Insights on Canadian Society

Cyberbullying and cyberstalking among Internet users aged 15 to 29 in Canada

by Darcy Hango

Release date: December 19, 2016

Based on data from the 2014 General Social Survey, this article examines the characteristics associated with being a victim of cyberbullying or cyberstalking within the last five years for the population aged 15 to 29. This article also examines the association between cyberbullying and cyberstalking and various indicators of trust, personal behaviour and mental health.

Co-op participation of college and bachelor’s graduates

by Carlos Rodriguez, John Zhao and Sarah Jane Ferguson

Release date: December 7, 2016

This study analyses trends in co-operative education (co-op) participation for graduates with a college certificate or diploma or a university bachelor’s degree from 1986 to 2010 in Canada, based on data from the National Graduates Survey (NGS). Changes in co-op participation rates over time are examined, along with differences by field of study. The reasons behind the increase in co-op participation rates of women are also explored.

Hidden homelessness in Canada

by Samantha Rodrigue

Release date: November 15, 2016

This study provides information on the number of Canadians who reported that they ever had to temporarily live with family, friends, in their car, or anywhere else because they had nowhere else to live—a situation referred to as ‘hidden’ or ‘concealed’ homelessness. It also examines the characteristics of those who had experienced hidden homelessness at some point in their life.

Understanding the increase in voting rates between the 2011 and 2015 federal elections

by Sharanjit Uppal and Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté

Release date: October 12, 2016

This study examines the changes in the voting rates of Canadian citizens between the 2011 and 2015 federal elections, on the basis of supplementary questions that were added to the Labour Force Survey (LFS) shortly after these elections. The focus is on population groups who saw the largest increases in voting rates over the period.

Overqualification, skills and job satisfaction

by Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté and Darcy Hango

Release date: September 14, 2016

Based on a self-reported measure of overqualification, this article examines the association between overqualification and skills among workers aged 25 to 64 with a university degree, using data from the 2012 Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies (PIAAC). This article also examines the extent to which overqualified workers are dissatisfied with their jobs. Overqualified workers are defined in this study as university-educated workers who reported that they were in a job requiring no more than a high school education.

The Canada–U.S. gap in women’s labour market participation

by Marie Drolet, Sharanjit Uppal and Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté

Release date: August 17, 2016

This study reports on the trends in the labour force participation rate (LFPR) of prime-aged women (25 to 54) in both Canada and the United States. The paper examines the population groups that have been behind the rising divergence in the LFPR between the two countries over the past two decades.

Women in scientific occupations in Canada

by Dominique Dionne-Simard, Diane Galarneau and Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté

Release date: June 24, 2016

This article provides information on women aged 25 to 64 in natural and applied sciences occupations in Canada (i.e. scientific occupations), using data from the 1991 and 2001 censuses and the 2011 National Household Survey (NHS). The employment conditions of men and women in these occupations are also examined, based on data from the Labour Force Survey (LFS).

Diversity of young adults living with their parents

by Anne Milan

Release date: June 15, 2016

This study examines the extent to which young adults aged 20 to 29 live with their parents across various ethnocultural and socioeconomic characteristics. The results are based on data from the 2011 National Household Survey (NHS) as well as data from previous censuses.

Literacy and numeracy among off-reserve First Nations people and Métis: Do higher skill levels improve labour market outcomes?

by Paula Arriagada and Darcy Hango

Release date: May 18, 2016

This article examines the literacy and numeracy skills of off-reserve First Nations and Métis adults, focusing on the factors and labour market outcomes associated with higher skill levels. In this study, individuals in the higher range for literacy and numeracy are defined as those who scored level 3 or higher (out of 5 levels) in tests administered by the 2012 Programme for the International Assessment of Adult Competencies (PIAAC).

Living arrangements of Aboriginal children aged 14 and under

by Annie Turner

Release date: April 13, 2016

This study uses data from the National Household Survey (NHS) to examine the living arrangements of Aboriginal children aged 14 and under, and includes results about Aboriginal children who lived with a lone parent, with their grandparents, or in a stepfamily. The study also provides key statistics about Aboriginal foster children.

Gender differences in the financial knowledge of Canadians

by Marie Drolet

Release date: March 23, 2016

Using data from the 2014 Canadian Financial Capability Survey (CFCS), this study examines the gap in the financial knowledge of men and women and how the difference varies across socioeconomic characteristics such as age and education. It also provides additional insight into the financial knowledge of Canadian men and women who are married or in a common-law union.

