Seasonal workers, by province

The Atlantic provinces have the highest rates of seasonal workers

  • About 1 in 10 employees in Prince Edward Island (10.3%) and Newfoundland and Labrador (9.4%) were seasonal workers in 2007, the highest rate of all provinces. New Brunswick and Nova Scotia followed at 5.9% and 5.5%, respectively.

  • All provinces saw a decrease in their rate of seasonal employment from 2005 to 2007, except for Quebec and Nova Scotia, which experienced no change. Men made up the large majority of seasonal workers in all provinces in 2007. Only in British Columbia did men represent just over half of all seasonal workers in the province (56.0%) in 2007.

  • Industries that have a higher than average representation of seasonal workers include agriculture, construction, information, culture and recreational services, forestry, fishing, mining, oil and gas, business, building and other support services, accommodation and food services and transportation and warehousing.

Chart I.4
Rate of seasonal workers, by province, 2007

Chart I.4 Rate of seasonal workers, by province, 2007

Source: Statistics Canada, Labour Force Survey, CANSIM table 282-0080.

Date modified:

Travailleurs saisonniers selon la province

Les provinces de l'Atlantique affichent les taux de travailleurs saisonniers les plus élevés

  • À l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (10,3 %) et à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (9,4 %), environ 1 employé sur 10 était un travailleur saisonnier en 2007; il s'agit du taux le plus élevé de toutes les provinces. Viennent ensuite le Nouveau-Brunswick et la Nouvelle-Écosse, où le taux d'emploi saisonnier se situe à 5,9 % et à 5,5 % respectivement.

  • Entre 2005 et 2007, toutes les provinces ont connu une baisse du taux d'emploi saisonnier, sauf le Québec et la Nouvelle-Écosse où ce taux est resté inchangé. En 2007, les hommes ont représenté la grande majorité de la main-d'œuvre saisonnière dans toutes les provinces. En Colombie-Britannique, toutefois, les hommes ne formaient qu'un peu plus de la moitié des travailleurs saisonniers de la province (56,0 %) en 2007.

  • Parmi les branches d'activité comptant une proportion de travailleurs saisonniers supérieure à la moyenne figurent l'agriculture, la construction, l'information, la culture et les loisirs, la foresterie, la pêche, l'extraction minière, l'extraction de pétrole et de gaz, les services aux entreprises, les services relatifs aux bâtiments et les autres services de soutien, l'hébergement et les services de restauration, ainsi que le transport et l'entreposage.

Graphique I.4
Taux de travailleurs saisonniers selon la province, 2007

Graphique I.4 Taux de travailleurs saisonniers selon la province, 2007

Source : Statistique Canada, Enquête sur la population active, tableau CANSIM 282-0080.