Publications

    Canada Year Book

    2011

    Past issues

    Historical collection

    Red River flooding

    Warning View the most recent version.

    Archived information

    Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact-us" to request a format other than those available.

    The Red River, spring and flooding are nearly synonymous, with the most recent major floods occurring in 1997, 2009 and 2011. Slow and small most of the year, the Red River meanders north across a vast agricultural plain 64 km to 80 km wide and about 530 km long from its origin on the Minnesota–North Dakota border south of Fargo to its delta known as the Netley Marsh at the southern tip of Lake Winnipeg.

    The Red River's watershed encompasses about 290,000 km2, including the Assiniboine River basin (163,000 km2), which joins the Red River at Winnipeg. About 16% of the Red River basin, excluding the Assiniboine basin, is located in Canada; the remainder is within North Dakota, Minnesota and South Dakota. The river falls just 70 m along its entire length of some 880 km. In Manitoba, the river has an average valley gradient of 0.0001.

    Because of this flatness, high water has nowhere to go except to overflow the river's shallow banks and spread out across the plain until it resembles a vast, shallow lake. This flooding can have a significant impact on agricultural areas.

    In 2009, 1,300 hectares of agricultural land was inundated by the end of March. After reaching 46,800 hectares on April 14, the flooding continued, peaking at 86,400 hectares on April 24. The first area affected by the flood on March 31 was still under water on May 5, indicating that the flooded area did not move from one region to another, but only increased in size. Regions around the municipality of Emerson in southern Manitoba were submerged for at least 36 consecutive days.

    In 2009, it was estimated that 235 farmers were affected by the flood. The 1997 flooding, by comparison, covered 141,900 hectares of cultivated land and affected close to 350 farmers.

    Map 15.4 Red River Valley, 1997 flooding

    Map 15.4 Red River Valley, 1997 flooding

    Source: Statistics Canada, Geography Division.

    View description for Map 15.4

    Date modified:

Les crues de la rivière Rouge

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

La rivière Rouge est reconnue pour ses crues printanières, dont les plus récentes sont survenues en 1997, 2009 et 2011. Étroite et lente durant la plus grande partie de l'année, la rivière Rouge serpente dans une vaste plaine agricole de 64 km à 80 km de largeur et d'environ 530 km de longueur depuis son origine à la frontière entre le Minnesota et le Dakota du Nord, au sud de Fargo, jusqu'à son delta appelé le marais Netley, à l'extrémité sud du lac Winnipeg.

Son bassin hydrographique couvre une région d'environ 290 000 km2 comprenant le bassin de la rivière Assiniboine (163 000 km2), qui rejoint la rivière Rouge à Winnipeg. Environ 16 % du bassin de la rivière Rouge (sans compter le bassin de la rivière Assiniboine) est situé au Canada; le reste se trouve au Dakota du Nord, au Minnesota et au Dakota du Sud. Sur une longueur totale de quelque 880 km, la dénivellation n'est que de 70 m. Au Manitoba, le gradient moyen de la vallée est de 0,0001.

Le territoire étant tellement plat, les hautes eaux n'ont nulle part où aller, et la rivière ne peut que déborder de son lit et s'étendre dans la plaine au point de ressembler à un vaste lac peu profond. Une telle crue des eaux peut avoir un impact considérable sur les superficies agricoles.

À la fin de mars 2009, 1 300 hectares de terres agricoles ont été inondés. Après avoir atteint 46 800 hectares le 14 avril, l'inondation s'est poursuivie, culminant à 86 400 hectares le 24 avril. La première superficie touchée par l'inondation le 31 mars était toujours submergée le 5 mai, ce qui démontrait que la partie inondée ne s'était pas déplacée d'une région à l'autre, mais que sa taille avait simplement augmenté. Certaines régions près d'Emerson, dans le sud du Manitoba, ont été inondées pendant au moins 36 jours consécutifs.

On estime que la crue a touché 235 exploitants agricoles en 2009. Par comparaison, la crue de 1997 avait inondé 141 900 hectares de terres cultivées et touché près de 350 exploitants agricoles.

Carte 16.4 Vallée de la rivière Rouge, inondations de 1997

Carte 16.4 Vallée de la rivière Rouge, inondations de 1997

Source : Statistique Canada, Division de la géographie.

Voir la description de la Carte 16.4

Date de modification :