Section 8: Comparing the Survey of Employment, Payrolls and Hours and the Labour Force Survey

Statistics Canada has two monthly surveys that measure employment levels and trends: the Labour Force Survey (LFS), referred to here as the household survey, and the Survey of Employment, Payrolls and Hours (SEPH), referred to here as the payroll or establishment survey.

The LFS provides the first timely picture of overall labour market conditions, with total employment, unemployment and unemployment rate, as well as information on which groups of Canadians are most affected by changes in the labour market.

Approximately two months later, the SEPH provides additional detail of the same month by industry, along with estimations of earnings and hours worked.

Statistics from both the household and business payroll surveys, along with those from the Employment Insurance program and the Job Vacancy program all contribute to understanding the supply and demand components of the labour market.

The household survey (LFS) provides a broader picture of employment, including employment in agriculture and the number of self-employed. The payroll survey (SEPH) provides a highly reliable gauge of monthly change in non-farm payroll employment.

Because the LFS has a broader definition of employment than the SEPH, the LFS employment level exceeds the SEPH employment level. See Chart 8.1 below for more details.

For comparability purposes, an adjusted LFS series was added to Chart 8.1 to be more similar in concept and definition to SEPH employment. This adjusted series is created by subtracting agriculture, fishing and hunting employment, non-agricultural self-employed, unpaid family and private household workers, as well as workers absent without pay from their jobs, and then adding non-agricultural wage and salary multiple jobholders.

The LFS adjusted series tracks much more closely with the SEPH measure; nonetheless, trend discrepancies occur occasionally. For example, during the 2008–2009 employment downturn, the decline was more pronounced in the LFS than the SEPH.

Some of the discrepancies are attributable to conceptual and measurement differences between the two surveys. The major features and distinctions of the two surveys are shown in Table 8.1.

Comparing employment trends from the two surveys

The LFS is the only survey conducted by Statistics Canada designed to provide the official unemployment rate every month, with a monthly sample size of approximately 56,000 households. It is the earliest and most timely indicator of the pulse of the labour market in Canada. The sample size makes it a very reliable source for different geographic levels. It provides a complete picture as it includes employees, self-employed people, as well as unemployed. Characteristics of all three groups, including age, sex and occupation are also available.

The SEPH, also a monthly survey, is designed to provide data on payroll employment as well as average earnings and hours worked. It is a census of all payroll employees in Canada. Consequently, the SEPH does not survey the self-employed or the unemployed. However, the employment payrolls data are available at a detailed industry level.

As mentioned earlier, SEPH and LFS estimates track well over the long-term, but discrepancies in trends occur occasionally.These discrepancies might be more common for sub-groups, for example, at the provincial level or in a specific industry.

Table 8.2 provides year-over-year employment change from the two sources of data.

Sampling error in the LFS

The LFS is subject to sampling and non-sampling error. While it is one of the largest sample surveys internationally, reaching 56,000 households, it covers a small portion of all employed persons. When looking at short-term trends, especially over-the-month changes, it is therefore essential to assess the statistical significance of the change.

Employment estimates from the SEPH, as they are derived from all the administrative payroll deduction forms submitted by employers to the Canada Revenue Agency, are not subject to sampling error. They are, however, subject to non-sampling error.

Worker classification in the LFS

An adjusted LFS employment series was created to be more similar in concept and definition to the SEPH employment series, as featured in Chart 8.1. This adjusted series is calculated by subtracting agriculture and related employment; unpaid family and private household workers; workers absent without pay from their job; as well as military reservists; and adding wage and salary multiple jobholders whose second job is either as an employee or as an incorporated self-employed with employees. For the SEPH, employment data from the three northern territories are removed to make it comparable to the LFS.

This adjustment process also has some limitations. For example, some independent contractors in LFS may have mistakenly reported themselves as wage and salary workers rather than self-employed. This could lead to some overstatement in the adjusted LFS employment estimates. Separately, the adjustment for multiple jobholders adds the number of workers whose primary job is non-agricultural wage and salary, but not necessarily their secondary job. However, there are no adjustments to account for the number of multiple jobholders with three or more jobs; the adjustment process presumes all multiple jobholders only hold two jobs. This introduces some understatement into the adjusted household survey employment. These types of worker classification issues limit the ability to fully reconcile the two employment measures.

‘Off the books’ employment

Workers may be working for pay but not necessarily declared in the SEPH (for example, ‘off-the-books’ employment). The LFS could possibly include some of these workers, but it is not possible to determine the extent to which they might be reflected in the survey estimates.

