Evolution of housing in Canada, 1957 to 2014

Canadian Megatrends

For most of their history, Canadian cities have grown outward as waves of immigrants and the baby boom generation sought homes in the ever-expanding suburbs. Today, urban growth is not so much moving outward as it is upward, as multi-family dwelling units, especially apartments and apartment-condominiums, have transformed the skylines of Canadian cities.

The emergence of apartments and apartment-condominiums in Canada's largest urban centres not only reflects a lifestyle choice, but also important demographic, economic and societal changes—increasing immigration, declining household size, changing household characteristics, an aging population, high prices of single-family homes in some areas, land shortages and development policies in Canada's major cities.

Type of dwelling has changed over time

Chart 1: Building permits, single-family and multi-family dwelling units, Canada, 1957 to 2014

Chart 1: Building permits, single-family and multi-family dwelling units, Canada, 1957 to 2014
Description for Chart 1
Chart 1 - Building Permits, single-family and multi-family dwelling units, Canada, 1957 to 2014
Years Singles, including mobile homes Multiples
1957 60,044 38,861
1958 86,787 58,724
1959 74,368 51,392
1960 49,461 42,085
1961 64,458 46,646
1962 58,625 60,194
1963 67,398 76,319
1964 67,666 94,240
1965 66,011 99,152
1966 61,958 70,421
1967 65,441 95,781
1968 70,136 132,083
1969 65,765 126,644
1970 60,119 116,085
1971 86,763 141,305
1972 96,489 142,906
1973 112,428 154,123
1974 102,064 91,989
1975 118,635 116,983
1976 123,900 133,902
1977 106,768 141,942
1978 105,357 107,818
1979 102,227 81,600
1980 87,527 65,848
1981 83,895 104,458
1982 56,283 58,030
1983 92,195 59,797
1984 79,714 54,228
1985 97,563 66,829
1986 118,929 86,797
1987 132,380 107,873
1988 129,361 96,895
1989 126,842 88,290
1990 95,965 72,887
1991 88,377 72,241
1992 92,507 71,266
1993 85,644 67,423
1994 88,810 63,176
1995 63,744 45,552
1996 78,806 49,233
1997 94,520 54,760
1998 88,713 54,166
1999 94,539 58,098
2000 92,476 56,226
2001 97,792 64,385
2002 126,324 82,897
2003 121,543 94,556
2004 129,389 106,227
2005 120,976 112,415
2006 118,336 109,180
2007 115,891 117,056
2008 93,610 104,851
2009 80,422 78,523
2010 91,908 103,469
2011 82,718 108,069
2012 83,825 119,918
2013 75,163 122,908
2014 73,682 122,540

The suburban home of the 1950s

In the 1950s, single-family homes dominated the housing landscape. From 1957 to 1959, they accounted for 60% of new construction. The introduction of the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation's mortgage loan insurance model in 1954 made single-family homes more attainable, which increased demand for new suburban neighbourhoods.

The apartment boom of the 1960s

A major shift occurred from 1962 to 1973, with the majority of building permits (60%) being issued for multi-family dwellings. The shift reflected the large population growth of the post-war economic boom. Increased demand for housing came from the baby boom generation, born in the late 1940s to the mid-1960s, as well as two groups of new immigrants: European immigrants in the 1950s, and the large inflow of immigrants following the introduction of the Economic Point System in 1967. The affordability of multi-family properties likely made them an attractive alternative to single-family dwellings.

Residential construction aligns in the 1970s

Construction of new multi-family units fell at a faster rate than single-family dwellings from 1974 to 1982, particularly during the recession of the mid-1970s. In 1974, the number of new multi-family units declined 40% to 91,989 units, following a peak of 154,123 units in 1973. From 1974 to 1982, single-family and multi-family dwellings accounted for an equal proportion of new dwellings.

The return of the single-family home in the 1980s

The period of 1983 to 2006 saw slower population growth and higher construction intentions for single-family dwellings. Residential construction decreased during the 1981–1982 recession when mortgage lending rates were at their peak. However, while single-family dwellings experienced a quicker recovery following the recession, multi-family unit construction continued to decline. In 1984, there were fewer multi-family units constructed (54,228) than at any other point in the previous 20-year period. Mortgage lending rates began dropping sharply in late 1982, which meant that more people were able to afford single-family homes.

