider than the space between them.
  • Do not allow grid lines to pass through columns or bars.
  • Use a single font type on a graph. Try to maintain a consistent font style from graph to graph in a single presentation or document. Simple sans-serif fonts are preferable.
  • Order your shade pattern from darkest to lightest on stacked bar graphs.
  • Avoid garish colours or patterns.

Dot graphs

A dot graph is one of the simplest ways to represent information pictorially, yet it is the graph that is least used. Figure 8 is an example of a dot graph. As you can see, the message and the information behind the graph are delivered quickly and easily to the reader.

Figure 8. Rates of enrolment by program, Academia University.

Statistique Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Diagramme à bandes

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Un diagramme à bandes peut être horizontal ou vertical. Ce qu'il faut se rappeler au sujet des diagrammes à bandes est la longueur ou la hauteur des barres — plus elles sont longues ou hautes, plus leur valeur est grande.

Les diagrammes à bandes sont l'une des techniques employées pour présenter des données de façon visuelle pour que le lecteur puisse rapidement reconnaître un motif ou une tendance.

Les diagrammes à bandes présentent habituellement des variables nominales et numériques groupées par intervalles de classe. Ils sont composés d'un axe et d'une série de bandes horizontales ou verticales. Les bandes montrent les fréquences de différentes valeurs ou simplement les différentes valeurs elles-mêmes. Les nombres sur l'axe des x d'un diagramme à bandes horizontales ou sur l'axe des y d'un diagramme à bandes horizontales sont appelés l'échelle.

Lorsque vous créez un diagramme à bandes, dessinez une barre verticale ou horizontale pour chaque catégorie ou valeur. La hauteur ou la longueur de la barre représentera le nombre d'unités ou d'observations de cette catégorie (fréquence) ou simplement la valeur de la variable. La largeur de la barre a peu d'importance mais elle doit être constante.

Il existe trois types de diagrammes pour montrer les données d'une série chronologique :

  • diagrammes à bandes horizontales;
  • diagrammes à bandes verticales;
  • diagrammes linéaires.

Ces trois types de diagrammes fonctionnent bien pour comparer des valeurs. Cependant, en général, les comparaisons sont mieux présentées verticalement.

Exemple 1 – Diagrammes à bandes verticales

Les diagrammes à bandes doivent être utilisés lorsqu'on veut présenter des segments d'information. À l'aide de l'information dans la section sur les types de diagrammes, vous verrez que les diagrammes à bandes verticales sont très utiles pour les séries chronologiques. L'espace pour les étiquettes de l'axe des x est limité, mais idéal pour des années, des minutes, des heures ou des mois. En un coup d'œil, vous pouvez voir que les échelles des axes augmentent en s'éloignant de l'origine. La figure 1 ci-dessous montre le nombre de policiers à Crimeville entre 1993 et 2001.

Figure 1. Nombre de policiers à Crimeville, 1993 à 2001.

Dans la figure 1, vous pouvez voir que le nombre de policiers a diminué entre 1993 et 1996, mais qu'il a recommencé à croître en 1996. Le diagramme permet également de comparer facilement le nombre de policiers entre les années. Par exemple, en 2001, il y avait neuf policiers de plus qu'en 1998.

Le diagramme à bandes verticales doubles est un autre moyen efficace de comparer des ensembles de données sur les mêmes endroits ou éléments. Ce type de diagramme à bandes verticales donne au moins deux informations pour chacun des éléments sur l'axe des x au lieu d'une seule comme dans la figure 1. Vous pouvez faire des comparaisons directes dans un diagramme selon l'âge, le sexe, la race ou tout autre élément que vous désirez comparer. Cependant, si un diagramme à bandes verticales doubles comporte trop de séries de données, le diagramme devient encombré et il peut devenir difficile à lire.

La figure 2, un diagramme à bandes verticales doubles, compare deux séries de données : le nombre de garçons et de filles qui utilisent Internet à l'école secondaire des Bois-Francs entre 1995 et 2002. Une des barres représente le nombre de garçons et l'autre, le nombre de filles qui utilisent Internet.

Figure 2. Utilisation d'Internet à l'école secondaire des Bois-Francs, selon le sexe, 1995 à 2002.

Un désavantage des diagrammes à bandes verticales, cependant, est le manque d'espace pour les étiquettes sous chacune des barres. Lorsque les étiquettes des catégories sont trop longues, il se peut qu'un diagramme à bandes horizontales soit préférable pour présenter l'information.

Exemple 2 – Diagrammes à bandes horizontales

Le diagramme à bandes horizontales utilise l'axe des y (ligne verticale) pour les étiquettes. Il y a plus d'espace pour les étiquettes des variables nominales sur l'axe des y.

La figure 3 montre le nombre d'élèves du collège Diversité qui sont des immigrants selon le dernier pays de résidence. Vous pouvez constater que 100 élèves proviennent de la Chine, 380 de la France et 260 du Brésil.

Un diagramme à bandes horizontales a été utilisé pour montrer la comparaison des données. Ce diagramme est la meilleure façon de présenter ce type d'information parce que les étiquettes (dans le cas présent, le nom des pays) sont trop longues pour être lisibles sur l'axe des x.

Figure 3. Nombre d'élèves du collège Diversité qui sont immigrants, selon le dernier pays de résidence.

Un diagramme à bandes horizontales doubles est semblable à un diagramme à bandes verticales doubles et il peut être utilisé lorsque les étiquettes sont trop longues pour être inscrites à l'axe des x.

