Methodology

This section describes the methodology used in creating the CSA. As noted in previous sections, the first step in developing the CSA is the conceptual exercise of defining culture. The next step involves applying this definition to standard classification system used by Statistics Canada to compile and present economic data. These classification systems are the North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS 2007) and the North American Product Classification System (NAPCS 2007). The mapping of the culture domains and sub-domains to the NAICS and NAPCS is taken directly from the 2011 CFCS and is the foundation of the CSA. The end result of this exercise is a list of NAICS based industries and NAPCS based products that represent culture and sport.

The Canadian Input-Output Table is the building block of the CSA. Two of the important dimensions contained in these tables are an industry dimension and a commodity dimension. However, the commodity (IOCC) and industry (IOIC) classifications used in the I-O tables are too aggregated to be directly incorporated in the CSA. For example, Table 3 shows the NAICS industries associated with the IOIC industry performing arts, spectator sport and related industries, and heritage institutions. This I-O industry is composed of twenty-three different six-digit NAICS.

3.1 Methodology used to compile culture industry estimates

Since the IOIC industries used are often too broadly defined and include non-culture industries a major step in building the CSA is to disaggregate the IOIC based industries into their underlying six-digit NAICS 2007 industries.

The disaggregation or "splitting� process makes use of survey and administrative data collected at the detailed industry level. This data is first processed to be consistent with the definitions and accounting rules used to create the I-O tables.

Revenue information from different sources is used to derive "split factors� to split IOIC industries into relevant culture industries. A split factor, see equation below, is the share of a specific industries output relative to the total of all industries in the group.

output of NAICS 711111 total output of NAICS ( 711+712 ) , MathType@MTEF@5@5@+= feaagKart1ev2aaatCvAUfeBSjuyZL2yd9gzLbvyNv2CaerbuLwBLn hiov2DGi1BTfMBaeXatLxBI9gBaerbd9wDYLwzYbItLDharqqtubsr 4rNCHbGeaGqiVu0Je9sqqrpepC0xbbL8F4rqqrFfpeea0xe9Lq=Jc9 vqaqpepm0xbba9pwe9Q8fs0=yqaqpepae9pg0FirpepeKkFr0xfr=x fr=xb9adbaqaaeGaciGaaiaabeqaamaabaabaaGcbaaeaaaaaaaaa8 qadaWcaaWdaeaapeGaam4BaiaadwhacaWG0bGaamiCaiaadwhacaWG 0bGaaiiOaiaad+gacaWGMbGaaiiOaiaad6eacaWGbbGaamysaiaado eacaWGtbGaaiiOaiaaiEdacaaIXaGaaGymaiaaigdacaaIXaGaaGym aaWdaeaapeGaamiDaiaad+gacaWG0bGaamyyaiaadYgacaGGGcGaam 4BaiaadwhacaWG0bGaamiCaiaadwhacaWG0bGaaiiOaiaad+gacaWG MbGaaiiOaiaad6eacaWGbbGaamysaiaadoeacaWGtbGaaiiOamaabm aapaqaa8qacaaI3aGaaGymaiaaigdacqGHRaWkcaaI3aGaaGymaiaa ikdaaiaawIcacaGLPaaaaaGaaiilaaaa@6698@

Table 4 is an example of how the split factors would be derived for the culture industry related to the Performing arts, spectator sport and related industries, and heritage institutions in the CSA. The first step would be to derive a value of output for all the culture industries within the IOIC – Performing arts, spectator sport and related industries using detailed survey or administrative data. The second step would be to derive a split factor for each industry which represents the output of the industry as a share of the total output of all the industries in BS71A000 - Performing arts, spectator sport and related industries, and heritage institutions..

The next step would be to then apply these split factors to the output, GDP and jobs of the industry BS71A000 - Performing arts, spectator sport and related industries, and heritage institutions.

3.2 Methodology used to compile culture products estimates

The process to estimate culture products is similar to the process used to estimate culture industries in that the aggregate IOCC information needs to be disaggregated into detailed NAPCS classes.

Table 5 provides an example of the IOCC product MPS71A002 - Admissions to performing arts. This product is equivalent to NAPCS 711012 Admissions to live performing arts performances which is composed of seven detailed NAPCS products.