The recession and slow recovery of the 1990s

Residential building construction decreased again during the 1990–1991 recession, although, in contrast to the 1981–1982 recession, construction intentions for both single- and multi-family dwellings were slow to recover. It took 15 years for both types of dwellings to reach levels comparable to their pre-recession peak of the late 1980s.

Apartment-condominium construction intentions rise in the new millennium

Contrary to popular belief, a condominium is a system of ownership and not a type of building. It refers to an individual dwelling unit that is privately owned, but in a building and/or on land that is collectively owned by all dwelling-unit owners. Therefore, each of the main types of residential building—single-family houses, apartments, doubles and row houses—can be condominiums.

Chart 2: Building permits, condominium construction intentions, Canada, 1992 to 2014

Chart 2: Building permits, condominium construction intentions, Canada, 1992 to 2014
Description for Chart 2
Chart 2 - Building permits, condominium construction intentions, Canada, 1992 to 2014
Years Apartment-condominium Double-condominium Row-condominium
1992 10,142 159 3,369
1993 12,138 556 7,302
1994 12,593 885 5,769
1995 9,430 125 2,523
1996 11,069 62 1,181
1997 6,874 194 1,790
1998 9,063 419 1,883
1999 7,604 327 2,465
2000 3,977 130 2,274
2001 4,391 295 2,254
2002 1,3074 758 3,707
2003 15,756 625 5,755
2004 12,270 595 6,468
2005 14,377 556 6,371
2006 16,055 425 4,998
2007 19,442 507 5,584
2008 25,254 345 4,861
2009 18,257 229 2,742
2010 19,914 265 4,556
2011 19,260 185 3,434
2012 26,194 265 3,521
2013 27,539 171 4,041
2014 33,801 294 4,113

At the national level, apartment-condominiums have increasingly become the dominant type of condominium construction since the early 2000s. They accounted for 88% of condominium construction intentions in 2014, compared to 62% in 2000.

Apartment-condominiums provide concentrated housing in Canada's census metropolitan areas (CMAs), where there may be limited land available for new residential construction. Also, since immigration is now the major source of population growth in Canada, and most immigrants settle in large CMAs, apartment-condominiums may fulfill the newcomer demand for housing.

The relative affordability of apartment-condominiums compared with row, double and, especially, single-family dwellings makes them accessible for first-time buyers, as well as a downsizing option for older households, since they require less upkeep. Condominium owners, compared with other homeowners, are more likely to be younger or older, have a lower household income, and to be classified as non-family or couple-only households.

More multi-family dwellings since the 2008–2009 recession

Since the 2008–2009 recession, construction rates for multi-family dwellings have recovered at a faster pace than single-family dwellings—increasing in four of the five years following the recession. The number of planned multi-family dwellings (103,469) surpassed single-family dwellings (91,908) in 2010, and peaked in 2013 with the highest number of units (122,908) since 1977. On the other hand, single-family dwelling construction fell to 73,682 units in 2014, its lowest point in almost 20 years.

Apartments account for the largest share of construction intentions for three consecutive years

Since 2012, apartments (including apartment-condominiums) have had the highest construction intentions in Canada, which has not occurred since 1973. Over the past 40 years, apartments and single-family homes have accounted for the vast majority (85% on average) of new construction, whereas rows and doubles accounted for about 15% of new construction.

