Education Indicators in Canada: An International Perspective 2016
Notes to readers

Canadian and Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) indicators

The following table outlines the indicators presented in this edition of Education Indicators in Canada: An International Perspective beside the corresponding indicators from Education at a Glance 2016: OECD indicators.

Education Indicators in Canada: An International Perspective 2016
Table summary
This table displays the results of Education Indicators in Canada: An International Perspective 2016. The information is grouped by Education Indicators in Canada: An International Perspective 2016 (appearing as row headers), Education at a Glance 2016: OECD Indicators (appearing as column headers).
Education Indicators in Canada: An International Perspective 2016 Education at a Glance 2016: OECD Indicators
A1 Educational attainment of the adult population A1 To what level have adults studied?
A2 Upper secondary graduation A2 How many students are expected to complete upper secondary education?
A3 Labour market outcomes A5 How does educational attainment affect participation in the labour market?
B1 Expenditure per student B1 How much is spent per student?
B2 Expenditure on education as a percentage of GDP B2 What proportion of national wealth is spent on education?
B3 Distribution of expenditure on education B6 On what resources and services is education funding spent?
C1 International students C4 Who studies abroad and where?
C2 Transitions to the labour market C5 Transition from school to work: Where are the 15-29 year-olds?
D1 Instruction time D1 How much time do students spend in the classroom?
D2 Teachers’ salaries D3 How much are teachers paid?
D3 Teachers’ working time D4 How much time do teachers spend teaching?
E1 Intergenerational mobility in education A4 To what extent does parents’ background influence educational attainment?

International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED) classifications and descriptions

Indicators are classified according to the ISCED-2011 categories. The ISCED standard, developed and maintained by the UNESCO Institute for Statistics, is used for reporting data to the OECD.Note 1 ISCED provides a framework and methodology that allows information from different national education programs to be presented within a comparable set of broad indicators.

The following table provides a brief description for each ISCED category.Note 2

International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED) 2011 classification
Table summary
This table displays the results of International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED) 2011 classification . The information is grouped by International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED) 2011 classification (appearing as row headers), Description (appearing as column headers).
International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED) 2011 classification Description
Early childhood education/Pre-primary education
ISCED 0
ISCED level 0 refers to early childhood programmes that have an intentional education component.
These programmes aim to develop socio-emotional skills necessary for participation in school and society. They also develop some of the skills needed for academic readiness and prepare children for entry into primary education. ISCED level 0 programmes target children below the age of entry into ISCED level 1. There are two categories of ISCED level 0 programmes: early childhood educational development and pre-primary education. The former has educational content designed for younger children (in the age range of 0 to 2 years), whilst the latter is designed for children from age 3 years to the start of primary education.
Primary education
ISCED 1
Designed to provide a sound basic education in reading, writing and mathematics and a basic understanding of some other subjects. Entry age: between 5 and 7. Typical duration: 6 years.
Lower secondary education
ISCED 2
Completes provision of basic education, usually in a more subject-oriented way with more specialist teachers. Entry follows 6 years of primary education; duration is 3 years. In some countries, the end of this level marks the end of compulsory education.
Upper secondary education
ISCED 3
Stronger subject specialisation than at lower-secondary level, with teachers usually more qualified. Students typically expected to have completed 9 years of education or lower secondary schooling before entry and are generally around 15 or 16 years old.
Postsecondary non-tertiary education
ISCED 4
Internationally, this level straddles the boundary between upper secondary and postsecondary education, even though it might be considered upper secondary or postsecondary in a national context. Programme content may not be significantly more advanced than that in upper secondary, but is not as advanced as that in tertiary programmes. Duration usually the equivalent of between 6 months and 2 years of full-time study. Students tend to be older than those enrolled in upper secondary education.
Short-cycle tertiary education
ISCED 5
Programmes at ISCED level 5, or short-cycle tertiary education, are often designed to provide participants with professional knowledge, skills and competencies. Typically, they are practically based, occupationally-specific and prepare students to enter the labour market. However, these programmes may also provide a pathway to other tertiary education programmes. Academic tertiary education programmes below the level of a Bachelor’s programme or equivalent are also classified as ISCED level 5.
ISCED level 5 has a minimum duration of two years and is typically but not always shorter than three years. For education systems with modular programmes where qualifications are awarded by credit accumulation, a comparable amount of time and intensity would be required.
Bachelor’s or equivalent level
ISCED 6
Largely theory-based programmes designed to provide sufficient qualifications for entry to advanced research programmes and professions with high skill requirements, such as medicine, dentistry or architecture. Duration at least 3 years full-time, though usually 4 or more years. They are traditionally offered by universities and can also be offered at some colleges.
Master’s or equivalent level
ISCED 7
Programmes at ISCED level 7, or Master’s or equivalent level, are often designed to provide participants with advanced academic and/or professional knowledge, skills and competencies, leading to a second degree or equivalent qualification. Programmes at this level may have a substantial research component but do not yet lead to the award of a doctoral qualification.
Doctoral or equivalent level
ISCED 8
Programmes that lead directly to the award of an advanced research qualification, e.g., Ph.D. The theoretical duration of these programmes is 3 years, full-time, in most countries (for a cumulative total of at least 7 years full-time equivalent at the tertiary level), although the actual enrolment time is typically longer. Programmes are devoted to advanced study and original research.