Financial literacy and retirement planning

by Sharanjit Uppal

Release date: March 23, 2016

Using data from the 2014 Canadian Financial Capability Survey (CFCS), this article examines the extent to which individuals in the labour force are preparing for retirement and provides another perspective on the relationship between financial literacy and retirement planning.

The contribution of immigration to the size and ethnocultural diversity of future cohorts of seniors

by Yves Carrière, Laurent Martel, Jacques Légaré and Jean-François Picard

Release date: March 9, 2016

This article analyzes the impact of immigration on the size and ethnocultural composition of future cohorts of seniors in Canada, using data from the Population Estimates Program, the Population Projections Program and other sources of demographic data.

The association between skills and low income

by Andrew Heisz, Geranda Notten and Jerry Situ

Release date: February 24, 2016

This article explores how skill proficiencies are related to household income for Canadians aged 16 to 65 using data from the first wave of the Longitudinal and International Study of Adults (LISA), conducted in 2012. The article also demonstrates how the relationship between skill level and low income changes after controlling for other characteristics known to increase the risk of low income.

Articles released in 2015

Articles released in 2014

Articles released in 2013

Articles released in 2012

Date modified:

Regards sur la société canadienne

par Darcy Hango

Date de diffusion : le 19 décembre 2016

À partir des données de l’Enquête sociale générale de 2014, le présent article examine les caractéristiques associées au fait d’avoir été victime de cyberintimidation ou de cyberharcèlement au cours des cinq années précédentes chez les personnes de 15 à 29 ans. L’article se penche également sur les liens qui existent entre la cyberintimidation et/ou le cyberharcèlement et divers indicateurs du niveau de confiance, du comportement personnel et de la santé mentale.

par Carlos Rodriguez, John Zhao et Sarah Jane Ferguson

Date de diffusion : le 7 décembre 2016

Dans la présente étude, on examine les tendances en matière de participation aux programmes d’enseignement coopératif (coop) des diplômés qui détiennent un certificat ou un diplôme collégial ou un baccalauréat universitaire au cours de la période allant de 1986 à 2010 au Canada, en se fondant sur les données de l’Enquête nationale auprès des diplômés (END). Les variations des taux de participation aux programmes coop sont étudiées au fil du temps, de même que les différences selon le domaine d’études. Les raisons qui expliquent l’augmentation des taux de participation des femmes aux programmes coop sont également explorées.

par Samantha Rodrigue

Date de diffusion : le 15 novembre 2016

La présente étude fournit des renseignements sur le nombre de Canadiens qui ont déclaré avoir déjà eu à vivre temporairement avec la famille, des amis, dans leur voiture ou n’importe où ailleurs, car ils n’avaient nulle part où aller; cette situation est appelée l’itinérance « cachée » ou « dissimulée ». L’étude examine également les caractéristiques des personnes qui ont vécu un épisode d’itinérance cachée à un moment donné de leur vie.

par Sharanjit Uppal et Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté

Date de diffusion : le 12 octobre 2016

La présente étude porte sur la variation du taux de participation électorale des citoyens canadiens entre les élections fédérales de 2011 et de 2015, à partir de questions supplémentaires qui ont été ajoutées à l’Enquête sur la population active peu après les élections en question. L’accent est mis sur les groupes de population dont la participation électorale a le plus augmenté au cours de cette période.

par Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté et Darcy Hango

Date de diffusion : le 14 septembre 2016

À partir d’une mesure autodéclarée de la surqualification, le présent article a pour but d’examiner le lien entre la surqualification et les compétences chez les travailleurs de 25 à 64 ans détenant un diplôme universitaire, à l’aide des données du Programme pour l’évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes (PEICA) de 2012. L’article examine aussi jusqu’à quel point les travailleurs surqualifiés sont insatisfaits de leur emploi. Dans la présente étude, le terme « travailleurs surqualifiés » désigne les diplômés universitaires qui ont déclaré occuper un emploi requérant tout au plus un diplôme d’études secondaires.

par Marie Drolet, Sharanjit Uppal et Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté

