Survey steps

Scope and purpose
Principles
Guidelines
Quality indicators
List of survey steps

This section is organized in subsections that correspond to the main activities of a typical survey. The subsections all follow the same structure, describing the Scope and purpose, Principles, Guidelines and Quality indicators related to each activity, as defined below. The first subsection addresses the stage at which objectives, uses and users are identified. The subsections that follow cover other survey steps roughly in the chronological order in which they would typically take place. However, there are significant interdependencies between some steps such as, for example, between questionnaire design and data collection and capture operations. As well, survey steps as discussed here do not always proceed strictly sequentially. Some activities can take place concurrently, for example, frame development, sampling plans and questionnaire design. Other steps, such as data quality evaluation and documentation touch on most other activities and do not take place as discrete activities on their own.

Scope and purpose

Under the heading of Scope and purpose, a description of the concepts and key terms of the main activity or survey step are provided. The objective of the step and why it is important are stated briefly.

Principles

Principles are the broad, underlying policies, directions and approaches which govern the design of the activity in question, with emphasis on those that relate to quality. 

Guidelines

Guidelines are known good practices that have evolved in the design and implementation of statistical surveys. Not all of these guidelines can be applied to every survey. They provide checklists to aid survey design. Judgment is still needed in deciding how to weigh the considerations that these Guidelines suggest.

On the other hand, Statistics Canada does have policies that have a bearing on many aspects of statistical activities in the Agency, and which may place requirements on the way particular activities are carried out. These are documented separately in the Statistics Canada Policy Manual. Wherever a policy has a bearing on a particular topic covered by these Guidelines, the existence and relevance of the policy is indicated.

Quality indicators

Quality measures give a direct measure of the quality of data but, in practice, they can rarely be explicitly calculated. For example, in the case of accuracy, it is almost impossible to measure nonresponse bias, as the characteristics of those who do not respond can be difficult to ascertain.  Instead, certain information can be provided to help "indicate" quality. Quality indicators usually consist of information that is a by-product of the statistical process.  They do not measure quality directly but can provide enough information to offer valuable insight into quality. Included in this section are both quality measures, when they exist, and quality indicators.

Information presented in this section will be useful to methodologists tasked with producing quality measures to accompany the statistical outputs.  It will also be of interest to director of program areas, survey managers and data users, who will use the indicators to assess and compare the quality of statistical products.  In addition, this section will be of interest to the directors of program areas and production managers, as it will provide a basis for monitoring performance in terms of the quality of the processes and products in the program area.

List of survey steps

Objectives, uses and users
Concepts, variables and classifications
Coverage and frames
Sample design
Questionnaire design
Data collection, capture and coding
Use of administrative data
Response and nonresponse
Editing
Imputation
Weighting and estimation
Seasonal adjustment and trend-cycle estimation
Benchmarking and related techniques
Data quality evaluation
Disclosure control
Data dissemination and communication
Data analysis and presentation
Documentation

Date modified:

Publications

    Statistique Canada : Lignes directrices concernant la qualité

    Étapes de l'enquête

    Portée et objet
    Principes
    Lignes directrices
    Indicateurs de qualité
    Liste d'étapes de l'enquête

    Cette section est divisée en sous-sections qui correspondent aux activités principales d'une enquête type. Les sous-sections présentent toutes la même structure : elles décrivent la portée et l'objet, les principes, les lignes directrices et les Indicateurs de qualité liées à chaque activité. La première sous-section traite de l'étape à laquelle on détermine les objectifs, les utilisations et les utilisateurs. Les sous-sections qui suivent décrivent les autres étapes de l'enquête dans l'ordre chronologique où elles se présentent habituellement. Cependant, il existe des interrelations importantes entre certaines étapes, comme par exemple entre la conception du questionnaire et les opérations de collecte et de saisie des données. Pour cette raison, certaines sous-sections renvoient à d'autres sous-sections. En outre, les étapes d'enquête dont il est question dans ce document ne se déroulent pas nécessairement selon une séquence stricte. Certaines activités peuvent être menées simultanément, par exemple, la constitution de la base de sondage, les plans d'échantillonnage et la conception du questionnaire. D'autres étapes, telles que l'évaluation de la qualité des données et la documentation sont rattachées à la majorité des autres activités et ne constituent pas des activités distinctes en soi.

    Portée et objet

    Sous la rubrique Portée et objet, on donne une description de l'activité et on indique son impact potentiel sur la qualité. L'objectif de l'étape et la raison pour laquelle elle est importante est déclaré brièvement.

    Principes

    Les principes sont les politiques, les approches et les orientations générales qui régissent la conception d'une activité donnée; on accorde une priorité aux principes qui sont rattachés à la qualité.

    Lignes directrices

    Les lignes directrices sont des règles de pratique reconnues qui ont été élaborées lors de la conception et de la mise en œuvre des enquêtes statistiques. Toutes ces lignes directrices ne s'appliquent pas à chaque enquête, mais offrent des listes de contrôle pour faciliter la conception de l'enquête. Il faut toutefois faire preuve de jugement afin d'évaluer les considérations suggérées par ces lignes directrices.

    D'un autre côté, Statistique Canada applique des politiques qui ont une incidence sur de nombreux aspects des activités statistiques du Bureau et qui peuvent comporter des exigences liées à la mise en œuvre d'activités particulières. Ces politiques sont décrites dans le Manuel des politiques de Statistique Canada. Lorsqu'une politique a une incidence sur un sujet particulier traité dans les lignes directrices, on indique l'existence et la pertinence de cette politique.

    Indicateurs de qualité

    Les mesures de la qualité donnent une mesure directe de la qualité des données mais, en pratique, on peut rarement les calculer de manière explicite. Par exemple, dans le cas de l'exactitude, il est presque impossible de mesurer le biais de nonréponse puisqu'il peut être difficile de déterminer les caractéristiques des personnes qui ne répondent pas. Certaines informations peuvent par contre être fournies pour aider à « indiquer » la qualité.  Les indicateurs de qualité se composent habituellement d'information représentant un sous-produit du processus statistique. Ils ne mesurent pas directement la qualité mais fournissent suffisamment d'information pour donner une idée de la qualité. Incluant dans ce section sont les mesures de qualité  ou ils existent, ainsi que les indicateurs de qualité.

    L'information présentée dans la rubrique Indicateurs de qualité sera utile aux méthodologistes chargés de produire des mesures de la qualité pour accompagner les produits statistiques. Elle intéressera également les gestionnaires d'enquêtes et les utilisateurs de données, qui se serviront des indicateurs pour évaluer et comparer la qualité des produits statistiques à leur utilisation. Par ailleurs, cette section saura intéresser les directeurs de secteurs de programme parce qu'elle servira de fondement à la surveillance du rendement ayant trait à la qualité des processus et des produits dans un secteur de programme.

    Liste d'étapes de l'enquête

    Objectifs, utilisations et utilisateurs
    Concepts, variables et classifications
    Couverture et bases de sondage
    Plan d'échantillonnage
    Conception du questionnaire
    Collecte, saisie et codage des données
    Utilisation des données administratives
    Réponse et nonréponse
    Vérification
    Imputation
    Pondération et estimation
    Désaisonnalisation et estimation de la tendance cycle
    Étalonnage et techniques connexes
    Évaluation de la qualité des données
    Contrôle de la divulgation
    Diffusion et communication des données
    Analyse et présentation des données
    Documentation

    Date de modification :