3.3 Methodology for compiling culture domain and sub-domain estimates

Once values of output, GDP and jobs have been calculated for each culture industry and culture product, it is possible to present the data by the culture domains and sub-domains outlined in the CFCS.

The methodology for creating the domain estimates is best illustrated using an example. Consider Table 6 for an example of how estimates for the culture domain: Written and Published Works and sub-domains books and periodicals are compiled.

The first step is an allocation of the industry data to the domains. In the example below, data for the Book Publishing industry are allocated to the Book sub-domain and data for the Periodical Publishing industry are allocated to the Periodical Domain. The next step is to examine the products produced by each of these industries. In the case of the Periodical Publishing industry they produce $100 worth of Books (8% of total output). Since this is less than 10% of the industries total output the production of books in the Periodical Publishing Industry is moved from the Periodicals domain and to the book domainNote 1. What remains is a value of output of $1200 in the Periodicals sub-domain and a value of $1500 in the Books sub-domain.

Note

  1. The 10% rule is an arbitrary number and is applied consistently across all domains.
Date modified:

Méthodologie

La présente section décrit la méthodologie utilisée pour créer le CSC.Comme il est mentionné aux sections qui précèdent, la première étape de l’élaboration du CSC correspond à l’exercice conceptuel de définition de la culture. L’étape suivante consiste à appliquer cette définition aux systèmes de classification types utilisés par Statistique Canada pour compiler et présenter les données économiques. Ces systèmes de classification sont le Système de classification des industries de l’Amérique du Nord (SCIAN 2007) et le Système de classification des produits de l’Amérique du Nord (SCPAN 2007). La mise en correspondance des domaines et sous-domaines de la culture avec les catégories du SCIAN et du SCPAN, qui est tirée du SCNC 2011, sert de fondement au CSC. Le résultat final de cet exercice est une liste d’industries fondées sur le SCIAN et de produits fondés sur le SCPAN qui représentent les secteurs de la culture et du sport.

Les tableaux d’entrées-sorties au niveau du Canada sont les éléments qui servent à construire le CSC. Deux dimensions importantes contenues dans ces tableaux sont l’industrie et le produit (bien ou service). Toutefois, les classifications pour les produits (CPES) et pour les industries (CIES) utilisées dans les tableaux d’E-S sont trop agrégées pour pouvoir être intégrées directement dans le CSC. Par exemple, le tableau 3 montre les industries du SCIAN associées à l’industrie de la CIES qui englobe les industries des arts d’interprétation, sports-spectacles et activités connexes, et des établissements du patrimoine. Cette industrie de la CIES est composée de 23 industries distinctes du SCIAN au niveau à six chiffres.

3.1 Méthodologie utilisée pour calculer les estimations pour les industries de la culture

Puisque les industries de la CIES sont souvent définies trop généralement et comprennent des industries non liées à la culture, une étape importante de la création du CSC consiste à désagréger les industries fondées sur la CIES en leurs industries sous-jacentes au niveau à six chiffres du SCIAN 2007.

Le processus de désagrégation ou « décomposition » s’appuie sur des données d’enquête et des données administratives recueillies à un fin niveau d’agrégation des industries. Ces données sont d’abord traitées afin de les rendre conformes aux définitions et aux règles comptables utilisées pour créer les tableaux d’entrées-sorties.

Des données sur le revenu provenant de différentes sources sont utilisées pour calculer des « facteurs de décomposition » pour décomposer les industries de la CIES en industries de la culture pertinentes. Un facteur de décomposition est égal à la part de la production d’une industrie particulière par rapport à la production totale de toutes les industries du groupe.

