Insights on Canadian Society

Language practices of children in Francophone families living outside Quebec

by Émilie Lavoie and René Houle

Release date: December 17, 2015

Using data from the 2006 Survey on the Vitality of Official-Language Minorities (SVOLM), this study examines the language behaviour of children of Francophone parents living in a minority language environment during cultural or social activities. It also explores factors associated with the use of French during such activities. The focus is on two particular activities: reading and watching television.

International students who become permanent residents in Canada

by Yuqian Lu and Feng Hou

Release date: December 10, 2015

This article provides information about the number and characteristics of international students in Canada, and about their rate of transition into permanent residence. The article also examines the extent to which the transition rate varied across characteristics and cohorts, and whether these variations affected the profile of immigrants who are former international students. It does so by using a new administrative database—the Canadian Employer–Employee Dynamics Database (CEEDD).

Regional differences in the educational outcomes of young immigrants

by Feng Hou and Qi Zhang

Release date: November 18, 2015

This article examines regional differences in the math and reading skills of immigrant children aged 15 based on data from the Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA). It also examines regional differences in high-school and university completion rates among young immigrants who came to Canada before the age of 15 using National Household Survey (NHS) data. Throughout the article, comparisons are made with the children of the Canadian-born (third- or higher-generation Canadians).

Recent changes in demographic trends in Canada

by Laurent Martel

Release date: October 27, 2015

Canada’s population growth masks some very different trends from one region to another. Using various data sources, including Statistics Canada’s most recent projections on population and diversity, this article provides a general overview of these trends and discusses how recent demographic changes could impact the age structure, diversity and population share of the various regions of Canada over the next decades.

Political participation and civic engagement of youth

by Martin Turcotte

Release date: October 7, 2015

This study provides new information on the political participation of youth aged 15 to 24 years. It examines the likelihood of voting in the next federal election (as reported in 2013) and participation in the previous election, as well as participation in non-electoral political activities, such as signing petitions or participating in demonstrations or public meetings. The study also provides information on the degree of civic engagement of youth, which is often perceived as a key indicator of social capital.

Differences in the location of study of university-educated immigrants

by Darcy Hango, Lynn Hamilton, Sarah Jane Ferguson and Sarah John Zhao

Release date: September 15, 2015

This article examines the differences in the location of study of immigrant adults aged 25 to 64 with a university education (i.e., with at least a bachelor’s degree). It provides results by period of immigration (pre-1990, the 1990s, and the 2000s) and provides a more in-depth analysis of factors that are linked to the location of study for the most recent cohort of immigrants (i.e., those who immigrated in 2000 or later).

Employment patterns of families with children

by Sharanjit Uppal

Release date: June 24, 2015

This paper examines the employment patterns of families with children (under the age of 16) over the period from 1976 to 2014, with a particular focus on couple families with children. This article also highlights regional differences in the working patterns of parents, and provides additional information on the employment patterns of lone parents.

Changes in wealth across the income distribution, 1999 to 2012

by Sharanjit Uppal and Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté

Release date: June 3, 2015

This article examines changes in the wealth of Canadian families over the period 1999 to 2012, with a particular focus on changes across income quintiles. The paper also examines changes in the concentration of wealth across income quintiles, as well as the characteristics of families with low income and no wealth.

Participation in extracurricular activities and high school completion among off-reserve First Nations people

by Paula Arriagada

Release date: May 13, 2015

This study reports on predictors of high school completion by age 18 among First Nations males and females aged 18 to 24 living off reserve, with a particular focus on extracurricular activities (participation in sports, arts and clubs). The results are based on data from the 2012 Aboriginal Peoples Survey (APS).

Changes in debt and assets of Canadian families, 1999 to 2012

by Sharanjit Uppal and Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté

Release date: April 29, 2015

This paper examines changes in debt, assets and net worth among Canadian families with debt over the period 1999 to 2012, by selected family characteristics. It also examines the extent to which two key ratios of indebtedness, the debt-to-income ratio and the debt-to-asset ratio, varied over the period.

The local unemployment rate and permanent retirement

by Diane Galarneau, Martin Turcotte, Yves Carrière and Eric Fecteau

Release date: April 22, 2015

Using data from the Longitudinal Administrative Databank (LAD), this study examines whether the expected retirement age varies according to the unemployment rate of the economic region. In addition, the study verifies if the relationship between the unemployment rate of the economic region and the probability of permanent retirement remains when other factors are taken into account.

Diversity of grandparents living with their grandchildren

by Anne Milan, Nadine Laflamme and Irene Wong

Release date: April 14, 2015

Even though most grandparents live in separate households from their adult children and grandchildren, sometimes the grandparent and grandchild generations live together. This article provides information on the number of grandparents who are in this particular situation, along with their living arrangements and their ethnocultural and sociodemographic characteristics.

