Income Research Paper Series
Canadian Income Survey: Population rebasing, 2006 to 2013

by Income Statistics Division

Release date: July 8, 2016

Skip to text

Text begins

Abstract

Periodically, income statistics are updated to reflect the most recent population estimates from the Census. Accordingly, with the release of the 2014 data from the Canadian Income Survey, Statistics Canada has revised estimates for 2006 to 2013 using new population totals from the 2011 Census. This paper provides unrevised estimates alongside revised estimates for key income series, indicating where the revisions were significant.

1.0 Introduction

The Canadian Income Survey (CIS) is an important source of Canadian data on family, household and personal income. Starting with the 2012 reference year, annual individual and family income data has been produced by the CIS. The CIS is a cross-sectional survey developed to provide information on the income and income sources of Canadians, along with their individual and household characteristics. CIS reports on many of the same statistics as its predecessor, the Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics (SLID), which last reported on income for the 2011 reference year. Together, the results from these surveys provide the Canadian income estimatesNote 1.

Statistics Canada has long had a process in place by which survey estimates are revised once a new series of postcensal population estimates becomes available. Just as a historical revision of the Labour Force Survey was done in 2015 (Statistics Canada, 2015b), a revision to the Canadian income estimates was also required. Previous to this revision, the Canadian income estimates were based on 2006 Census population counts. With the release of new census data in 2015, all survey data are now based on population estimates from the 2011 Census. As a result of this revision, the total target populationNote 2 for 2013 was revised downward by 0.3%.

With the availability of new Census information, surveys can improve the representativeness of their samples by adjusting the survey weights. Since some of these surveys' population estimates for certain population sub-groups correspond to known population totals for a given year, after reweighting, income estimates are of better quality and the various estimates from the survey and from external sources are more comparable (Tremblay, 2005). To adjust the weights, these surveys use various provincial counts: counts of individuals by age group and gender, counts of economic families and households by size, and counts of individuals by wage class based on administrative tax data (LaRoche, 2007).

In January 2015, the Demography Division within Statistics Canada released the new population, economic family and household estimates derived from the 2011 Census (Statistics Canada, 2016a). Individual counts and the distribution of economic families and households by size were all revised. The total Canadian population fell slightly following the revision, and there were slight changes to the economic family and household sizes. These new population estimates were used to recalculate the survey weights between 2006 and 2013, inclusively.

As part of this revision, geographic boundary changes have also been introduced. Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs), Economic Regions (ERs) and Census Agglomerations (CAs) are now based on the 2011 Census boundaries rather than the 2006 boundaries.

This paper presents a summary of the changes in the key national and provincial estimates produced by CIS and SLID as a result of the revision. Section 2 briefly describes the geographic boundary changes. Section 3 discusses the direct effect on population counts for individuals, households and economic families. Section 4 deals with the indirect effect of the revision on the main survey estimates, namely population counts by family type, income and low income. Lastly, various tables and charts comparing revised and unrevised estimates by province are provided.

2.0 Geographic boundary changes

With the change to the 2011 Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) from the 2006 SGC, boundaries were modified for some of the sub-provincial areas such as Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs), Economic Regions (ERs) and Census Agglomerations (CAs). Specifically, seven existing CMAs had boundary modifications between the 2006 SGC and the 2011 SGC. These are, in Quebec: Saguenay, Québec, Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières, Montréal, the Quebec part of Ottawa-Gatineau; and in Ontario: Guelph. Also, as a result of the move to the 2011 SGC, there were small boundary changes for three ERs: Campbellton-Miramichi and Fredericton-Oromocto in New Brunswick; and North Coast and Nechako in British Columbia. Sub-provincial data from 2011 to 2013 were revised to reflect these changes.

Overall, the modifications to the CMA and ER boundaries resulted in minimal changes to the population counts, income and low income estimates.

3.0 Impact on population counts

In 2015, the Demography Division of Statistics Canada revised the population counts. As a result, the target population counts for the years 2006 to 2013 were revised using the 2011 Census base. At the Canada level, little difference was observed (Table 3.1) between the revised and unrevised populations (-0.3% in 2013). Overall, the population estimates were revised downward for each of the years.