Mapping to ISCED

The report uses the International Standard Classification of Education (ISCED-2011) to classify education programmes and the highest level of education successfully completed (educational attainment). The following tables show the correspondence between ISCED and the other data sources used for the indicators in this report.

Labour Force Survey (LFS)
Table summary
This table displays the results of LFS (educational attainment). The information is grouped by ISCED (appearing as row headers), LFS (educational attainment) (appearing as column headers).
ISCED LFS (educational attainment)
ISCED 0/1 Grade 8 or lower (Quebec: Secondary II or lower)
ISCED 2 Grade 9 to 10 (Quebec: Secondary III or IV, Newfoundland and Labrador: 1st year of secondary)
Grade 11 to 13 (Quebec: Secondary V, Newfoundland and Labrador: 2nd to 4th year of secondary) (non-graduate)
ISCED 3 Grade 11 to 13 (Quebec: Secondary V, Newfoundland and Labrador: 2nd to 4th year of secondary) (graduate)
Some postsecondary education (non-graduate)
ISCED 4 Trade certificate or diploma from a vocational school or apprenticeship training
ISCED 5 Non-university certificate or diploma from a community college, CEGEP, school of nursing, etc.
University certificate below bachelor’s level
ISCED 6 Bachelor’s degree
ISCED 7/8 University degree or certificate above bachelor’s degree
Postsecondary Student Information System (PSIS)
Table summary
This table displays the results of Postsecondary Student Information System (PSIS) . The information is grouped by ISCED (appearing as row headers), PSIS enrolment (program type and credential type) (appearing as column headers).
ISCED PSIS enrolment (program type and credential type)
ISCED 5 Career, technical or professional training program (diploma)
Post-career, technical or professional training program (certificate, diploma, other type of credential associated with a program)
ISCED 6 Undergraduate program (certificate, diploma, degree [includes applied degree], attestation and other short program credentials, associate degree, other type of credential associated with a program)
Post-baccalaureate non-graduate program (certificate, diploma, degree [includes applied degree], other type of credential associated with a program)
Graduate qualifying program, second cycle (other type of credential associated with a program)
ISCED 7 Graduate qualifying program, third cycle
Health-related residency program (certificate, diploma, degree [includes applied degree], other type of credential associated with a program)
Graduate program, second cycle (certificate, diploma, degree [includes applied degree], attestation and other short program credentials, other type of credential associated with a program)
ISCED 8 Graduate program, third cycle (diploma, degree [includes applied degree], attestation and other short program credentials)
Graduate program, above the third cycle (diploma)

Institution versus program-based levels of education

Historically, degree programs (levels ISCED 6 and higher) have been primarily delivered at universities.  However, degree programs are increasingly being offered at community colleges, university colleges and technical institutes.  In this text, references to ‘university’ level or degree programs include all ISCED 6 and higher programs offered at both universities and colleges.  Conversely, ‘college’ programs refer to those ISCED 5 level programs that were traditionally offered at colleges and still make up the bulk of college program offerings.

The one exception to this terminology relates to the indicators in Chapter B of this report.  Chapter B reports financial data which is collected from college and university institutions.  Thus, when the text refers to college data in Chapter B, this would include any data relating to programs delivered at colleges, as it is not possible to separate the financial data directly related to the delivery of ISCED 6 and over programs from financial data directly related to the delivery of ISCED 5 programs. 

