Publications

Economic Insights

Twenty Years in the Careers of Immigrant and Native-born Workers

Twenty Years in the Careers of Immigrant and Native-born Workers

by René Morissette and Rizwan Sultan

Start of text box

This article addresses three questions: (1) What were the employment dynamics of a specific cohort of immigrant and native-born workers over the 20 years from 1991 to 2010? (2) To what extent did initial differences in earnings and pension coverage between the two groups narrow during this period? (3) Which factors were associated with the narrowing of these differences? The data are from the linked 1991 Census–Longitudinal Worker File and pertain to real annual wages and salaries, and pension coverage of immigrants aged 25 to 34, in 1991, who arrived in Canada from 1985 to 1990, and native-born workers of the same age group.Note 1

End of text box

From the early 1980s to the mid-2000s, earnings differences between recent immigrant and native-born workers have widened substantially (Statistics Canada, 2008) (Chart 1). This widening gap raises the question of whether earnings of the two groups eventually converge in the long-term. Despite substantial research on immigrant/native-born earnings differences, no study has followed immigrant and native-born workers individually over a 20-year period to identify factors associated with earnings convergence over the long-term. To shed light on this issue, this article examines the individual employment and wage trajectories of a specific cohort of young immigrants and their native-born counterparts over the 1991-to-2010 period. It shows how real annual wages and salaries and pension coverage of both groups evolved over that 20-year period, and the role that various job characteristics played in this convergence.

The typical immigrant employee had four different employers from 1991 to 2010

Immigrants who were aged 25 to 34 in 1991 and who had arrived in Canada from 1985 to 1990 were less likely than their native-born counterparts to have paid employment throughout the 1991-to-2010 period. Among those who had paid jobs in both 1991 and 2010 (hereafter, 'employees' or 'workers'), 64% of immigrant men and 59% of immigrant women had paid employment in each year from 1991 to 2010. The corresponding figures for native-born men and women in the same age range were higher, at 79% and 71%, respectively.

Even though―or perhaps because―they were less likely to have paid work every year throughout the period, immigrants changed employers more often than native-born employees because of layoffs, quits or other reasons. Immigrant men and women averaged 4.8 and 5.0 employers, respectively, versus 4.4 and 4.3 for their native-born counterparts. The median number of employers for immigrants was 4, compared with 3 for native-born employees.

The fact that immigrants were less likely than native-born employees to be employed in large firms at the beginning of the period may be one reason why they changed employers more often. In 1991, 30% of immigrant men and 43% of immigrant women were in firms with 500 or more workers. The corresponding percentages for native-born men and women were higher, at 50% and 53%, respectively. Because wages, pension coverage, job security, and opportunities to move up the earnings ladder within the organization are often better in large firms, worker turnover is generally lower than in small firms (Morissette et al., 2013).

Partial convergence in earnings and pension coverage

Both immigrant and native-born workers experienced substantial growth in annual real wages and salaries from 1991 to 2010. For instance, in 2010 when they were aged 44 to 53, members of this cohort of male immigrant employees earned, on average, $60,330 a year, 1.71 times what they had earned in 1991 ($35,290) (Table 1). The corresponding amounts for native-born male employees were $70,210 and $46,410, respectively, an increase of over 51%. The net result was a partial convergence in relative earnings. The average annual wages and salaries of immigrant men were 86% of those of native-born men in 2010, up from 76% in 1991.Note 2

Nevertheless, the earnings gap did not narrow steadily throughout the 20-year-period. From 1991 to the early 2000s, the annual wages and salaries of immigrant men in this cohort rose relative to those of native-born men (Chart 2). However, convergence stalled around 2001, and, from 2003 on, immigrant men lost some ground relative to their native-born counterparts.

The partial earnings convergence took place as immigrant men increased their presence in large firms to a greater extent than native-born men. In 2010, 39% of male immigrant employees were in firms with 500 or more workers, up from 30% in 1991. By contrast, about one-half of native-born male employees were in large firms in both 1991 and 2010. Immigrant men's growing presence in large firms, combined with the stable percentage of native-born men in such firms, accounted for between one-quarter and one-third of the narrowing of the earnings gap between the two groups.Note 3 Other factors (for instance, differential employment movements across narrowly defined industries and occupations, and differential improvements in language skills and social networks) that may underlie the partial earnings convergence cannot be measured with existing data.Note 4

The earnings of immigrant and native-born women also partially converged. Average annual wages and salaries of immigrant women were 93% of those of native-born women in 2010, up from 78% in 1991. While immigrant women's presence in large firms increased, so did that of native-born women. As a result, differential movements in employment across firm sizes accounted for a relatively small portion―3% at most―of the earnings convergence among women.

