Education Indicators in Canada: Fact Sheets

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact-us" to request a format other than those available.

School-age Population Living in Low-income Circumstances
December 2009

Family income can influence various developmental outcomes, academic results, and life transitions.1 For example, living in low-income circumstances may impede the school readiness of preschool children, reduce the likelihood of success in educational achievement throughout the educational trajectory, reduce the ability to afford postsecondary education, and increase the likelihood of living in low-income circumstances as an adult. Information on the school-age population living in low-income circumstances provides the basis for appropriate policies and programs that target children who are most in need.

This fact sheet provides information about the proportion of the school-age population—defined in this fact sheet as children and youth aged 5 to 242—living in low-income circumstances, including the duration of low-income periods, using data from Statistics Canada's Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics (SLID).3 The percentage of children in low-income circumstances is calculated based on Statistics Canada's low-income cutoffs (LICOs), using data on family income after government benefits are received and after federal and provincial/territorial taxes are paid.

Who is at risk for low income?

In 2007, the most recent data year available, 11% of the population aged 5 to 24 in Canada lived in low-income circumstances, compared to 15% in 2003. Historically, children living in single-parent families (also referred to as lone-parent families) have been more likely to live in low-income situations. Although the proportion of children from single-parent families who live in low-income situations has decreased substantially since 2003, in 2007, these children were still almost three times as likely (17%) to live in low-income circumstances as children living in two-parent families (6%) (Table A.3.1 and Chart 1).

Furthermore, longitudinal data from SLID indicate that low income is a more persistent circumstance for children from lone-parent families. More than one quarter (27%) of children from lone-parent families lived in low-income situations for more than one year, whereas only 11% of children from two-parent families did so (Table A.3.2).

Chart 1 Percentage of the school-age population (ages 5 to 24) in low income, by type of living arrangement, Canada and provinces, 2007

Factors that can affect the likelihood of living in low-income circumstances are varied and complex, and include the following: the number of income earners in the family; their skills and years of work experience; the characteristics of their employment (e.g., full- or part-time employment, level of remuneration, job stability); regional economic conditions; and federal and provincial/territorial government income and other support programs.4 Data from the latest census, in 2006, indicate that 94% of children from two-parent families had at least one parent working full time,5 compared to 67% of children in single-parent families (Table A.4.2).

The incidence of low income is highest among those who do not live with their parents, with a third (33%) of these individuals facing a low-income situation in 2007, according to the low-income cut-off criteria (Table A.3.1).6 However, the interpretation of income data for this group is complex. Those living without their parents are more likely to be young adults. The latest census indicates that while 1% and 7%, respectively, of children aged 5 to 14 and 15 to 19 do not live with any parent, this percentage is 41% for 20 to 24 year-olds (Table A.4.1). Young adults can have a variety of living arrangements, and these can change over time, thereby affecting income even over a short period of time. Young adults not living with their parents may face a higher incidence of low income, in some cases on a temporary basis, as they are participating in the labour market with little experience and/or may be going to school either full time or part time.7 A better understanding of these factors, and of others, including how young adults have fared in the economic conditions of the first decade of the 2000s, would also help to interpret the low-income situation of young adults.

Change in low-income rates

Over the last two decades, there has been greater fluctuation in the incidence of low income among children in single-parent families than among children from two-parent families. Between 1990 and 1995, a time of recession and slow economic recovery, the proportions of children in low income rose for both family types, but then decreased with the labour-market recovery and increased government spending in the late 1990s. In both time periods, the change in the incidence of low income was more pronounced for children in single-parent families. Since 2003, the largest decline in low-income rates has occurred for children in single-parent families. In 2007, the rate for this group was 10 percentage points lower than the 27% observed in 2003. Furthermore, the incidence of low income among children from lone-parent families in 2007 (17%) was almost half of what it was in 1990 (32%), the end of a period of growth and the start of an economic slowdown. In contrast, the percentage of children from two-parent families living in low income has remained fairly stable since 2003 (Table A.3.1).


Low-income rates among children from families with two parents varied from 1% to 7% across the provinces in 2007, and were half or less than half of the Canada average (i.e., no more than 3%) in Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Saskatchewan, and Alberta. However, differences in low-income rates among children from lone-parent families in these provinces were greater.