Note that the ISCED term, ‘tertiary’ education includes the vast majority of university programs as well as any diploma (2 year plus) and degree level programs offered by colleges.

OECD averages

As stated in the OECD’s Education at a Glance 2016: OECD IndicatorsNote 2:

The OECD average is calculated as the unweighted mean of the data values of all OECD countries for which data are available or can be estimated. The OECD average therefore refers to an average of data values at the level of the national systems and can be used to answer the question of how an indicator value for a given country compares with the value for a typical or average country. It does not take into account the absolute size of the education system in each country.

The OECD average can be significantly affected by missing data. Given the relatively small number of countries surveyed, no statistical methods are used to compensate for this. When a category is not applicable in a country or when the data value is negligible for the corresponding calculation, the value zero is imputed for the purpose of calculating OECD averages. When both the numerator and the denominator of a ratio are not applicable for a certain country, this country is not included in the OECD average.

OECD member countries

In 2016, the OECD member countries are: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea [South Korea], Latvia, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Please refer to Education at a Glance 2016: OECD Indicators, available on the OECD Web site at www.oecd.org, for the latest international statistics.

Comparisons to G7 countries and other selected countries

In this edition of Education Indicators in Canada:  An International Perspective, data from G7 countries are presented in comparison to Canada where available.  The other G7 countries are the United States, France, Germany, Italy, Japan and the United Kingdom.  In some cases, data from non-G7 countries such as Australia is presented when it has been deemed appropriate because of the subject matter – e.g. immigrant outcomes.  

Limitations

Indicators combine discrete education statistics and give them context. This report presents a selection of indicators that places Canada and the provinces/territories in an international perspective; however, it is only a partial picture of the performance of Canada, the provinces and territories. Although indicators show trends and uncover interesting questions, they cannot by themselves provide explanations or permit conclusions to be drawn. Additional research will always be required to determine causes and suggest solutions. The aim of this report is to stimulate thinking and promote debate on global education issues.

The harmonized indicators presented in this 2016 edition align with a selection of indicators from the OECD’s 2016 edition of Education at a Glance, and they were selected based on their policy relevance and the availability of data for Canada and its provinces and territories. The definitions and methodologies agreed upon in developing the harmonized indicators were used to produce the data for Canada and the provinces/territories, and those definitions and methodologies may differ from those used in a particular province/territory. Consequently, the numbers presented in this report may differ from those published independently by the provinces/territories.

Although the data for Canada presented in this report are, for the most part, identical to those presented by the OECD in this year’s Education at a Glance (EAG), there are some instances where figures may differ slightly. This is not due to differences in methodologies or in data years, but it does reflect revisions to initial figures that were provided at earlier stages through the UNESCO/OECD/Eurostat data collection (UOE) required for the production of EAG.

It is preferable to avoid comparing, for any given indicator, the results presented in this report with those presented in previous editions because certain methodological adjustments may have been made in some cases, or because certain data used in the calculations for indicators may have been revised.

The OECD and other international organizations provide detailed guidelines and definitions to help member countries complete the complex data collection process in order to achieve the highest possible level of comparability. However, the countries must best apply these guidelines to their own data. Depending on the degree to which national concepts match these guidelines and to which national classifications of education map adequately to ISCED, the comparability may be affected. For more detailed information on the latest international statistics, please refer to EAG, available on the OECD Web site at www.oecd.org.

Date modified:

Indicateurs de l'éducation au Canada : une perspective internationale 2016
Notes aux lecteurs

Indicateurs canadiens et indicateurs de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE)

Le tableau suivant expose les indicateurs présentés dans cette édition de la publication Indicateurs de l’éducation au Canada : une perspective internationale de même que les indicateurs y correspondant dans le rapport Regards sur l’éducation 2016 : Les indicateurs de l’OCDE.

