Publications

    Caring Canadians, Involved Canadians: Tables Report, 2010

    Caring Canadians, Involved Canadians: Tables Report

    Skip to text

    Text begins

    Introduction

    The 2010 Canada Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating (CSGVP) was undertaken to better understand how Canadians support one another. While some may decide to engage in such activities on their own, others choose to contribute through a charitable and non-profit organization. To achieve this goal, over 15,000 Canadians aged 15 and over were asked how they: gave money and other resources to individuals and to organizations; and volunteered time to help others and to enhance their communities.

    A first look at the findings from the CSGVP shows that Canadians from all walks of life are willing and able to reach out and help others. Men and women, young and old, from every province and territory donate their time and money to a variety of causes.

    This report provides an overview of provincial and territorial indicators that measure giving and volunteering activities in 2010. It also describes key indicators in national findings since the 2007 CSGVP.

    This is the first of four releases from the 2010 Canadian Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating. Starting in the spring of 2012, Canadian Social Trends will be presenting a series of in-depth analytical articles that will explore the topics of charitable giving, volunteering, employer support to charitable behaviours and new Canadians.

    Summary of Main Findings

    The vast majority of Canadians1 provided either time or money to charitable and non-profit organizations in 2010. The total amount of money they donated and the total number of hours they volunteered has remained stable since 2007.

    Nearly 24 million people or 84% of the population aged 15 and over, made a financial donation to a charitable or non-profit organization, for a total amount of $10.6 billion. Both the percentage of the population donating and the amount of the donations were relatively unchanged from 2007.

    At the same time, more than 13.3 million people, or 47% of the population, volunteered their time through a group or organization.

    Canadians volunteered nearly 2.1 billion hours in 2010, the equivalent of close to 1.1 million full-time jobs2. The total number of hours remains relatively unchanged from 2007. The hours volunteered for the 2010 Vancouver Olympics represent approximately 0.7% of this total.

    Average donation,volunteer hours remain stable

    The average annual donation in 2010 amounted to $446 per donor. This is comparable to the average annual donation in 2007. Those who gave the most were more likely to be older, to have higher household income and formal education, or to attend weekly religious services or meetings.

    Canadians who volunteered did so for an average of 156 hours in 2010; this is relatively unchanged from three years earlier.

    As in 2007, survey findings show that on average, a smaller proportion of the population volunteer many hours while a greater proportion of the population volunteer fewer hours.

    Those who volunteered the most hours tended to be older, widowed and no longer in the workforce. They were also likely to not have any children at home and to attend weekly religious services or meetings. However, the highest rates of volunteering were found among Canadians who were younger, were single or in a relationship, or had young children at home.

    More donors in the east, higher donations in the west

    Provincially, the donor rate to charitable and non-profit organizations was highest in the Atlantic provinces, while donors in the western provinces donated higher average amounts in general. This pattern is for the most part unchanged from 2007.

    The donor rates for Newfoundland and Labrador (92%) and in Prince Edward Island (91%) were among the highest in country and significantly above the national average of 84%.

    In contrast, the donor rates for Northwest Territories and Nunavut were the lowest. Approximately 60% of the surveyed population in Northwest Territories and 59% in Nunavut made donations in 2010.

    Average donations from Alberta, Saskatchewan and British Columbia were among the highest in Canada. Donors from these provinces gave on average $562, $544 and $543 respectively to a charitable or non-profit organization in 2010.

    Conversely, average donations were lowest in Quebec ($208). Nunavut ($344) and Newfoundland and Labrador ($331) were also among those with the lowest average annual donation in 2010.

    Volunteers in all provinces and territories

    In terms of volunteering, Saskatchewan and Prince Edward Island were among the provinces with the highest rates: over 55% of those aged 15 and over volunteered through a group or organization. This is significantly higher than the national average of 47%.

    Northwest Territories and Quebec were among the provinces and territories with the lowest volunteer rates across Canada. The survey findings show that less than 40% of their populations aged 15 and over volunteered time in 2010.

    Volunteers from Nova Scotia (207) were among those with the highest average hours volunteered in 2010. On the other hand, Yukon and Quebec were among those with the lowest average hours volunteered in 2010. Volunteers from these provinces gave approximately 130 hours on average in 2010.

    Conclusion

    This report provides a summary of key national, provincial and territorial indicators from the 2010 Canada Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating. All of the behaviours measured in the survey—giving, volunteering and helping—rely on a complex set of factors to initiate and uphold them. The report is the first step to understanding the characteristics of the Canadians who undertake these activities.