For immigrant employees of both sexes, partial earnings convergence was observed among both less-educated (those with a trades certificate, a high school diploma, or less education) and more-educated workers (Table 1). By 2010, regardless of their level of education, immigrant women's earnings were roughly 95% of those of their native-born counterparts. For men, the extent of convergence differed by education level. In 2010, less-educated male immigrants' earnings were 78% of those of their native-born counterparts, compared with 93% for more-educated immigrant workers.

Along with relative earnings, differences in pension coverage narrowed during the 1991-to-2010 period. For example, in 2010, 44% of immigrant men had a registered pension plan (RPP) or a deferred profit-sharing plan (DPSP), compared with 56% for their native-born counterparts (Chart 3). Two decades earlier, the figures had been 25% and 50%, respectively.

Multivariate analyses show that, as with relative earnings, the partial convergence of the RPP–DPSP coverage rates among men resulted partly from differential employment movements across firm sizes, which accounted for between roughly one-fifth and one-third of the narrowing of the gap. For women, such movements accounted for one-tenth to one-quarter of the reduction in the difference in RPP–DPSP coverage.

Regardless of their level of education, immigrant employees of both sexes increased their RPP or DPSP coverage faster than native-born employees (Table 2). As a result, coverage rates converged during the period, although not fully.Note 5

Cumulative earnings correlated with worker mobility

By the end of the 20-year period, the cumulative wages and salaries of male immigrant employees in this cohort averaged $974,900 (2010 dollars), which was 17% lower than what their native-born counterparts earned ($1,173,900). The amounts for women were $676,400 and $778,300, respectively, a difference of 13%.Note 6

As expected, cumulative earnings were positively associated with workers' education. When language skills (self-reported ability to sustain a conversation in one or both of the official languages) and region of residence in 1991 were taken into account, immigrant men who entered Canada with at least a bachelor's degree earned, on average, $664,500 more during the period from 1991 to 2010 period than their counterparts with a high school diploma. Immigrant women with a university degree earned $290,150 more, on average, than those with a high school diploma.

Cumulative earnings were also correlated with worker mobility. When education, language skills and region of residence at the beginning of the period were taken into account, immigrant men who had only one employer during the period earned about $205,000 more than those who had five employers. The corresponding estimate for immigrant women is close to $170,000. However, rather than indicating the impact of staying with one employer, these numbers likely reflect the tendency for people employed in high-wage firms to remain with those firms over a long period.

Job loss (or the absence thereof) also influenced the cumulative earnings of immigrant men and women in this cohort. Immigrant employees who were permanently laid-off at some point during the 20-year period had lower cumulative earnings than those who did not experience job loss. The cumulative earnings disadvantage associated with job loss varied between about $104,000 for immigrant men and $74,000 for immigrant women. 

Summary

The decline in earnings of recent immigrants observed since the early 1980s raises the question of whether wages of immigrant and native-born workers fully converge in the long-term. To shed light on this issue, this study examined the employment and earnings trajectories of a specific cohort of immigrant and native-born workers from 1991 to 2010. The main finding is that while earnings and pension coverage of immigrant and native-born employees partially converged over the 20-year period, significant differences still remained. These results measure convergence at the individual level. Whether the degree of convergence in earnings and pension coverage that is achieved over a long period differs when convergence is defined at the family level is a question for future research.                                                                       

References

This article in the Economic Insights series is based on research carried out by the Social Analysis Division. For more information, see:

Morissette, R., Y. Lu, and T. Qiu. 2013. Worker Reallocation in Canada. Analytical Studies Branch Research Paper Series, no. 348. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11F0019M. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.

Ostrovsky, Y., and A. Stark. Forthcoming. An Examination of Registered Pension Plan and Registered Savings Plan Saving Behaviour Across Cohorts of Canadian-born and Immigrant Workers. Analytical Studies Branch Research Paper Series. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11F0019M. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.

Picot, G., and P. Piraino. 2012. Immigrant Earnings Growth: Selection Bias or Real Progress? Analytical Studies Branch Research Paper Series, no. 340. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11F0019M. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.

Statistics Canada. 2008. Earnings and Incomes of Canadians Over the Past Quarter Century, 2006 Census: Findings. Statistics Canada Catalogue No. 97-563-X. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.