At the provincial level, Manitoba (-1.2% in 2013) and British Columbia (-1.7% in 2013) both experienced the largest downward revisions, while Newfoundland and Labrador experienced the largest upward revision (3.2% in 2013). Prince Edward Island, Ontario, Manitoba and British Columbia each experienced downward revisions for all of the years, while Newfoundland and Labrador and Quebec experienced upward revisions for each of the years.

At the Canada level, as with the changes to the population counts, the number of households changed little between the revised and unrevised data (Table 3.2). One person households and households with three or more persons witnessed relatively small changes, while households with two persons experienced a relatively larger change. In general, the number of two person households was downwardly revised for all the years (ranging from -0.2% to -2.2%), while the number of households with three or more persons was unchanged or upwardly revised for all the years (up to 0.7%).

The number of economic families with three or more persons observed little change in each of the years (Table 3.3). While economic families with two persons experienced consistently downward revisions, ranging from -0.2% to -2.3%, the number of persons not in an economic family experienced consistently upward revisions, ranging from 0.3% to 3.9%.

4.0 Impact on survey estimates

The Canadian income estimates have been recalculated to take into account the introduction of the 2011 Census population counts. In general, these revisions had only minor impacts on the estimates. In evaluating the effects of the historical revision on the Canadian income estimates, the first focus was on population estimates by family type followed by income and then low income. As estimates are based on probability samples, differences between estimates are reported only where they are statistically significant at the 95% confidence interval. Also, since the impact of the revision is generally similar in magnitude for all the revised years, the analysis will be limited to 2009, 2011 and 2013.

4.1 Family type

Overall, there were a large number of statistically significant changes in the estimates by family type (Table 4.1), although they tended to be small in magnitude. At the Canada level, the number of persons in economic families and persons not in an economic family was downwardly revised slightly (-0.3% in 2013). If this grouping is separated, the number of persons in economic families experienced a downward revision (-0.9% in 2013), while the number of persons not in an economic family experienced an upward revision (3.4% in 2013). In 2013, the downward revision in persons in economic families was largely driven by couple (-2.7%) and lone-parent families (-3.0%). The upward revision in the number of persons not in an economic family was mostly driven by non-elderly persons (3.6% in 2013).

At the provincial level, there was an even split between the provinces that experienced a downward revision compared to those that experienced an upward revision for the broad grouping of number of persons in economic families and persons not in an economic family (Tables 7.1 to 7.10).

4.2 Income

Overall, the historical revision had a minimal effect on the average and median income estimates. The largest impacts of the revision were on the median market income and median after-tax income (Table 4.2). The median market income was downwardly revised slightly for the broad category of economic families and persons not in an economic family (-0.2% in 2009 and -1.0% in 2011 and 2013). A similar pattern was observed in the revisions to median after-tax income (-0.4% in 2009, -1.0% in 2011 and -0.7% in 2013).

At the provincial level and for the broad category of economic families and persons not in an economic family, the median after-tax income in Ontario was revised downward for each of the years. In general, the Atlantic Provinces experienced no statistically significant changes within this broad category. In Manitoba, both the median market income and the median after-tax income were revised upward in some years, while in Alberta, both medians were revised downward in some years (Tables 7.11 to 7.20).

While the revision brought about slight changes to the income estimates, as mentioned above, there was very little impact on the trends (Chart 4.1, 4.2 and 4.3). In general, the historical revision produced a time series that is comparable to the original ones, regardless of the economic family type analysed.

4.3 Low income

Low income statistics can be produced using the following three low income lines (Statistics Canada, 2016b): Statistics Canada's Low Income Cut-offs (LICO) and Low Income Measure (LIM) as well as the Market Basket MeasureNote 3 (MBM) developed by Employment and Social Development Canada (EDSC).

In general, low income rates based on these measures for all persons were revised slightly (Table 4.3 and Chart 4.4). All three were similarly affected and all, in general, experienced either no change or only very small changes. At the Canada level, for all persons, the only low income rate that had a statistically significant change was the one using the LICO after-tax (LICO-AT) thresholds.

