Income Research Paper Series
Low Income Lines: What they are and how they are created

by Income Statistics Division

Release date: July 8, 2016

Skip to text

Text begins

Abstract

Statistics Canada currently measures low-income using three low income lines: the Low Income Cut-offs (LICOs), the Low Income Measures (LIMs), and the Market Basket Measure (MBM). This publication provides a description of the methods used to arrive at each of these thresholds. It also explains how low-income status and various low-income statistics are determined. Tables presenting thresholds and low-income statistics are available on CANSIM.

Introduction

Statistics Canada has a long history of publishing data on the low income of Canadians. In order to determine who is in low-income, one must first determine a low-income line (LIL). A LIL represents an income value below which a person is deemed to be in low income. A LIL may also be referred to as a cut-off or threshold.

The low income cut-offs (LICOs) were first published in 1967 as part of the 1961 Census monograph series. Conceptually, LICOs are income thresholds below which families would likely have to spend a substantially larger share of their income than average on the necessities of food, shelter and clothing and thus would be living in a difficult economic circumstance.

Following the practice of many international organizations, Statistics Canada began to publish low-income statistics based upon before- and after-tax low income measure thresholds (LIMs) in 1991. The concept underlying the LIM is that all persons in a household have low income if their adjusted household income falls below half of the median adjusted income.

The Market Basket Measure (MBM) was developed by Employment and Social Development CanadaNote 1 (ESDC), and MBM thresholds were first published for the 2000 reference year. The concept underlying the MBM is that a family is in low income if they have insufficient income to afford the cost of a pre-determined basket of goods and services appropriate to their family size and area of residence.

Since their initial publication, Statistics Canada has clearly and consistently emphasized that low-income lines are not measures of poverty. Rather, low-income lines reflect a consistent and well-defined methodology that identifies those who are substantially worse off than others. These measures have enabled Statistics Canada to report important trends, such as the changing composition of those below the low-income lines over time.

The purpose of this document is to provide a brief description of how these low-income thresholds are created. It also describes how some of the commonly used indicators of low income are calculated. Readers interested in more detail are advised to refer to Zhang (2010) or Murphy, Dionne and Zhang (2012).

Low-income Cut-offs

What are the LICOs?

Low-income Cut-offs (LICOs) refer to an income threshold, defined using 1992 expenditure data, below which economic familiesNote 2 or persons not in an economic family would likely have spent a larger share of their income than average on the necessities of food, shelter and clothing. More specifically, the thresholds represented income levels at which these families or persons were expected to spend 20 percentage points or more of their income than average on food, shelter and clothing.Note 3 The LICOs are presented using two income concepts. The LICOs before-tax (LICO-BT) use total income while the LICOs after-tax (LICO-AT) use after-tax income.

The LICO-BT are based on the 1992 Family Expenditure Survey, which estimated that families spent 50% of total income on average on necessities of food, clothing and shelter. The LICO-BT thresholds were thus set to income levels where 70% of total income would be spent on these necessities. For the LICO-AT, it was estimated that families spent 43% of their after-tax income on average on necessities of food, clothing and shelter. The LICO-AT thresholds were thus set to income levels where 63% of after-tax income would be spent on these necessities.

Each type of LICO (-BT and -AT) have 35 cut-offs varying by seven family sizes and five different sizes of area of residence to account for economies of scale and potential differences in cost of living in communities of different sizes.

How are LICOs calculated?

Figure 1 shows the calculation of a LICO using the example of a family of four living in a community with a population between 30,000 and 99,999. The 63% line represents the average proportion of after-tax income that all families (regardless of size) spent on food, shelter and clothing in 1992 (i.e. 43%) plus the 20 percentage point margin. The dots on the chart show the actual observed proportion of income spent by four-person families in that community size on necessities, according to the 1992 Family Expenditure Survey. A regression line is fitted to this distribution and the intersection of that curve and the 63% line gives the LICO—in this case, $21,359.Note 4 This process is carried out for seven family sizes and five community sizes and results in a table of 35 cut-offs. This operation is done twice: once for before-tax cut-offs, once for after-tax cut-offs.

