Statistics Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Table 1 Health regions reference maps

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Standard table symbols

Table 1 Health regions reference maps
Province 2011
Health regions and maps Units
Newfoundland and Labrador1 Regional Integrated Health Authorities
Prince Edward Island2 Health Region (82-583-X) 3
Nova Scotia3 , 6 District Health Authorities (DHA) (82-583-X) 9
New Brunswick4 Health (Hospital) Regions (82-583-X) 7
Quebec Régions sociosanitaires (RSS)
(Name changes only) (82-583-X)
Ontario5 Northern Public Health Units (PHU)
36 total PHUs
Southern (PHU) (82-583-X)
Local Health Integration Networks (LHIN) (82-583-X) 14
Manitoba6 Regional Health Authorities (82-583-X) 11
Saskatchewan6 Regional Health Authorities (82-583-X) 13
Alberta7 Zones (82-583-X) 5
British Columbia Health Service Delivery Areas (82-583-X) 16
Yukon The Northern Territories
Health Regions
Northwest Territories 1
Nunavut 1
1. Regional integrated health authorities came into effect March 1, 2005.
2. In November 2005 Prince Edward Island officially disbanded the four health regions. The three existing counties (census divisions) provide an alternative set of boundaries to retain relevant subprovincial CCHS data.
3. Minor name and code changes have been made to Nova Scotia health regions.
4. The province of New Brunswick has made minor name changes to its health regions. The Regions are now referred to as Zones.
5. Public health units (PHU) administer health promotion and disease prevention programs. District health councils (DHC) were advisory, health planning organizations. The DHCs were dissolved as of March 31, 2005. The Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care announced the creation of Local Health Integration Networks (LHIN) on April 1, 2005. LHINs are responsible for planning, funding and administering health care programs and services across the province.
6. For most data sources (with the exception of Census and Demographic population estimates), health region level data are not available for some regions in Nova Scotia as well as some northern health regions in Manitoba and Saskatchewan which have small populations. To avoid suppression in these areas where small numbers or sample size impact on data quality, data have been grouped with neighbouring regions, as follows:
  • South Shore District Health Authority, Nova Scotia (1211) is combined with South West Nova District Health Authority (1212) and referred to as “South Shore—South West Nova” (1210)
  • Colchester East Hants Health Authority, Nova Scotia (1234) is combined with Cumberland Health Authority (1235) and referred to as “Colchester East Hants—Cumberland” (1230)
  • Pictou County Health Authority, Nova Scotia (1246) is combined with Guysborough Antigonish Strait Health Authority (1247) and referred to as “Pictou County—Guysborough Antigonish Strait” (1240)
  • Churchill Regional Health Authority, Manitoba (4690) is combined with Burntwood Regional Health Authority (4680) and referred to as “Burntwood/Churchill” (4685); and,
  • Athabasca Health Authority, Saskatchewan (4713) is combined with Mamawetan Churchill River Regional Health Authority (4711) and Keewatin Yatthé Regional Health Authority (4712) and referred to as “Athabasca/Keewatin/Mamawetan” (4714).
7. In November 2010, five new zones were approved for use in Alberta by the Joint Alberta Health Services - Alberta Health and Wellness Geographies Committee. These five zones are aggregations of the previous nine Regional Health Authorities.
Source (s): Statistics Canada.