Demosim

Demosim is a microsimulation model developed and maintained at Statistics Canada that is designed to produce population projections. Using the microdata file from the 2011 National Household Survey as its starting point, Demosim produces dynamic population projections for the provinces, territories, census metropolitan areas and selected smaller geographies, based on a number of characteristics: age, sex, visible minority group, place of birth, generation status, Aboriginal identity, registered Indian status, highest level of educational attainment, and labour force participation, among others. It does so by simulating events such as births, deaths, migrations and changes in level of education, according to various population growth scenarios. It can also produce projections of families and households on the basis of various characteristics.

Initially created in 2004 and still used today, the model has been used to generate projections of the Canadian population’s ethnocultural composition, the Aboriginal population, and the Canadian labour force, and for various analytical studies. It is also used to produce custom tabulations for users and to meet certain data needs of other Statistics Canada programs.

Overview

An overview of the most up-to-date version of the Demosim model can be found in the methodological document Demosim: An Overview of Methods and Data Sources. This document provides additional information about Demosim’s current content, including its base population, how it works and the data sources and methods used to model its components

Contact us

For more information about the Demosim model and population projections based on microsimulation, please contact the Demography Division’s Client Services at 613-951-2320 (Ottawa area), 1-866-767-5611 (rest of Canada) or email at demography@statcan.gc.ca

Date modified:

Demosim

Demosim est un modèle de projections démographiques développé et maintenu à Statistique Canada qui utilise la technique de la microsimulation. Prenant pour point de départ le fichier de microdonnées de l'Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011, il vise à projeter de manière dynamique le devenir possible de la population à l'échelon des provinces, des territoires, des régions métropolitaines de recensement et d'une sélection d'unités géographiques plus fines selon plusieurs caractéristiques : âge, sexe, groupe de minorités visibles, lieu de naissance, statut des générations, identité autochtone, statut d'Indien inscrit, plus haut niveau de scolarité atteint et participation au marché du travail, notamment. À cette fin, il simule des événements tels les naissances, décès, migrations et changements de niveau de scolarité et ce, en fonction de divers scénarios d'accroissement démographique. Il permet également la projection des familles et des ménages selon diverses caractéristiques.

Résultat d'un travail initié en 2004 qui se poursuit à ce jour, le modèle a servi depuis lors à effectuer des projections de la composition ethnoculturelle de la population canadienne, des projections de la population autochtone, des projections de la main-d'œuvre au Canada ainsi que diverses études analytiques. Le modèle sert également à la production de tableaux personnalisés spécifiés par les utilisateurs, de même qu'à combler certains besoins en données d'autres programmes de Statistique Canada.

Vue d'ensemble

Il est possible d'obtenir une vue d'ensemble de la version la plus à jour du modèle Demosim en consultant le document méthodologique intitulé Demosim : un aperçu des méthodes et sources de données. Ce document permet d'en connaître davantage sur le contenu actuel de Demosim, notamment sur sa population de départ, son fonctionnement d'ensemble de même que sur les sources de données et méthodes ayant servi à la modélisation des diverses composantes qu'il comporte.

Contactez-nous

Pour plus de renseignements sur le modèle Demosim et les projections démographiques par microsimulation, veuillez contacter le service à la clientèle de la Division de la démographie au (613) 951-2320 (Région d’Ottawa) \ 1-866-767-5611 (ailleurs au Canada) ou par courriel à  demographie@statcan.gc.ca.

Date de modification :