Canadian Social Trends Number 92

Quality of personal networks: Does living alone matter?

Mireille Vézina

Release date: November 30, 2011

This article compares the personal networks of adults aged 25 to 64 living alone with those of adults living in a couple. It provides data on size of networks, frequency of contact and feelings of social loneliness. It also examines the extent to which people living alone are more likely to have personal networks of lower or higher quality than those living in a couple when various factors are taken into account. Data are from the 2008 General Social Survey.

HTML PDF

Personal networks and the economic adjustment of immigrants

Derrick Thomas

Release date: November 30, 2011

Recent immigrants are having more difficulty adjusting to the Canadian economy than did their predecessors. It is taking newcomers longer to achieve employment and income levels similar to those of the Canadian-born. Using the General Social Survey conducted in 2008, this article examines whether personal networks, along with more typically-used measures of human capital, might explain differences in employment and income levels between immigrants and other Canadians. Are more limited personal networks associated with lower employment rates and incomes among Canada's more recent immigrants?

HTML PDF

What's stressing the stressed? Main sources of stress among workers

Susan Crompton

Release date: October 13, 2011

This article is based on the 2010 General Social Survey on Time Use. It examines how workers who report being highly stressed differ from those who report being somewhat stressed. Then it outlines the five main issues that highly stressed workers identified as their primary source of stress and compares their selected characteristics by source of stress—for instance, differences between workers who are anxious about work compared to those concerned about their finances or about a family situation.

HTML PDF

Commuting to work: Results of the 2010 General Social Survey

Martin Turcotte

Release date: August 24, 2011

This article examines various facets of travelling between home and work. First it provides information about commuting times and how frequently workers are caught in traffic. Second, it looks at workers' perceptions of the time they spend commuting as well as car users' perceptions of public transit. Finally a connection is drawn between the characteristics of commuting to work (commuting time, recurrence of traffic congestion, etc.) and selected subjective measures of quality of life, including stress levels and satisfaction with work–life balance.

HTML PDF

Intergenerational education mobility: University completion in relation to parents' education level

Martin Turcotte

Release date: August 24, 2011

Young adults with one or two parents who are university-educated are much more likely to have a degree themselves than those whose parents are less well-educated. This article determines whether intergenerational mobility in university education is increasing. Specifically, whether people whose parents did not complete university are themselves more likely to have finished university than nearly 25 years ago is examined, as is whether the gap between them and people whose parents completed university has narrowed over time.

HTML PDF

Generational change in paid and unpaid work

Katherine Marshall

Release date: July 12, 2011

Research suggests that the division of labour and the role expectations for men and women are continuing to evolve. This may be especially true for Generation Y, those born between 1980 and 1995 and who grew up during a period of changing family dynamics and family formation. Using General Social Survey - Time use data from 1986, 1998 and 2010 this article examines the changes in the participation in, and time spent on paid work and unpaid household work of individuals aged 20 to 29 from three generations—late baby boomers, Generation X and Generation Y.  The final section looks at the distribution of time spent on paid and unpaid work within dual-earner couples.

HTML PDF

Recent evolution of immigrant-language transmission in Canada

René Houle

Release date: June 7, 2011

This paper examines the extent of transmission of immigrant languages between 1981 and 2006. It compares immigrant mothers having a non–official mother tongue and their children born in Canada using a cross-sectional approach. Then a longitudinal approach is used to compare immigrant mothers in 1981 with their second-generation daughters in 2006. The article is based on census data from 1981 and 2006.

HTML PDF

Date modified:

Tendances sociales canadiennes Numéro 92

La qualité des réseaux personnels : vivre seul fait-il une différence?

par Mireille Vézina

Date de diffusion : Le 30 novembre 2011

Dans cet article, on compare les réseaux personnels des adultes âgés de 25 à 64 ans vivant seuls à ceux des adultes vivant en couple. On présente des renseignements sur la taille des réseaux, la fréquence des contacts, et le sentiment de solitude sociale. On examine aussi dans quelle mesure les personnes vivant seules sont plus sujettes que celles vivant en couple à avoir des réseaux personnels de qualité faible ou élévée lorsqu'on tient compte de divers facteurs. Les données proviennent de l'Enquête sociale générale de 2008.

