Conclusion

The Canadian CSA will allow governments, stakeholders, professional organizations, and industry who use culture statistics to understand how economic issues impact growth in the culture sector, as well as its economic value.

The CSA 2010 has shown that culture and sport play a significant role in the Canadian economy, in terms of output, GDP and jobs. Culture contributed 3.1% ($47.8 billion) to Canada's GDP, while sport contributed 0.3% ($4.5 billion). The culture industry contributed more to the Canadian economy than industries such as Accommodation, Utilities and Agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting.

The CSA, through the domain perspective, revealed that culture products originate from several non-culture industries, a nuance which would have been missed if using the industry perspective alone. This emphasizes the importance of utilizing both perspectives in understanding the role that culture and sport play in Canada.

Over the next few years, as the CSA will be produced on an recurrent basis, users will be able to get an understanding of how economic activity in the culture and sport sector in Canada changes over time.

The production of the Canadian Culture Satellite Account is the first step in understanding and measuring the importance of culture and sport in Canada. The development of provincial and territorial estimates (reference year 2010) and indicators (reference years 2009 to 2013), are the next steps in the evolution of the CSA. Work on both of these initiatives has already begun with results expected in the near future.

 

Date modified:

Conclusion

Le CSC du Canada permettra aux administrations publiques, aux parties prenantes, aux organisations professionnelles et à l’industrie d’utiliser les statistiques de la culture afin de comprendre quels sont les effets des questions économiques sur la croissance du secteur de la culture, ainsi que de sa valeur économique.

En résumé, le CSC de 2010 montre que la culture et le sport jouent un rôle important dans l’économie canadienne, sur le plan de la production, du PIB et de l’emploi. La contribution du secteur de la culture au PIB du Canada a été de 3,1 % (47,8 milliards de dollars), et celle du secteur du sport, de 0,3 % (4,5 milliards de dollars). La contribution du secteur de la culture à l’économie canadienne a été plus importante que celle de secteurs tels que l’hébergement, les services publics et l’agriculture, la foresterie, la pêche et la chasse.

Le CSC , examiné dans la perspective du produit, révèle que des produits de la culture proviennent de plusieurs industries non liées à la culture, une nuance qui aurait échappé en examinant la situation dans la perspective de l’industrie seulement. D’où l’importance d’utiliser les deux perspectives en vue de comprendre le rôle que jouent la culture et le sport au Canada.

Au cours des prochaines années, alors que le CSC sera produit sur une base récurrente, les utilisateurs seront en mesure de comprendre la manière dont l’activité économique dans le secteur de la culture et du sport au Canada évolue au fil du temps.

La production du Compte satellite de la culture du Canada est la première étape en vue de saisir et de mesurer l’importance de la culture et du sport au Canada. L’élaboration d’estimations au niveau des provinces et des territoires (année de référence 2010) et d’indicateurs (années de référence 2009 à 2013) sont les prochaines étapes de l’évolution du CSC. Les travaux relatifs à ces deux projets ont déjà débuté et les résultats devraient être disponibles prochainement.

Date de modification :