Environment Fact Sheets
Outdoor water use, 2015

Release date: July 21, 2017

by Environment, Energy and Transportation Statistics Division

Watering lawns and gardens accounts for much of the residential water used outside the home. In 2013, Canadians used an average of 223 L of water at home every day, which included both indoor and outdoor water use.Note 1 Various strategies exist to help reduce the amount of water used on lawns and gardens, including using rain barrels and cisterns, and different types of sprinkler systems.

Map 1

Description for map 1
The map depicts the proportion of households in Canada, by province, that watered their lawn in 2015.
Table summary
This table displays the results of The map depicts the proportion of households in Canada. The information is grouped by Province (appearing as row headers), percent (appearing as column headers).
Province percent
Newfoundland and Labrador 28
Prince Edward Island 8Note E: Use with caution
Nova Scotia 14
New Brunswick 15Note E: Use with caution
Quebec 27
Ontario 48
Manitoba 38
Saskatchewan 69
Alberta 64
British Columbia 45

Barrels and cisterns

Barrels and cisterns allow households to collect rainwater for use on their lawns and gardens. In 2015, 15% of Canadian households had a barrel or cistern. They were most frequently reported by households in the Prairie provinces (Manitoba (22%), Saskatchewan (28%) and Alberta (25%)) compared to the rest of Canada.

Households in census metropolitan areas (CMAs)Note 2 were less likely to have a barrel or cistern compared to those not in CMAs (13% and 22%, respectively). Of households located in CMAs, households in Kingston were the most likely to have a barrel or cistern, while those in Vancouver were least likely to have one (34% and 5%E, respectively).

Barrels and cisterns were more frequently reported by households in single-detached dwellings (22%) than by households in other types of dwellings.

Owning vs renting

There is a correlation between whether a household owns its dwelling and whether it has a barrel or cistern. In 2015, households that owned the dwelling they lived in were almost five times as likely to have a barrel or cistern compared to those that did not own their home (19% compared to 4%).

Chart 1

Data table for Chart 1
Data table for Chart 1
Table summary
This table displays the results of Data table for Chart 1 Only hand-watered lawn, Used both a sprinkler/sprinkler system and hand watering, Only used a lawn sprinkler or sprinkler system and Too unreliable to be published (F) or did not indicate method used
, calculated using percentage of households that watered their lawn units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Only hand-watered lawn Used both a sprinkler/sprinkler system and hand watering Only used a lawn sprinkler or sprinkler system Too unreliable to be published (F) or did not indicate method used
percentage of households that watered their lawn
Canada 36 11 52 1
B.C. 26 9 64 1
Alta. 24 11 65 0
Sask. 12 12 76 0
Man. 41 15 44 0
Ont. 38 14 47 1
Que. 59 Note F: too unreliable to be published 36 5
N.B. 65 Note F: too unreliable to be published 32 3
N.S. 50 Note F: too unreliable to be published 40 10
P.E.I. Note F: too unreliable to be published Note F: too unreliable to be published Note F: too unreliable to be published 100
N.L. 41 Note F: too unreliable to be published 52 7

Watering lawns

Sprinklers and sprinkler systems

There are many types of sprinklers that homeowners can use to water their lawns and gardens. Stand-alone sprinklers attached to the end of a hose are quite common. Another option consists of sprinkler systems that are composed of in-ground pipes, multiple sprinkler heads and often timers to control when and how much water is applied. Properly used, sprinkler systems can allow water to be applied more efficiently, however the most efficient method may be watering by hand as water is only applied where it’s needed.

Not everyone waters their lawn, however. In 2015, only 43% of Canadian households that had a lawn reported that they had watered it. Of those that did, 63% used some sort of sprinkler or sprinkler system. Nineteen percent of households that watered their lawn used a sprinkler system, compared to 45% that used a standalone lawn sprinkler. The remainder watered their lawns by hand using a hose or watering can.

Households in Saskatchewan (69%) were most likely to have watered their lawn, followed by those in Alberta (64%), while those in Prince Edward Island (8%E), Nova Scotia (14%) and New Brunswick (15%E) were least likely to have watered their lawn in 2015.

Standalone sprinklers

Standalone sprinklers were most frequently used by households in Newfoundland and Labrador (58%) and Alberta (58%), while households in Quebec (30%) were least likely to have used one.

