Low Income in Canada - A Multi-line and Multi-index Perspective

By Brian Murphy, Xuelin Zhang and Claude Dionne

There is sustained interest in finding out in broad terms how many poor people are in Canada, how poor they are, what their characteristics are, where they live, and how long they stay poor. Statistics Canada does not define 'poor' nor does it estimate the number of poor families and individuals in Canada. However in recognition of the need for a statistical portrait, Statistics Canada has for 40 years been publishing statistics on Canadians with low-incomes, which is a key dimension of poverty. The primary purpose of Statistics Canada's low income lines are to provide some indication of the extent, nature, and evolution of persons with low-income who may be said to be at-risk of poverty.1
International practice has shown that using a number of different low-income thresholds can facilitate a more complete picture of the low-income population and this report examines three such lines: Statistics Canada's after-tax low income measure (LIM) and after-tax low income cut-off (LICO), and the Market Basket Measure (MBM) of Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC). None of these lines is considered definitive and all have their strengths and limitations. Together they allow a more complete examination of the low income population in Canada.

This report uses these three thresholds applied to the Survey of Consumer Finances (SCF) and the Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics (SLID) to present and examine broad trends in the low-income population over a 34 year period from 1976 to 2009, with particular attention given to the changes between 2007 and 2009. The report examines the incidence (rate), gap ratio (depth), severity and persistence of low income for Canada as a whole and across different provinces, cities, family types, as well as for specific groups with a high risk of persistent low income.  


Note

1. The imprecise and to some degree arbitrary operationalization of poverty concepts coupled with the statistical variability of surveys and the essentially political nature of such estimates render it inappropriate for a Statistical Agency to make such judgements (Fellegi, 1997). The low-income statistics are not intended to provide an indication of the success or failure of specific programs designed to assist the poor.

Date modified:

Le faible revenu au Canada : une perspective multi-lignes et multi-indices

par Brian Murphy, Xuelin Zhang et Claude Dionne

On observe un intérêt soutenu à établir une estimation  du nombre personnes pauvres qui vivent au Canada, leur degré de pauvreté, leurs caractéristiques, où vivent-elles et pendant combien de temps demeurent-elles pauvres. Statistique Canada ne définit pas le terme « pauvre » et n'estime pas le nombre de familles et de personnes pauvres au Canada. Toutefois, reconnaissant la nécessité d'établir un portrait statistique, Statistique Canada publie depuis 40 ans des statistiques sur les Canadiens à faible revenu, une dimension essentielle de la pauvreté. Les lignes de faible revenu de Statistique Canada visent principalement à donner une idée de l'étendue, de la nature et de l'évolution des personnes à faible revenu pouvant être considérées comme risquant d'être en situation de pauvreté.1

La pratique internationale a démontré que l'utilisation de plusieurs seuils différents de faible revenu peut permettre de brosser un tableau plus complet de la population à faible revenu, et le présent rapport examine trois de ces lignes : la Mesure du faible revenu après impôt (MFR) et les Seuils de faible revenu après impôt (SFR) de Statistique Canada, ainsi que la Mesure du panier de consommation (MPC) de Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC). Aucune de ces lignes n'est considérée comme définitive, et chacun comporte ses points forts et ses limites. Collectivement, elles permettent un examen plus complet de la population à faible revenu au Canada.

Le présent rapport utilise ces trois seuils appliqués à l'Enquête sur les finances des consommateurs (EFC) et à l'Enquête sur la dynamique du travail et du revenu (EDTR) pour présenter et examiner les principales tendances de la population à faible revenu sur une période de 34 ans s'étendant de 1976 à 2009, en accordant une attention particulière aux changements survenus entre 2007 et 2009. Le rapport examine l'incidence (taux), l'écart relatif (étendue), la gravité et la persistance du faible revenu pour l'ensemble du Canada, des provinces, des villes et des types de familles, ainsi que pour des groupes particuliers affichant un risque élevé de faible revenu persistant.


Nota

1. L'opérationnalisation imprécise et dans une certaine mesure arbitraire des concepts de la pauvreté ainsi que la variabilité statistique des enquêtes et la nature essentiellement politique de ce genre d'estimations font en sorte qu'il est mal venu pour un organisme statistique de porter de tels jugements (Fellegi, 1997). Les statistiques sur le faible revenu ne cherchent pas à fournir une indication de la réussite ou de l'échec de programmes particuliers conçus pour aider les pauvres.

Date de modification :