In all provinces, children from lone-parent families faced a higher likelihood of low income than children from two-parent families. The rates of low income among children with one parent varied from 9% in Prince Edward Island to 26% in British Columbia. In addition to Prince Edward Island, the incidence of low income among children living with one parent in 2007 was lower than the Canada average in Newfoundland and Labrador (13%), Nova Scotia (13%), Quebec (14%), and Alberta (12%) (Table A.3.1 and Chart 1). Compared to 2003, the proportion of children from lone-parent families who faced low income was lower in almost every province, with the pattern of decrease since 2003 differing across the provinces. The rates of low income among children with a single parent have fallen the most in Newfoundland and Labrador (an 18-percentage-point drop between 2003 and 2007) (Table A.3.1).

For more detailed information, the specific data referred to in this fact sheet, and other tables of data related to education in Canada, please see Education Indicators in Canada: Report of the Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program. Tables referenced above include Tables A.3.1 and A.3.2 (December 2009); Table A.4.1 (2007 issue, tables updated on June 16, 2008); and Table A.4.2 (2007 issue, tables updated on December 16, 2008). To obtain more information about the data sources—SLID and the census—and definitions used in this fact sheet, as well as the methodology used to produce the data, please refer to the publication Education Indicators in Canada: Handbook for the Report of the Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program 2007.

The Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program (PCEIP) is an ongoing initiative of the Canadian Education Statistics Council, a partnership between Statistics Canada and the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada (CMEC), to provide a set of statistical measures on education systems in Canada.

References cited

Brownell, Marni et al. 2004. How do Educational Outcomes Vary with Socioeconomic Status? Key Findings from the Manitoba Child Health Atlas 2004. Manitoba Centre for Health Policy.

Dooley, Martin D., A. Abigail Payne and A. Leslie Robb. 2009. University Participation and Income Differences: An Analysis of Applications by Ontario Secondary School Students. Toronto: Higher Education Quality Council of Ontario. Participation and Income Differences.pdf. (accessed October 7, 2009).

Feng, Yan, Sangita Dubey and Bradley Brooks. 2007. Persistence of Low Income Among Non-elderly Unattached Individuals. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 75F0002MIE. Ottawa, Ontario. 32 p. Income Research Paper Series, no. 005. (accessed October 2, 2009).

Fleury, Dominque. 2008. "Low-income children." Perspectives on Labour and Income. Vol. 9, no. 5. May. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 75-001-X. (accessed September 29, 2009).

Phipps, Shelley and Lynn Lethbridge. 2006. Income and the Outcomes of Children. Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 11F0019MIE. Ottawa, Ontario. 66 p. Analytical Studies Branch Research Paper Series, no. 281. (accessed October 7, 2009).

Phipps, Shelley. 2003. The Impact of Poverty on Health: A Scan of Research Literature. Ottawa: Canadian Institute for Health Information. (accessed October 7, 2009).

Statistics Canada and Council of Ministers of Education, Canada. Education Indicators in Canada: Report of the Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program. Catalogue no. 81-582-XIE. Issues: December 2009 and 2007 updated tables. Ottawa: Statistics Canada.


  1. See, for example, Phipps (2003), Phipps and Lethbridge (2006), Brownell et al. (2004), and Dooley et al. (2009).
  2. This is consistent with the school-age focus used by the Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program in its study of demographic factors. This population differs from the child population usually used in low-income studies, i.e., under 18 years old.
  3. The low-income data from SLID exclude residents of Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut, as well as residents of institutions and persons living on Indian reserves, as these populations are not included in the survey.
  4. See, for example, Fleury (2008), who examined family characteristics associated with low income in Canada, and the effect of income tax and government transfers on the rate of low income.
  5. Two-parent families where both parents work on a part-time basis to an extent that is equivalent to one parent working full time are not included in this figure.
  6. The category "not living with any parent" includes those who do not live with any parent in what they consider to be their usual place of residence.
  7. See Feng et al. (2007) as an example of research that looks at the dynamics of low income among unattached individuals, including those aged 18 to 24.
Date modified:

Indicateurs de l'éducation au Canada : feuillets d'information

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Population d'âge scolaire en situation de faible revenu
Décembre 2009

Le revenu familial peut influencer divers aspects du développement, les résultats scolaires et les transitions de la vie1. Par exemple, le fait de vivre dans une famille à faible revenu peut faire obstacle à la maturité scolaire des jeunes enfants d'âge préscolaire, peut réduire les chances de réussite tout au long des études, peut réduire l'abordabilité de l'éducation postsecondaire et accroître le risque de se retrouver en situation de faible revenu à l'âge adulte. Les renseignements sur les enfants d'âge scolaire vivant dans une situation de faible revenu permettent d'élaborer des politiques et des programmes pertinents axés sur les enfants qui sont le plus dans le besoin.