production de SCIAN 711111 production totale de SCIAN ( 711+712 ) , MathType@MTEF@5@5@+= feaagKart1ev2aqatCvAUfeBSjuyZL2yd9gzLbvyNv2CaerbuLwBLn hiov2DGi1BTfMBaeXatLxBI9gBaerbd9wDYLwzYbItLDharqqtubsr 4rNCHbGeaGqiVu0Je9sqqrpepC0xbbL8F4rqqrFfpeea0xe9Lq=Jc9 vqaqpepm0xbba9pwe9Q8fs0=yqaqpepae9pg0FirpepeKkFr0xfr=x fr=xb9adbaqaaeGaciGaaiaabeqaamaabaabaaGcbaaeaaaaaaaaa8 qadaWcaaWdaeaapeGaamiCaiaadkhacaWGVbGaamizaiaadwhacaWG JbGaamiDaiaadMgacaWGVbGaamOBaiaacckacaWGKbGaamyzaiaacc kacaWGtbGaam4qaiaadMeacaWGbbGaamOtaiaacckacaaI3aGaaGym aiaaigdacaaIXaGaaGymaiaaigdaa8aabaWdbiaadchacaWGYbGaam 4BaiaadsgacaWG1bGaam4yaiaadshacaWGPbGaam4Baiaad6gacaGG GcGaamiDaiaad+gacaWG0bGaamyyaiaadYgacaWGLbGaaiiOaiaads gacaWGLbGaaiiOaiaadofacaWGdbGaamysaiaadgeacaWGobGaaiiO amaabmaapaqaa8qacaaI3aGaaGymaiaaigdacqGHRaWkcaaI3aGaaG ymaiaaikdaaiaawIcacaGLPaaaaaGaaiilaaaa@6EBF@

Le tableau 4 illustre comment les facteurs de décomposition seraient calculés pour les industries de la culture reliées aux Industries des arts d’interprétation, sports-spectacles et activités connexes, et établissements du patrimoine dans le CSC. La première étape consisterait à calculer une valeur de la production pour toutes les industries de la culture comprises dans l’industrie BS71A000 de la CIES – Industries des arts d’interprétation, sports-spectacles et activités connexes, et établissements du patrimoine en utilisant des données d’enquête ou des données administratives détaillées. La deuxième étape consisterait à calculer pour chaque industrie un facteur de décomposition qui représente la production de l’industrie sous forme de part de la production totale de l’ensemble des industries dans BS71A000 – Industrie des arts d’interprétation, sports-spectacles et activités connexes, et établissements du patrimoine.

L’étape suivante serait alors d’appliquer ces facteurs de décomposition à la production, au PIB et à l’emploi de l’industrie BS71A000 – Industrie des arts d’interprétation, sports-spectacles et activités connexes, et établissements du patrimoine.

3.2 Méthodologie utilisée pour calculer les estimations pour les produits de la culture

Le processus suivi pour produire les estimations pour les produits de la culture est similaire à celui utilisé pour produire les estimations pour les industries de la culture en ce sens que l’information agrégée selon la CPES doit être désagrégée en classes détaillées du SCPAN.

Le tableau 5 donne un exemple de produit de la CPES, MPS71A002 Entrées aux spectacles des arts d’interprétation. Ce produit est équivalent au produit du SCPAN 711012 Entrées aux spectacles des arts d’interprétation qui est composé de sept produits à un niveau détaillé du SCPAN.

3.3 Méthodologie utilisée pour calculer les estimations pour les domaines et sous-domaines de la culture

Une fois que l’on a calculé les valeurs de la production, du PIB et de l’emploi pour chaque industrie et produit de la culture, il est possible de présenter les données en fonction des domaines et sous-domaines de la culture décrits dans le CCSC.

L’utilisation d’un exemple est le meilleur moyen d’illustrer la méthodologie appliquée pour créer les estimations par domaine. Considérons le tableau 6  pour montrer comment sont calculées les estimations pour le domaine de la culture écrits et ouvrages publiés et pour les sous-domaines Livres et Périodiques.

La première étape consiste à affecter les données sur l’industrie aux domaines. Dans l’exemple qui suit, les données pour l’industrie éditeurs de livres sont affectées au sous-domaine Livres et les données pour l’industrie éditeurs de périodiques sont affectées au domaine Périodiques. L’étape suivante consiste à examiner les produits de chacune de ces industries. Ainsi, la valeur des livres produits par l’industrie éditeurs de périodiques se chiffre à 100 $ (8 % de la production totale de l’industrie). Comme cette valeur est inférieure à 10 % de la production totale de l’industrie, la production de livres de l’industrie éditeurs de périodiques est transférée du domaine Périodiques au domaine LivresNote 1. Il reste alors une production d’une valeur de 1 200 $ dans le sous-domaine Périodiques et une valeur de 1 500 $ dans le sous-domaine Livres.

Note

  1. La règle des 10 % est arbitraire et est appliquée uniformément à tous les domaines.
Date de modification :