Notes

  1. Wages are expressed in 2010 dollars. To identify job characteristics (for example firm size, industry of employment) that contributed to immigrant/native-born earnings convergence over the 1991-to-2010 period, the sample consists only of individuals who had positive wages and salaries in both 1991 and 2010.
  2. This partial convergence is consistent with Picot and Piraino (2012), who tracked the annual earnings of immigrant men who arrived in Canada between 1985 and 1989, at the ages of 25 to 44, and the earnings of a comparison group (native-born workers and immigrants who arrived in Canada before 1980). From 1990 to 2005, earnings differences between the two groups narrowed, falling from 30.2% to 14.8%. Unlike the current study, Picot and Piraino (2012) did not assess earnings convergence by education level or convergence in pension coverage.
  3. This finding is from regression analyses that control for firm size, broad industrial groups, union status, and regions.
  4. Narrowly defined industries can be identified in the data set used for this study, but the relatively small sample sizes for immigrant employees preclude reliable analyses at a detailed level of industry disaggregation.
  5. Using the Longitudinal Administrative Databank, Ostrovsky and Stark (forthcoming) also find that immigrant versus native born differences in pension coverage tend to narrow over time. However, their data do not allow separate analyses by education level or an assessment of the degree to which differential employment movements across firm sizes account for the partial convergence in pension coverage.
  6. Consistent with Table 1, average cumulative earnings of less-educated immigrant men ($793,900) amounted to 77% of those of their native-born counterparts ($1,032,800). By contrast, cumulative earnings of more-educated male immigrants ($1,274,200) amounted to roughly 88% of those received by their native-born counterparts ($1,442,800). For both education levels, average cumulative wages and salaries of immigrant women amounted to roughly 90% of those of native-born women.
Date modified:

Publications

Aperçus économiques

Vingt ans dans la carrière des travailleurs immigrants et des travailleurs nés au Canada

Vingt ans dans la carrière des travailleurs immigrants et des travailleurs nés au Canada

par René Morissette et Rizwan Sultan

Start of text box

Le présent article porte sur trois questions : 1) Quelle était la dynamique de l'emploi d'une cohorte particulière de travailleurs immigrants et de travailleurs nés au Canada au cours de la période de 20 ans allant de 1991 à 2010? 2) Dans quelle mesure les différences initiales entre la rémunération et la protection en matière de pensions des deux groupes ont-elles été réduites au cours de cette période? 3) Quels facteurs étaient associés à la réduction de ces différences? Les données proviennent d'enregistrements couplés du Recensement de 1991 et du Fichier de données longitudinales sur la main-d'œuvre et portent sur les salaires et traitements annuels réels et la protection en matière de pensions des travailleurs immigrants âgés de 25 à 34 ans en 1991 qui sont arrivés au Canada de 1985 à 1990 et des travailleurs nés au Canada du même groupe d'âgeNote 1.

End of text box

Du début des années 1980 au milieu des années 2000, les différences entre la rémunération des travailleurs immigrants récents et des travailleurs nés au Canada ont augmenté considérablement (Statistique Canada, 2008) (graphique 1). L'élargissement de cet écart soulève la question de la convergence possible de la rémunération des deux groupes à long terme. En dépit de recherches substantielles sur les différences entre la rémunération des immigrants et des travailleurs nés au Canada, aucune étude n'a suivi ces travailleurs individuellement sur une période de 20 ans pour déterminer les facteurs associés à la convergence de la rémunération à long terme. Afin d'approfondir cette question, le présent article examine les trajectoires individuelles d'emploi et de rémunération d'une cohorte particulière de jeunes immigrants et de leurs homologues nés au Canada au cours de la période de 1991 à 2010. Il montre comment les salaires et traitements annuels réels et la protection en matière de pensions des deux groupes ont évolué au cours de cette période de 20 ans, ainsi que le rôle que les diverses caractéristiques d'emploi ont joué à l'égard de cette convergence.

L'employé immigrant typique a eu quatre employeurs différents de 1991 à 2010

Les immigrants âgés de 25 à 34 ans en 1991 qui étaient arrivés au Canada de 1985 à 1990 étaient moins susceptibles que leurs homologues nés au Canada d'avoir un emploi rémunéré tout au long de la période de 1991 à 2010. Parmi ceux qui avaient un emploi rémunéré, tant en 1991 qu'en 2010 (ci-après appelés « employés » ou « travailleurs »), 64 % des hommes immigrants et 59 % des femmes immigrantes avaient un emploi rémunéré chaque année de 1991 à 2010. Les chiffres correspondants pour les hommes et les femmes nés au Canada de la même fourchette d'âge étaient plus élevés, s'établissant respectivement à 79 % et 71 %.