Figure 1 Calculation of an after-tax LICO

Description for Figure 1

Figure 1 shows the calculation of a LICO using the example of a family of four living in a community with a population between 30,000 and 99,999. The 63% line represents the average proportion of after-tax income that all families (regardless of size) spent on food, shelter and clothing in 1992 (i.e. 43%) plus the 20 percentage point margin. The dots on the chart show the actual observed proportion of income spent by four-person families in that community size on necessities, according to the 1992 Family Expenditure Survey. A regression line is fitted to this distribution and the intersection of that curve and the 63% line gives the LICO—in this case, $21,359.

Having calculated LICOs in the base year 1992, cut-offs for other years are obtained by adjusting the cutoffs using the annual all-items CPI. For a particular year (y) and group (i), the LICOiy is calculated using the following equation:

LICOiy = LICOi,1992 × CPIy / CPI1992

Where to find the LICOs?

CANSIM tables presenting the LICOs (-BT and -AT) in both constant and current dollars are available (206-0092 and 206-0094, respectively).

Low income measures

What is the LIM?

Following the practice of many international organizations, Statistics Canada began to publish Low-income measure-based thresholds (LIMs) in 1991. The concept underlying the LIM is that all persons in a householdNote 5 have low income if their adjusted household income falls below half of the median adjusted income. The household income is adjusted by an equivalence scale to take economies of scale into account. This adjustment for different household sizes reflects the fact that a household's needs increase, but at a decreasing rate, as the number of members increases. The adjustment factor, also known as the equivalence scale, is the square root of the number of persons in the household.

LIMs are calculated each year using three types of income. The LIM-Market incomeNote 6 (LIM-MI) is calculated using the market income of households. The LIM-Before-tax (LIM-BT) is calculated using the total income of households while the LIM-After-tax (LIM-AT) is calculated using the after-tax income of households. In each case, they are drawn from an annual survey of household income.Note 7 Because a new set of LIMs is calculated each year using new data, they do not require updating using a price index. Unlike the LICOs, which are derived from an expenditure survey and then compared to an income survey, the LIMs are both derived and applied using a single income survey. Unlike the LICOs and the MBM, the LIMs do not vary by size of area of residence.

How are the LIMs calculated?

The LIM thresholds are derived in multiple steps:

  1. Calculate the adjusted household income for each household by dividing the household income by the equivalence scale, which is the square root of the number of persons in the household.
  2. Assign this adjusted household income to each person in the household.
  3. Determine the median of the adjusted household income over the population of all persons. The median is the level at which half of the population will have adjusted household income above it and half below.
  4. Set the LIM for one-person households to 50% of this median and the LIM for households of other sizes to 50% of the median multiplied by the corresponding equivalence scale.

This process is repeated three times, once using market income for LIM-MI, once using total income for LIM-BT and once using after-tax income for LIM-AT.

In 2010, after a comprehensive review of the LIMs, the following three aspects of the LIMs were revised (Murphy, Zhang and Dionne, 2010):

  1. Unit of analysis: the median began to be calculated over the population of individuals, as opposed to over that of families or households. As a result, each person in the population is represented by its adjusted household income.
  2. Accounting unit utilized: the household replaced the economic family as the accounting unit in which individuals pooled income to enjoy economies of scale.
  3. Equivalence scale: to follow the international standard, the equivalence scale was changed and adjusted household income was calculated by dividing household income by the square root of the number of members in the household instead of by an equivalence scale that also depended on the age of each household member.

Where to find the LIMs?

A CANSIM table presenting the LIMs in both constant and current dollars is available (206-0091).

Market Basket Measure (2011 base)

What is the MBM?

Market Basket Measure (MBM) refers to a set of thresholds based on the cost of a specific basket of goods and services representing a modest, basic standard of living developed by ESDC (Hatfield, Pyper and Gustajtis, 2010). The base threshold equals the estimated costs of specified qualities and quantities of food, clothing, footwear, transportation, a shelter and other expenses for a reference family of two adults and two children. As mentioned below, the base threshold is calculated separately for multiple regions. An equivalence factor equal to the square root of economic family size is used to derive the MBM threshold for other family sizes in that region. The MBM provides thresholds for a finer geographic level than other thresholds, allowing, for example, different thresholds for rural areas in the different provinces.