The provincial low income statistics, for all the revised years, can be seen in Charts 6.1 to 6.10. Correspondingly, the numeric values for the provincial low income statistics for the selected reference years (2009, 2011 and 2103) can be found at the bottom of Tables 7.11 to 7.20. Over all the years, and for all persons, Nova Scotia (in 2013), Quebec (in 2011) and Manitoba (in 2009 and 2013) were the only provinces that experienced a statistically significant change using all three measures of low income.

5.0 References

LaRoche, Sylvie (2007). "Longitudinal and Cross-Sectional Weighting of the Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics, 2003". Statistics Canada, Income Research Paper Series. Catalogue no. 75F0002MIE— no. 007, October 2007.

Hatfield, Michael, Wendy Pyper and Burton Gustajtis. (2010). "First Comprehensive Review of the Market Basket Measure of Low Income". Applied Research Branch paper. Human Resources and Skills Development Canada. Summer.

Statistics Canada (2015a). Revisions to 2006 to 2011 income data. Catalogue no. 75F0002M, no. 3. December 17, 2015.

Statistics Canada (2015b). Improvements to the Labour Force Survey (LFS), "The 2015 Revisions of the Labour Force Survey (LFS)". Catalogue no. 71F0031X. January 2015.

Statistics Canada (2016a). "Population and Family Estimation Methods at Statistics Canada". Catalogue no. 91-528-X, March 2016.

Statistics Canada (2016b). "Low Income Lines: What they are and how they are created". Catalogue no. 75F0002M, no. 2. July 2016.

Tremblay, J. (2005). "Aperçu de la stratégie de calage harmonisée des statistiques du revenu de Statistique Canada". Proceedings of the Survey Methods Section of the Annual Meeting of the Statistical Society of Canada, June 2005.

6.0 Charts

7.0 Tables


Date modified:

Série de documents de recherche – Revenu
Enquête canadienne sur le revenu : modification apportée à la base démographique de référence, 2006 à 2013

par la Division de la statistique du revenu

Date de diffusion : le 8 juillet 2016

Passer au texte

Début du texte

Résumé

Les statistiques sur le revenu sont périodiquement mises à jour pour rendre compte des plus récentes estimations de population fondées sur les données du recensement. Ainsi, avec la diffusion des données de 2014 de l’Enquête canadienne sur le revenu, Statistique Canada a révisé les estimations pour la période de 2006 à 2013 en s’appuyant sur les nouveaux chiffres de population du Recensement de 2011. Le présent document fournit des estimations non révisées ainsi que des estimations révisées pour des statistiques de revenus clés, ainsi qu’une description des changements les plus significatifs.

1.0 Introduction

L’Enquête canadienne sur le revenu (ECR) est une importante source de données sur le revenu des familles, des ménages et des personnes au Canada. En effet, depuis l’année de référence 2012, les données annuelles sur le revenu des particuliers et des familles sont produites par l’ECR, une enquête transversale qui vise à dresser un portrait du revenu et des sources de revenu des Canadiens, selon leurs caractéristiques personnelles et celles de leur ménage. L’ECR rend compte, dans une large mesure, des mêmes statistiques que l’Enquête sur la dynamique du travail et du revenu (EDTR) qui l’a précédée et dont les dernières données sur le revenu portaient sur l’année de référence 2011. Ensemble, les résultats de ces enquêtes fournissent les estimations sur le revenu des CanadiensNote 1.

Statistique Canada a depuis longtemps un processus en place, qui prévoit la révision des estimations d’enquête dès l’obtention d’une nouvelle série d’estimations de population postcensitaires. Comme l’organisme a effectué une révision historique de l’Enquête sur la population active en 2015 (Statistique Canada, 2015b), le moment était venu de le faire également pour les données sur le revenu des Canadiens. Avant cette révision, les estimations pour ces données étaient fondées sur les estimations de population tirées du Recensement de 2006. Avec la diffusion de nouvelles données du recensement en 2015, les données d’enquête se fondent désormais sur les estimations de population du Recensement de 2011. À la suite de cette révision, la population cible totaleNote 2 pour 2013 a été révisée à la baisse (-0,3 %).

