Data quality, concepts and methodology: Definitions

Inter-regional transfers - Shows the net inter-regional movement of product between regions.

Inter-product transfers - Shows the transfer of similar products between different product forms, e.g. still gas to natural gas, natural gas to produce hydrogen in petroleum refineries.

Other adjustments - Includes cyclical billing variations, metering differences and losses in transportation.In the case of crude oil, includes sales to non-refineries.

Availability - The amount which was available for use. This includes the summation of production, imports, inter-regional transfers, inter-product transfers and other adjustments, less exports and stock variation.

Net supply - The amount "available" after the amounts used in transformation processes are subtracted. Availability minus stock change – utilities and industry, transformed to electricity – by utilities, transformed to electricity – by industry, transformed to coke and manufactured gases, transformed to refined products and transformed to steam generation. Net refinery production is included in net supply for propane and butane.

Producers' Consumption - Producers' consumption as measured here is the consumption by the producing industry of its own produced fuel – for example refined petroleum products consumed by the refined petroleum product industry, or natural gas used in the field, flared and waste, field uses, gathering uses, plant uses and metering adjustments. It does not include consumption of energy forms produced by other energy supply industries – for example; it would exclude the use of natural gas by the petroleum refining industry. In the case of electricity, it includes transmission losses, adjustments, "unaccounted for" amounts which are subject to variation because of cyclical billing, etc., but excludes generating station use output as measured at the generating station gate.

Non-energy use - Amounts shown here are for amounts used for purposes other than fuel purposes. Includes products being used as petrochemical feedstock, anodes/cathodes, greases, lubricants, etc.

Energy use – final demand - The summation of the usage in mining and oil and gas extraction, manufacturing, forestry, construction, transportation, agriculture, residential, public administration and commercial and other institutional.For Propane, it includes non-energy use.

Total mining and oil and gas extraction - Comprises establishments primarily engaged in extracting naturally occurring minerals. This includes metal mines, non-metal mines, coal mines, crude petroleum and natural gas extraction industries, stone quarries gravel pits, exploration for minerals, development of mineral properties and contract drilling operations. NAICS code 21.

Pulp and paper - Includes establishments primarily engaged in manufacturing pulp, paper and paper products. NAICS code 322.

Iron and steel - Establishments primarily engaged in operating blast furnaces, casting mills, rolling mills or coke ovens operated in association with blast furnaces including steel foundries. NAICS codes 3311, 3312 and 33151.

Smelting and refining, non-ferrous - Establishments primarily engaged in the production of aluminum and the refining of non-ferrous metals. NAICS codes 3313, 3314 and 33152.

Cement - Establishments primarily engaged in manufacturing cement. NAICS code 327310. This classification does not include ready-mix concrete operations, which is included in "Other Manufacturing".

Petroleum refining - Establishments primarily engaged in manufacturing of a group of refined petroleum products including fuels, blended oils and greases. NAICS code 324110 and part of 324190.

Chemicals - Establishments primarily engaged in manufacturing industrial organic and inorganic chemicals and chemical fertilizers. NAICS code 325.

Other manufacturing - All other manufacturing industries (NAICS codes 31, 32 and 33) not listed above. In some instances, this classification is used when no breakdown of the component manufacturing industries is provided.

Total manufacturing - The summation of manufacturing industries.

Forestry - Establishments primarily engaged in forestry and logging services. NAICS codes 113 and 1153.

Construction - Establishments primarily engaged in the construction of buildings, highways, dams, etc., and those providing services to the construction industry. Special trade contractors primarily engaged in construction work in such specialties as plumbing, carpentry, painting, etc. are included here. NAICS code 23. Sales of asphalt (in Non-energy refined petroleum products table) for paving purposes, regardless of the purchaser, are included here.

Canadian airlines - Domestic airlines engaged primarily in the for-hire, common-carrier transportation of people and/or goods using aircraft, such as airplanes and helicopters.NAICS code 481.Exclude foreign airlines.Also excluded are establishments engaged in providing specialty flying services such as aerial photography, surveying, air taxi, flying clubs, flying schools, recreation flying, etc., which are included in 'Commercial and Other Institutional'.Aerial crop spraying/crop dusting is considered to be 'Agriculture'.

Domestic marine - Establishments primarily engaged in the water transportation of passengers and goods, using equipment designed for those purposes and provided by ships of Canadian registry (flag). Commercial fishing is also included. NAICS codes 1141 and 483. Excluded are usage by National Defence and the Canadian Coast Guard, which are included in Public Administration.

Pipelines - Establishments primarily engaged in operating pipelines for the transport of natural gas, crude oil and other products. Also included are establishments engaged in the distribution of natural gas through a series of mains. NAICS codes 486 and 2212.

Road transport and urban transit - Establishments primarily engaged in truck transport services, in the operation of urban, interurban and rural transit systems, school buses, charter and sightseeing buses, taxis and limousine services to airports and stations. Card Lock (Key Lock) operations are also included here. NAICS codes 484, 485, 4871, 4879, 4884, 4885 and 4889.