La présente renseigne sur la proportion d'enfants d'âge scolaire — définis ici comme étant des enfants et des jeunes âgés de 5 à 24 ans2 — qui sont en situation de faible revenu, y compris sur la durée des périodes de faible revenu, selon des données de l'Enquête sur la dynamique du travail et du revenu (EDTR)3 de Statistique Canada. Le pourcentage d'enfants en situation de faible revenu est calculé à partir des seuils de faible revenu (SFR) de Statistique Canada, à l'aide des données sur le revenu familial après que les prestations du gouvernement eurent été touchées et que les impôts provinciaux ou territoriaux et fédéraux eurent été payés.

Qui est plus susceptible d'avoir un faible revenu?

En 2007, l'année la plus récente pour laquelle les données sont disponibles, 11 % de la population âgée de 5 à 24 ans au Canada était en situation de faible revenu, par rapport à 15 % en 2003. Traditionnellement, un enfant qui demeure avec un parent seul (famille monoparentale) est plus susceptible d'être en situation de faible revenu. Quoique la proportion d'enfants de familles monoparentales à faible revenu ait diminué considérablement depuis 2003, ces enfants étaient encore presque trois fois plus susceptibles de vivre en situation de faible revenu en 2007 (17 %) que ne l'étaient les enfants demeurant avec deux parents (6 %) (famille biparentale) (Tableau A.3.1 et Graphique 1).

Graphique 1 Pourcentage de la population d'âge scolaire (de 5 à 24 ans) en situation de faible revenu, selon le mode de vie, Canada et provinces, 2007

De plus, les données longitudinales de l'EDTR indiquent que la situation de faible revenu est plus persistante pour les enfants de familles monoparentales. En effet, plus du quart (27 %) des enfants de familles monoparentales se sont retrouvés dans une telle situation pendant plus d'un an, par rapport à seulement 11 % des enfants demeurant avec deux parents (Tableau A.3.2).

Les facteurs qui peuvent influencer le risque de vivre en situation de faible revenu sont variés et complexes. Ils concernent notamment : le nombre de personnes qui touchent un revenu dans la famille; leurs compétences et leurs années d'expérience au travail; les caractéristiques de leur emploi (p. ex., emploi à temps plein ou à temps partiel, niveau de rémunération, stabilité de l'emploi); la conjoncture économique régionale; de même que le revenu provenant des gouvernements fédéral et provincial ou territorial et d'autres programmes de soutien4. Selon les données du dernier recensement, qui a eu lieu en 2006, 94 % des enfants de familles biparentales ont au moins un parent qui travaille à temps plein5, alors que c'est le cas de seulement 67 % des enfants de familles monoparentales (Tableau A.4.2).

La fréquence de faible revenu est plus élevée chez les jeunes qui ne demeurent avec aucun parent; en effet, un tiers (33 %) de ces personnes étaient en situation de faible revenu en 2007, selon les critères relatifs au seuil de faible revenu (Tableau A.3.1)6. Toutefois, l'interprétation des données de revenu de ce groupe est complexe. Les personnes qui ne demeurent pas avec leurs parents sont plus susceptibles d'être de jeunes adultes. Selon le dernier recensement, alors que 1 % et 7 % des enfants de 5 à 14 ans et de ceux de 15 à 19 ans respectivement ne demeurent avec aucun parent, ce pourcentage est de 41 % chez les jeunes de 20 à 24 ans (Tableau A.4.1). Les jeunes adultes se retrouvent dans des situations diverses qui peuvent changer avec le temps, ce qui peut influer sur leur revenu, même au cours d'une période brève. Les jeunes adultes qui ne demeurent pas avec leurs parents peuvent être plus susceptibles de se retrouver en situation de faible revenu, dans certains cas temporairement, lorsqu'ils participent au marché du travail avec peu d'expérience a leur actif ou qu'ils étudient à temps partiel ou à temps plein7. Une meilleure compréhension de ces facteurs, de même que d'autres, y compris la façon dont les jeunes adultes se sont débrouillés dans le contexte de la conjoncture économique de la première décennie du nouveau millénaire, aiderait aussi à interpréter la situation de faible revenu chez les jeunes adultes.