Indicateurs de l’éducation au Canada : une perspective internationale 2016
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Regards sur l’éducation 2016 : Les indicateurs de l’OCDE. Les données sont présentées selon Indicateurs de l’éducation au Canada : une perspective internationale 2016 (titres de rangée) et Regards sur l’éducation 2016 : Les indicateurs de l’OCDE(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Indicateurs de l’éducation au Canada : une perspective internationale 2016 Regards sur l’éducation 2016 : Les indicateurs de l’OCDE
A1 Niveau de scolarité de la population adulte A1 Quel est le niveau de formation de la population adulte ?
A2 Obtention d’un diplôme de fin d’études secondaires A2 Combien d’élèves termineront le deuxième cycle du secondaire ?
A3 Résultats sur le marché du travail A5 Dans quelle mesure le niveau de formation affecte-t-il le taux d’emploi ?
B1 Dépenses par élève/étudiant B1 Quel est le montant des dépenses par élève/étudiant ?
B2 Dépenses en éducation en pourcentage du PIB B2 Quelle part de leur richesse nationale les pays consacrent-ils à l’éducation ?
B3 Répartition des dépenses en éducation B6 À quelles catégories de ressources et de services les dépenses d’éducation sont-elles affectées ?
C1 Étudiants internationaux C4 Qui étudie à l’étranger et où ?
C2 Transitions au marché du travail C5 La transition entre les études et la vie active : Où en sont les jeunes de 15 à 29 ans ?
D1 Temps d’instruction D1 Combien de temps les élèves passent-ils en classe ?
D2 Salaires des enseignants D3 Quel est le niveau de salaire des enseignants ?
D3 Temps de travail des enseignants D4 Quel est le temps de travail des enseignants ?
E1 Mobilité intergénérationnelle dans l’éducation A4 Dans quelle mesure le niveau de formation des parents influe-t-il sur celui de leurs enfants ?

Les catégories de la Classification internationale type de l’éducation (CITE) et leur description

Les indicateurs sont classés d’après les catégories de la CITE 2011. La norme de la CITE, élaborée et tenue à jour par l’Institut de statistique de l’UNESCO, sert de cadre pour déclarer les données à l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiquesNote 1. La CITE fournit donc un cadre et une méthodologie qui permettent de présenter l’information concernant différents programmes d’éducation nationaux au moyen d’un ensemble comparable d’indicateurs généraux.

Le tableau suivant fournit une brève description de chaque niveau d’éducationNote 2.