Dans la figure 4, plus d'une information est transmise au public : la consommation de drogue chez les garçons de 15 ans est comparée à celle des filles du même âge à l'école de William. En incluant ces deux informations dans le même diagramme, on peut plus facilement faire une comparaison. Le diagramme montre que 32 % des garçons et 29 % des filles ont déjà consommé du haschisch ou de la marijuana et que 3 % des garçons et 1 % des filles ont déjà consommé du LSD. Le diagramme montre également qu'un pourcentage égal de garçons et de filles (4 %) ont déjà consommé de la cocaïne.

Figure 4. Consommation de drogue chez les élèves de 15 ans de l'école de William, selon le sexe.

Exemple 3 – Comparer plusieurs endroits ou éléments

La figure 5 est un exemple d'un diagramme à bandes horizontales doubles. Camille a demandé à un nombre égal de garçons et de filles de son école secondaire de choisir leur collation préférée parmi les suivantes :

  • maïs soufflé
  • croustilles
  • tablettes de chocolat
  • craquelins
  • bretzels
  • biscuits
  • crème glacée
  • fruits
  • bonbons
  • légumes.

Elle a créé un diagramme pour montrer les résultats de son enquête. Regardez la figure 5 et répondez aux questions suivantes :

  1. Quelle comparaison peut-on faire à l'aide de ce diagramme?
  2. Quelle collation était la moins appréciée des filles?
  3. Quelle collation était préférée de beaucoup plus de garçons que de filles?
  4. Quelle collation était préférée de plus de filles que de garçons?
  5. Quelle collation était appréciée d'autant de garçons que de filles?

Figure 5. Collations préférées des élèves de l'école de Camille.

Réponses

  1. Le diagramme montre une comparaison des collations préférées selon le sexe.
  2. Les légumes constituent la collation la moins appréciée chez les filles.
  3. Beaucoup plus de garçons préfèrent les croustilles.
  4. Les filles aiment plus les bonbons, les craquelins, les fruits et la crème glacée que les garçons.
  5. Un nombre égal de garçons et de filles préfèrent le maïs soufflé comme collation.

Exemple 4 – Utilisation inappropriée des diagrammes à bandes

Les diagrammes à bandes verticales sont un excellent choix pour mettre l'accent sur un changement d'amplitude. La meilleure information à présenter dans un diagramme à bandes verticales est celle concernant la description des éléments, la fréquence statistique et les séries chronologiques.

Un diagramme à bandes horizontales pourra être plus efficace qu'un graphique linéaire lorsqu'il y a peu de périodes ou d'éléments. Si vous voulez comparer plus de 9 ou 10 éléments, il serait préférable d'utiliser un diagramme linéaire. La figure 6 est un exemple de situation où il serait préférable d'employer un graphique linéaire plutôt qu'un diagramme à bandes horizontales.

Un diagramme à bandes horizontales qui montre les types de voitures produites dans la ville de Global, janvier.

Exemple 5 – Autres diagrammes à bandes

Il y a plusieurs autres types de diagrammes à bandes qui peuvent être employés. La pyramide des âges est une application spéciale du diagramme à bandes doubles. Les exemples suivants sont rarement utilisés, mais ils peuvent être utiles si employés correctement.

Diagrammes à bandes superposées

Le diagramme à bandes superposées est un outil d'analyse préliminaire des données utilisé pour montrer les segments d'un tout. Statistique Canada les emploie rarement, même si ce type de diagramme peut contenir beaucoup d'information. Le diagramme à bandes superposées peut être très difficile à analyser si trop d'éléments sont présentés par barre. Il peut montrer les différences entre les valeurs, mais pas nécessairement de la façon la plus simple.

Dans la figure 7, il est facile d'analyser les données présentées puisqu'il y a seulement trois éléments par barre : natation, course et bicyclette. Il est facile de voir en un coup d'œil le pourcentage de temps consacré par chacune des femmes aux sports en question. Si ce diagramme avait été utilisé pour représenter les données concernant un décathlon (10 épreuves), les données auraient été beaucoup plus difficiles à analyser.

Un diagramme à bandes superposées qui montre le pourcentage de temps consacré à chacun des sports par les compétitrices.

Une autre raison pourquoi ces diagrammes ne sont pas employés souvent est qu'ils peuvent montrer un autre aspect de l'information que celui désiré. Dans l'exemple ci-dessus, Sarah a peut-être pris deux heures pour faire le triathlon et Laurie, trois, mais elles ont consacré le même pourcentage de leur temps à la première épreuve. Les deux ont consacré 30 % de leur temps à la natation, mais Laurie y a consacré 54 minutes et Sarah, 36 minutes. En d'autres termes, ce diagramme ne nous indique pas le classement, seulement le pourcentage de leur temps consacré à chacun des sports. Cette situation peut porter à confusion si on ne lit pas le graphique correctement.

Lignes directrices concernant les diagrammes à bandes horizontales, verticales et superposées

Vous devez vous souvenir des directives suivantes lorsque vous créez vos diagrammes à bandes :

  • La largeur des bandes doit être plus grande que l'espace entre elles.
  • Ne placez pas les lignes de référence en avant-plan.
  • N'utilisez qu'un seul caractère pour le texte dans le diagramme. Essayez de garder la même police de caractère entre les diagrammes d'une même présentation ou d'un même document. Les polices linéales (sans empattement) sont préférables.
  • L'ordre des couleurs devrait aller de la plus foncée à la plus pâle.
  • Évitez les couleurs ou le remplissage trop voyants.

Diagrammes par points

Un graphique par points est une des façons les plus simples de présenter de l'information de façon visuelle, mais il s'agit du diagramme le moins employé. La figure 8 est un exemple de graphique par points. Comme vous pouvez le voir, le message et l'information liés au diagramme peuvent être transmis rapidement et sont faciles à comprendre pour le lecteur.

Figure 8. Taux d'inscription par programme, université Academia.