Canadian Social Trends Number 93

Giving and volunteering among Canada's immigrants

by Derrick Thomas

Release date: May 17, 2012

This article examines donating and volunteering among immigrants in Canada: their reasons for doing so or not, the amounts of money and time they give and the types of organizations that they support. It compares immigrants to other Canadians and considers how the philanthropic behaviour of immigrants changes as they establish themselves in Canada. The data are from the 2010 Survey of Giving Volunteering and Participating.

HTML PDF

Employer support of volunteering

by Matt Hurst

Release date: May 17, 2012

This article examines employer support of volunteering in Canada. It focuses on volunteers who are employed, examining the different types of employer support they receive. It also looks at the number of hours volunteered by supported employees, as well as the type of activities they engage in and work-related skills they acquire through volunteering. Possible effects of employer support are explored, including how it relates to employees' perceptions that volunteering increases their chances of job success.

HTML PDF

Charitable giving by Canadians

by Martin Turcotte

Release date: April 16, 2012

This article examines charitable giving by Canadians, comparing information about donors and donations in 2010 and 2007. It profiles the types of organizations that received the larger amounts of donations, distinguishing between religious and other organizations. It also looks at motivations for donating and reasons for not giving more, including what may have bothered donors about how they were asked to donate. The data comes from the 2010 Canada Survey on Giving, Volunteering and Participating.

HTML PDF

Volunteering in Canada

by Mireille Vézina and Susan Crompton

Release date: April 16, 2012

This article examines volunteering in Canada: volunteer rates, number of hours volunteered and types of organizations supported. It describes key socioeconomic characteristics of volunteers, types of volunteer activities, motivations for volunteering and barriers to volunteering. The article also examines "informal volunteering", that is, direct help provided to family, friends and neighbours. Data are from the 2010 Canada Survey on Giving, Volunteering and Participating.

HTML PDF

Profile of seniors' transportation habits

by Martin Turcotte

Release date: January 23, 2012

This article examines various issues related to seniors' access to transportation and to a vehicle. The first part focuses on determining which seniors have a driver's licence and drive a car, including those with the weakest visual, auditory, motor and cognitive faculties. The second part of the article describes seniors' main forms of transportation other than driving a car. The last part examines the impact of seniors' main form of transportation on their level of social participation.

HTML PDF

Date modified:

Tendances sociales canadiennes Numéro 93

Le don et le bénévolat chez les immigrants du Canada

par Derrick Thomas

Date de diffusion : Le 17 mai 2012

Dans cet article, on examine le don et le bénévolat chez les immigrants au Canada, soit les raisons qui les poussent à en faire ou pas, les sommes d'argent et le temps qu'ils donnent, et les types d'organismes qu'ils soutiennent. On y compare les immigrants aux autres Canadiens et on y considère l'évolution de leur comportement caritatif depuis leur arrivée au Canada. Les données proviennent de l'Enquête canadienne sur le don, le bénévolat et la participation de 2010.

HTML PDF

Le bénévolat appuyé par l'employeur

par Matt Hurst

Date de diffusion : Le 17 mai 2012

Dans cet article, on examine le bénévolat appuyé par l'employeur au Canada. On s'intéresse aux bénévoles ayant un emploi et aux différents types d'appui qu'ils reçoivent de leur employeur. On y examine aussi le nombre d'heures de bénévolat fournies par les employés recevant de l'appui, ainsi que les types d'activités qu'ils font et les compétences professionnelles qu'ils acquièrent grâce au bénévolat. Enfin, on y explore les effets potentiels de l'appui de l'employeur, dont l'association entre cet appui et la perception de l'employé que le bénévolat avait amélioré ses chances de réussite professionnelle.

HTML PDF

Les dons de bienfaisance des Canadiens

par Martin Turcotte

Date de diffusion : Le 16 avril 2012

Cet article examine les dons de charité effectués par les Canadiens. On y compare les renseignements relatifs aux donateurs et aux dons de 2010 à ceux de 2007. L'article décrit les types d'organismes qui ont obtenu des montants plus élevés, en faisant la distinction entre les organismes religieux et les autres types d'organismes; les raisons qui motivent les gens à faire des dons; ainsi que les raisons évoquées pour ne pas donner davantage, y compris les choses qui ont dérangé les donateurs lorsqu'ils ont été sollicités. Les données proviennent de l'Enquête canadienne sur le don, le bénévolat et la participation de 2010.

HTML PDF

Le bénévolat au Canada

par Mireille Vézina et Susan Crompton

Date de diffusion : Le 16 avril 2012

Cet article examine le bénévolat au Canada : les taux de bénévolat, le nombre d'heures qui y sont consacrées et les types d'organisme qui en bénéficient. On y décrit les principales caractéristiques socioéconomiques des bénévoles, les types d'activités réalisées, les raisons qui motivent les personnes à faire du bénévolat ainsi que les obstacles qui les empêchent d'en faire. L'article examine également le « bénévolat informel », c.-à-d. l'aide directe offerte aux membres de la famille, aux amis et aux voisins. Les données proviennent de l'Enquête canadienne sur le don, le bénévolat et la participation de 2010.

HTML PDF

Profil des habitudes liées au transport chez les aînés 

par Martin Turcotte

Date de diffusion : Le 23 janvier 2012

Dans cet article, on s'intéresse à différentes questions reliées à l'accès des personnes âgées au transport et à un véhicule. D'abord, on cherche à savoir qui possède son permis de conduire et qui prend le volant, puis on met le tout en perspective en considérant les aînés ayant les facultés visuelles, auditives, motrices ou cognitives les plus faibles. En deuxième partie, on dresse un portrait des principaux modes de transport des aînés autres que la conduite d'une automobile. Finalement, on examine l'influence du moyen de transport principal sur le niveau de participation sociale des aînés.

HTML PDF

Date de modification :