Senior care: Differences by type of housing

by Martin Turcotte and Carole Sawaya

Release date: February 25, 2015

This article provides information on the care provided by caregivers to seniors with a long-term health condition, a disability or problems related to aging. It focuses on how the intensity and nature of the care vary depending on seniors’ type of housing. Four types of housing are examined: care facilities, supportive housing, private households separate from the caregiver, and private households shared with the caregiver.

Employer pensions and the wealth of Canadian families

by Derek Messacar and René Morissette

Release date: January 15, 2015

This study compares the wealth holdings of family units covered by workplace pension plans with those of other family units. It focuses on families and unattached individuals who had no significant business equity and whose major income recipient was aged 30 to 54 and employed as a paid worker. The paper also examines whether wealth differences observed between families with registered pension plan (RPP) assets and other families persist when key sociodemographic differences between the two populations are taken into account.

Articles released in 2014

Articles released in 2013

Articles released in 2012

Date modified:

Regards sur la société canadienne

Les pratiques linguistiques des enfants de familles francophones vivant à l’extérieur du Québec

par Émilie Lavoie et René Houle

Date de diffusion : le 17 décembre 2015

À partir des données de l’Enquête sur la vitalité des minorités de langue officielle (EVMLO) de 2006, cette étude examine le comportement linguistique des enfants de parents francophones vivant dans un milieu linguistique minoritaire lors d’activités culturelles ou sociales, et discute des facteurs qui sont associés à l’utilisation du français dans ces activités. Deux activités sont examinées en particulier : la lecture et l’écoute de la télévision.

Les étudiants étrangers qui deviennent des résidents permanents au Canada

par Yuqian Lu et Feng Hou

Date de diffusion : le 10 décembre 2015

Le présent article fournit des renseignements sur les effectifs et les caractéristiques des étudiants étrangers au Canada et sur leur taux de transition vers le statut de résident permanent. Les variations de ces taux en fonction des caractéristiques des étudiants et de la cohorte à laquelle ils appartiennent sont également présentées, ainsi que l’influence de ces variations sur le profil des immigrants qui sont d’anciens étudiants étrangers. L’étude est fondée sur une nouvelle base de données administrative, la Base de données sur la dynamique canadienne entre employeurs et employés (BDDCEE).

Les différences régionales dans les résultats scolaires des jeunes immigrants

par Feng Hou et Qi Zhang

Date de diffusion : le 18 novembre 2015

Le présent article examine les différences régionales dans les compétences en mathématiques et en lecture des enfants immigrants âgés de 15 ans, à partir des données du Programme international pour le suivi des acquis des élèves (PISA). Il porte aussi sur les différences régionales dans les taux de diplomation aux niveaux secondaire et universitaire parmi les jeunes immigrants qui sont arrivés au Canada avant l’âge de 15 ans, à partir des données de l’Enquête nationale auprès des ménages (ENM). Tout au long de l’article, des comparaisons sont faites avec les enfants des personnes nées au Canada (Canadiens de troisième génération ou plus).

Changements récents dans les tendances démographiques au Canada

par Laurent Martel

Date de diffusion : Le 27 octobre 2015

La croissance démographique du Canada masque des tendances qui sont très différentes d’une région à l’autre. Avec l’aide de plusieurs sources de données, incluant les projections démographiques et les projections de la diversité les plus récentes de Statistique Canada, cet article fournit un exposé général de ces tendances et explique de quelle façon celles-ci pourraient avoir un impact sur la structure par âge, la diversité et le poids relatif des régions du Canada au cours des décennies à venir.

La participation politique et l'engagement communautaire des jeunes

par Martin Turcotte

Date de diffusion : Le 7 octobre 2015

Cette étude offre de nouveaux renseignements sur la participation politique des jeunes de 15 à 24 ans. On y examine l’intention de voter aux prochaines élections fédérales (telle que rapportée en 2013) et la participation aux élections précédentes, de même que la participation à des activités politiques non électorales, comme la signature d’une pétition ou la participation à une manifestation ou à une réunion publique. L’étude présente également des renseignements sur le degré d’engagement communautaire des jeunes, lequel est souvent perçu comme un indicateur clé du capital social.

Différences dans les lieux d’études des immigrants ayant effectué des études universitaires

par Darcy Hango, Lynn Hamilton, Sarah Jane Ferguson et Sarah John Zhao

Date de diffusion : Le 15 septembre 2015

Le présent article examine les différences dans le lieu des études des immigrants adultes âgés de 25 à 64 ans ayant étudié à l’université (c.-à-d. ayant au moins un baccalauréat). Les résultats sont présentés par période d’immigration (avant 1990, années 1990 et années 2000), et les facteurs liés au lieu des études de la dernière cohorte d’immigrants (c.-à-d. ceux qui ont immigré en 2000 ou plus tard) sont examinés plus en détail.