Même s'ils étaient moins susceptibles d'avoir un travail rémunéré chaque année tout au long de la période, ou peut-être pour cette raison, les immigrants ont changé d'employeur plus souvent que les employés nés au Canada par suite de mises à pied, de départs volontaires ou d'autres raisons. Les hommes et les femmes immigrants ont eu en moyenne 4,8 et 5,0 employeurs, respectivement, comparativement à 4,4 et 4,3 pour leurs homologues nés au Canada. Le nombre médian d'employeurs pour les immigrants était de 4, comparativement à 3 pour les employés nés au Canada.

Le fait que les immigrants étaient moins susceptibles que les employés nés au Canada de travailler dans de grandes entreprises au début de la période peut être l'une des raisons pour lesquelles ils ont changé d'employeur plus souvent. En 1991, 30 % des hommes immigrants et 43 % des femmes immigrantes travaillaient dans des entreprises comptant 500 travailleurs ou plus. Les pourcentages correspondants pour les hommes et les femmes nés au Canada étaient plus élevés : 50 % et 53 %, respectivement. Comme la rémunération, la protection en matière de pensions, la sécurité d'emploi et les possibilités de gagner un meilleur salaire au sein de l'organisation sont souvent meilleures dans les grandes entreprises, le roulement de travailleurs y est généralement plus faible que dans les petites entreprises (Morissette et coll., 2013).

Convergence partielle de la rémunération et de la protection en matière de pensions

Tant les travailleurs immigrants que les travailleurs nés au Canada ont connu une croissance substantielle de leurs salaires et traitements annuels réels de 1991 à 2010. Par exemple, en 2010, lorsqu'ils avaient de 44 à 53 ans, les membres de cette cohorte d'employés immigrants de sexe masculin gagnaient en moyenne 60 330 $ par année, soit 1,71 fois ce qu'ils gagnaient en 1991 (35 290 $) (tableau 1). Les montants correspondants pour les employés de sexe masculin nés au Canada étaient respectivement de 70 210 $ et 46 410 $, soit une augmentation de plus de 51 %. Le résultat net est une convergence partielle de la rémunération relative. Les salaires et traitements annuels moyens des hommes immigrants représentaient 86 % de ceux des hommes nés au Canada en 2010, comparativement à 76 % en 1991Note 2.

Cependant, l'écart entre les gains n'a pas diminué de façon constante tout au long de la période de 20 ans. De 1991 au début des années 2000, les salaires et traitements annuels des hommes immigrants de cette cohorte ont augmenté par rapport à ceux des hommes nés au Canada (graphique 2). Toutefois, la convergence a cessé autour de 2001, et à partir de 2003, les hommes immigrants ont perdu du terrain par rapport à leurs homologues nés au Canada.

La convergence partielle de la rémunération s'est produite au moment où les hommes immigrants ont augmenté leur présence dans les grandes entreprises dans une plus large mesure que les hommes nés au Canada. En 2010, 39 % des employés immigrants de sexe masculin travaillaient dans des entreprises comptant 500 travailleurs ou plus, comparativement à 30 % en 1991. Par contre, environ la moitié des employés de sexe masculin nés au Canada travaillaient dans de grandes entreprises, tant en 1991 qu'en 2010. La présence de plus en plus grande des hommes immigrants dans les grandes entreprises, combinée à la stabilité du pourcentage d'hommes nés au Canada dans ces entreprises, a été à l'origine du quart au tiers du rétrécissement de l'écart dans la rémunération entre les deux groupesNote 3. D'autres facteurs (par exemple les mouvements d'emploi différents dans des industries et des professions définies à un niveau de désagrégation détaillé et les améliorations différentes des compétences linguistiques et des réseaux sociaux), qui peuvent sous-tendre la convergence partielle de la rémunération, ne peuvent être mesurés à partir des données existantesNote 4.

La rémunération des femmes immigrantes et des femmes nées au Canada a aussi convergé partiellement. Les salaires et traitements annuels moyens des femmes immigrantes représentaient 93 % de ceux des femmes nées au Canada en 2010, comparativement à 78 % en 1991. Même si la présence des femmes immigrantes dans les grandes entreprises a augmenté, il en est allé de même pour les femmes nées au Canada. Par conséquent, les mouvements d'emploi différents selon les tailles d'entreprises ont été à l'origine d'une partie relativement faible — 3 % au plus — de la convergence de la rémunération chez les femmes.