MBM thresholds are compared to the disposable income of economic families and persons not in an economic family. Also developed by ESDC, the disposable income for the MBM implements several adjustments to the after-tax income standard.

How are MBM thresholds and disposable income calculated?

The MBM thresholds are based on estimates of the cost of purchasing the following items:

The MBM is updated annually for price changes of items in the basket, and ESDC rebases the MBM basket periodically by examining the methodology of constructing the basket and disposable income. As of the release of this document, the current MBM thresholds are referred to as the 2011-base, and are available starting in 2002.

The MBM provides thresholds based upon the estimated cost of the basket in different geographic areas. As of the release of this document, the MBM thresholds are available for each of 50 different geographic areas – 19 specific communities plus 31 population centre size and province combinations.

Disposable income for the MBM deducts from after-tax income the following non-discretionary expenses:

For units in households that own a dwelling without a mortgage, a mortgage-free owners' difference in expenditures for the MBM is added to the disposable income. This amount represents typical savings compared to rent or ownership with a mortgage.

Where to find the MBMs?

A CANSIM table presenting the MBM thresholds in both constant and current dollars is available (206-0093).

Low-income status, rate and gap ratio

To determine whether a person is in low income, the appropriate low income line (LIL) is compared to the income of the person's family (or household)Note 8. If their income is below the LIL, the individual is considered to be in low income. In other words, "persons in low income" should be interpreted as persons who are part of low income families (or households), including persons living alone whose income is below the LIL. Similarly, "children in low income" means "children who are living in low income families (or households)".

Overall, the low income rate for persons can then be calculated as the number of persons in low income divided by the total population. The same can be done for various sub-groups of the population; for example, low income rates by age, sex, or province.

After having determined that a person is in low income, the low income gap ratio can be calculated by using the amount that the person's family (or household) income falls short of the LIL, expressed as a percentage of the LIL. First, the low-income gap measures by how many dollars an income falls below a LIL. The low-income gap ratio expresses the low-income gap as a proportion of the applicable LIL. For example, an individual living in a family (or household) with an income of $15,000 and a LIL of $20,000 would have a low income gap of $5,000. In percentage terms, the "low-income gap ratio" would be 25%Note 9.

In turn, the average gap ratio for a given population is the average of these values as calculated for each person. Statistics such as average and median of the gap and gap ratio provide measures of depth of low income for the low-income population.

CANSIM tables presenting the prevalence of low income (number and rate) and the average gap ratio based on the LIM-AT, LICO-AT, LICO-BT and MBM are available (206-0041 and 206-0042).

References

Hatfield, Michael, Wendy Pyper and Burton Gustajtis. (2010), "First Comprehensive Review of the Market Basket Measure of Low Income", Applied Research Branch paper, Human Resources and Skills Development Canada. http://publications.gc.ca/site/eng/372293/publication.html

Murphy, Brian, Claude Dionne and Xuelin Zhang. (2012), "Low Income in Canada: A Multi-line and Multi-index Perspective", Statistics Canada, Income Research Paper Series, 75F0002M. http://www5.statcan.gc.ca/olc-cel/olc.action?lang=en&ObjId=75F0002M2012001&ObjType=46

Murphy, Brian, Xuelin Zhang and Claude Dionne. (2010), "Revising Statistics Canada's Low Income Measure (LIM)", Statistics Canada, 75F0002M, June 2010. http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75f0002m/75f0002m2010004-eng.htm

Zhang, Xuelin. (2010), "Low income Measurement in Canada: What do different Lines and Indexes tell us?" Statistics Canada, Income Research Paper Series, 75F0002M. http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75f0002m/75f0002m2010003-eng.htm


Date modified:

Série de documents de recherche – Revenu
Les lignes de faible revenu : leur signification et leur calcul

par la Division de la statistique du revenu

Date de diffusion : le 8 juillet 2016

Aller au texte

Le texte commence ici

Résumé

Statistique Canada mesure le faible revenu au moyen de trois lignes de faible revenu : les seuils de faible revenu (SFR), les mesures de faible revenu (MFR) et la mesure du panier de consommation (MPC). La présente publication fournit une description détaillée des méthodes utilisées pour produire ces trois lignes ainsi qu'une explication de la manière dont la situation de faible revenu est déterminée et dont diverses statistiques sur le faible revenu sont produites. Des tableaux qui présentent les différents seuils et les statistiques sur le faible revenu sont accessibles dans CANSIM.