Estimates by province

Estimates from the LFS are based on where people usually reside. However, the SEPH counts employees in the province or territory where they work. This does not affect comparability at the national level, but can create differences at the provincial/territorial level.

Payroll estimates and detailed industry data

New businesses are included in the Statistics Canada Business Register, which is used by the SEPH to obtain the industry information. However, there can be delays before all new businesses are classified, which can mean temporary under-reporting in some of the detailed industry data. Also, the Business Register regularly reviews and updates the industry and provincial classification of current establishments. This can cause changes to employment levels of updated industries, not reflecting real growth or decline.

Employment industry data available from the household survey are based on information provided by survey respondents when asked about the detailed characteristics of their employment. That information is then processed and an industrial classification code is assigned by Statistics Canada.

Release schedule differences

The LFS interviews take place over the ten days following the reference week. This is followed by nine days of processing and analysis, enabling the release of the estimates 19 days after the Saturday of the reference week. The release usually takes place the first or second Friday of the month.

Businesses have until the 15th of the following month to file data from the last pay period of the reference month to the Canada Revenue Agency. These data, approximately one million records, are provided to Statistics Canada at the beginning of the next month, or five weeks after the reference period. This is followed by three and a half weeks of processing and analysis, bringing the release to eight and a half weeks after the reference period.

Revision schedule

Estimates from both surveys are revised according to different schedules. While this does not impact the overall trends, it could affect the month-to-month change.

The seasonally adjusted LFS estimates are revised yearly, going back three years and are published around the end of January. Every five years, population controls are updated according to the latest census population projections and all LFS estimates are revised historically over a longer time span. This exercise is called a rebasing and the last one occurred in January 2015. At the time of the rebasing, the latest classifications for geography, industry and occupation are updated along with the latest seasonal factors.

With the SEPH, monthly estimates are revised the month after the estimates are first publicly released. For example, when estimates for May are released, estimates for April are revised.

Every year at the end of March, the SEPH estimates undergo a historical revision. The span and the breadth of the revisions vary depending on the year. The revisions to specific industries sometimes go back as far as 2001 and can include updates to new classification systems (i.e., moving from NAICS 2007 to NAICS 2012), or sometimes will span only a few years with minimal changes. At the same time, seasonally adjusted data are revised back three years.

Next section | Previous section

Date modified:

Section 8 : Comparaison entre l’Enquête sur l’emploi, la rémunération et les heures et l’Enquête sur la population active

Deux enquêtes mensuelles de Statistique Canada mesurent les niveaux et les tendances d’emploi : l’Enquête sur la population active (EPA), une enquête-ménage, et l’Enquête sur l’emploi, la rémunération et les heures (EERH), une enquête-entreprise sur la rémunération et l’emploi salarié.

L’EPA fournit le premier portrait actuel de la situation générale du marché du travail, avec les données sur l’emploi total, le chômage et le taux de chômage, ainsi que des renseignements sur les groupes de Canadiens les plus touchés par les changements survenus sur le marché du travail.

Environ deux mois plus tard, l’EERH fournit des données supplémentaires par secteur d’activité pour le même mois, ainsi que des estimations de la rémunération et des heures travaillées.

Les statistiques de l’enquête-ménage et de l’enquête-entreprise sur la rémunération, ainsi que les données du programme de l’assurance-emploi et du programme sur les postes vacants, permettent d’avoir un portrait plus complet de l’offre et de la demande sur le marché du travail.

L’enquête-ménage (EPA) donne un aperçu plus large de l’emploi, y compris l’emploi dans le secteur agricole ainsi que le travail autonome. L’enquête-entreprise (EERH) donne une estimation très fiable de la variation mensuelle de l’emploi salarié non agricole.

Comme la définition de l’emploi est plus large dans l’EPA que dans l’EERH, le niveau d’emploi est plus élevé dans l’EPA que dans l’EERH. Voir graphique 8.1 ci-dessous pour plus de renseignements.

À des fins de comparaison, une série ajustée de l’EPA a été ajoutée au graphique 8.1 pour qu’elle se rapproche davantage des concepts et des définitions de l’EERH. Cette série ajustée a été créée après exclusion des travailleurs du secteur agricole, de la pêche et de la chasse, des travailleurs autonomes non agricoles, des travailleurs familiaux non rémunérés et des travailleurs des services aux ménages privés ainsi que des travailleurs en congé non payé, et inclusion des salariés non agricoles occupant plus d’un emploi.

