Environment Fact Sheets
Treatment of drinking water by Canadian households, 2015

Environment, Energy and Transportation Statistics Division

Release date: May 1st, 2017

Many Canadian households treat their drinking water. In 2015, close to 51% of households used at least one method to treat drinking water, regardless of whether their water came from a municipal water supply or not. A slight decrease was noted in comparison with 2013, when 53% of households treated their water.

Households in Newfoundland and Labrador (65%) were most likely to treat their drinking water before using it, while Quebec households (39%) were least likely to do so.

Among census metropolitan areas (CMAs), households in Winnipeg (73%), Barrie (68%) and Calgary (65%) were most likely to treat their water. Conversely, this was less common in the Windsor (42%), Québec (35%) and Sherbrooke (25%) CMAs (Chart 1).

Treatment methods and reasons

Households treated their drinking water for a variety of reasons, including 45% who did so for aesthetic reasons (taste, appearance or odour) and 37% to remove chemicals (such as chlorine). As well, households treated their water to eliminate potential bacteria (30%), soften hard water (19%) and remove metals (26%).

Of the different methods used to treat water, jug filters were the most commonly used (25% of Canadian households that treated their water), followed by on-tap filters (18%), boiling water to make it safe to drink (12%) and water filters installed directly on the main supply pipe (9%).

Household characteristics

Specific characteristics can influence the likelihood that a household will treat its drinking water. Having a private water source rather than a municipal system as a water source is a major factor influencing the method of water treatment. For example, 6% of households connected to a municipal system had a filter on the main supply pipe, while 37% of households with other sources of water had such a system. This difference could be attributed to uncertainty associated with the quality of water coming from a private source that hasn’t already been treated such as water from a municipal system.

Households that owned their dwellings were more likely (55%) to treat their water than those that did not (38%). Homeowners used tap filters more frequently than non-owners (22% versus 7%) and were more likely to use filters on the main supply pipe (11% of owners versus 3% of non-owners).

Households with children were also more likely to treat their water. For instance, 48% of adult-only households treated their water, compared with 56% of households with children. The use of on-tap filters was more common in households with children, 24% used this type of filter, compared with 16% of adult-only households.

Households with higher total annual incomes had a tendency to treat their water differently than those with lower incomes. For example, 43% of households with an income of less than $60,000 per year treated their water, compared to 50% of households earning between $60,000 and $100,000 and 58% of those earning more than $100,000 per year. The difference was most obvious with the use of on-tap filters. Ten percent of the lowest-income households and 27% of the highest-income households relied on this method to treat their water.

The age of a dwelling is another factor that influenced the likelihood of drinking water being treated. Practices tended to differ mostly between households with homes built before 1995 and those with newer dwellings. While 47% of households with older homes used some kind of water treatment method, 62% of those with newer dwellings did the same. The difference lies mainly in the use of on-tap filters in newer houses (29%) compared to dwellings built before 1995 (15%).

Boil water advisories

Having been under a boil water advisory within the previous 12 months had a substantial bearing on the likelihood of a household treating its water, particularly by boiling it. In total, approximately 10% of Canadian households indicated that they had been issued a boil water advisory in 2015. Of these households, 60% boiled their water. Other practices were also used during boil water advisories. For example, 65% of households drank bottled water and 12% filtered their water.

Chart 1 Households that treated their water before drinking it, 2015

Data table for Chart 1
Data table for Chart 1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 1 Percent of all households (appearing as column headers).
Percent of all households
Trois-Rivières 23Note E: Use with caution
Saguenay 24Note E: Use with caution
Sherbrooke 25
Saskatoon 33Note E: Use with caution
Québec 35
Moncton 38Note E: Use with caution
Windsor 42
Edmonton 43
Montréal 43
Victoria 46
Ottawa - Gatineau (Ontario part) 46
Regions non-CMAs 49
Abbotsford-Mission 50
Halifax 50
Saint John 50
Canada 51
London 51
Brantford 52
Ottawa - Gatineau 52
Hamilton 53
Vancouver 53
Guelph 55
Greater Sudbury 55
Thunder Bay 57
Kelowna 57
Toronto 58
Oshawa 59
Kingston 60
St. Catharines - Niagara 61
Peterborough 62
Kitchener - Cambridge - Waterloo 62
St. John's 62
Regina 63
Ottawa - Gatineau (Quebec part) 64
Calgary 65
Barrie 68
Winnipeg 73
Date modified:

Feuillets d'information de l'environnement
Traitement de l'eau potable par les ménages canadiens, 2015

Division de la statistique de l'environnement, de l'énergie et des transports

Date de diffusion : le 1er mai 2017

Le traitement de l’eau potable est une pratique répandue dans les ménages canadiens. En 2015, près de 51 % des ménages ont eu recours à au moins une méthode de traitement de l’eau potable sans considérer si leur source d’eau était municipale ou non. Une légère baisse a été décelée en comparaison avec l’année 2013 durant laquelle 53 % des ménages avaient traité leur eau.

Les ménages de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (65 %) étaient les plus susceptibles de traiter leur eau potable avant de la consommer, tandis que ceux du Québec (39 %) étaient les moins nombreux à le faire.

Parmi les régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR) qui représentent les grandes régions urbaines, ce sont les villes de Winnipeg (73 %), de Barrie (68 %) et de Calgary (65 %) où les ménages étaient les plus susceptibles de traiter leur eau. Au contraire, dans les RMR de Windsor (42 %), de Québec (35 %) et de Sherbrooke (25 %), les mêmes pratiques étaient moins répandues (Graphique 1).