Chart 3: Building permits, type of dwelling, Canada, 1972 to 2014

Chart 3: Building permits, type of dwelling, Canada, 1972 to 2014
Note: Each dwelling type includes those with a condominium ownership.
Description for Chart 3
Chart 3 - Building Permits, type of dwelling, Canada, 1972 to 2014
Years Singles, including mobile homes Double Row Apartments
1972 96,489 15,919 16,623 110,364
1973 112,428 14,185 16,077 123,861
1974 102,064 11,731 13,944 66,314
1975 118,635 16,725 19,460 80,798
1976 123,900 16,386 27,726 89,790
1977 106,768 19,782 24,307 97,853
1978 105,357 18,469 17,263 72,086
1979 102,227 15,828 11,521 54,251
1980 87,527 10,360 9,227 46,261
1981 83,895 11,698 17,575 75,185
1982 56,283 6,072 10,854 41,104
1983 92,195 6,489 9,936 43,372
1984 79,714 5,455 7,816 40,957
1985 97,563 6,353 10,169 50,307
1986 118,929 8,065 9,915 68,817
1987 132,380 9,319 16,090 82,464
1988 129,361 7,784 15,709 73,402
1989 126,842 7,659 14,991 65,640
1990 95,965 6,938 14,790 51,159
1991 88,377 8,578 16,060 47,603
1992 92,507 9,370 17,140 44,756
1993 85,644 9,572 18,434 39,417
1994 88,810 11,122 16,752 35,302
1995 63,744 6,709 12,154 26,689
1996 78,806 8,874 14,073 26,286
1997 94,520 9,907 17,409 27,444
1998 88,713 9,005 14,530 30,631
1999 94,539 9,867 14,959 33,272
2000 92,476 10,067 16,207 29,952
2001 97,792 10,713 14,491 39,181
2002 126,324 11,411 19,568 51,918
2003 121,543 12,631 20,580 61,345
2004 129,389 11,834 22,997 71,396
2005 120,976 11,526 23,197 77,692
2006 118,336 11,002 21,665 76,513
2007 115,891 11,390 23,263 82,403
2008 93,610 9,612 19,903 75,336
2009 80,422 9,079 14,156 55,288
2010 91,908 10,634 20,222 72,613
2011 82,718 9,952 18,263 79,854
2012 83,825 11,710 21,011 87,197
2013 75,163 9,827 20,538 92,543
2014 73,682 11,325 22,586 88,629

Apartments have the highest construction intentions in the three largest census metropolitan areas

In 2014, there were higher construction intentions for apartments (including apartment-condominiums) than for any other dwelling type in Canada's three largest CMAs. In Toronto, they accounted for 54% of residential construction, compared with 27% for single-family homes. In Montréal, apartment units accounted for 75% of residential construction, compared with 16% for single-family homes. Meanwhile, in Vancouver, it was 67% for apartment units and 16% for single-family homes. These three CMAs accounted for just over half of the total CMA population in 2014. In all three CMAs, new single-family dwellings have been declining since the early 2000s, falling from 27,627 dwellings in 2000 to 14,840 in 2014—a 46% decrease.

The affordability and availability of apartments relative to other building types, particularly single-family dwellings, could explain the recent increase in apartments in these CMAs, particularly in Canada's two most expensive housing markets: Vancouver and Toronto. 

Note to readers

Data source

Statistics Canada's monthly Building Permits Survey is a leading indicator of residential construction in Canada. The survey collects administrative data on construction intentions from all municipalities that issue building permits, which currently accounts for approximately 95% of the Canadian population. The data can be used by analysts to understand the number and value of new residential units for both single- and multi-family dwellings, the latter comprised of double or semi-detached, row, and apartment dwellings. Data on condominium construction is also collected, and has been disseminated by type of dwelling (row-condominium, double-condominium, single-condominium, and apartment-condominium) since 1992.

All graphs in this publication use annual data, and, therefore, are comparable without being seasonally adjusted.


Definitions

Building permit: refers to the final authorization to start work on a building project. It is granted by public authorities in response to an application by a principal and based on a specific building plan.

Residential construction: Refers to all buildings intended for private occupancy, whether on a permanent basis or not. Dwellings are divided into the following types: single-family, mobile, cottage, semi-detached or double, row house and apartment.

References

Brown, W. M. and A. Lafrance. 2013. Trends in homeownership by Age and Household Income: Factors associated with the decision to own, 1981 to 2006. Economic Analysis Research Paper Series. Statistics Canada. Catalogue 11F0027M No. 083.

Cross, P. 2010. Slowdowns during periods of economic growth. Canadian Economic Observer. Statistics Canada. Catalogue no. 11-010-X.

LeVasseur, S. and J. Situ. 2013. Condominium dwellings in Canada. National Household Survey in Brief Series. Statistics Canada. Catalogue no. 99-014-X2011003.