L’estimation des salariés provenant de l’EPA est beaucoup plus proche de celle provenant de l’EERH, bien que des écarts existent parfois. Par exemple, pendant le ralentissement du marché du travail de 2008-2009, la baisse de l’emploi était plus marquée dans l’EPA que dans l’EERH.

Certains écarts sont attribuables aux différences entre les concepts et les mesures utilisés dans les deux enquêtes. Les principales caractéristiques et différences des deux enquêtes figurent dans le tableau 8.1.

Comparaison des tendances d’emploi à partir des deux enquêtes

L’EPA, qui couvre un échantillon mensuel d’approximativement 56 000 ménages, est la seule enquête menée par Statistique Canada dans le but de fournir le taux de chômage officiel tous les mois. C’est le premier indicateur et l’indicateur le plus actuel de la situation du marché du travail au Canada. La taille de l’échantillon fait de l’EPA une source très fiable pour différents niveaux géographiques. L’enquête brosse un portrait complet dans la mesure où elle couvre les salariés, les travailleurs autonomes et les chômeurs. L’enquête fournit également des données sur les caractéristiques de ces trois groupes, y compris l’âge, le sexe et la profession.

L’EERH est une autre enquête mensuelle, conçue pour fournir des données sur l’emploi salarié, la rémunération moyenne et les heures travaillées. Il s’agit d’un recensement de tous les salariés au Canada. Par conséquent, l’EERH ne couvre ni les travailleurs autonomes ni les chômeurs. Toutefois, les données sur l’emploi salarié sont disponibles à un niveau d’industrie détaillé.

Comme cela a été mentionné plus haut, les estimations de l’EPA et de l’EERH suivent des tendances convergentes à long terme, mais certains écarts se manifestent parfois. Ces écarts peuvent être plus fréquents dans le cas de sous-groupes, par exemple, à l’échelle provinciale ou dans une industrie particulière.

Le tableau 8.2 qui suit présente la variation de l’emploi sur 12 mois à partir des deux sources de données.

Erreur d’échantillonnage dans l’EPA

Les données de l’EPA peuvent être entachées d’une erreur d’échantillonnage et d’une erreur non due à l’échantillonnage. Bien que l’EPA soit l’une des enquêtes les plus importantes à l’échelle internationale, son échantillon regroupant 56 000 ménages, elle ne couvre qu’une petite partie de l’ensemble des personnes en emploi. Lorsqu’on examine les tendances à court terme, surtout les variations d’un mois à l’autre, il est essentiel d’évaluer la signification statistique des variations.

Les estimations d’emploi de l’EERH, étant établies à partir des données administratives sur les retenues à la source soumises par les employeurs à l’Agence du revenu du Canada, ne sont pas sujettes à l’erreur d’échantillonnage. Elles sont, toutefois, sujettes à l’erreur non due à l’échantillonnage.

Classification des travailleurs dans l’EPA

Une série ajustée sur les données de l’emploi provenant de l’EPA a été créée pour qu’elle se rapproche davantage des concepts et des définitions de l’EERH (voir le graphique 8.1). Cette série ajustée est calculée en retirant les travailleurs du secteur agricole et des industries connexes, les travailleurs familiaux non rémunérés et les travailleurs des services aux ménages privés, les travailleurs en congé non payé ainsi que les réservistes et en ajoutant les salariés occupant plus d’un emploi et qui occupent leur deuxième emploi à titre de salariés ou de travailleurs autonomes constitués en société avec salariés. Pour l’EERH, les données d’emploi sur les trois territoires du Nord sont retirées pour assurer la comparabilité avec les données de l’EPA.

Ce processus d’ajustement comporte aussi certaines limites. Par exemple, des entrepreneurs indépendants peuvent s’être déclarés à tort comme travailleurs salariés plutôt que comme travailleurs autonomes dans l’EPA. De telles erreurs peuvent donner lieu à une surestimation de l’emploi ajusté d’après l’EPA. Par ailleurs, l’ajustement pour tenir compte des personnes occupant plus d’un emploi ajoute les travailleurs dont l’emploi principal est un emploi salarié non agricole, mais pas nécessairement l’emploi secondaire. Cependant, aucun ajustement n’est fait pour tenir compte des personnes occupant trois emplois ou plus; le processus d’ajustement repose sur l’hypothèse que toutes les personnes qui cumulent des emplois n’en occupent que deux. Cette hypothèse introduit une sous-estimation de l’emploi ajusté provenant de l’enquête-ménage. Ces problèmes de classification des travailleurs limitent les possibilités de faire concorder complètement les deux mesures de l’emploi.