Les nouvelles données du recensement permettent d’améliorer la représentativité des échantillons des enquêtes en ajustant les poids d’enquête. Puisque certaines estimations de population de ces enquêtes pour certains sous-groupes de population correspondent à des chiffres de population connus pour une année donnée, la repondération permet aux estimations du revenu d’être de meilleure qualité et d’améliorer la comparabilité entre les diverses estimations tirées des enquêtes et celles provenant de sources externes (Tremblay, 2005). Pour la pondération, ces enquêtes sont fondées sur divers chiffres au niveau provincial : le nombre de personnes selon le groupe d’âge et le sexe, le nombre de familles économiques et de ménages selon leur taille, ainsi que le nombre de personnes par classe de salaire basée sur des données fiscales administratives (LaRoche, 2007).

En janvier 2015, la Division de la démographie de Statistique Canada a publié les nouvelles estimations de la population, des familles économiques et des ménages fondées sur les données du Recensement de 2011 (Statistique Canada, 2016a). Le nombre de personnes de même que la répartition des familles économiques et des ménages selon leur taille ont été révisés. Le total de la population canadienne a été légèrement revu à la baisse à la suite de la révision, tout comme ont été apportées de légères modifications aux tailles des familles économiques et des ménages. Ces nouvelles estimations de population ont servi à recalculer les poids des enquêtes entre 2006 et 2013, inclusivement.

Dans le cadre de cette révision, des changements ont également été apportés aux limites géographiques. Les régions métropolitaines de recensement, les régions économiques et les agglomérations de recensement sont maintenant fondées sur les limites géographiques du Recensement de 2011, plutôt que sur celles du Recensement de 2006.

Le présent document fournit un résumé des changements dont les principales estimations nationales et provinciales de l’ECR et l’EDTR ont fait l’objet, à la suite de la révision. La section 2 décrit brièvement les modifications aux limites géographiques. La section 3 traite de l’effet direct sur les chiffres de population au niveau des particuliers, des ménages et des familles économiques. La section 4 traite de l’effet indirect de la révision sur les principales estimations de l’enquête, plus particulièrement les chiffres de population par type de famille, le revenu et le faible revenu. En dernier lieu, divers tableaux et graphiques sont présentés comparant les estimations révisées avec les estimations non révisées, par province.

2.0 Modifications aux limites géographiques

Le passage de la Classification géographique type (CGT) 2006 à la CGT 2011 a entraîné la modification des limites de certaines régions infraprovinciales, comme les régions métropolitaines de recensement (RMR), les régions économiques (RE) et les agglomérations de recensement (AR). Notamment, les limites de sept RMR existantes ont été modifiées à la suite du passage de la CGT 2006 à la CGT 2011. Il s’agit, au Québec, des RMR de Saguenay, Québec, Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières, Montréal et Ottawa–Gatineau (partie Québec) et, en Ontario, de la RMR de Guelph. En outre, de petites modifications ont été apportées aux limites de trois RE, soit celles de Campbellton–Miramichi et de Fredericton–Oromocto au Nouveau-Brunswick, et celle de North Coast et Nechako, en Colombie-Britannique. Les données infraprovinciales de 2011 à 2013 ont été révisées pour tenir compte de ces changements.

Dans l’ensemble, les modifications apportées aux limites des RMR et des RE ont eu une incidence minimale sur les estimations des chiffres de population, du revenu et du faible revenu.

3.0 Incidence sur les chiffres de population

La Division de la démographie de Statistique Canada a révisé les chiffres de population en 2015. Dans le cadre de cet exercice, les chiffres de population cible des années 2006 à 2013 ont été revus sur la base du Recensement de 2011. Au niveau national, les différences entre les populations révisées et les populations non révisées se sont avérées très légères (-0,3 % en 2013). Dans l’ensemble, les estimations de population ont été revues à la baisse pour chacune des années (tableau 3.1).

