Introduction

The Canadian Culture Satellite Account (CSA) measures the economic importance of culture and sport to the Canadian economy by estimating the value of the production of cultureNote 1 and sport goods and services and their contribution to output, gross domestic product (GDP),  and jobs.

The CSA provides an accounting framework to define and measure culture and sport in Canada. It follows the 2011 Canadian Framework for Culture Statistics (CFCS) and is rooted in the Canadian System of National Accounts (CSNA).Note 2

Moreover, the CSA can serve as the foundation (or benchmark) for a variety of related statistical products including:

  1. timely annual or quarterly macroeconomic performance indicators on the state of culture in Canada;
  2. detailed information on jobs in the culture industries;
  3. estimating  government tax revenues generated from culture industries and culture products; and
  4. economic impact modeling that can be used for "what if� simulations  of the indirect or  multiplier effects generated throughout the economy from additional spending on culture.

The CSA provides a measure of the economic importance of culture and sport in Canada. The ability to measure culture activity in the context of the entire economy is a very important reason for working within the structure of the CSNA. While other studies measuring the importance of culture have been undertaken in the past,Note 3 the satellite account approach is comprehensive as it enables comparisons with other industries and activities, as well as over time, using a common set of concepts and definitions with the CSNA. Such an approach can also be useful in developing international comparisons, as many countries rely on the System of National Accounts (SNA) to measure economic activity (by sector, industry and commodity).

Internationally, the importance of culture and its link to development and economic progression has resonated with governments. Culture frameworks have been developed by United Nations, Educational, Scientific, Cultural Organization (UNESCO)Note 4 and the European Union.Note 5 As well, several countries such as Australia,Note 6 the United States,Note 7 SpainNote 8 and FinlandNote 9 have begun developing satellite accounts to measure the economic contribution of culture to their economies. During the update of the Canadian Framework for Culture Statistics 2011 there were discussions with UNESCO to ensure alignment of Canadian definitions, and industry structures to allow for international comparability.

The CSA is the result of a four-year comprehensive feasibility study that was undertaken in collaboration with the Department of Canadian Heritage and its partners in 2008. This process is outlined in Appendix F. This report presents the first official results of the satellite account, for reference year 2010.

The report describes the concepts, definitions and methodology of the CSA. The outline of the report is as follows: Section 2 provides an overview of the CSA, including definitions of some of the key elements of the CSA and describes how the CSA relates to the CFCS and the CSNA; Section 3 provides an overview of the methodologies used to construct the CSA; Section 4 presents the results of the CSA for 2010 and the concluding remarks and outline for future work in the CSA are included in Section 5.

Notes

  1. The use of "culture� in this report also refers to the arts and heritage. For a full definition of "culture� see section 2.3: Canadian Framework for Culture Statistics.
  2. The Canadian System of National Accounts presents the detailed structure of the Canadian economy based on the internationally agreed concepts, definitions, classifications and accounting rules of the System of National Accounts. The System of National Accounts is an internationally recognized economic accounting system.
  3. See Singh 2004.
  4. UNESCO 2009.
  5. See European Union.
  6. See Australia 2014.
  7. See United States 2013.
  8. See Spain 2011.
  9. See Finland 2009.
Date modified:

Introduction

Le Compte satellite de la culture (CSC) du Canada mesure l’importance économique de la culture et du sport dans l’économie canadienne en se basant sur la production des biens et des services liés à la cultureNote 1 et au sport, ainsi que leur contribution à la production, au produit intérieur brut (PIB) et à l’emploi.

Le CSC fournit un cadre comptable pour définir et mesurer la culture et le sport au Canada. Il est conforme au Cadre canadien pour les statistiques de la culture (CCSC) 2011 et repose sur le Système de comptabilité nationale du Canada (SCNC)Note 2.

En outre, le CSC peut servir de fondement (ou de référence) pour divers produits statistiques apparentés, y compris :

  1. Des indicateurs macroéconomiques annuels ou trimestriels plus à jour de l’état du secteur de la culture au Canada;
  2. données plus détaillées sur les emplois dans les industries de la culture;
  3. estimation de la participation des administrations publiques en ce qui concerne les recettes fiscales générées par les industries de la culture ainsi que les produits de la culture;
  4. un modèle d’impact économique qui peut servir à des analyses par simulation de type « et si? » des effets indirects ou des effets multiplicateurs que génère à travers l’économie une augmentation des dépenses liées à la culture.

Le CSC donne une mesure de l’importance économique de la culture et du sport au Canada. La capacité de mesurer l’activité culturelle dans le contexte de l’ensemble de l’économie est une raison très importante de travailler à l’intérieur de la structure du SCNC. Bien que d’autres études en vue de mesurer l’importance de la culture aient été entreprises dans le passéNote 3, l’approche du compte satellite est complète car elle permet de faire des comparaisons avec d’autres industries et activités, ainsi que dans le temps, en utilisant un même ensemble de concepts et de définitions que dans le SCNC. Une telle approche peut également être utile pour l’élaboration de comparaisons économiques internationales, car de nombreux pays s’appuient sur le Système de comptabilité nationale (SCN) pour mesurer l’activité économie (par secteur, industrie et bien ou service).

À l’échelle internationale, les gouvernements se sont montrés sensibles à l’importance de la culture et de son lien avec le développement et le progrès économique. Des cadres de la culture ont été élaborés par l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’éducation, la science et la culture (UNESCO)Note 4 et par l’Union européenneNote 5. En outre, plusieurs pays, dont l’AustralieNote 6, les États-UnisNote 7, l’EspagneNote 8 et la FinlandeNote 9 ont commencé à établir des comptes satellites pour mesurer la contribution de la culture à leurs économies. Durant la mise à jour du Cadre canadien pour les statistiques de la culture 2011, des discussions ont eu lieu avec des représentants de l’UNESCO en vue d’harmoniser les définitions et les structures des industries du Canada et de s’assurer ainsi de la comparabilité internationale des données.

Le CSC est le fruit d’une étude de faisabilité complète entreprise en 2008 en collaboration avec le ministère du Patrimoine canadien et ses partenaires et qui s’est échelonnée sur quatre ans. Le processus de cette étude est décrit à l’annexe F. Le présent rapport présente les premiers résultats officiels du compte satellite, pour l’année de référence 2010.

Le rapport décrit les concepts, les définitions et la méthodologie du CSC. La présentation du rapport est la suivante : la section 2 fournit les définitions de certains éléments clés du CSC et décrit comment ce dernier est relié au CCSC et au SCNC;la section 3 donne un aperçu des méthodes utilisées pour construire le CSC; la section 4 présente les résultats du CSC de 2010 etla conclusion qui décrit dans les grandes lignes les travaux à venir concernant le CSC se trouve à la section 5.

Notes

  1. L’utilisation du terme « culture » dans le présent rapport fait aussi référence aux arts et au patrimoine. Pour une définition complète du terme  « culture », voir la section 2.3 : Cadre canadien pour les statistiques de la culture.
  2. Le Système de comptabilité nationale du Canada présente la structure détaillée de l’économie canadienne en se fondant sur les concepts, définitions, classifications et règles comptables internationalement reconnus du Système de comptabilité nationale. Ce dernier est un système de comptabilité économique reconnu à l’échelle internationale.
  3. Voir Singh 2004.
  4. UNESCO 2009.
  5. Voir Union européenne.
  6. Voir Australie 2014.
  7. Voir États-Unis 2013.
  8. Voir Espagne 2011.
  9. Voir Finlande 2009.
Date de modification :