Dans le cas des employés immigrants des deux sexes, la convergence partielle de la rémunération a été observée à la fois chez les travailleurs moins scolarisés (ceux ayant un certificat d'une école de métiers, un diplôme d'études secondaires ou un niveau inférieur de scolarité) et les travailleurs plus scolarisés (tableau 1). En 2010, peu importe leur niveau de scolarité, la rémunération des femmes immigrantes représentait environ 95 % de celle de leurs homologues nées au Canada. Dans le cas des hommes, la portée de la convergence différait selon le niveau de scolarité. En 2010, la rémunération des hommes immigrants non scolarisés représentait 78 % de celle de leurs homologues nés au Canada, comparativement à 93 % pour les travailleurs immigrants plus scolarisés.

En parallèle avec la rémunération relative, les différences de protection en matière de pensions ont diminué au cours de la période de 1991 à 2010. Par exemple, en 2010, 44 % des hommes immigrants avaient un régime de pension agréé (RPA) ou un régime de participation différée aux bénéfices (RPDB), comparativement à 56 % de leurs homologues nés au Canada (graphique 3). Deux décennies plus tôt, les proportions étaient respectivement de 25 % et 50 %.

Des analyses multidimensionnelles montrent que, comme pour la rémunération relative, la convergence partielle du taux de protection par un RPA ou un RPDB chez les hommes découlait en partie des mouvements d'emploi différents selon les tailles d'entreprises, qui ont été à l'origine du cinquième au tiers de la diminution de l'écart. Dans le cas des femmes, ces mouvements ont représenté du dixième au quart de la réduction de l'écart dans la protection par un RPA ou un RPDB.

Peu importe leur niveau de scolarité, les employés immigrants des deux sexes ont vu leur protection par un RPA ou un RPDB augmenter plus rapidement que les employés nés au Canada (tableau 2). Par conséquent, les taux de protection ont convergé au cours de la période, mais pas complètementNote 5.

Rémunération cumulative corrélée à la mobilité des travailleurs

À la fin de la période de 20 ans, les salaires et traitements cumulatifs des employés immigrants de sexe masculin de cette cohorte se situaient en moyenne à 974 900 $ (dollars de 2010), ce qui représente 17 % de moins que ceux de leurs homologues nés au Canada (1 173 900 $). Dans le cas des femmes, les montants étaient respectivement de 676 400 $ et 778 300 $Note 6, soit une différence de 13 %.

Comme il fallait s'y attendre, la rémunération cumulative était associée de façon positive au niveau de scolarité du travailleur. Lorsque les compétences linguistiques (capacité autodéclarée de soutenir une conversation dans une des deux langues officielles ou les deux) et la région de résidence en 1991 étaient prises en compte, les hommes immigrants qui étaient arrivés au Canada avec au moins un baccalauréat ont gagné en moyenne 664 500 $ de plus au cours de la période de 1991 à 2010 que leurs homologues ayant un diplôme d'études secondaires. Les femmes immigrantes titulaires d'un diplôme universitaire ont gagné 290 150 $ de plus en moyenne que celles qui avaient un diplôme d'études secondaires.

La rémunération cumulative était aussi corrélée à la mobilité des travailleurs. Lorsque le niveau de scolarité, les compétences linguistiques et la région de résidence au début de la période étaient pris en compte, les hommes immigrants qui n'avaient eu qu'un employeur au cours de la période avaient gagné environ 205 000 $ de plus que ceux qui avaient eu cinq employeurs. L'estimation correspondante pour les femmes immigrantes se rapproche de 170 000 $. Toutefois, plutôt que de montrer les répercussions du fait de demeurer avec un employeur, ces chiffres rendent probablement compte de la tendance des personnes travaillant dans des entreprises où la rémunération est élevée à demeurer dans ces entreprises pendant une longue période de temps.

La perte d'emploi (ou l'absence de perte d'emploi) a aussi influencé la rémunération cumulative des hommes et des femmes immigrants de cette cohorte. Les employés immigrants qui ont été mis à pied de façon permanente à un moment donné au cours de la période de 20 ans avaient une rémunération cumulative plus faible que ceux qui n'ont pas connu de perte d'emploi. Le désavantage au chapitre de la rémunération cumulative associé à la perte d'emploi variait entre environ 104 000 $ pour les hommes immigrants et 74 000 $ pour les femmes immigrantes.