Sprinkler systems

While sprinkler systems can allow households to water their lawns without having to drag hoses and standalone sprinklers around, they do require regular maintenance as pipes may leak, resulting in water being wasted. Of the households that reported using a sprinkler system, half (51%) indicated that their sprinkler systems were at least 8 years old.

Sprinkler systems were most frequently reported by households in Saskatchewan (48%) and British Columbia (39%), while households in the other provinces were in line with the national average. The usage of sprinkler systems in Atlantic Canada is so low that the estimates are too unreliable to be published.

Timers

By controlling the time of day and duration of watering sessions, households can optimize the amount of water they need to apply to their lawns. In recent years, some jurisdictions have implemented restrictions on the time of day and frequency that households can apply water to help conserve water and reduce wastage.Note 3

Overall, 32% of households that used a stand-alone sprinkler or sprinkler system used one in conjunction with a timer. Twelve percent of stand alone sprinklers were used with a timer, while 81% of sprinkler systems included a timer.

Watering gardens

In 2015, 61% of all households in Canada reported that they had a garden or an outside area with trees, shrubs, flowers or vegetables. Of these, 77% of households reported they watered these areas during the summer. The likelihood that a household had done so increased across the country; from Newfoundland and Labrador (59%) in the east to British Columbia (86%) in the west.

About one-quarter of households (24%) that watered their garden used a sprinkler or sprinkler system, 36% of which had a timer.

Start of text box

About the Households and the Environment Survey

The Households and the Environment Survey asks Canadian households about their activities and behaviours with respect to the environment. It covers a wide variety of topics including water and energy consumption and conservation, hazardous products used in the home, and the household’s interactions with nature. Data from the survey are used by government to guide policies and programs, by researchers to learn more about Canadians and by individuals to see how they compare to the rest of the country.

The target population of the 2015 Households and the Environment Survey consisted of households in Canada, excluding households located in Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut, households located on reserves and in other Aboriginal settlements in the provinces; and households consisting entirely of full-time members of the Canadian Armed Forces. Institutions and households in certain remote regions were also excluded.

Definitions, data sources and methods: survey number 3881

Available in CANSIM: table 153-0171.

For more information, or to enquire about the concepts, methods or data quality of this release, contact us (toll-free 1-800-263-1136; 514-283-8300; STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca) or Media Relations (613-951-4636; STATCAN.mediahotline-ligneinfomedias.STATCAN@canada.ca).

End of text box

Date modified:

Feuillets d'information de l'environnement
L’utilisation de l’eau à l’extérieur, 2015

Date de diffusion : le 21 juillet 2017

par la Division de la statistique de l’environnement, de l’énergie et des transports

L’arrosage des pelouses et des jardins constitue une grande partie de l’eau utilisée à des fins résidentielles à l’extérieur de la maison. En 2013, les Canadiens ont utilisé en moyenne 223 litres d’eau à la maison chaque jour, ce qui comprenait l’eau utilisée à l’intérieur et à l’extérieurNote 1. Il existe diverses stratégies pour réduire la quantité d’eau utilisée pour arroser les pelouses et les jardins, dont les citernes et les barils pluviaux, et différents types de systèmes d’arrosage.

Carte 1

Description du carte 1
Cette carte décrit la proportion des ménages au Canada, par province, qui ont arrosé leur pelouse en 2015.
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Cette carte décrit la proportion des ménages au Canada. Les données sont présentées selon Province (titres de rangée) et percent(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Province proportion des ménages
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 28
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 8Note E: à utiliser avec prudence
Nouvelle-Écosse 14
Nouveau-Brunswick 15Note E: à utiliser avec prudence
Québec 27
Ontario 48
Manitoba 38
Saskatchewan 69
Alberta 64
Colombie-Britannique 45

Barils et citernes

Les barils et les citernes permettent aux ménages de recueillir l’eau de pluie afin de l’utiliser pour arroser leur pelouse et leur jardin. En 2015, 15 % des ménages canadiens avaient un baril ou une citerne. Comparativement au reste du Canada, les ménages des provinces des Prairies, soit le Manitoba (22 %), la Saskatchewan (28 %) et l’Alberta (25 %), étaient les plus nombreux à déclarer le recours à cette méthode.