Raisons et manière de traiter

Plusieurs raisons peuvent motiver un ménage à traiter leur eau potable. Lorsque questionnés à ce sujet, 45 % des ménages traitant leur eau ont mentionné le faire pour des raisons esthétiques (goût, apparence, odeur), 37 % pour éliminer des produits chimiques (ex. chlore) et 30 % pour éliminer la présence potentielle de bactéries. L’eau dure (19 %) et la présence de métaux (26 %) étaient d’autres explications moins fréquemment décrites.

Parmi les différentes manières de traiter l’eau, l’utilisation de pichets avec filtre est la plus commune. Ceux-ci sont employés par 25 % des ménages canadiens. Viennent ensuite les filtres à robinets avec 18 %, l’ébullition de l’eau pour la rendre potable (12 %) et les systèmes de filtration installés directement sur la tuyauterie principale (9 %).

Caractéristiques des ménages

Plus précisément, certaines caractéristiques spécifiques de la population canadienne viennent influencer la susceptibilité à traiter l’eau potable. Ainsi, avoir une source d’eau privée plutôt qu'un accès à un système municipal a un impact indéniable sur l’utilisation de certaines pratiques de traitement de l’eau. Six pour cent des ménages branchés à un système municipal avaient recours aux filtres installés sur la tuyauterie principale, alors que 37 % de ceux n’ayant pas accès à ces services municipaux utilisaient de tels dispositifs. Cette variation pourrait s’expliquer par l’incertitude face à la qualité d’une eau n’ayant pas préalablement été traité comme dans un système municipal.

Les ménages étant propriétaires de leur logement avaient beaucoup plus de probabilités (55 %) de traiter leur eau que les non-propriétaires (38 %). Cela est avant tout associé à une utilisation plus fréquente des filtres à robinet (22 % versus 7 % pour les non-propriétaires) et des filtres placés sur les conduites d’eau principales (11 % chez les propriétaires versus 3 % chez les non-propriétaires).

Les ménages incluant des enfants ont également la propension à traiter leur eau. Quarante-huit pour cent des ménages composés uniquement d’adultes traitaient leur eau alors que 56 % des ménages ayant des enfants faisaient de même. Ce facteur semble particulièrement significatif en ce qui a trait à l’utilisation de filtres pour robinets. Vingt-quatre pour cent des ménages avec enfants utilisaient ce type de filtres alors que 16 % des ménages composés seulement d’adultes avaient recours à cette méthode.

Les ménages ayant un revenu total annuel plus élevé à leur disposition avaient tendance à traiter leur eau différemment que ceux ayant un revenu plus faible. C’est 43 % des ménages ayant un revenu de moins de 60 000 $ par année qui traitaient leur eau alors que ceux ayant entre 60 000 $ et 100 000 $ et ceux recevant plus de 100 000 $ par année traitaient leur eau respectivement dans 50 % et 58 % des cas. Le type de traitement variant le plus en fonction du revenu est l’utilisation de filtres pour les robinets qui passe de 10 % à 27 % entre la tranche des ménages au revenu le plus faible et le plus élevé.

L’âge d’un logement est un facteur à considérer parmi ceux qui influencent la propension à traiter l’eau potable. Deux groupes aux tendances significativement différentes ont été identifiés : les ménages ayant des maisons datant d’avant 1995 et ceux ayant des maisons plus récentes. Alors que 47 % des ménages ayant des maisons plus vieilles ont recours à des méthodes de traitement de l’eau, c’est 62 % de ceux habitant des logements plus récents qui en font de même. La différence est surtout marquée par l’utilisation des filtres pour robinets dans les maisons plus récentes (29 %) comparé à leur utilisation dans les logements construits avant 1995 (15 %).

Avis d’ébullition de l’eau

Finalement, le fait qu’un ménage ait reçu un avis d’ébullition de l’eau durant les 12 derniers mois influence substantiellement sa tendance à traiter l’eau, particulièrement à la faire bouillir. En tout, environ 10 % des ménages canadiens affirment avoir reçu un avis d’ébullition de l’eau en 2015. Parmi ceux qui ont reçu un tel avis, 60 % ont fait bouillir leur eau. D’autres pratiques ont également été employées lors de tels avis. Par exemple, 65 % des ménages consomment de l’eau en bouteille lors d’avis d’ébullition de l’eau et 12 % d’entre eux réagissent en filtrant leur eau.

Graphique 1 Ménages ayant traité leur eau avant de la consommer, 2015

Tableau de données du graphique 1
Tableau de données du graphique 1
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 1 Pourcentage de tous les ménages(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Pourcentage de tous les ménages
Trois-Rivières 23Note E: à utiliser avec prudence
Saguenay 24Note E: à utiliser avec prudence
Sherbrooke 25
Saskatoon 33Note E: à utiliser avec prudence
Québec 35
Moncton 38Note E: à utiliser avec prudence
Windsor 42
Edmonton 43
Montréal 43
Victoria 46
Ottawa - Gatineau (partie Ontarienne) 46
Régions autre que les RMR 49
Abbotsford-Mission 50
Halifax 50
Saint John 50
Canada 51
London 51
Brantford 52
Ottawa - Gatineau 52
Hamilton 53
Vancouver 53
Guelph 55
Grand Sudbury 55
Thunder Bay 57
Kelowna 57
Toronto 58
Oshawa 59
Kingston 60
St. Catharines - Niagara 61
Peterborough 62
Kitchener - Cambridge - Waterloo 62
St. John's 62
Regina 63
Ottawa - Gatineau (partie Québécoise) 64
Calgary 65
Barrie 68
Winnipeg 73
Date de modification :