Introduction

Statistique Canada publie depuis longtemps des données sur le faible revenu au sein de la population canadienne. Or, pour déterminer qui a un faible revenu, il faut d'abord établir une ligne de faible revenu (LFR). Une LFR est une valeur de revenu en deçà de laquelle une personne est considérée comme étant à faible revenu. Une LFR peut également être qualifiée de seuil.

Les seuils de faible revenu (SFR) ont été publiés pour la première fois en 1967, dans une série de monographies du Recensement de 1961. Sur le plan conceptuel, les SFR sont des seuils de revenu en dessous desquels les familles sont susceptibles de dépenser une part plus considérable de leur revenu que la moyenne à l'alimentation, au logement et l'habillement et, par conséquent, de vivre une situation difficile sur le plan économique.

En 1991, à l'instar de nombreux organismes internationaux, Statistique Canada a commencé à publier des statistiques sur le faible revenu en s'appuyant sur les seuils des mesures de faible revenu (MFR) avant et après impôt. Les MFR reposent sur la notion que tous les membres d'un ménage ont un faible revenu si le revenu ajusté de leur ménage est inférieur à la moitié du revenu médian ajusté.

La mesure du panier de consommation (MPC) a été conçue par Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC)Note 1 et les seuils pour cette mesure ont été publiés pour la première fois pour l'année de référence 2000. La MPC repose sur la notion qu'une famille est à faible revenu si son revenu est insuffisant pour qu'elle se permette l'achat d'un panier prédéterminé de biens et de services adaptés à la taille de la famille et à son lieu de résidence.

Depuis leur publication initiale, Statistique Canada souligne de façon claire et constante que les lignes de faible revenu ne sont pas des mesures de pauvreté. Elles représentent plutôt une méthodologie cohérente et bien définie qui permet de cerner les personnes qui sont nettement désavantagées par rapport aux autres. Ces mesures ont permis à Statistique Canada de relever des tendances importantes, comme le changement, au fil du temps, de la composition de la population se trouvant en dessous des LFR.

Ce document vise à fournir une brève description de la façon dont les seuils de ces lignes de faible revenu sont créés et explique comment sont calculés certains des indicateurs de faible revenu couramment utilisés. Pour de plus amples précisions, consulter Zhang (2010) ou Murphy, Dionne et Zhang (2012).

Les seuils de faible revenu

Que sont les seuils de faible revenu?

Les seuils de faible revenu (SFR) renvoient à un seuil de revenu, calculé à partir des données sur les dépenses de 1992, en dessous duquel les familles économiquesNote 2 ou les personnes hors famille économique sont susceptibles de consacrer une plus grande part de leur revenu que la moyenne à l'alimentation, au logement et à l'habillement. Plus précisément, ces seuils représentent les niveaux de revenu auxquels on s'attend à ce que ces familles ou personnes dépensent 20 points de pourcentage de plus de leur revenu que la moyenne pour l'alimentation, le logement et l'habillementNote 3. Les SFR sont présentés selon deux notions relatives au revenu : les SFR avant impôt (SFR-AvI) se fondent sur le revenu total, tandis que les SFR après impôt (SFR-ApI) se fondent sur le revenu après impôt.

Les SFR-AvI sont fondés sur les données de l'Enquête sur les dépenses des familles de 1992, à partir desquelles on a estimé que les familles consacraient en moyenne 50 % de leur revenu total à l'alimentation, à l'habillement et au logement. Les SFR-AvI ont donc été fixés aux niveaux à partir desquels 70 % du revenu total serait consacré à ces nécessités. Pour ce qui est des SFR-ApI, il a été estimé que les familles consacraient en moyenne 43 % de leur revenu après impôt à l'alimentation, à l'habillement et au logement. Par conséquent, les SFR-ApI ont été fixés aux niveaux à partir desquels 63 % du revenu après impôt serait consacré à ces nécessités.

Chaque type de SFR (AvI et ApI) comporte 35 seuils, en fonction de sept tailles de famille et de cinq tailles de secteur de résidence, afin de rendre compte des économies d'échelle et des différences possibles du coût de la vie entre communautés de tailles différentes.