Le tableau suivant fournit une brève description de chaque niveau d’éducation
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Le tableau suivant fournit une brève description de chaque niveau d’éducation. Les données sont présentées selon Classification internationale type de l’éducation (CITE) de 2011 (titres de rangée) et Description(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Classification internationale type de l’éducation (CITE) de 2011 Description
Enseignement préprimaire
CITE 0
Le niveau 0 de la CITE regroupe les programmes de la petite enfance qui possèdent une composante éducative volontaire. Ces programmes ont pour but de développer les aptitudes sociales et émotionnelles nécessaires pour participer à la vie scolaire et sociale. Ils développent également certaines des aptitudes nécessaires au parcours scolaire et préparent les enfants à l’enseignement primaire. Les programmes de niveau 0 de la CITE ciblent les enfants dont l’âge est inférieur à celui d’entrée dans le niveau 1 de la CITE. Il existe deux catégories de programmes de niveau 0 de la CITE: le développement éducatif de la petite enfance et l’enseignement préprimaire. Le premier se caractérise par un contenu éducatif développé pour des enfants plus jeunes (0 à 2 ans) alors que la seconde est prévue pour des enfants ayant entre 3 ans et l’âge d’entrée dans l’enseignement primaire.
Enseignement primaire
CITE 1
Conçu pour donner une base solide enseignement en lecture, en écriture et en calcul, et pour inculquer des connaissances élémentaires dans quelques autres disciplines. Âge d’accès : entre 5 et 7 ans. Durée typique: 6 ans.
Enseignement secondaire, premier cycle
CITE 2
Il complète l’enseignement de base et est d’ordinaire davantage structuré en disciplines et assuré par des enseignants plus spécialisés. L’entrée se fait normalement au terme de 6 ans d’enseignement primaire et sa durée est de 3 ans. Dans certains pays, la fin de ce niveau marque la fin de l’enseignement obligatoire.
Enseignement secondaire, deuxième cycle
CITE 3
L’enseignement est encore plus fortement spécialisé par discipline que dans le premier cycle du secondaire, les enseignants possédant des diplômes d’un niveau plus élevé. En règle générale, les élèves sont censés avoir accompli 9 années d’études ou achevé l’enseignement secondaire du premier cycle avant d’accéder à ce niveau et ils sont généralement âgés de 15 ou 16 ans.
Enseignement postsecondaire non tertiaire
CITE 4
D’un point de vue national, les formations à ce niveau peuvent être rattachées soit à l’enseignement secondaire du deuxième cycle, soit à l’enseignement postsecondaire, mais du point de vue des comparaisons internationales, leur situation est moins claire. Les contenus d’enseignement de ces cursus peuvent ne pas être d’un niveau beaucoup plus avancé que dans le deuxième cycle du secondaire et sont sans aucun doute d’un niveau inférieur à ceux de l’enseignement tertiaire. L’accès à ce niveau exige en règle générale d’avoir achevé un enseignement secondaire du deuxième cycle. La durée de cet enseignement représente d’ordinaire entre 6 mois et 2 ans d’études à temps plein.
Enseignement supérieur de cycle court
CITE 5
Les programmes du niveau 5 de la CITE, ou « enseignement supérieur de cycle court », sont conçus principalement pour enseigner aux participants des connaissances, aptitudes et compétences professionnelles. Habituellement, ils sont fondés sur la pratique, professionnellement spécifiques et ils préparent les étudiants à entrer sur le marché du travail. Toutefois, ces programmes peuvent aussi représenter une passerelle vers d’autres programmes de l’enseignement supérieur. Sont également classés au niveau 5 de la CITE les programmes académiques de l’enseignement supérieur dont le niveau se situe en dessous des programmes de niveau licence ou équivalent.
De façon générale, les programmes du niveau 5 de la CITE durent au minimum deux ans et au maximum trois ans, mais il y a des exceptions. Concernant les systèmes éducatifs avec des programmes modulaires où les certifications sont accordées sur la base du cumul des crédits, une durée et une intensité comparables sont exigées.
Niveau licence (baccalauréat) ou équivalent
CITE 6
Les cursus « longs » ont des contenus théoriques et visent à préparer les étudiants à accéder à des programmes de recherche de haut niveau ou à l’exercice de professions exigeant un niveau élevé de compétences comme la médecine, la dentisterie ou l’architecture. La durée de ces cursus représente au moins 3 années (mais plus souvent 4 années ou plus) d’études à temps plein. Ces programmes sont traditionellement offerts dans des établissements universitaires et peuvent aussi être offerts dans certains collèges.
Niveau master (maîtrise) ou équivalent
CITE 7
Les programmes du niveau 7 de la CITE, ou « niveau master ou équivalent », sont souvent destinés à enseigner aux participants des connaissances, aptitudes et compétences académiques et/ou professionnelles conduisant à un deuxième diplôme ou une certification équivalente. Les programmes de ce niveau peuvent avoir une composante importante de recherche mais ils ne conduisent pas encore à l’obtention d’une certification de doctorat.
Niveau doctorat ou équivalent
CITE 8
Ces cursus mènent directement à l’octroi d’un titre sanctionnant la recherche de haut niveau, par exemple un Ph.D. Dans la plupart des pays, la durée théorique de ces programmes est de 3 ans, à temps plein (pour une durée totale cumulée d’au moins 7 ans en équivalent temps plein au niveau tertiaire), bien que la durée d’inscription dans le programme soit généralement plus longue. Ces cursus sont consacrés à des études approfondies et à des travaux de recherche originaux.

Correspondance avec la CITE

Ce rapport utilise la Classification internationale type de l’éducation (CITE-2011) pour classer les programmes éducatifs et les plus hauts niveaux d’éducation complétés avec succès (niveau de scolarité). Nous reproduisons ci-dessous les tableaux de correspondance avec la terminologie plus familière au Canada, selon les sources de données utilisées pour les différents indicateurs.

