Conceptual Framework for Culture Statistics 2011


The Conceptual Framework for Culture Statistics 2011 was written by Marla Waltman Daschko, former Chief of Statistics Canada's Culture Statistics Program. The work involved extensive consultation and research to update and expand the original 2004 Canadian conceptual framework. We gratefully acknowledge the expertise she brought to the project and her enthusiasm for the subject matter.

The 2011 Canadian Framework for Culture Statistics is the result of a long-standing and close collaborative effort between the Culture Statistics Program of Statistics Canada and the Department of Canadian Heritage. The enthusiastic participation of our many colleagues at Canadian Heritage was instrumental at every stage in the development of this framework.

The members of Statistics Canada's National Advisory Committee on Culture Statistics provided excellent advice and practical guidance throughout the extensive process to revise the framework. Many other organizations provided valuable insights – the Canadian Conference of the Arts, L'institut de la statistique du Québec, the Canada Council for the Arts, provincial and territorial governments and agencies, and a large number of associations and industry organisations. Constructive feedback and advice was received from Statistics Canada's Standards Division, and Chris Jackson of the System of National Accounts. Many members of the Culture Statistics Program were important collaborators in this process. Of note is former Assistant Director Richard Vincent, a valued colleague, who provided substantive input and immeasurable support throughout the process. The vital support of current colleagues Mary Allen, Erika Dugas and John Zhao, fundamental players in the revision of the framework, cannot be overestimated. The 2011 framework builds on the solid foundation produced by the team that developed the original 2004 Canadian Framework for Culture Statistics; their contribution is gratefully acknowledged.

Date modified:

Cadre conceptuel pour les statistiques de la culture 2011

Remerciements

Le Cadre conceptuel pour les statistiques de la culture 2011 a été rédigé par Marla Waltman Daschko, qui a auparavant œuvré à Statistique Canada à titre de Chef du Programme de la statistique de la culture. Le travail comprenait une importante consultation ainsi qu'une recherche approfondie afin de mettre à jour et d'élargir le cadre conceptuel de 2004. Nous sommes reconnaissants de l'expertise qu'elle a su apporter au projet ainsi que de son enthousiasme pour la spécialité.

Le Cadre canadien pour les statistiques de la culture 2011 est le fruit d'une longue et étroite collaboration entre le Programme de la statistique de la culture de Statistique Canada et le ministère du Patrimoine canadien. La participation enthousiaste de bon nombre de nos collègues à Patrimoine canadien s'est avérée un atout précieux à chaque étape de l'élaboration du présent cadre.

Les membres du Comité consultatif national de la statistique culturelle de Statistique Canada ont fourni d'excellents conseils et de l'encadrement utile tout au long du processus rigoureux de révision du cadre. De nombreux autres organismes ont offert des commentaires précieux : la Conférence canadienne des arts, l'Institut de la statistique du Québec, le Conseil des Arts du Canada, les gouvernements et organismes provinciaux et territoriaux, ainsi qu'un grand nombre d'associations et d'organismes de l'industrie. Des commentaires et des conseils constructifs ont été reçus de la Division des normes de Statistique Canada, ainsi que de Chris Jackson, du Système de comptabilité nationale. Plusieurs membres du Programme de la statistique de la culture ont été d'importants collaborateurs au projet. Nous tenons à souligner, entre autres, la participation de l'ancien directeur adjoint Richard Vincent, un collègue fort apprécié, dont l'apport et le soutien ont été d'une valeur inestimable tout au long du processus. Nous souhaitons également souligner le soutien précieux de nos collègues actuels Mary Allen, Erika Dugas et John Zhao, qui ont joué un rôle fondamental dans la révision du cadre. Le cadre de 2011 s'appuie sur la base solide qui a été mise en place par l'équipe chargée de la version originale de 2004 du Cadre canadien pour les statistiques culturelles ; nous les remercions de leur contribution.

Date de modification :