Comment calcule-t-on les seuils de faible revenu?

Le graphique 1 illustre le mode de calcul d'un SFR d'après l'exemple d'une famille de quatre personnes qui vit dans une communauté de 30 000 à 99 999 habitants. La droite de 63 % représente la part moyenne du revenu après impôt que toutes les familles (indépendamment de la taille) ont consacrée à l'alimentation, au logement et à l'habillement en 1992 (soit 43 %), plus la marge de 20 points de pourcentage. Les points sur le graphique montrent la part réelle observée du revenu que les familles de quatre personnes dans les villes de cette taille de communauté consacrent aux nécessités, selon l'Enquête sur les dépenses des familles de 1992. Une courbe de régression est rajustée à la distribution; le SFR se trouve à l'intersection de la courbe et de la droite de 63 %. Dans ce cas, il est de 21 359 $Note 4. On applique ce processus à sept tailles de famille et à cinq tailles de communauté. C'est en combinant ceux-ci que l'on arrive à la table des 35 seuils. Cette opération est effectuée deux fois; une fois pour les seuils avant impôt et une autre fois pour ceux après impôt.

Graphique 1 Calcul d'un seuil de faible revenu après impôt

Description du graphique 1

Le graphique 1 illustre la façon dont est calculé un SFR à partir de l'exemple d'une famille de quatre personnes qui vit dans une communauté de 30 000 à 99 999 habitants. La droite de 63 % représente la proportion moyenne du revenu après impôt que toutes les familles (indépendamment de la taille) ont consacrée à l'alimentation, au logement et à l'habillement en 1992 (c'est-à-dire 43 %), plus la marge de 20 points de pourcentage. Les points sur le diagramme montrent la proportion réelle observée du revenu que les familles de quatre personnes dans les villes de cette taille de communauté consacrent aux nécessités, selon l'Enquête sur les dépenses des familles de 1992. Une courbe de régression est rajustée à la distribution; le SFR se trouve à l'intersection de la courbe et de la droite de 63 %. Dans ce cas, il est de 21 359 $.

Une fois les SFR calculés pour l'année de référence 1992, les seuils pour les autres années sont obtenus en rajustant les seuils à l'aide de l'Indice des prix à la consommation (IPC) d'ensemble. Pour une année (a) et un groupe (i) donnés, le SFRia est calculé comme suit :

SFRia = SFRi,1992 × IPCa / IPC1992

Où trouve-t-on les SFR?

Des tableaux CANSIM présentant les SFR (AvI et ApI) en dollars constants et courants sont accessibles en ligne (tableaux 206-0092 et 206-0094, respectivement).

Les mesures de faible revenu

Qu'est-ce que la mesure de faible revenu?

Dans la foulée de nombreux organismes internationaux, Statistique Canada a publié des MFR à partir de 1991. Les MFR reposent sur la notion que toutes les personnes d'un ménageNote 5 sont à faible revenu si le revenu ajusté de leur ménage est inférieur à la moitié du revenu médian ajusté. Le revenu du ménage est ajusté au moyen d'une échelle d'équivalence pour tenir compte des économies d'échelle. Le rajustement pour les différentes tailles de ménage tient compte du fait que les besoins au niveau du ménage augmentent, mais à un rythme moins rapide que l'augmentation du nombre de membres du ménage. Le facteur de rajustement, ou échelle d'équivalence, est la racine carrée du nombre de personnes dans le ménage.

Les MFR sont calculées chaque année d'après trois types de revenu. La MFR du marchéNote 6 (MFR-RM) est calculée d'après le revenu du marché des ménages. La MFR avant impôt (MFR-AvI) est calculée d'après le revenu total des ménages, tandis que la MFR après impôt (MFR-ApI) est calculée d'après le revenu après impôt des ménages. Les trois mesures sont tirées d'une enquête annuelle sur le revenu des ménagesNote 7. Comme les MFR sont calculées chaque année à partir de nouvelles données, elles n'ont pas à être mises à jour au moyen d'un indice des prix. Contrairement aux SFR, qui sont calculés à partir des données d'une enquête sur les dépenses, puis comparés avec les données d'une enquête sur le revenu, les MFR sont calculées et appliquées à partir d'une seule et unique enquête sur le revenu. Contrairement aux SFR et à la MPC, les MFR ne varient pas selon la taille du secteur de résidence.