Enquête sur la population active (EPA)
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Enquête sur la population active (EPA) . Les données sont présentées selon CITE (titres de rangée) et EPA (niveau de scolarité)(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
CITE EPA (niveau de scolarité)
CITE 0/1 8e année ou moins (Québec : Secondaire II ou moins)
CITE 2 9e à 10e année (Québec : Secondaire III ou IV, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador : 1re année du secondaire)
11e à 13e année (Québec : Secondaire V, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador : 2e à 4e année du secondaire) (sans diplôme)
CITE 3 11e à 13e année (Québec : Secondaire V, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador : 2e à 4e année du secondaire) (avec diplôme)
Études postsecondaires partielles (sans diplôme)
CITE 4   Diplôme ou certificat de métier d’une école de métiers ou à la suite d’une période d’apprentissage
CITE 5 Diplôme ou certificat non universitaire d’un collège communautaire, Cégep, école de sciences infirmières, etc.
Certificat universitaire inférieur au baccalauréat
CITE 6   Baccalauréat
CITE 7/8   Diplôme ou certificat universitaire supérieur au baccalauréat
Système d’information sur les étudiants postsecondaires (SIEP)
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Système d’information sur les étudiants postsecondaires (SIEP) . Les données sont présentées selon CITE (titres de rangée) et Inscription dans le SIEP (type de programme et sanction d’études décernée)(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
CITE Inscription dans le SIEP (type de programme et sanction d’études décernée)
CITE 5 · Programme de formation technique ou professionnelle (diplôme)
· Programme de post-formation technique ou professionnelle (certificat, diplôme, autre genre de sanction d’études associée à un programme)
CITE 6 · Programme de premier cycle (certificat, diplôme, grade [y compris un grade appliqué], attestation et autres sanctions d’études de programmes courts, grades associés, autre genre de sanction d’études associée à un programme)
· Programme postérieur au baccalauréat, excluant les études supérieures (certificat, diplôme, grade [y compris un grade appliqué], autre genre de sanction d’études associée à un programme)
· Programme préparatoire aux études supérieures de deuxième cycle (autre genre de sanction d’études associée à un programme)
CITE 7 · Programme préparatoire aux études supérieures de troisième cycle
· Programme de résidence dans le domaine de la santé (certificat, diplôme, grade [y compris un grade appliqué], autre genre de sanction d’études associée à un programme)
· Programme d’études supérieures - deuxième cycle (certificat, diplôme, grade [y compris un grade appliqué], attestation et autres sanctions d’études de programmes courts, autre genre de sanction d’études associée à un programme)
CITE 8 · Programme d’études supérieures – troisième cycle (diplôme, grade [y compris un grade appliqué], attestation et autres sanctions d’études de programmes courts)
· Programme d’études supérieures post troisième cycle (diplôme)

Niveaux d’enseignement déterminés en fonction des établissements ou des programmes

Historiquement, les programmes menant à un grade (catégorie CITE 6 ou supérieure) étaient principalement offerts par les universités. Toutefois, les programmes menant à un grade sont de plus en plus offerts par les collèges communautaires, les collèges universitaires et les instituts de technologie. Dans le document, les références aux programmes « universitaires » ou menant à un grade visent tous les programmes de la catégorie CITE 6 ou supérieure qui sont offerts par les universités et les collèges. En revanche, les programmes « collégiaux » font référence aux programmes de la catégorie CITE 5 qui étaient traditionnellement offerts par les collèges et ceux-ci représentent toujours la plus grande partie des programmes offerts par les collèges.

L’exception par rapport à cette terminologie a trait aux indicateurs dans le chapitre B du rapport. Le chapitre B fait état des données financières qui sont recueillies auprès des collèges et des universités. Par conséquent, lorsqu’on fait référence aux données des collèges dans le chapitre B, celles-ci comprennent toutes les données sur les programmes offerts par les collèges puisqu’il est impossible de séparer les données financières directement liées aux programmes de la catégorie CITE 6 ou supérieure des données financières directement liées aux programmes de la catégorie CITE 5.

Dans la CITE, les études « tertiaires » englobent la grande majorité des programmes universitaires ainsi que les programmes menant à un diplôme (2 ans et plus) ou à un grade offerts par les collèges.

Moyennes de l’OCDE

Comme indiqué dans Regards sur l’éducation de l’OCDE 2016 : Les indicateurs de l’OCDENote 2 :

La moyenne de l’OCDE est la moyenne non pondérée de tous les pays de l’OCDE dont les données sont disponibles ou peuvent être estimées. La moyenne des pays de l’OCDE correspond donc à la moyenne des valeurs obtenues au niveau des systèmes scolaires nationaux et peut être utilisée pour comparer l’indicateur d’un pays avec celui du pays « type » ou moyen. Elle ne tient pas compte de la taille absolue du système d’éducation de chaque pays.

Le manque de données peut biaiser considérablement les moyennes de l’OCDE. Étant donné le nombre relativement faible de pays étudiés, aucune méthode statistique n’est appliquée pour corriger ces biais. Dans les cas où une catégorie n’existe pas ou que sa valeur est d’un ordre de grandeur négligeable dans un pays, cette valeur est remplacée par une valeur nulle lors du calcul de la moyenne de l’OCDE. Si le numérateur et le dénominateur d’un ratio n’existent pas dans un pays, la moyenne de l’OCDE est calculée abstraction faite de ce pays.

