Juristat

2017

Police-reported sexual assaults in Canada, 2009 to 2014: A statistical profile

Release date: October 3, 2017

This Juristat article presents a statistical profile of sexual assaults reported by police in Canada between 2009 and 2014. A comprehensive analysis of incident, victim and accused characteristics over a six-year period is undertaken to offer a deeper understanding of those who commit sexual assault and those who are victims of it. For the first time, new analysis on the delay in reporting to police is presented.

Mandatory minimum penalties: An analysis of criminal justice system outcomes for selected offences

Release date: August 29, 2017

This Juristat article examines sentencing for offences occurring before and after the introduction or amendment of mandatory minimum penalties, using data from the Integrated Criminal Court Survey.

Police-reported crime statistics in Canada, 2016

Release date: July 24, 2017

This Juristat article explores trends in the volume and severity of police-reported crime at the national, provincial/territorial and census metropolitan area levels. Detailed information on changes in violent and non-violent criminal offences as well as impaired driving and drug offences are also presented.

Self-reported sexual assault in Canada, 2014

Release date: July 11, 2017

This Juristat article examines the characteristics and experiences of sexual assault victims, and their perceptions of safety. Characteristics of sexual assault offenders and incidents are discussed, as well as the emotional and physical consequences of sexual assault, and reporting sexual assault to the police.

Police-reported hate crime in Canada, 2015

Release date: June 13, 2017 Correction date: June 14, 2017

This Juristat article examines the nature and extent of police-reported hate crime in Canada. Key topics include motivations for hate crime (e.g. race/ethnicity, religion, and sexual orientation), types of offences, geographical comparisons and accused/victim characteristics.

Police resources in Canada, 2016

Release date: March 29, 2017

This Juristat article presents the latest data on the number of police officers and civilian personnel, as well as demographic and financial data at the national, provincial and territorial, and municipal levels.

Adult correctional statistics in Canada, 2015/2016

Release date: March 1, 2017

This Juristat article provides an overview of adult correctional services in Canada for 2015/2016. It presents three indicators that describe the use of correctional services: average daily counts, admissions and initial entry.

Youth correctional statistics in Canada, 2015/2016

Release date: March 1, 2017

This Juristat article presents an overview of youth correctional services in Canada for 2015/2016. The utilization of correctional services is described in this article using three measures: average counts, initial entry and admissions.

Adult criminal court statistics in Canada, 2014/2015

Release date: February 21, 2017

This Juristat examines the number and types of cases completed in adult criminal courts. Characteristics of the accused, case decisions, types of sentences imposed and case completion times are also explored.

Family violence in Canada: A statistical profile, 2015

Release date: February 16, 2017

This Juristat article profiles a general overview of family violence in Canada and features an in-depth analysis of self-reported childhood physical and sexual abuse in Canada, as well as the issue of children witnessing violence in the home.

Measuring organized crime in Canada: Results of a pilot project

Release date: January 18, 2017

This Juristat article provides an overview of existing measures of organized crime in Canada and raises awareness regarding data availability and the efforts being made to collect national police-reported data through the Uniform Crime Reporting Survey.

Trends in the use of remand in Canada, 2004/2005 to 2014/2015

Release date: January 10, 2017

This Juristat article explores trends in the use of remand in Canada over the decade, from 2004/2005 to 2014/2015, in order to better understand the recent evolution in the use of pre-trial custody across the country.



Date modified:

Juristat

2017

Les agressions sexuelles déclarées par la police au Canada, 2009 à 2014 : un profil statistique

Date de diffusion : Le 3 octobre 2017

Cet article de Juristat présente un profil statistique des agressions sexuelles déclarées par la police au Canada au cours de la période allant de 2009 à 2014. On y trouve une analyse exhaustive des caractéristiques des affaires, des victimes et des auteurs présumés sur une période de six ans afin de mieux comprendre le profil des personnes qui commettent des agressions sexuelles et de celles qui en sont victimes. Pour la première fois, on présente une nouvelle analyse du temps mis pour signaler les incidents d’agression sexuelle à la police.

Peines minimales obligatoires : Analyse des résultats du système de justice pénale pour certaines infractions

Date de diffusion : Le 29 août 2017

Le présent article de Juristat porte sur la détermination des peines pour les infractions s’étant produites avant et après l’établissement ou la modification des peines minimales obligatoires. Il repose sur les données de l’Enquête intégrée sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle.