Comment les MFR sont-elles calculées?

Le calcul des MFR se fait en plusieurs étapes.

  1. Le revenu ajusté du ménage est calculé pour chaque ménage en divisant le revenu du ménage par l'échelle équivalence, qui est la racine carrée du nombre de personnes dans le ménage.
  2. On assigne le revenu ajusté du ménage à chaque membre du ménage.
  3. On détermine la médiane du revenu du ménage ajusté pour l'ensemble des personnes. La médiane est le montant qui divise la population en deux groupes égaux, selon que le revenu ajusté du ménage est supérieur ou inférieur à ce montant.
  4. La MFR pour un ménage composé d'une personne est fixée à 50 % de cette médiane, et les MFR pour les autres tailles de ménages sont obtenues en multipliant la médiane par l'échelle d'équivalence correspondante.

Ces étapes sont faites à trois reprises, une première fois avec le revenu du marché (pour la MFR-RM), une deuxième fois avec le revenu total (pour la MFR-AvI), et une dernière fois avec le revenu après impôt (pour la MFR-ApI).

En 2010, après un examen approfondi des MFR, les trois aspects suivants des MFR ont été révisés (Murphy, Zhang et Dionne, 2010).

  1. Unité d'analyse : la médiane est maintenant calculée selon les « personnes » plutôt que selon les familles ou les ménages de l'ensemble de la population. Par conséquent, chaque personne de l'ensemble de la population est représentée selon le revenu ajusté de son ménage.
  2. Unité de référence : le ménage a remplacé la famille économique en tant qu'unité de référence dans laquelle les membres mettent leurs revenus en commun pour profiter des économies d'échelle.
  3. Échelle d'équivalence : afin de suivre les normes internationales, l'échelle d'équivalence a été modifiée et le revenu ajusté du ménage est calculé en divisant le revenu du ménage par la racine carrée du nombre de personnes dans le ménage, alors qu'auparavant l'échelle d'équivalence dépendait également de l'âge de chacun des membres du ménage.

Où trouve-t-on les MFR?

Un tableau CANSIM présentant les MFR en dollars constants et courants est accessible en ligne (tableau 206-0091).

La mesure du panier de consommation (base de 2011)

Qu'est-ce que la mesure du panier de consommation?

La mesure du panier de consommation (MPC), qui a été conçue par EDSC (Hatfield, Pyper et Gustajtis, 2010), est un ensemble de seuils basés sur le coût d'un panier de biens et de services correspondant à un niveau de vie de base. Le seuil de référence est le coût estimatif de la nourriture, de l'habillement, des chaussures, du transport, du logement et des autres dépenses, selon une qualité et une quantité déterminées, pour une famille de référence de deux adultes et deux enfants. Comme il est indiqué ci-dessous, le seuil de référence est calculé séparément pour de nombreuses régions. Un facteur d'équivalence égal à la racine carrée de la taille de la famille économique sert au calcul des seuils de la MPC pour les autres tailles de famille de la région. La MPC donne des seuils à un niveau géographique plus précis que les autres seuils et produit, par exemple, des seuils différents pour les zones rurales dans chaque province.

Les seuils de la MPC sont comparés au revenu disponible des familles économiques et des personnes hors famille économique. Le revenu disponible pour la MPC, qui a également été conçu par EDSC, amène plusieurs ajustements au revenu après impôt de référence.

Comment les seuils de la MPC et le revenu disponible sont-ils calculés?

Les seuils de la MPC sont établis d'après l'estimation du coût pour se procurer les éléments suivants :

La MPC est mise à jour chaque année pour tenir compte des changements dans les prix des éléments du panier, et EDSC procède à une refonte périodique du panier de la MPC en examinant la méthodologie de constitution du panier et du revenu disponible. Les seuils de la MPC font actuellement (au moment de la publication du présent document) référence à la base de 2011. Les seuils pour l'année 2002 et les suivantes sont disponibles.