Les ménages résidant dans une région métropolitaine de recensement (RMR)Note 2 étaient moins susceptibles d’utiliser un baril ou une citerne que ceux vivant à l’extérieur d’une RMR (13 % par rapport à 22 %). Parmi les ménages résidant dans une RMR, ceux de Kingston étaient les plus susceptibles d’utiliser un baril ou une citerne, alors que les ménages de Vancouver étaient les moins susceptibles de le faire (34 % par rapport à 5 %E).

L’utilisation de barils et de citernes était plus fréquente chez les ménages vivant dans une maison individuelle non attenante (22 %) que chez ceux occupant un autre type de logement.

Propriétaire ou locataire

On observe une corrélation entre les ménages qui sont propriétaires de leur logement et l’utilisation d’un baril ou d’une citerne. En 2015, les ménages qui étaient propriétaires du logement dans lequel ils vivaient étaient cinq fois plus susceptibles que ceux qui n’étaient pas propriétaires d’avoir un baril ou une citerne (19 % par rapport à 4 %).

Graphique 1

Tableau de données du Graphique 1
Tableau de données du graphique 1
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Tableau de données du graphique 1 Ont arrosé leur pelouse par main seulement, Ont utilisé un arroseur indépendant ou un système d'arrosage et ont arrosé leur pelouse par main, Ont utilisé un arroseur indépendant ou un système d'arrosage seulement et Trop fiable d'être publiée (F) ou la méthode d'arrossage n'a pas été déclarer, calculées selon proportion des ménages qui ont arrosé leur pelouses unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Ont arrosé leur pelouse par main seulement Ont utilisé un arroseur indépendant ou un système d'arrosage et ont arrosé leur pelouse par main Ont utilisé un arroseur indépendant ou un système d'arrosage seulement Trop fiable d'être publiée (F) ou la méthode d'arrossage n'a pas été déclarer
proportion des ménages qui ont arrosé leur pelouses
Canada 36 11 52 1
C.-B. 26 9 64 1
Alb. 24 11 65 0
Sask. 12 12 76 0
Man. 41 15 44 0
Ont. 38 14 47 1
Qc 59 Note F: trop peu fiable pour être publié 36 5
N.-B. 65 Note F: trop peu fiable pour être publié 32 3
N.-É. 50 Note F: trop peu fiable pour être publié 40 10
Î.-P.-É. Note F: trop peu fiable pour être publié Note F: trop peu fiable pour être publié Note F: trop peu fiable pour être publié 100
T.-N.-L. 41 Note F: trop peu fiable pour être publié 52 7

L’arrosage des pelouses

Arroseurs indépendants et systèmes d’arrosage

Les propriétaires peuvent utiliser plusieurs types d’arroseurs pour arroser leur pelouse ou leur jardin. Les arroseurs indépendants fixés au bout d’un tuyau d’arrosage sont assez courants. Il y a aussi les systèmes d’arrosage composés de conduites souterraines munies de multiples têtes d’arroseur et, souvent, d’une minuterie pour contrôler l’heure de l’arrosage et la quantité d’eau utilisée. S’ils sont utilisés adéquatement, les systèmes d’arrosage permettent une application plus efficace de l’eau; toutefois, la méthode la plus efficace peut être l’arrosage manuel, car l’eau est appliquée uniquement là où c’est nécessaire.

Tout le monde n’arrose cependant pas sa pelouse. En 2015, seulement 43 % des ménages canadiens ayant une pelouse ont déclaré l’arroser. De ces ménages, 63 % ont utilisé un arroseur indépendant ou un système d’arrosage. Parmi les ménages qui ont arrosé leur pelouse, 19 % ont utilisé un système d’arrosage et 45 % ont utilisé un arroseur indépendant. La proportion restante des ménages ont arrosé leur pelouse à la main, au moyen d’un tuyau d’arrosage ou d’un arrosoir.

Les ménages de la Saskatchewan (69 %) étaient plus susceptibles d’avoir arrosé leur pelouse, suivis de ceux de l’Alberta (64 %). Les ménages de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (8 %E), de la Nouvelle-Écosse (14 %) et du Nouveau-Brunswick (15 %E) étaient les moins susceptibles d’avoir arrosé leur pelouse en 2015.