Martel, L. 2014. Population growth: Migratory increase overtakes natural increase. Canadian Megatrends. Statistics Canada. Catalogue no. 11-630-X.

Statistics Canada. 2014. Table 051-0056—Estimates of population by census metropolitan area, sex and age group for July 1, based on the Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2011, annual (persons).

Contact information

To enquire about the concepts, methods or data quality of this release, contact Taryn Read-Hobman (613-291-8501), Investment, Science and Technology Division.

Date modified:

L'évolution du logement au Canada de 1957 à 2014

Mégatendances canadiennes

Pendant la plus grande partie de leur existence, les villes canadiennes ont élargi leur territoire au moment où des vagues d'immigrants et la génération du baby-boom recherchaient des maisons dans les banlieues sans cesse grandissantes. De nos jours, la croissance urbaine ne se fait plus à l'horizontale mais plutôt à la verticale, alors que les logements multifamiliaux, tout particulièrement les immeubles d'appartements et les condominiums d'appartements, ont transformé la silhouette des villes canadiennes.

L'émergence des immeubles d'appartements et des immeubles de logements en copropriété dans les grands centres urbains au pays reflètent non seulement un choix de mode de vie, mais aussi d'importants changements démographiques, économiques et sociétaux, comme : la hausse de l'immigration, la réduction de la taille des ménages, l'évolution des caractéristiques des ménages, le vieillissement de la population, les prix élevés des maisons unifamiliales dans certains secteurs, la pénurie de terrains disponibles ainsi que les politiques sur le développement des grandes villes canadiennes.

Le type de logement a évolué avec le temps

Graphique 1 : Permis de bâtir, logements unifamiliaux et multifamiliaux, Canada, 1957 à 2014

Graphique 1 :Permis de bâtir, logements unifamiliaux et multifamiliaux, Canada, 1957 à 2014
Description du graphique 1
Description du graphique 1 - Permis de bâtir, logements unifamiliaux et multifamiliaux, Canada, 1957 à 2014
Années Logements unifamiliaux, y compris maisons mobiles Logements multifamiliaux
1957 60044 38861
1958 86787 58724
1959 74368 51392
1960 49461 42085
1961 64458 46646
1962 58625 60194
1963 67398 76319
1964 67666 94240
1965 66011 99152
1966 61958 70421
1967 65441 95781
1968 70136 132083
1969 65765 126644
1970 60119 116085
1971 86763 141305
1972 96489 142906
1973 112428 154123
1974 102064 91989
1975 118635 116983
1976 123900 133902
1977 106768 141942
1978 105357 107818
1979 102227 81600
1980 87527 65848
1981 83895 104458
1982 56283 58030
1983 92195 59797
1984 79714 54228
1985 97563 66829
1986 118929 86797
1987 132380 107873
1988 129361 96895
1989 126842 88290
1990 95965 72887
1991 88377 72241
1992 92507 71266
1993 85644 67423
1994 88810 63176
1995 63744 45552
1996 78806 49233
1997 94520 54760
1998 88713 54166
1999 94539 58098
2000 92476 56226
2001 97792 64385
2002 126324 82897
2003 121543 94556
2004 129389 106227
2005 120976 112415
2006 118336 109180
2007 115891 117056
2008 93610 104851
2009 80422 78523
2010 91908 103469
2011 82718 108069
2012 83825 119918
2013 75163 122908
2014 73682 122540

La maison de banlieue dans les années 1950

Au cours des années 1950, les maisons unifamiliales dominaient le paysage du logement au pays. Entre 1957 et 1959, ce type de logement représentait 60 % des nouvelles constructions. La mise en œuvre du modèle d'assurance prêt hypothécaire par la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement en 1954 avait rendu plus abordable l'achat d'une maison unifamiliale, ce qui en retour avait accru la demande de nouveaux quartiers dans les banlieues.