    Findings from the 2010 Canada Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating show that Canadians across the country and in all walks of life express their kindness in a variety of ways. Over 8 in 10 (84%) donate money to charities and non-profit organizations, unchanged from 2007. Just under 5 in 10 (47%) have volunteered their time to an organization.

    Although the majority of Canadians engage in these behaviours, the extent of their involvement varies greatly. The size of the donations ranged from $5 to thousands of dollars, with an average donation of $446 in 2010. The number of hours volunteered varied from one hour to a few thousand hours, with volunteers contributing an average of 156 hours during the year.

    Starting in the spring of 2012, Canadian Social Trends will be presenting a series of analytical articles that will explore in more depth the topics of charitable giving, volunteering, employer support to charitable behaviours and new Canadians.


    Notes

    1. The term Canadians is used throughout this publication to refer to the population targeted by the survey. Residents of Canada who were not Canadian citizens may have been respondents to this survey.
    2. Assuming 40 hours per week for 48 weeks.
    Date modified:

Canadiens dévoués, Canadiens engagés : rapport de tableaux, 2010

Passer au texte

Début du texte

Introduction

L'Enquête canadienne sur le don, le bénévolat et la participation (ECDBP) de 2010 a été entreprise afin de mieux comprendre la façon dont les Canadiens s'entraident. Bien que certains peuvent décider de se livrer à ces activités par eux-mêmes, d'autres choisissent de faire leur contribution par l'entremise d'organismes sans but lucratif et de bienfaisance. À cette fin, on a demandé à plus de 15 000 Canadiens de 15 ans et plus comment ils donnent de l'argent et d'autres ressources à des personnes et des organismes; et comment ils donnent bénévolement de leur temps pour aider les autres et améliorer leur collectivité.

Un premier coup d'œil sur les résultats de l'ECDBP révèle que les Canadiens de toutes conditions sociales acceptent et sont capables de tendre la main pour aider leur prochain. Les hommes et les femmes, les jeunes et les personnes âgées, de chaque province et territoire donnent de leur temps et de leur argent à diverses causes.

Ce rapport présente une vue d'ensemble des indicateurs provinciaux et territoriaux qui mesurent les activités de don et de bénévolat en 2010. Il décrit également les principaux indicateurs des constatations nationales depuis l'ECDBP de 2007.

Il s'agit du premier d'une série de quatre communiqués de l'Enquête canadienne sur le don, le bénévolat et la participation de 2010. À compter du printemps 2012, Tendances sociales canadiennes publiera une série d'articles d'analyse pour approfondir les thèmes des dons de bienfaisance, du bénévolat, de l'appui de l'employeur aux comportements de bienfaisance et des néo-Canadiens.

Sommaire des principales constatations

La grande majorité des Canadiens1 ont donné du temps ou de l'argent à des organismes de bienfaisance ou sans but lucratif en 2010. Le montant total de leurs dons d'argent ainsi que le nombre total d'heures qu'ils ont consacrées au bénévolat sont demeurés stables depuis 2007.

Presque 24 millions de personnes, ou 84 % de la population de 15 ans et plus, ont fait un don financier à un organisme de bienfaisance ou sans but lucratif, pour une somme totale de 10,6 milliards de dollars. Tant le pourcentage de la population faisant un don et le montant des dons ont été relativement inchangés par rapport à 2007.

En même temps, plus de 13,3 millions de personnes, ou 47 % de la population, ont donné bénévolement de leur temps par l'entremise d'un groupe ou d'un organisme.

Les Canadiens ont fait près de 2,1 milliards d'heures de bénévolat en 2010, soit l'équivalent de près de 1,1 million d'emplois à plein temps2. Le nombre total d'heures demeure relativement le même qu'en 2007. Le nombre d'heures de bénévolat consacrées aux Olympiques de 2010 à Vancouver représente environ 0,7 % de ce total.

Don annuel moyen, heures de bénévolat demeurent stable

Le don annuel moyen en 2010 s'est élevé à 446 $ par donateur. Cela se compare au don annuel moyen de 2007. Ceux qui ont donné le plus étaient plus susceptibles d'être plus âgés, à avoir un revenu du ménage plus élevé et une formation scolaire, ou à assister à des services ou rassemblements religieux chaque semaine.

Les Canadiens qui ont fait du bénévolat en ont fait pour 156 heures en moyenne en 2010; c'est relativement le même montant d'heures que trois ans plus tôt.

Tout comme en 2007, l'enquête démontre, qu'en moyenne, une plus petite proportion de la population fait un grand nombre d'heures de bénévolat alors qu'une plus grande proportion de la population contribue moins d'heures.