Profils d’emploi des familles avec enfants

par Sharanjit Uppal

Date de diffusion : Le 24 juin 2015

Cette étude examine les profils d’emploi des familles avec enfants de moins de 16 ans pour la période allant de 1976 à 2014, et jette un regard particulier sur les familles composées d’un couple avec enfants. Cet article se penche également sur les différences régionales sur le plan des régimes de travail des parents, et fournit des renseignements additionnels sur les profils d’emploi des parents seuls.

Les variations du patrimoine selon la répartition du revenu, de 1999 à 2012

par Sharanjit Uppal et Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté

Date de diffusion : Le 3 juin 2015

Le présent article examine les variations du patrimoine financier des familles canadiennes (c.-à-d. le total des actifs moins le total de la dette des familles) au cours de la période allant de 1999 à 2012, en mettant l’accent sur les changements selon le quintile de revenu. L’article fournit aussi des informations au sujet de la concentration du patrimoine dans les divers quintiles de revenu, ainsi que sur les caractéristiques des familles à faible revenu et sans patrimoine.

Participation à des activités parascolaires et obtention d’un diplôme d’études secondaires chez les Premières Nations vivant hors réserve

par Paula Arriagada

Date de diffusion : Le 13 mai 2015

Cet article étudie les facteurs explicatifs de l’obtention d’un diplôme d’études secondaires au plus tard à 18 ans chez les hommes et les femmes des Premières Nations âgés de 18 à 24 ans vivant hors réserve, en jetant un éclairage particulier sur les activités parascolaires (participation à des activités sportives, artistiques, ou à des clubs). Les résultats s’appuient sur les données de l’Enquête auprès des peuples autochtones (EAPA) de 2012.

Les variations dans les dettes et les actifs des familles canadiennes, 1999 à 2012

par Sharanjit Uppal et Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté

Date de diffusion : Le 29 avril 2015

Le présent article examine les variations de la dette, des actifs et de la valeur nette parmi les familles canadiennes détenant une dette au cours de la période allant de 1999 à 2012, selon certaines caractéristiques familiales. Il porte aussi sur les variations de deux ratios clés de l’endettement : le ratio de la dette au revenu et le ratio de la dette aux actifs.

Le taux de chômage local et la retraite définitive

par Diane Galarneau, Martin Turcotte, Yves Carrière et Eric Fecteau

Date de diffusion : Le 22 avril 2015

À partir de la banque de Données administratives longitudinales (DAL), cette étude examine si l’âge anticipé de la retraite varie selon le taux de chômage de la région économique. De plus, l’étude vérifie si le lien entre le taux de chômage de la région économique et la probabilité de la prise de la retraite demeure lorsque d’autres facteurs sont pris en compte.

La diversité des grands-parents qui vivent avec leurs petits-enfants

par Anne Milan, Nadine Laflamme et Irene Wong

Date de diffusion : Le 14 avril 2015

Bien que la plupart des grands-parents ne vivent pas dans le même ménage que leurs enfants adultes et leurs petits-enfants, il arrive que la génération des grands-parents et celle des petits-enfants habitent sous le même toit. Le présent article fournit des renseignements sur le nombre de grands-parents qui se trouvent dans cette situation particulière, ainsi que sur leur situation dans le ménage et leurs caractéristiques ethnoculturelles et sociodémographiques.

Soins aux aînés : différences selon le type de logement

par Martin Turcotte et Carole Sawaya

Date de diffusion : Le 25 février 2015

Cet article fournit des renseignements à propos des soins prodigués par les proches aidants aux aînés ayant un problème de santé de longue durée, une incapacité ou des problèmes liés au vieillissement. Il porte principalement sur la façon dont l’intensité et la nature de ces soins varient selon le type de logement des aînés. Quatre types de logement sont examinés, soit les établissements de soins, les logements avec services de soutien, les ménages privés séparés de celui de l’aidant, et les ménages privés partagés avec l’aidant (cohabitation).

Les régimes de pension d’employeur et le patrimoine des familles canadiennes

par Derek Messacar et René Morissette

Date de diffusion : Le 15 janvier 2015

La présente étude a pour but de comparer le patrimoine des unités familiales couvertes par des régimes de pension d’employeur à celui des autres unités familiales. Elle porte sur les familles et les personnes seules qui ne possédaient pas de capitaux propres importants dans une entreprise, et dont le soutien économique principal était une personne salariée âgée de 30 à 54 ans. L’article examine aussi la question de savoir si les différences de patrimoine observées entre les familles possédant des avoirs dans un régime de pension agréé (RPA) et les autres familles persistent lorsque certaines différences sociodémographiques entre les deux populations sont prises en compte.

Articles diffusés en 2014

Articles diffusés en 2013

Articles diffusés en 2012

Date de modification :