La poussée des appartements pendant les années 1960

Un changement majeur s'est produit entre 1962 et 1973, alors que la majorité des permis de bâtir (60 %) étaient émis pour des logements multifamiliaux. Ce changement reflétait la croissance rapide de la population découlant de l'essor économique de l'après-guerre. La demande accrue de logements était largement attribuable aux membres de la génération du baby-boom, nés entre la fin des années 1940 et le milieu des années 1960, et à deux groupes de nouveaux immigrants : les immigrants européens au cours des années 1950 et l'important flux d'immigrants à la suite de la mise en œuvre du système de points économiques en 1967. Il est probable que l'abordabilité des propriétés multifamiliales en a fait une solution de rechange intéressante aux logements unifamiliaux.

La construction résidentielle s'aligne dans les années 1970

La construction de nouvelles unités multifamiliales a reculé plus rapidement que celle des logements unifamiliaux de 1974 à 1982, tout particulièrement au cours de la récession du milieu des années 1970. En 1974, le nombre de nouvelles unités multifamiliales a reculé de 40 % pour atteindre 91 989 unités, après un sommet de 154 123 unités en 1973. De 1974 à 1982, les logements unifamiliaux et les logements multifamiliaux représentaient des proportions égales de nouveaux logements.

Le retour des maisons unifamiliales au cours des années 1980

La période de 1983 à 2006 a été caractérisée par une croissance plus lente de la population et un nombre plus élevé d'intentions de construction de logements unifamiliaux. La construction résidentielle a diminué pendant la récession de 1981-1982, alors que les taux des prêts hypothécaires avaient atteint un sommet. Cependant, au moment où les logements unifamiliaux ont connu une reprise plus rapide après la récession, la construction de logements multifamiliaux a continué à diminuer. En 1984, il y avait moins de logements multifamiliaux construits (54 228) que pendant toute autre période au cours des 20 années précédentes. Les taux des prêts hypothécaires ont connu une forte baisse à la fin de 1982, ce qui a permis à un plus grand nombre de ménages d'acheter des maisons unifamiliales.

La récession et la lente reprise pendant les années 1990

La construction d'immeubles résidentiels a connu une nouvelle baisse pendant la récession de 1990-1991, bien que, contrairement à ce qui s'était produit pendant la récession de 1981-1982, les intentions de construction visant à la fois les logements unifamiliaux et les logements multifamiliaux ont connu une lente reprise. Il aura fallu 15 ans pour que les deux types de logement atteignent des niveaux comparables à ceux du sommet d'avant la récession à la fin des années 1980.

Les intentions de construction de condominiums d'appartements augmentent au cours du nouveau millénaire

Contrairement à la croyance populaire, un condominium est en fait un système de propriété et non pas un type d'immeuble. Cette notion désigne une unité de logement individuelle qui est une propriété privée dans un immeuble et/ou sur un terrain qui appartient collectivement à l'ensemble des propriétaires de logements. Ainsi, chacun des principaux types d'immeuble résidentiel — logement unifamilial, appartement, maison double et maison en rangée — peut être un condominium.

Graphique 2 : Permis de bâtir, intentions de construction de condominiums, Canada, 1992 à 2014

Graphique 2 :Permis de bâtir, intentions de construction de condominiums, Canada, 1992 à2014
Description du graphique 2
Graphique 2 - Permis de bâtir, intentions de construction de condominiums, Canada, 1992 à 2014
Années Condominiums d'appartements Condominiums jumelés Condominiums en rangée
1992 10142 159 3369
1993 12138 556 7302
1994 12593 885 5769
1995 9430 125 2523
1996 11069 62 1181
1997 6874 194 1790
1998 9063 419 1883
1999 7604 327 2465
2000 3977 130 2274
2001 4391 295 2254
2002 13074 758 3707
2003 15756 625 5755
2004 12270 595 6468
2005 14377 556 6371
2006 16055 425 4998
2007 19442 507 5584
2008 25254 345 4861
2009 18257 229 2742
2010 19914 265 4556
2011 19260 185 3434
2012 26194 265 3521
2013 27539 171 4041
2014 33801 294 4113

Au niveau national, les condominiums d'appartements en sont venus avec le temps à constituer le principal type d'immeuble à logements en copropriété depuis le début des années 2000. Ils représentaient 88 % des intentions de construction de logements en copropriété en 2014, en comparaison à 62 % en 2000.