Pays membres de l’OCDE

En 2016, les pays membres de l’OCDE sont : l’Allemagne, l’Australie, l’Autriche, la Belgique, le Canada, le Chili, la Corée (du Sud), le Danemark, l'Espagne, les États-Unis, l’Estonie, la Finlande, la France, la Grèce, la Hongrie, l’Irlande, l’Islande, Israël, l’Italie, le Japon, la Lettonie, le Luxembourg, le Mexique, la Norvège, la Nouvelle-Zélande, les Pays-Bas, la Pologne, le Portugal, la République slovaque, la République tchèque, le Royaume-Uni, la Slovénie, la Suède, la Suisse et la Turquie.

Pour les plus récentes statistiques internationales, veuillez consulter Regards sur l’éducation 2016 : Les indicateurs de l’OCDE à partir du site Web de l’OCDE à l’adresse www.ocde.org.

Comparaisons avec les pays du G7 et certains autres pays

Cette édition de la publication Indicateurs de l’éducation au Canada : une perspective internationale présente des données des pays du G7 et les compare à celles du Canada, le cas échéant. Les autres pays du G7 sont les États-Unis, la France, l’Allemagne, l’Italie, le Japon et le Royaume-Uni. Dans certains cas, des données de pays non membres du G7 sont présentées lorsque cela a été jugé approprié en raison d’un sujet particulier comme, par exemple, l’Australie et les effets liés à l’immigration.

Limites

Les indicateurs combinent des statistiques distinctes sur l’éducation et les mettent en contexte. Ce rapport présente une sélection d’indicateurs qui situent le Canada et les provinces/territoires dans une perspective internationale. Ceci dit, cela ne fournit qu’une image partielle de la performance du Canada, des provinces et des territoires. Même si les indicateurs peuvent illustrer des tendances et révéler des questions intéressantes, ils ne peuvent par eux-mêmes fournir des explications ou permettre de tirer des conclusions. Il faudra toujours mener des recherches additionnelles pour déterminer les causes sous-jacentes aux observations et suggérer des solutions. Le présent rapport vise à stimuler la réflexion et à promouvoir la discussion sur les questions liées à l’éducation.

Les indicateurs harmonisés présentés dans cette édition de 2016 sont alignés sur certains indicateurs de l’édition de 2016 de Regards sur l’éducation de l’OCDE et ils ont été sélectionnés en fonction de leur importance pour les secteurs de compétence et la disponibilité de données sur le Canada et sur ses provinces et territoires. Les définitions et méthodologies qui ont été adoptées pour le développement des indicateurs harmonisés ont été utilisées pour produire les données pour le Canada, les provinces et les territoires, et ces définitions et méthodologies peuvent différer de celles utilisées dans les provinces et les territoires. Conséquemment, les valeurs présentées dans ce rapport peuvent différer de celles publiées indépendamment par les provinces et les territoires.

Même si les données présentées pour le Canada à l’intérieur de ce rapport sont, pour la plupart, identiques à celles présentées par l’OCDE cette année dans Regards sur l’éducation (RSE), il peut arriver qu’elles diffèrent légèrement. Ces écarts ne s’expliquent pas par des différences méthodologiques ou l’utilisation des données provenant d’une autre année, mais par des révisions apportées aux données initialement fournies au moment de la Collecte de données UNESCO/OCDE/Eurostat (UOE) pour la production de RSE.

Il est préférable d’éviter de comparer, pour un indicateur donné, les résultats présentés dans ce rapport avec ceux présentés dans celui des éditions précédentes, puisque certains ajustements méthodologiques mineurs pourraient avoir été effectués, ou parce que certaines données utilisées dans le calcul des indicateurs pourraient avoir été révisées.

L’OCDE et d’autres organisations internationales fournissent des instructions et des définitions détaillées pour aider les pays à satisfaire les besoins relatifs à la collecte de données de manière à atteindre un niveau de comparabilité optimal. Cependant, il incombe aux pays de correctement appliquer ces directives à leurs données. La comparabilité peut être affectée par le degré de correspondance entre les concepts nationaux et les lignes directrices fournies, de même que par le niveau de correspondance établi avec la CITE. Pour plus de détails sur les plus récentes statistiques internationales, prière de consulter la publication RSE à partir du site Web de l’OCDE à l’adresse www.ocde.org.

Date de modification :