La MPC fournit des seuils selon le coût estimatif du panier dans différentes régions géographiques. Actuellement (au moment de la publication du présent document), il existe des seuils de la MPC pour 50 régions géographiques différentes – 19 communautés précises et 31 combinaisons de province et taille de centre de population.

Le revenu disponible pour la MPC déduit du revenu après impôt les dépenses non discrétionnaires suivantes :

Dans le cas des unités d'un ménage qui détiennent un logement sans hypothèque, une différence observée au chapitre des dépenses de propriétaires n'ayant pas d'hypothèque de la MPC est ajoutée au revenu disponible. Ce montant équivaut à l'épargne typique comparée à la location ou à la propriété avec hypothèque.

Où trouve-t-on les MPC?

Un tableau CANSIM présentant les MPC en dollars constants et courants est accessible en ligne (tableau 206-0093).

Situation, taux et écart relatif de faible revenu

Pour déterminer si une personne est à faible revenu, on compare la LFR appropriée au revenu de sa famille ou de son ménageNote 8. Si le revenu est inférieur à la LFR, la personne est considérée comme à faible revenu. Autrement dit, l'expression « personnes à faible revenu » devrait être interprétée comme désignant les personnes faisant partie d'une famille (ou d'un ménage) à faible revenu, y compris les personnes vivant seules dont le revenu est inférieur à la LFR. De la même façon, par « enfants à faible revenu », on entend les enfants qui vivent dans des familles (ou des ménages) à faible revenu.

Dans l'ensemble, le taux de faible revenu des personnes peut être calculé comme correspondant au nombre de personnes à faible revenu divisé par la population totale. On peut faire le même calcul pour les divers sous-groupes de population; par exemple, des taux de faible revenu selon l'âge, le sexe ou la province.

Après avoir déterminé qu'une personne est à faible revenu, on peut calculer l'écart relatif de faible revenu en utilisant le montant correspondant à la différence entre le revenu familial (ou le revenu du ménage) et la LFR, exprimé en pourcentage de la LFR. En premier lieu, l'écart de faible revenu mesure par combien de dollars un revenu se situe sous la LFR. L'écart relatif de faible revenu exprime l'écart de faible revenu sous la forme d'une proportion de la LFR. Par exemple, une personne qui vit dans une famille (ou un ménage) ayant un revenu de 15 000 $ et dont la LFR est de 20 000 $ aurait un écart de faible revenu de 5 000 $. En termes de pourcentage, il s'agit d'un « écart relatif » de 25 %Note 9.

L'écart relatif moyen pour une population donnée est la moyenne de ces valeurs calculées pour chaque personne. Les statistiques comme l'écart et l'écart relatif moyens et médians permettent de mesurer l'étendue du faible revenu pour la population à faible revenu.

Des tableaux CANSIM présentant la prévalence du faible revenu (exprimée en nombres et en taux) et l'écart relatif moyen basés sur la MFR-ApI, les SFR-ApI, les SFR-AvI et la MPC sont accessibles en ligne (tableaux 206-0041 et 206-0042).

Bibliographie

Hatfield, Michael, Wendy Pyper et Burton Gustajtis (2010), « Premier examen complet de la mesure du faible revenu fondée sur un panier de consommation », Rapport de la Direction générale de la recherche appliquée, Ressources humaines et développement des compétences Canada. http://publications.gc.ca/site/fra/372297/publication.html

Murphy, Brian, Claude Dionne et Xuelin Zhang (2012), « Le faible revenu au Canada : une perspective multi-lignes et multi-indices », Statistique Canada, Série de documents de recherche – Revenu, 75F0002M. http://www5.statcan.gc.ca/olc-cel/olc.action?ObjId=75F0002M2012001&ObjType=46&lang=fr&limit=0

Murphy, Brian, Xuelin Zhang et Claude Dionne (2010), « Révision de la mesure de faible revenu (MFR) de Statistique Canada », Statistique Canada, 75F0002M. Juin 2010. http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75f0002m/75f0002m2010004-fra.htm

Zhang, Xuelin. (2010), « La mesure du faible revenu au Canada : Que nous apprennent les divers seuils et indices? », Statistique Canada, Série de documents de recherche – Revenu, 75F0002M. http://www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75f0002m/75f0002m2010003-fra.htm


Date de modification :