Travail « au noir »

Il peut arriver que des travailleurs soient rémunérés, mais que leurs gains ne soient pas déclarés dans l’EERH (travail « au noir », par exemple). Certains de ces travailleurs pourraient être comptabilisés dans l’EPA, mais il n’est pas possible de déterminer combien d’entre eux sont représentés dans les estimations de l’enquête.

Estimations par province

Les estimations tirées de l’EPA sont basées sur le lieu de résidence habituel des personnes. Par contre, l’EERH dénombre les salariés dans la province ou le territoire où ils travaillent. Ces divergences n’ont pas d’incidence sur la comparabilité des données à l’échelle nationale, mais peuvent créer des écarts à l’échelle provinciale/territoriale.

Estimations de la rémunération et données par niveau d’industrie détaillé

Les nouvelles entreprises sont inscrites au Registre des entreprises de Statistique Canada, sur lequel s’appuie l’EERH pour obtenir les données des industries. Cependant, il peut s’écrouler un certain temps avant que toutes les nouvelles entreprises soient classifiées, ce qui se traduit par une sous-déclaration temporaire dans certaines données relatives à un niveau d’industrie détaillé. En outre, on procède, dans le Registre des entreprises, à des examens et des mises à jour périodiques de la classification industrielle et provinciale des établissements inscrits, ce qui peut entraîner des variations des niveaux d’emploi qui ne représentent pas des hausses ou des baisses réelles.

Les données industrielles sur l’emploi provenant de l’enquête-ménage sont fondées sur les renseignements fournis par le répondant au sujet des caractéristiques détaillées de son travail. Ces renseignements sont ensuite traités, et un code d’industrie est attribué par Statistique Canada.

Différences dans les calendriers de diffusion

Dans le cadre de l’EPA, les interviews sont menées au cours des dix jours qui suivent la semaine de référence. Ces interviews sont suivies de neuf jours de traitement et d’analyse, ce qui permet une diffusion des résultats 19 jours après le samedi de la semaine de référence. La diffusion a généralement lieu le premier ou deuxième vendredi du mois.

Les entreprises ont jusqu’au 15e du mois suivant pour soumettre les données de la dernière période de paye du mois de référence à l’Agence du revenu du Canada. Ces données, qui représentent environ un million d’enregistrements, sont fournies à Statistique Canada au début du mois suivant, soit cinq semaines après la période de référence. Cette étape est suivie de trois semaines et demie de traitement et d’analyse, de sorte que la diffusion a lieu huit semaines et demie après la période de référence.

Calendrier de révision

Les estimations des deux enquêtes sont révisées selon des calendriers qui diffèrent. Ces différences n’ont pas d’incidence sur les tendances générales, mais elles peuvent influer sur les variations d’un mois à l’autre.

Chaque année, les estimations désaisonnalisées de l’EPA font l’objet d’une révision rétrospective sur trois ans et sont publiées vers la fin du mois de janvier. Tous les cinq ans, le contrôle démographique est mis à jour conformément au dernier recensement de la population et toutes les estimations de l’EPA font l’objet d’une révision historique sur une période de temps plus longue. Cet exercice est désigné par le terme « changement de base », et le dernier changement de base a eu lieu en janvier 2015. Lors de cette révision, les classifications de la géographie, des industries et des professions sont mises à jour en même temps que des facteurs saisonniers.

Pour ce qui est de l’EERH, les estimations mensuelles sont révisées le mois suivant la première diffusion des estimations. Par exemple, les estimations pour avril sont révisées au moment de la diffusion des estimations pour mai.

Tous les ans, à la fin du mois de mars, les estimations de l’EERH sont soumises à une révision historique. La portée et l’ampleur des révisions varient selon l’année. Les révisions qui se rapportent à des industries particulières peuvent remonter jusqu’à 2001 et peuvent comprendre le passage à de nouveaux systèmes de classification (par exemple, le passage du SCIAN 2007 au SCIAN 2012) ou peuvent aussi couvrir quelques années seulement et entraîner des changements mineurs. Parallèlement, les données désaisonnalisées font l’objet d’une révision rétrospective sur trois ans.

Section suivante | Section précédente

Date de modification :