Les condominiums d'appartements offrent des logements dans les régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR) au Canada, où la superficie des terrains peut être limitée. Aussi, puisque l'immigration constitue maintenant la principale source de la croissance de la population au Canada, et puisque la majorité des immigrants s'établissent dans les grandes RMR, les condominiums d'appartements sont en mesure de répondre à la demande de logements des nouveaux arrivants.

L'abordabilité relative des condominiums d'appartements, en comparaison aux maisons en rangée, aux maisons doubles et tout particulièrement aux logements unifamiliaux, en fait une solution intéressante pour les acheteurs d'une première propriété, ainsi qu'une option de propriété plus petite pour les ménages plus âgés, puisqu'ils nécessitent relativement peu d'entretien. Les propriétaires de logements en copropriété sont plus susceptibles d'être plus jeunes ou plus âgés que les autres propriétaires, d'avoir un revenu du ménage plus faible et d'être classés comme des ménages non familiaux ou des ménages composés seulement d'un couple.

Davantage de logements multifamiliaux depuis la récession de 2008-2009

Depuis la récession de 2008-2009, les taux de construction de logements multifamiliaux ont connu une reprise plus rapide que les logements unifamiliaux — enregistrant une augmentation pendant quatre des cinq années suivant la récession. Le nombre de logements multifamiliaux prévus (103 469) a surpassé celui des logements unifamiliaux (91 908) en 2010, et a atteint un sommet en 2013 avec le nombre le plus élevé d'unités (122 908) depuis 1977. Par ailleurs, la construction de logements unifamiliaux a diminué à 73 682 unités en 2014, son point le plus bas en près de 20 ans.

Les appartements constituent la proportion la plus importante des intentions de construction depuis trois années consécutives

Depuis 2012, les appartements (y compris les condominiums d'appartements) représentent la proportion la plus importante des intentions de construction au Canada depuis 1973. Au cours des 40 dernières années, les appartements et les logements unifamiliaux représentaient la très grande majorité (une moyenne de 85 %) des nouvelles constructions, tandis que les maisons en rangée et les maisons doubles représentaient seulement environ 15 % des nouvelles constructions.

Graphique 3 : Permis de bâtir, type de logement, Canada, 1972 à 2014

Graphique 3 :Permis de bâtir, type de logement, Canada, 1972 à 2014
Note : Chaque type de logement comprend les condominiums en propriété.
Description du graphique 3
Graphique 3 - Permis de bâtir, type de logement, Canada, 1972 à 2014
Années Logements unifamiliaux, y compris maisons mobiles Jumelés En rangée Appartements
1972 96489 15919 16623 110364
1973 112428 14185 16077 123861
1974 102064 11731 13944 66314
1975 118635 16725 19460 80798
1976 123900 16386 27726 89790
1977 106768 19782 24307 97853
1978 105357 18469 17263 72086
1979 102227 15828 11521 54251
1980 87527 10360 9227 46261
1981 83895 11698 17575 75185
1982 56283 6072 10854 41104
1983 92195 6489 9936 43372
1984 79714 5455 7816 40957
1985 97563 6353 10169 50307
1986 118929 8065 9915 68817
1987 132380 9319 16090 82464
1988 129361 7784 15709 73402
1989 126842 7659 14991 65640
1990 95965 6938 14790 51159
1991 88377 8578 16060 47603
1992 92507 9370 17140 44756
1993 85644 9572 18434 39417
1994 88810 11122 16752 35302
1995 63744 6709 12154 26689
1996 78806 8874 14073 26286
1997 94520 9907 17409 27444
1998 88713 9005 14530 30631
1999 94539 9867 14959 33272
2000 92476 10067 16207 29952
2001 97792 10713 14491 39181
2002 126324 11411 19568 51918
2003 121543 12631 20580 61345
2004 129389 11834 22997 71396
2005 120976 11526 23197 77692
2006 118336 11002 21665 76513
2007 115891 11390 23263 82403
2008 93610 9612 19903 75336
2009 80422 9079 14156 55288
2010 91908 10634 20222 72613
2011 82718 9952 18263 79854
2012 83825 11710 21011 87197
2013 75163 9827 20538 92543
2014 73682 11325 22586 88629