Date de diffusion : le 17 août 2016

La présente étude révèle les tendances du taux d’activité chez les femmes d’âge intermédiaire (25 à 54 ans) au Canada et aux États-Unis. Les auteurs examinent les groupes de population responsables de la divergence croissante des taux d’activité entre les deux pays au cours des deux dernières décennies.

par Dominique Dionne-Simard, Diane Galarneau et Sébastien LaRochelle-Côté

Date de diffusion : le 24 juin 2016

Le présent article fournit des renseignements sur les femmes âgées de 25 à 64 ans qui occupent des professions dans le domaine des sciences naturelles et appliquées (soit les professions scientifiques) au Canada, à l’aide des données des recensements de 1991 et 2001 et de l’Enquête nationale auprès des ménages (ENM) de 2011. Les conditions d’emploi des hommes et des femmes dans ces professions y sont également examinées au moyen de données provenant de l’Enquête sur la population active (EPA).

par Anne Milan

Date de diffusion : le 15 juin 2016

La présente étude vise à déterminer dans quelle mesure les jeunes adultes de 20 à 29 ans vivent avec leurs parents, selon diverses caractéristiques ethnoculturelles et socioéconomiques. Les résultats sont fondés sur des données de l’Enquête nationale auprès des ménages (ENM) de 2011, ainsi que des données des recensements précédents.

par Paula Arriagada et Darcy Hango

Date de diffusion : le 18 mai 2016

Cet article examine les compétences en littératie et en numératie des Premières Nations vivant hors réserve et des Métis d’âge adulte, en particulier, les facteurs et les résultats sur le marché du travail associés à des niveaux de compétence élevés. Dans cette étude, les personnes classées aux niveaux supérieurs de littératie et de numératie sont celles qui ont obtenu un niveau de 3 ou plus (sur 5) aux tests administrés par le Programme pour l’évaluation internationale des compétences des adultes (PEICA) de 2012.

par Annie Turner

Date de diffusion : le 13 avril 2016

La présente étude s’appuie sur les données de l’Enquête nationale auprès des ménages (ENM) pour examiner la situation des enfants autochtones âgés de 14 ans et moins dans leur ménage, et comprend des résultats concernant les enfants autochtones qui vivaient avec un parent seul, avec leurs grands-parents ou dans une famille recomposée. L’étude fournit aussi des statistiques clés au sujet des enfants autochtones qui sont en famille d’accueil.

par Marie Drolet

Date de diffusion : le 23 mars 2016

La présente étude, fondée sur les données de l’Enquête canadienne sur les capacités financières (ECCF) de 2014, examine dans quelle mesure les connaissances financières des hommes diffèrent de celles des femmes et examine si cette différence varie selon certaines caractéristiques socioéconomiques telles que l’âge et le niveau de scolarité. Elle jette aussi un regard sur les connaissances financières des hommes et des femmes qui sont mariés ou qui vivent en union libre.

par Sharanjit Uppal

Date de diffusion : le 23 mars 2016

En se fondant sur les données de l’Enquête canadienne sur les capacités financières (ECCF) de 2014, le présent article examine jusqu’à quel point la population active se prépare à la retraite et offre une nouvelle perspective de la relation entre la littératie financière et la planification de la retraite.

La contribution de l’immigration à la taille et à la diversité ethnoculturelle des futures cohortes de personnes âgées

par Yves Carrière, Laurent Martel, Jacques Légaré et Jean-François Picard

Date de diffusion : le 9 mars 2016

Cet article présente une analyse de l’impact de l’immigration sur la taille et la composition ethnoculturelle des futures cohortes de personnes âgées au Canada, au moyen des données tirées du Programme des estimations démographiques, du Programme des projections démographiques et d’autres sources de données démographiques.

Le lien entre les compétences et le faible revenu

par Andrew Heisz, Geranda Notten et Jerry Situ

Date de diffusion : le 24 février 2016

Cet article examine dans quelle mesure les niveaux de compétence sont liés au revenu du ménage des Canadiens âgés de 16 à 65 ans, en se fondant sur les données tirées de la première vague de l’Étude longitudinale et internationale des adultes (ELIA) menée en 2012. De plus, l’article explique de quelle façon la relation entre le niveau de compétence et le faible revenu change après la prise en compte d’autres caractéristiques qui peuvent accroître le risque de faible revenu.

Articles diffusés en 2015

Articles diffusés en 2014

Articles diffusés en 2013

Articles diffusés en 2012

Date de modification :