Au niveau provincial, le Manitoba (-1,2 % en 2013) et la Colombie-Britannique (-1,7 % en 2013) ont toutes deux connu les plus fortes révisions à la baisse, tandis que Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a connu la plus forte révision à la hausse (3,2 % en 2013). L’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, l’Ontario, le Manitoba et la Colombie-Britannique ont connu une révision à la baisse pour chacune des années tandis que Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et le Québec ont connu une révision à la hausse pour chacune des années.

Au niveau du pays, comme dans le cas des chiffres de population, le nombre de ménages a peu changé si l’on compare les données révisées avec les données non révisées (tableau 3.2). Les changements étaient relativement mineurs pour les ménages d’une personne et les ménages de trois personnes ou plus, mais un peu plus importants pour les ménages de deux personnes. En général, pour toutes les années observées, le nombre de ménages de deux personnes a été revu à la baisse (les baisses variant de -0,2 % à -2,2 %), alors que le nombre de ménages de trois personnes ou plus est demeuré inchangé ou a été revu à la hausse (jusqu’à +0,7 %).

Le nombre de familles économiques composées de trois personnes ou plus a peu changé pour chacune des années (tableau 3.3). Le nombre de familles économiques composées de deux personnes a été systématiquement révisé à la baisse (les baisses variant de -0,2 % à -2,3 %), tandis que le nombre de personnes hors famille économique a été systématiquement révisé à la hausse (les hausses variant de +0,3 % à +3,9 %).

4.0 Incidence sur les estimations d’enquête

Les estimations sur le revenu des Canadiens ont été recalculées afin de tenir compte des chiffres de population du Recensement de 2011. En général, ces révisions n’ont eu qu’une incidence mineure sur les estimations. Dans l’évaluation des effets de la révision historique sur les estimations liées au revenu des Canadiens, on s’est d’abord penché sur les estimations de population par type de famille, avant de se concentrer sur le revenu, puis sur le faible revenu. Comme les estimations sont fondées sur des échantillons de probabilité, les différences entre les estimations ne sont signalées que lorsqu’elles sont significatives sur le plan statistique à un intervalle de confiance de 95 %. En outre, puisque l’incidence de la révision est généralement d’une importance semblable pour toutes les années révisées, l’analyse se limitera aux années 2009, 2011 et 2013.

4.1 Type de famille

Dans l’ensemble, les estimations selon le type de famille ont fait l’objet d’un grand nombre de changements statistiquement significatifs, mais ces changements tendaient à être d’envergure relativement petite (tableau 4.1). Au niveau du pays, le nombre de personnes faisant partie d’une famille économique et de personnes ne faisant pas partie d’une famille économique a été légèrement révisé à la baisse (-0,3 % en 2013). Si l’on sépare ce groupe, le nombre de personnes faisant partie d’une famille économique a été révisé à la baisse (-0,9 % en 2013), tandis que le nombre de personnes hors famille économique a été révisé à la hausse (+3,4 % en 2013). En 2013, la révision à la baisse du nombre de personnes faisant partie d’une famille économique était dans une très large mesure attribuable aux couples (-2,7 %) et aux familles monoparentales (-3,0 %). La révision à la hausse du nombre de personnes hors famille économique était principalement attribuable aux personnes non âgées (+3,6 % en 2013).

Au niveau provincial, pour ce qui est de la grande catégorie des familles économiques et des personnes hors famille économique, les provinces ayant connu une révision à la baisse étaient aussi nombreuses que celles ayant connu une révision à la hausse (tableaux 7.1 à 7.10).

4.2 Revenu

Dans l’ensemble, la révision historique n’a eu qu’une incidence minimale sur les estimations du revenu moyen et du revenu médian. L’incidence la plus marquée touchait le revenu du marché médian et le revenu médian après impôt (tableau 4.2). Le revenu du marché médian a été légèrement revu à la baisse pour la grande catégorie des familles économiques et des personnes hors famille économique (-0,2 % en 2009 et -1,0 % en 2011 et en 2013). Une situation similaire a été observée pour le revenu médian après impôt (-0,4 % en 2009, -1,0 % en 2011 et -0,7 % en 2013).