Variation des taux de faible revenu

Au cours des deux dernières décennies, la fréquence des situations de faible revenu a fluctué davantage chez les enfants de familles monoparentales que chez ceux de familles biparentales. Entre 1990 et 1995, période de récession et de reprise économique au ralenti, les proportions d'enfants en situation de faible revenu ont augmenté considérablement pour les deux types de familles; ces chiffres ont toutefois baissé sous l'effet de la reprise économique et de l'augmentation des dépenses du gouvernement, à la fin des années 90. Au cours des deux périodes, l'écart de fréquence des situations de faible revenu était plus prononcé chez les enfants de familles monoparentales. Depuis 2003, la baisse des taux d'enfants en situation de faible revenu a été la plus marquée dans le cas de ces familles. En 2007, le taux était de 10 points de pourcentage plus bas que le taux de 27 % observé en 2003 pour ce groupe. De plus en 2007, la fréquence des situations de faible revenu chez les enfants de familles monoparentales (17 %) était presque la moitié de ce qu'elle était en 1990 (32 %), soit à la fin de la période de croissance et au début d'un ralentissement économique. Par contre, le pourcentage d'enfants de familles biparentales vivant en situation de faible revenu est relativement stable depuis 2003 (Tableau A.3.1).

Provinces

En 2007, les taux d'enfants de familles biparentales en situation de faible revenu variaient de 1 % à 7 % dans l'ensemble des provinces et représentaient la moitié ou moins de la moyenne du Canada (3 %) à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Saskatchewan et en Alberta. Toutefois, les écarts étaient supérieurs chez les enfants de familles monoparentales en situation de faible revenu de ces provinces.

Dans toutes les provinces, les enfants de familles monoparentales risquent davantage de vivre en situation de faible revenu que les enfants de familles biparentales. Les taux d'enfants de familles monoparentales en situation de faible revenu variaient de 9 %, à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, à 26 %, en Colombie-Britannique. La fréquence des situations de faible revenu chez les enfants de familles monoparentales était en 2007 inférieure à la moyenne du Canada, non seulement à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, mais également à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (13 %), en Nouvelle-Écosse (13 %), au Québec (14 %) et en Alberta (12 %) (Tableau A.3.1 et Graphique 1). Par rapport à 2003, la proportion d'enfants de familles monoparentales en situation de faible revenu était inférieure dans presque toutes les provinces, mais la courbe du déclin observé à partir de 2003 varie d'une province à l'autre. Les taux d'enfants de familles monoparentales en situation de faible revenu ont diminué surtout à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (où le taux a baissé de 18 points de pourcentage entre 2003 et 2007) (Tableau A.3.1).

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les données mentionnées dans ce feuillet d'information ou d'autres tableaux de données se rapportant à l'éducation au Canada, consulter le document Indicateurs de l'éducation au Canada : Rapport du Programme d'indicateurs pancanadiens de l'éducation. Parmi les tableaux mentionnés précédemment, se trouvent notamment les tableaux A.3.1 et A.3.2 (décembre 2009), le tableau A.4.1 (publication de 2007, tableaux mis à jour le 16 juin 2008) et le tableau A.4.2 (publication de 2007, tableaux mis à jour le 16 décembre 2008). Pour obtenir d'autres renseignements au sujet des sources de données — soit l'EDTR et le recensement — et les définitions utilisées dans la présente, de même que la méthodologie employée pour produire les données, consulter la publication intitulée : Indicateurs de l'éducation au Canada : Manuel pour le Rapport du Programme d'indicateurs pancanadiens de l'éducation 2007.

