The Canadian Productivity Review

The Canadian Productivity Review is a series of applied studies that address issues involving the measurement, explanation, and improvement of productivity. Themes covered in the review include, but are not limited to, economic performance, capital formation, labour, prices, environment, trade, and efficiency at both national and provincial levels. The Canadian Productivity Review publishes empirical research, at different levels of aggregation, based on growth accounting, econometrics, index numbers, and mathematical programming. The empirical research illustrates the application of theory and techniques to relevant public policy issues.

All papers in The Canadian Productivity Review series go through institutional and peer review to ensure that they conform to Statistics Canada’s mandate as a government statistical agency and adhere to generally accepted standards of good professional practice.

The papers in the series often include results derived from multivariate analysis or other statistical techniques. It should be recognized that the results of these analyses are subject to uncertainty in the reported estimates.

The level of uncertainty will depend on several factors: the nature of the functional form used in the multivariate analysis; the type of econometric technique employed; the appropriateness of the statistical assumptions embedded in the model or technique; the comprehensiveness of the variables included in the analysis; and the accuracy of the data utilized. The peer group review process is meant to ensure that the papers in the series have followed accepted standards, in order to minimize problems in each of these areas.

Publications Review Committee
Analytical Studies Branch, Statistics Canada
18th Floor, R.H. Coats Building
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0T6

Date modified:

La revue canadienne de productivité

La revue canadienne de productivité est une série d’études appliquées qui examinent des questions associées à la mesure, l’explication, et l’amélioration de la productivité. Les thèmes couverts par la revue comprennent, notamment, la performance économique, la formation du capital, le travail, les prix, l’environnement, le commerce et l’efficience aux niveaux national et provincial. La revue publie de la recherche empirique, à différents niveaux d’agrégation, basée sur la comptabilité de la croissance, l’économétrie, les nombres indices et la programmation mathématique. La recherche empirique illustre l’application de la théorie et des techniques à des questions pertinentes de politique publique.

Tous les documents de La revue canadienne de productivité font l’objet d'un processus de révision institutionnelle afin de s’assurer de leur conformité au mandat confié par le gouvernement à Statistique Canada en tant qu’organisme statistique et de leur pleine adhésion à des normes de bonne pratique professionnelle, partagées par la majorité. 

Les documents de cette série comprennent souvent des résultats provenant d’analyses statistiques multivariées ou d'autres techniques statistiques. Il faut noter que les conclusions de ces analyses sont sujettes à des incertitudes dans les estimations énoncées.

Le niveau d’incertitude dépendra de plusieurs facteurs : de la nature de la forme fonctionnelle de l’analyse multivariée utilisée; de la technique économétrique employée; de la pertinence des hypothèses statistiques sous-jacentes au modèle ou à la technique; de la représentativité des variables prises en compte dans l’analyse; et de la précision des données employées. Le processus de la revue des pairs vise à garantir que les articles dans les séries correspondent aux normes établies afin de minimiser les problèmes dans chacun de ces domaines.

Comité de révision des publications
Direction des études analytiques, Statistique Canada
18e étage, Immeuble R.-H.-Coats
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0T6

Date de modification :