Transportation - In this sector, only the use of fuel by the transportation industry for transportation purposes are included. Excluded are any fuels used for activities not directly involved in transportation (i.e. train stations, warehouses, airports, etc.). These amounts are included in Commercial and other institutional. Fuels, which have been purchased for use by the agriculture, commercial and public institutions sectors for transportation purposes, are included in the sectors to which the fuel was sold.

Agriculture - Establishments primarily engaged in agricultural, hunting and trapping activities. NAICS codes 111, 112, 1142, 1151 and 1152. Excluded are any operations primarily engaged in food processing, farm machinery manufacture and repair.

Residential - Includes all personal residences including single family residences, apartments, apartment hotels, condominiums and farm homes.

Public administration - Establishments of federal, provincial and municipal governments primarily engaged in activities associated with public administration. This includes such establishments as the Federal Public Service, National Defence, RCMP and provincial and local administrations. NAICS code 91.

Commercial and other institutional - Final consumers other than those listed above. This includes service industries related to mining, transportation, as well as storage and warehousing, communications and utility (excluding electricity and natural gas), wholesale and retail trade, finance and insurance, real estate and business service, education, health and social services and other service industries.

Next technical note

Date modified:

Qualité des données, concepts et méthodologie : Définitions

Transferts inter régions - Indique le déplacement net inter régional de produit entre les régions.

Transferts inter produits - Indique les transferts de produits semblables entre les diverses formes de produits ; par exemple, gaz de fours vers gaz naturel, gaz naturel pour produire de l'hydrogène dans les raffineries de pétrole.

Autres ajustements - Comprend les changements cycliques de la facturation, les différences de lecture et les pertes dans le transport. Dans le cas du pétrole brut, les ventes aux non-raffineries sont incluses.

Disponibilité - La quantité qui était disponible pour utilisation. Il inclut la somme de production, importations, transferts inter-regions, transferts inter-produits et autres ajustements moins les exportations et variations des stocks.

Approvisionnement nette - Quantité disponible après soustraction des quantités utilisées dans les procédés de transformation. Disponibilité moins variation des stocks – services et industries, transformé en énergie électrique – par services, transformé en énergie électrique – par industries, tranformé en coke et gaz manufacturé, transformé en produits raffinés et transformé en production de vapeur. Production nette des raffineries de gaz pétroliers liquéfiés est inclue pour propane et butane.

Autoconsommation - L'autoconsommation mesurée ici est la consommation par l'industrie du combustible qu'elle produit – par exemple, les produits pétroliers raffinés consommés par l'industrie de raffinage de pétrole ou bien le gaz utilisé sur le terrain, brûlé et perdu, les utilisations sur le terrain, les utilisations d'accumulations et les différences de lecture. Ceci ne comprend pas la consommation des formes d'énergie produites par d'autres industries d'approvisionnement en énergie – par exemple, ces chiffres excluent l'utilisation de gaz naturel par l'industrie du raffinage du pétrole. Dans le cas de l'électricité, ils comprennent les pertes de transmission, les ajustements, les quantités "non imputées" sujettes à certaines variations à cause de la facturation proportionnelle, etc. mais excluent les extraits de l'utilisation de la station productrice mesurés à la porte de la station productrice.

Usage non énergétique - Les quantités présentées ici sont celles utilisées à des fins autres que combustibles. Ces quantités comprennent des produits utilisés comme alimentation pétrochimique, anodes/cathodes, graisses, lubrifiants, etc.

Usage énergétique - écoulement final ligne 18. La somme des usages dans l’extraction minière et extraction de pétrole et de gaz, manufacturier, forestier, construction, transport, agriculture, résidentiel, administration publique et commerces et autres institutions. Usage non énergétique est inclue pour propane.

Total extraction minière et extraction de pétrole et de gaz - Comprend les établissements dont l'activité principale est l'extraction de substances minérales d'origine naturelle. Inclus sont les mines de métaux, les mines de non-métaux, les mines de charbon, l'industrie d'extraction du pétrole brut et du gaz naturel, les carrières de pierres, les carrières de gravier, l'exploration minérale, l'aménagement de biens miniers et les activités de forage à forfait. Code 21 du SCIAN.

Pâtes et papier - Les établissements qui s'occupent principalement de la fabrication de pâte, de papier et de produits du papier. Code 322 du SCIAN.

Sidérurgie - Les établissements qui s'occupent principalement de l'exploitation de hauts fourneaux, d'usines de moulage, de laminoirs ou de fours à coke utilisés avec les hauts fourneaux et incluant les aciéries. Codes 3311, 3312 et 33151 du SCIAN.

Fonte et affinage, non-ferreux - Les établissements qui s'occupent principalement de la production d'aluminium et l'affinage des métaux non ferreux. Codes 3313, 3314 et 33152 du SCIAN.

Ciment - Les établissements qui s'occupent principalement de la fabrication de ciment. Code 327310 du SCIAN. Cette classification ne comprend pas la fabrication et la livraison de béton préparé qui sont incluses à la ligne "Manufacturier – autres".