Statistiques sur les crimes déclarés par la police au Canada, 2016

Date de diffusion : Le 24 juillet 2017

Le présent article de Juristat traite des tendances relatives au volume et à la gravité des crimes déclarés par la police à l’échelon du Canada, des provinces et territoires, et des régions métropolitaines de recensement. On présente des renseignements détaillés sur les variations des infractions criminelles avec violence et sans violence, des infractions de conduite avec facultés affaiblies et des infractions relatives aux drogues.

Les agressions sexuelles autodéclarées au Canada, 2014

Date de diffusion : Le 11 juillet 2017

Le présent article du Juristat traite des caractéristiques et des expériences des victimes d’agression sexuelle, ainsi que de leurs perceptions au sujet de leur sécurité. Les caractéristiques des agresseurs et des agressions sexuelles sont aussi abordées, en plus des conséquences émotionnelles et physiques des agressions sexuelles, et du signalement des agressions sexuelles à la police.

Les crimes haineux déclarés par la police au Canada, 2015

Date de diffusion : Le 13 juin 2017 Date de correction : Le 14 juin 2017

Le présent article du Juristat porte sur la nature et l'étendue des crimes haineux déclarés par la police au Canada. Les principaux sujets comprennent les facteurs motivant les crimes de haine (p. ex. la race ou l'origine ethnique, la religion et l'orientation sexuelle), les types d'infractions, des comparaisons entre les régions, et les caractéristiques des victimes et des auteurs présumés.

Les ressources policières au Canada, 2016

Date de diffusion : Le 29 mars 2017

Cet article de Juristat contient les données les plus récentes sur le nombre de policiers et d’employés civils, ainsi que des données financières et démographiques à l’échelle nationale, provinciale, territoriale et municipale.

Statistiques sur les services correctionnels pour adultes au Canada, 2015-2016

Date de diffusion : Le 1 mars 2017

Le présent article de Juristat offre une vue d’ensemble des services correctionnels pour adultes au Canada en 2015-2016. On y présente des statistiques sur trois indicateurs qui caractérisent l’utilisation des services correctionnels : les comptes quotidiens moyens, les admissions et l’admission initiale.

Statistiques sur les services correctionnels pour les jeunes au Canada, 2015-2016

Date de diffusion : Le 1 mars 2017

Le présent article de Juristat offre une vue d’ensemble des services correctionnels pour les jeunes au Canada pour l’exercice 2015-2016. On y décrit l’utilisation des services correctionnels au moyen de trois mesures, soit les comptes moyens, l’admission initiale et les admissions.

Statistiques sur les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes au Canada, 2014-2015

Date de diffusion : Le 21 février 2017

Dans le présent article du Juristat, on examine le nombre et les types de causes qui sont réglées par les tribunaux de juridiction criminelle pour adultes. On explore également les caractéristiques des accusés, des décisions, des types de peines imposées et de la durée de traitement des causes.

La violence familiale au Canada : un profil statistique, 2015

Date de diffusion : Le 16 février 2017

Cet article de Juristat donne un aperçu général de la violence familiale au Canada. Il comprend une analyse approfondie de la violence physique et sexuelle subie durant l’enfance et autodéclarée au Canada, ainsi que de la question des enfants qui sont témoins d’actes de violence à la maison.

Mesurer le crime organisé au Canada : résultats d’un projet pilote

Date de diffusion : Le 18 janvier 2017

Le présent article de Juristat offre une vue d’ensemble des mesures en place du crime organisé au Canada. De plus, il fait connaître les données disponibles et les efforts déployés afin de recueillir les données policières à l’échelon national dans le cadre du Programme de déclaration uniforme de la criminalité.

Tendances de l’utilisation de la détention provisoire au Canada, 2004-2005 à 2014-2015

Date de diffusion : Le 10 janvier 2017

Le présent article de Juristat porte sur les tendances de l’utilisation de la détention provisoire au Canada au cours de la décennie allant de 2004-2005 à 2014-2015, et il permet de mieux comprendre l’évolution récente de l’utilisation de la détention avant procès dans l’ensemble du pays.



Date de modification :