Ceux qui ont fait le plus grand nombre d'heures de bénévolat avaient tendance à être plus âgés, veuves ou veufs et déjà sortis du marché du travail. Ils étaient également susceptibles de ne pas avoir d'enfants à la maison et d'assister à des services ou rassemblements religieux chaque semaine. Cependant, les taux les plus élevés de bénévolat ont été observés chez les Canadiens qui étaient plus jeunes, étaient célibataires ou dans une relation, ou qui avaient de jeunes enfants à la maison.

Plus de donateurs dans l'est, de plus grands dons dans l'ouest

Au niveau provincial, le taux de donateurs aux organismes de bienfaisance et sans but lucratif était le plus élevé dans les provinces de l'Atlantique, tandis que les donateurs des provinces de l'Ouest faisaient, en général, des dons moyens de sommes plus élevées. Cette tendance est essentiellement inchangée par rapport à 2007.

Les taux de donateurs à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (92 %) et à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (91 %) étaient parmi les plus élevés au pays et nettement supérieurs à la moyenne nationale de 84 %.

En revanche, les taux de donateurs dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et au Nunavut étaient les plus faibles. Environ 60 % de la population soumise à l'enquête dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et 59 % au Nunavut ont fait des dons en 2010.

Les dons moyens en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et en Colombie-Britannique étaient parmi les plus élevés au Canada. Les donateurs de ces provinces ont donné en moyenne 562 $, 544 $ et 543 $ respectivement à un organisme de bienfaisance ou sans but lucratif en 2010.

À l'inverse, les dons moyens étaient les plus bas au Québec (208 $). Nunavut (344 $) et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (331 $) étaient aussi parmi ceux où le don annuel moyen a été le plus faible en 2010.

Bénévoles dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires

Au niveau du bénévolat, la Saskatchewan et l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard étaient parmi les provinces ayant les plus hauts taux : plus de 55 % des 15 ans et plus ont fait du bénévolat par l'entremise d'un groupe ou d'un organisme. C'est significativement plus élevé que la moyenne nationale de 47 %.

Les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Québec étaient parmi les provinces et territoires affichant les plus bas taux de bénévolat à l'échelle du Canada. Les résultats de l'enquête révèlent que moins de 40 % de leurs populations âgées de 15 ans et plus ont donné bénévolement de leur temps en 2010.

Les bénévoles de la Nouvelle-Écosse (207) étaient parmi ceux ayant le plus grand nombre moyen d'heures de bénévolat en 2010. Par ailleurs, le Yukon et le Québec étaient parmi ceux ayant la plus basse moyenne d'heures de bénévolat en 2010. Les bénévoles de ces provinces ont donné environ 130 heures en moyenne en 2010.

Conclusion

Le présent rapport résume les principaux indicateurs de l'Enquête canadienne sur le don, le bénévolat et la participation de 2010 aux niveaux national, provincial et territorial. Tous les comportements mesurés par l'enquête – le don, le bénévolat et l'aide directe – dépendent d'un ensemble complexe de facteurs qui les stimulent et les soutiennent. Le rapport est la première étape qui aidera à comprendre les caractéristiques des Canadiens qui s'engagent à ces activités.

Les résultats de l'Enquête canadienne sur le don, le bénévolat et la participation de 2010 révèlent que les Canadiens de tous les coins du pays et de toutes conditions sociales expriment leur générosité de diverses façons. Plus de 8 sur 10 (84 %) donnent de l'argent à des organismes de bienfaisance et sans but lucratif, ce qui est inchangé par rapport à 2007. Un peu moins de 5 sur 10 (47 %) ont donné bénévolement de leur temps à un organisme.

Bien que la majorité des Canadiens s'adonnent à ces comportements, l'ampleur de leur participation varie considérablement. La valeur des dons a varié de 5 $ à des milliers de dollars, le don moyen étant de 446 $ en 2010. Le nombre d'heures de bénévolat a varié de 1 heure à quelques milliers d'heures; les bénévoles consacrant en moyenne 156 heures de leur temps durant l'année.

À compter du printemps 2012, Tendances sociales canadiennes présentera une série d'articles d'analyse pour approfondir les sujets des dons de bienfaisance, du bénévolat, de l'appui de l'employeur aux comportements de bienfaisance et des néo-Canadiens.


Notes

  1. Dans la présente publication, le terme Canadiens renvoie à la population visée par l'enquête. Les répondants à l'enquête peuvent comprendre des résidents du Canada n'ayant pas la citoyenneté canadienne.
  2. À raison de 40 heures par semaine pendant 48 semaines.
Date de modification :