Raffinage pétrolier - Les établissements qui s'occupent principalement de la fabrication d'un groupe de produits pétroliers raffinés comprennent les carburants ainsi que les huiles et graisses obtenues par mélange. Code 324110 et une partie de 324190 du SCIAN.

Produits chimiques - Les établissements qui s'occupent principalement de la fabrication de produits chimiques industriels organiques et inorganiques ainsi que d'engrais chimiques. Code 325 du SCIAN.

Manufacturier – autres - Toutes les autres industries manufacturières (codes 31, 32 et 33 du SCIAN) non énumérés ci-dessus. Dans certains cas, cette catégorie est utilisée lorsqu'il n'y a pas de répartition des industries manufacturières particulières.

Total manufacturier - La somme des industries manufacturières.

Forestier - Les établissements qui s'occupent principalement de foresterie et d'exploitation forestière. Codes 113 et 1153 du SCIAN.

Construction - Les établissements qui s'occupent principalement de la construction d'immeubles, de grandes route, de barrages, etc., et aux établissements qui fournissent des services à l'industrie de la construction (les entrepreneurs spécialisés qui s'occupent principalement de travaux de construction dans les domaines de la plomberie, de la charpenterie, de la peinture, etc.) Code 23 du SCIAN. Les ventes d'asphalte (au tableau Produits pétroliers raffinés non-énergétiques) à des fins de pavage, quel que soit l'acheteur sont inclus ici.

Lignes aériennes canadiennes - Les établissements canadiens qui s'occupent principalement de fournir pour compte d'autrui des services de transport public de personnes ou de marchandises par aéronef. Notamment par avion et par hélicoptère. Code 481 du SCIAN. Sauf les sociétés d'aviation étrangères. Les ventes aux établissements qui s'occupent principalement de fournir des services aériens spéciaux comme la photographie, l'arpentage et le taxi, les aéro-clubs et les écoles de pilotage doivent être incluses à la ligne "Commerces et autres institutions". La pulvérisation ou le poudrage des cultures à partir d'aéronefs sont considérés comme de "l'Agriculture".

Lignes maritimes domestiques - Les établissements qui s'occupent principalement du transport par eau de passagers et de marchandises, à l'aide d'un matériel conçu à cette fin, et fourni par des navires enregistrés au Canada (battant pavillon canadien). La pêche commerciale est aussi inclue. Codes 1141 et 483 du SCIAN. Les navires utilisés par la Défense nationale et la Garde côtière canadienne se trouvent à la ligne Administrations publiques.

Pipelines - Les établissements qui s'occupent principalement de l'exploitation de pipelines pour le transport de gaz naturel, pétrole brut et d'autres produits. Inclus également sont les établissements qui s'occupent de la distribution, par une série de conduites, de gaz naturel. Codes 486 et 2212 du SCIAN.

Transport commercial et en commun - Les établissements qui s'occupent principalement de la prestation des services de transport par camion, à exploiter un réseau urbain, interurbain et rural de transfert en commun, des autobus scolaires, des autocars de location et de tourisme, ainsi que les taxis et des limousines aux aéroports et aux gares. Codes 484, 485, 4871, 4879, 4884, 4885 et 4889 du SCIAN.

Transport - Dans ce secteur, seule l'utilisation du carburant par l'industrie des transports à des fins de transport est incluse. Tout combustible utilisé pour les activités non liées directement au transport (comme les gares ferroviaires, les entrepôts, les aéroports, etc.), est exclu. Ces quantités sont incluses à la ligne Commerce et autres institutions. Les carburants achetés pour l'agriculture, les institutions commerciales et les institutions publiques à des fins de transport sont inclus dans les secteurs pour lesquels le carburant a été vendu.

Agriculture - Les établissements qui s'occupent principalement à des activités agricoles, ainsi qu'à la chasse et au piégeage. Codes 111, 112, 1142, 1151 et 1152 du SCIAN. Exclus sont toute installation dont l'activité principale est la transformation des aliments, et la construction et la réparation des machines agricoles.

Domestique - Cette catégorie comprend toutes les résidences privées, y compris les maisons unifamiliales, les appartements, les hôtels-résidences, les condominiums et maisons de ferme.

Administration publique - Établissements des administrations fédérales, provinciales et municipales, dont l'activité principale se rapporte à l'administration publique. Cela comprend les organismes tels que la Fonction publique fédérale, la Défense nationale, la GRC, ainsi que les administrations provinciales et locales. Code 91 du SCIAN.

Commerces et autres institutions - Consommateurs finaux autres que ceux énumérés déjà. Elle comprend les industries de service liées à l'extraction minière, aux transports ainsi qu'au stockage et à l'entreposage, aux communications et aux services (à l'exception de l'électricité et du gaz naturel), à la vente au détail et au commerce de gros, aux finances et à l'assurance, au secteur immobilier et aux services commerciaux, à l'éducation, à la santé et aux services sociaux et autres industries de services.

Note technique suivante

Date de modification :