Arroseurs indépendants

Les arroseurs indépendants étaient les plus souvent utilisés par les ménages de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (58 %) et de l’Alberta (58 %), alors que les ménages du Québec (30 %) étaient les moins susceptibles d’utiliser ce type d’arroseur.

Systèmes d’arrosage

Alors que les systèmes d’arrosage permettent aux propriétaires d’arroser leur pelouse sans avoir à déplacer des tuyaux d’arrosage et des arroseurs indépendants, ils doivent faire l’objet d’un entretien régulier, car les conduites peuvent présenter des fuites, entraînant un gaspillage d’eau. Parmi les ménages ayant déclaré utiliser un système d’arrosage, la moitié (51 %) ont indiqué que leur système datait d’au moins huit ans.

Les systèmes d’arrosage étaient plus souvent utilisés par les ménages de la Saskatchewan (48 %) et de la Colombie-Britannique (39 %). La proportion des ménages des autres provinces ayant déclaré utiliser ces systèmes correspondait à la moyenne nationale. L’utilisation des systèmes d’arrosage dans les provinces de l’Atlantique était si faible que les estimations sont trop peu fiables pour être publiées.

Minuteries

En contrôlant l’heure et la durée des séances d’arrosage, les ménages peuvent optimiser la quantité d’eau qu’ils doivent appliquer sur leur pelouse. Au cours des dernières années, certains secteurs de compétence ont imposé aux menages des restrictions quant au moment et à la fréquence des arrosages afin de préserver l’eau et de réduire le gaspillageNote 3.

Dans l’ensemble, 32 % des ménages ayant utilisé un arroseur indépendant ou un système d’arrosage ont également utilisé une minuterie; 12 % des arroseurs indépendants comportaient une minuterie comparativement à 81 % des systèmes d’arrosage.

L’arrosage du jardin

En 2015, 61 % de l’ensemble des ménages au Canada ont déclaré avoir un jardin ou un espace à l’extérieur planté d’arbres, d’arbustes, de fleurs ou de légumes. De ces ménages, 77 % ont déclaré avoir arrosé ces espaces au cours de l’été. La probabilité qu’un ménage l’ait fait augmentait de l’est à l’ouest du pays, 59 % des ménages de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ayant déclaré avoir arrosé ces espaces et 86 % des ménages de la Colombie-Britannique ayant déclaré l’avoir fait.

Environ le quart des ménages (24 %) ayant arrosé leur jardin ont utilisé un arroseur indépendant ou un système d’arrosage, dont 36 % étaient munis d’une minuterie.

Début de l'encadré

À propos de l’Enquête sur les ménages et l’environnement

Dans le cadre de l’Enquête sur les ménages et l’environnement, les ménages canadiens sont interrogés à propos de leurs activités et de leurs comportements à l’égard de l’environnement. L’enquête porte sur un vaste éventail de sujets, comme la consommation et la conservation d’eau et d’énergie, les produits dangereux utilisés à la maison, ainsi que les interactions du ménage avec la nature. Les gouvernements s’appuient sur les données de l’enquête pour orienter les politiques et les programmes, les chercheurs s’en servent pour en savoir davantage sur les habitudes des Canadiens, tandis que les particuliers les utilisent pour voir comment ils se comparent au reste du pays.

La population cible de l’Enquête sur les ménages et l’environnement de 2015 se composait des ménages canadiens, sauf les ménages situés au Yukon, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut, les ménages situés dans les réserves et autres peuplements autochtones des provinces et les ménages composés entièrement de membres à temps plein des Forces armées canadiennes. Les établissements et les ménages de certaines régions éloignées ont également été exclus.

Définitions, source des données et méthodes : numéro d’enquête 3881.

Données offertes dans CANSIM : tableau 153-0171.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements ou pour en savoir davantage sur les concepts, les méthodes et la qualité des données, communiquez avec nous au 514-283-8300, composez sans frais le 1-800-263-1136 (STATCAN.infostats-infostats.STATCAN@canada.ca), ou communiquez avec les Relations avec les médias au 613-951-4636 (STATCAN.mediahotline-ligneinfomedias.STATCAN@canada.ca).

Fin de l'encadré

Date de modification :