HTML PDF

Réseaux personnels et adaptation des immigrants sur le plan économique

par Derrick Thomas

Date de diffusion : Le 30 novembre 2011

Les immigrants récents éprouvent plus de difficulté à s'adapter à l'économie canadienne que leurs prédécesseurs. Les nouveaux arrivants mettent plus de temps à atteindre des niveaux d'emploi et de revenu semblables à ceux des personnes nées au Canada. À partir des données de l'Enquête sociale générale de 2008, on examine, dans cet article, si  les réseaux personnels et autres mesures du capital humain peuvent expliquer les différences relatives à l'emploi et au revenu entre les immigrants et les autres Canadiens. Des réseaux personnels plus restreints sont-ils associés à des niveaux d'emploi et de revenu plus faibles chez les immigrants récents au Canada?

HTML PDF

Qu'est-ce qui stresse les stressés? Principales sources de stress des travailleurs

par Susan Crompton

Date de diffusion : Le 13 octobre 2011

Dans cet article, on examine comment les travailleurs se disant très stressés se distinguent de ceux déclarant l'être moins à l'aide des données de l'Enquête sociale générale sur l'emploi du temps de 2010. On y identifie les cinq principaux facteurs de stress, puis on y compare les caractéristiques des travailleurs très stressés selon la source de stress. Par exemple, on examine si les caractéristiques des travailleurs diffèrent selon qu'ils éprouvent de l'anxiété par rapport à leur emploi ou qu'ils sont préoccupés par leurs finances ou leur situation familiale.

HTML PDF

Se rendre au travail : résultats de l'Enquête sociale générale de 2010

par Martin Turcotte

Date de diffusion : Le 24 août 2011

Dans le présent article, on s'intéresse à différentes dimensions des déplacements entre le domicile et le travail. On présente d'abord des renseignements sur les durées de navettage et la fréquence à laquelle les travailleurs se retrouvent pris dans la circulation. En second lieu, on s'intéresse aux perceptions des travailleurs quant au temps qu'ils consacrent au navettage, ainsi qu'aux perceptions des automobilistes par rapport au transport en commun. Enfin, on établit un lien entre les caractéristiques des déplacements vers le travail (leur durée, la récurrence de la congestion routière, etc.) et certaines mesures subjectives de la qualité de vie dont le niveau de stress ressenti et la satisfaction par rapport à la conciliation travail-famille.

HTML PDF

Mobilité intergénérationnelle en éducation : l'achèvement d'études universitaires selon le niveau de scolarité des parents

par Martin Turcotte

Date de diffusion : Le 24 août 2011

Les jeunes adultes dont un ou les deux parents ont complété des études universitaires sont beaucoup plus susceptibles d'en compléter eux-mêmes que ceux qui proviennent de familles dont les parents ont un niveau de scolarité moindre. Dans cet article, on vérifie si on assiste à une progression de la mobilité intergénérationnelle du point de vue de la scolarisation universitaire. Spécifiquement, on se demande si les personnes qui proviennent de familles dont les parents n'ont pas complété d'études universitaires sont plus susceptibles d'en avoir complété elles-mêmes que ce n'était le cas il y a près de 25 ans et si l'écart qui les sépare des personnes dont les parents ont complété des études universitaires a diminué au fil du temps.

HTML PDF

Évolution générationnelle du travail rémunéré et non rémunéré

par Katherine Marshall

Date de diffusion : Le 12 juillet 2011

La recherche suggère que la division du travail entre hommes et femmes continue d'évoluer de même que les attentes quant au rôle de chacun. Ce pourrait être particulièrement vrai de la Génération Y, soit des personnes nées entre 1980 et 1995 qui ont grandi dans une période où la dynamique familiale et la formation de la famille changeaient considérablement. À partir des données de l'Enquête sociale générale sur l'emploi du temps de 1986, 1998 et 2010, on examine, dans cet article, les changements relatifs à la participation et au temps passé au travail rémunéré et aux tâches domestiques non rémunérées des personnes de 20 à 29 ans de trois générations —  les derniers baby-boomers, la génération X et la génération Y. La section finale porte sur la répartition du temps passé au travail rémunéré et non rémunéré des couples à deux soutiens.

HTML PDF

Évolution récente de la transmission des langues immigrantes au Canada

par René Houle

Date de diffusion : Le 7 juin 2011

Cet article porte sur l'étendue de la transmission des langues immigrantes entre 1981 et 2006. À l'aide d'une approche transversale, on y compare les mères immigrantes ayant pour langue maternelle une langue non officielle et leurs enfants nés au Canada. On utilise aussi une approche longitudinale afin de comparer les mères immigrantes en 1981 à leurs filles en 2006. L'article est basé sur les données des recensements de 1981 et 2006.

HTML PDF

Date de modification :