Résumé

La baisse dans la rémunération des immigrants récents observée depuis le début des années 1980 soulève la question de la convergence complète possible de la rémunération des travailleurs immigrants et des travailleurs nés au Canada à long terme. Afin d'approfondir cette question, la présente étude a examiné les trajectoires d'emploi et de rémunération d'une cohorte particulière de travailleurs immigrants et de travailleurs nés au Canada de 1991 à 2010. La principale constatation est que, même si la rémunération et la protection en matière de pensions des employés immigrants et des employés nés au Canada ont partiellement convergé au cours de la période de 20 ans, des différences significatives ont subsisté. Ces résultats mesurent la convergence au niveau individuel. Des recherches futures pourraient servir à déterminer si le niveau de convergence de la rémunération et de la protection en matière de pensions sur une longue période diffère si la convergence est définie au niveau de la famille.

Bibliographie

Le présent article de la série Aperçus économiques est fondé sur des recherches menées par la Division de l'analyse sociale. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter les documents suivants :

Morissette, R., Y. Lu et T. Qiu. 2013. Réallocation des travailleurs au Canada, Direction des études analytiques : documents de recherche, no 348. Produit no 11F0019M au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

Ostrovsky, Y., et A. Stark. À paraître. An Examination of Registered Pension Plan and Registered Savings Plan Saving Behaviour Across Cohorts of Canadian-born and Immigrant Workers, Direction des études analytiques : documents de recherche. Produit no 11F0019M au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

Picot, G., et P. Piraino. 2012. Augmentation des gains des immigrants : biais de sélection ou progrès réel?, Direction des études analytiques : documents de recherche, no 340. Produit no 11F0019M au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

Statistique Canada. 2008. Gains et revenus des Canadiens durant le dernier quart de siècle, Recensement de 2006 : résultats. Produit no 97-563-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.

Notes

  1. Les salaires sont exprimés en dollars de 2010. Pour déterminer les caractéristiques d'emploi (par exemple la taille de l'entreprise, le secteur d'activité) qui ont contribué à la convergence de la rémunération des immigrants et des personnes nées au Canada au cours de la période de 1991 à 2010, l'échantillon comprend uniquement les personnes qui ont eu des salaires et traitements positifs, tant en 1991 qu'en 2010.
  2. Cette convergence partielle correspond à celle notée par Picot et Piraino (2012), qui ont suivi la trajectoire de la rémunération annuelle des hommes immigrants qui sont arrivés au Canada entre 1985 et 1989 et qui avaient de 25 à 44 ans ainsi que celle de la rémunération d'un groupe de comparaison (les travailleurs nés au Canada et les immigrants arrivés au Canada avant 1980). De 1990 à 2005, les écarts de rémunération entre les deux groupes ont diminué, passant de 30,2 % à 14,8 %. Contrairement à la présente étude, Picot et Piraino (2012) n'ont pas évalué la convergence de la rémunération selon le niveau de scolarité ou la convergence dans la protection en matière de pensions.
  3. Cette constatation découle d'analyses de régression qui contrôlent la taille de l'entreprise, les grands groupes d'industries, la syndicalisation et les régions.
  4. Des industries définies à un niveau de désagrégation détaillé peuvent être déterminées dans l'ensemble de données utilisé pour la présente étude, mais les tailles relativement petites des échantillons d'employés immigrants empêchent que les analyses soient fiables à un niveau détaillé de désagrégation des industries.
  5. À partir de la Banque de données administratives longitudinales, Ostrovsky et Stark (à paraître) ont aussi déterminé que les différences entre la protection en matière de pensions des immigrants et des personnes nées au Canada ont tendance à diminuer au fil du temps. Toutefois, leurs données ne permettent pas d'analyses distinctes selon le niveau de scolarité ou une évaluation de la mesure dans laquelle les mouvements d'emploi différents selon les tailles d'entreprises sont à l'origine de la convergence partielle de la protection en matière de pensions.
  6. Conformément au tableau 1, la rémunération cumulative des hommes immigrants moins scolarisés (793 900 $) représentait 77 % de celle de leurs homologues nés au Canada (1 032 800 $). Par contre, la rémunération cumulative des hommes immigrants plus scolarisés (1 274 200 $) représentait environ 88 % de celle de leurs homologues nés au Canada (1 442 800 $). Pour les deux niveaux de scolarité, les salaires et traitements cumulatifs moyens des femmes immigrantes représentaient environ 90 % de ceux des femmes nées au Canada.
Date de modification :