Au niveau provincial, pour la grande catégorie des familles économiques et des personnes hors famille économique, le revenu médian après impôt en Ontario a été revu à la baisse pour chacune des années. En général, les provinces de l’Atlantique n’ont connu aucun changement statistiquement significatif dans cette grande catégorie. Au Manitoba, le revenu médian du marché ainsi que le revenu médian après impôt ont été revus à la hausse pour certaines années, alors qu’en Alberta, les deux revenus médians ont été revus à la baisse pour certaines années (tableaux 7.11 à 7.20).

Bien que la révision ait donné lieu à de légères modifications des estimations du revenu, comme nous venons de le mentionner, il n’y a eu qu’une très faible incidence sur les tendances (graphiques 4.1, 4.2 et 4.3). En général, la révision historique a produit une série chronologique comparable aux séries d’origine, quel que soit le type de famille économique analysé.

4.3 Faible revenu

Les statistiques sur le faible revenu sont produites au moyen des trois lignes de faible revenu suivantes (Statistique Canada, 2016b) : les seuils de faible revenu (SFR) et la mesure de faible revenu (MFR) de Statistique Canada, et la mesure du panier de consommation (MPC) Note 3 d’Emploi et Développement social Canada.

En général, les taux de faible revenu pour toutes les personnes fondés sur ces mesures n’ont été que légèrement révisés (tableau 4.3 et graphique 4.4). Les trois mesures ont été touchées de manière similaire et en général, il n’en est résulté aucun changement, sinon de faibles changements. Au niveau national, pour toutes les personnes, le seul taux de faible revenu qui a connu un changement significatif sur le plan statistique est celui fondé sur les SFR après impôt (SFR-Apl).

Des statistiques provinciales relatives au faible revenu, pour toutes les années révisées, sont présentées dans les graphiques 6.1 à 6.10. De même, les valeurs numériques des statistiques provinciales sur le faible revenu pour les années de référence sélectionnées (2009, 2011 et 2103) figurent au bas des tableaux 7.11 à 7.20. Sur toutes les années observées et pour toutes les personnes, la Nouvelle-Écosse (en 2013), le Québec (en 2011) et le Manitoba (en 2009 et en 2013) sont les seules provinces qui ont connu un changement statistiquement significatif pour chacune des trois mesures de faible revenu.

5.0 Bibliographie

LaRoche, Sylvie (2007). « Pondérations longitudinale et transversale de l’Enquête sur la  dynamique du travail et du revenu, 2003 ». Statistique Canada, Série de documents de recherche sur le revenu. N° 75F0002MIE au catalogue — N° 007, octobre 2007.

Hatfield, Michael, Wendy Pyper et Burton Gustajtis (2010). « Premier examen complet de la mesure du faible revenu fondée sur un panier de consommation  ». Rapport de la Direction générale de la recherche appliquée. Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada. Été.

Statistique Canada (2015a). Révisions aux données sur le revenu de 2006 à 2011. N° 75F0002M au catalogue — No 003. 17 décembre 2015.

Statistique Canada (2015b). Améliorations apportées à l’Enquête sur la population active (EPA) — « Révisions apportées à l’Enquête sur la population active (EPA) en 2015 ». N° 71F0031X au catalogue. Janvier 2015.

Statistique Canada (2016a). « Méthodes d’estimation de la population et des familles à Statistique Canada ». N° 91-528-X au catalogue, mars 2016.

Statistique Canada (2016b). « Les lignes de faible revenu : leur signification et leur calcul ». N° 75F0002M au catalogue — No 002, juillet 2016.

Tremblay, J. (2005). « Aperçu de la stratégie de calage harmonisée des statistiques du revenu de Statistique Canada ». Recueil de la section des méthodes d’enquête, Assemblée annuelle de la Société statistique du Canada, juin 2005.

6.0 Graphiques

7.0 Tableaux

End of text box


Date de modification :