Les appartements font l'objet des intentions de construction les plus élevées dans les trois plus grandes régions métropolitaines de recensement

En 2014, les intentions de construction étaient plus élevées pour les appartements (y compris pour les condominiums d'appartements) que pour tout autre type de logement dans les trois plus grandes RMR au Canada. À Toronto, elles représentaient 54 % des constructions résidentielles, en comparaison à 27 % pour les maisons unifamiliales. À Montréal, les unités d'appartements représentaient 75 % des constructions résidentielles, en comparaison à 16 % pour les maisons unifamiliales, tandis qu'à Vancouver, ces pourcentages étaient de 67 % pour les unités d'appartements et de 16 % pour les maisons unifamiliales. Ces trois RMR représentaient un peu plus de la moitié de la population totale des RMR en 2014. Dans les trois RMR, la construction de nouveaux logements unifamiliaux fléchit depuis le début des années 2000, passant de 27 627 logements en 2000 à 14 840 en 2014, soit une diminution de 46 %.

L'abordabilité et la disponibilité des appartements en comparaison aux autres types de logement, tout particulièrement les logements unifamiliaux, pourraient expliquer l'augmentation récente du nombre d'immeubles à appartements dans ces RMR, tout particulièrement dans les deux marchés du logement les plus chers au Canada : Vancouver et Toronto.

Note aux lecteurs

Source des données

L'Enquête sur les permis de bâtir menée chaque mois par Statistique Canada est un indicateur de premier plan pour la construction résidentielle au Canada. L'Enquête recueille des données administratives sur les intentions de construction auprès de toutes les municipalités qui émettent des permis de bâtir, et qui représentent à l'heure actuelle environ 95 % de la population canadienne. Les analystes peuvent utiliser ces données pour mieux comprendre le nombre et la valeur des nouvelles unités résidentielles à la fois pour les logements unifamiliaux et pour les logements multifamiliaux, ces derniers regroupant les maisons doubles ou jumelées, les maisons en rangée et les immeubles à appartements. L'Enquête recueille également des données sur la construction de logements en copropriété, et ces données sont diffusées selon le type de logement (condominiums en rangée, condominiums doubles, condominiums simples et condominiums d'appartements) depuis 1992.

Puisque tous les graphiques dans la présente publication utilisent des données annuelles, ces données sont comparables sans avoir à être désaisonnalisées.


Définitions

Permis de bâtir : Autorisation finale d'entreprendre la construction d'un immeuble. Il est accordé par une autorité publique en réponse à une demande faite par un entrepreneur et en fonction d'un plan de construction spécifique.

Construction résidentielle : S'entend des immeubles conçus pour être occupés par des particuliers, de façon permanente ou non. Un immeuble peut appartenir à l'un des types suivants : logement unifamilial, maison mobile, chalet, maison jumelée ou double, maison en rangée et immeuble à appartements.

Références

Brown, W. M. et A. Lafrance. 2013. Tendances de l'accession à la propriété selon l'âge et le revenu du ménage : facteurs associés à la décision de devenir propriétaire, 1981 à 2006. Série de documents de recherche sur l'analyse économique. Produit no 11F0027M au catalogue de Statistique Canada, no 083.

Cross, P. 2010. Ralentissements durant les périodes de croissance économique. L'Observateur économique canadien. Produit no 11-010-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada.

LeVasseur, S. et J. Situ. 2013. Les logements en condominium au Canada. Enquête auprès des ménages en bref. Produit no 99-014-X2011003 au catalogue de Statistique Canada.

Martel, L.2014. Croissance démographique : l'accroissement migratoire l'emporte sur l'accroissement naturel. Mégatendances canadiennes. Produit no 11-630-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada.

Statistique Canada. 2014. Tableau 051-0056 — Estimations de la population selon la région métropolitaine de recensement, le sexe et le groupe d'âge au 1er juillet, basées sur la Classification géographique type (CGT) 2011, annuel (personnes).

Personnes-ressources

Pour en savoir davantage sur les concepts, les méthodes et la qualité des données, communiquez avec Taryn Read-Hobman (613-291-8501), Division de l'investissement, des sciences et de la technologie.

 
Date de modification :