Le Programme d'indicateurs pancanadiens de l'éducation (PIPCE) est une initiative en cours du Conseil des statistiques canadiennes de l'éducation, qui est lui-même un partenariat entre Statistique Canada et le Conseil des ministres de l'Éducation (Canada) [CMEC], visant à fournir un ensemble de mesures statistiques sur les systèmes d'éducation au Canada.

Documents consultés

Brownell, Marni et autres. 2004. How Do Educational Outcomes Vary with Socioeconomic Status? Key Findings from the Manitoba Child Health Atlas 2004. Juin 2004. Manitoba Centre for Health Policy.

Dooley, Martin D., A. Abigail Payne et A. Leslie Robb. 2009. L'accès à l'université et les écarts de revenu : analyse des demandes d'admission présentées par les élèves des écoles secondaires de l'Ontario, Toronto, Conseil ontarien de la qualité de l'enseignement supérieur, 2009. www.heqco.ca/SiteCollectionDocuments/L'accès à l'université et les écarts de revenu.pdf (consulté le 7 octobre 2009).

Feng, Yan, Sangita Dubey et Bradley Brooks. 2007. Persistance du faible revenu chez les personnes seules non âgées, no 75F0002MIE au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa, Ontario. 32 p. « Série de documents de recherche – Revenu » no 005. www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/75f0002m/75f0002m2007005-fra.pdf  (consulté le 2 octobre 2009).

Fleury, Dominque. 2008. "Les enfants à faible revenu." L'emploi et le revenu en perspective. vol. 9, no 5, mai, no 75-001X au catalogue de Statistique Canada. /pub/75-001-x/2008105/article/10578-fra.htm (consulté le 29 septembre 2009).

Phipps, Shelley et Lynn Lethbridge. 2006. Le revenu et les résultats des enfants,no 11F0019MIE au catalogue de Statistique Canada. Ottawa, Ontario. 66 p. « Direction des études analytiques : documents de recherche », no 281. www.statcan.gc.ca/pub/11f0019m/11f0019m2006281-fra.pdf (consulté le 7 octobre 2009).

Phipps, Shelley. 2003. Répercussions de la pauvreté sur la santé : Aperçu de la recherche. Ottawa : Institut d'information sur la santé. secure.cihi.ca/cihiweb/products/CPHIImpactonPoverty_f.pdf (consulté le 7 octobre 2009).

Statistique Canada et le Conseil des ministres de l'Éducation (Canada), Indicateurs de l'éducation au Canada : Rapport du Programme d'indicateurs pancanadiens de l'éducation, no 81-582-XIF au catalogue. Publications : décembre 2009 et tableaux mis à jour de 2007. Ottawa : Statistique Canada.


Notes

  1. Voir, par exemple, les documents de S. Phipps (2003), S. Phipps et L. Lethbridge (2006), M. Brownell et autres (2004) et M.D. Dooley et autres (2009).
  2. Ce groupe correspond à l'optique adoptée pour l'étude des facteurs démographiques du Programme d'indicateurs pancanadiens de l'éducation, axée sur les enfants d'âge scolaire. Cette population d'enfants diffère de celle dont il est habituellement question dans les études sur le faible revenu, c'est-à-dire les enfants de moins de 18 ans.
  3. Les données relatives au faible revenu de l'EDTR ne concernent pas la population du Yukon, des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut, ni la population d'établissements, ni la population des réserves indiennes, puisque l'enquête ne tient pas compte de ces populations.
  4. Voir par exemple le document de D. Fleury (2008), qui examine les caractéristiques des familles associées à un faible revenu au Canada et l'incidence de l'impôt sur le revenu et des transferts gouvernementaux sur le taux de faible revenu.
  5. Ce pourcentage ne comprend pas les familles biparentales au sein desquelles les deux parents travaillent à temps partiel dans une mesure équivalente à l'emploi d'un parent à temps plein.
  6. La catégorie « Ne demeurant avec aucun parent » comprend les jeunes qui ne vivent avec aucun parent à un endroit qu'ils considèrent comme étant leur domicile habituel.
  7. Voir le document de Y. Feng et autres (2007), à titre d'exemple de recherche axée sur la dynamique du faible revenu parmi les personnes libres de liens familiaux, y compris les jeunes de 18 à 24 ans.
Date de modification :