Economic region (ER)

Detailed definition

An economic region (ER) is a grouping of complete census divisions (CDs) (with one exception in Ontario) created as a standard geographic unit for analysis of regional economic activity.

Image of economic region

Census years

2011, 2006, 2001, 1996 (economic region)
1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971 (subprovincial region)


Within the province of Quebec, economic regions (régions administratives) are designated by law. In all other provinces and territories, economic regions (ERs) are created by agreement between Statistics Canada and the province/territory concerned. Prince Edward Island and the three territories each consist of one ER. In Ontario, there is one exception where the ER boundary does not respect census division boundaries: the census division of Halton is split between the ER of Hamilton--Niagara Peninsula and the ER of Toronto.

Each economic region is assigned a two-digit code. In order to uniquely identify each ER in Canada, the two-digit province/territory (PR) code must precede the two-digit ER code. For example:

Table - Example of economic region codes
PR-ER code ER name
10 10 Avalon Peninsula (N.L.)
35 10 Ottawa (Ont.)

Changes to economic regions for the 2011 Census

In New Brunswick, the boundary between Campbellton--Miramichi (ER 13 10) and Fredericton--Oromocto (ER 13 40) was affected because part of Stanley, P (CSD 13 10 036) was taken from York (CD 13 10) and annexed to Upper Miramichi, RCR (CSD 13 09 027) in Northumberland (CD 13 09).

In Ontario, the boundary between London (ER 35 60) and Stratford--Bruce Peninsula (ER 35 80) was affected because part of Perth East, TP (CSD 35 31 030) was taken from Perth (CD 35 31) and annexed to East Zorra-Tavistock, TP (CSD 35 32 038) in Oxford (CD 35 32).

In Alberta, the boundary between Edmonton (ER 48 60) and Banff--Jasper--Rocky Mountain House (ER 48 40) was affected because part of Yellowhead County, MD (48 14 003) was taken from Division No. 14 (CD 48 14) and annexed to Brazeau County, MD (CSD 48 11 032) in Division No. 11 (CD 48 11).

Table 1 in the Introduction shows the number of economic regions by province and territory.

Refer to the related definitions of census division (CD); census subdivision (CSD) and Standard Geographical Classification (SGC).

Changes prior to the current census

In 2006, the composition of West Coast--Northern Peninsula--Labrador (ER 10 30) in Newfoundland and Labrador changed due to the creation of the new census division, Division No. 11 (CD 10 11). In Quebec, the composition of Chaudière-Appalaches (ER 24 25) changed due to the dissolution of the CD of Desjardins (CD 24 24). In Manitoba, the boundary between Southwest (ER 46 30) and Parklands (ER 46 70) changed due to a CSD boundary change. Finally, in British Columbia, the composition of Lower Mainland--Southwest (ER 59 20) and Thompson--Okanagan (ER 59 30) were affected by CSD changes that did not, however, result in a boundary change.

For 2001, the province of Quebec increased the number of economic regions from 16 to 17.

The boundary between Centre-du-Québec (ER 24 33) and Estrie (ER 24 30) was modified because of a CSD change. Also, the name of the région administrative of Québec (ER 24 20) was changed to Capitale-Nationale (ER 24 20).

In Ontario, the boundary between Muskoka--Kawarthas (ER 35 20) and Kingston--Pembroke (ER 35 15) was modified because of CSD changes.

In Alberta, five economic regions were affected by boundary and name changes of census divisions. Boundary changes included moving CD 48 09 from ER 48 50 to ER 48 40, moving CD 48 10 from ER 48 80 to ER 48 20, and moving CD 48 13 from ER 48 40 to ER 48 70. The name changes included Camrose--Drumheller (ER 48 20), Banff--Jasper--Rocky Mountain House (ER 48 40), Red Deer (ER 48 50), Athabasca--Grande Prairie--Peace River (ER 48 70), and Wood Buffalo--Cold Lake (ER 48 80).

Date modified:

Région économique (RE)

Définition détaillée

Une région économique (RE) est constituée d'un groupe de divisions de recensement (DR) entières (sauf pour un cas en Ontario). Ces régions sont créées comme une unité géographique normalisée et servent à l'analyse de l'activité économique régionale.

Image de région économique

Recensements

2011, 2006, 2001, 1996 (région économique)
1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971 (région infraprovinciale)

Remarques

Au Québec, les régions économiques sont désignées en vertu d'une loi (elles ont pour nom « régions administratives »). Dans toutes les autres provinces et territoires, les régions économiques (RE) sont établies conformément à une entente entre Statistique Canada et la province ou le territoire en question. L'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et les trois territoires forment chacun une RE. En Ontario, il existe une exception où les limites de l'une des régions économiques ne correspondent pas à celles de la division de recensement (la division de recensement de Halton est fractionnée entre la RE de Hamilton--Niagara Peninsula et la RE de Toronto).

Un code à deux chiffres est attribué à chaque région économique. Afin d'identifier de façon unique chaque RE du Canada, il faut que ce code soit précédé du code de province/territoire (PR) à deux chiffres. Par exemple :

Tableau - Des exemple de codes de région économique
Code de PR-RE Nom de la RE
10 10 Avalon Peninsula (T.-N.-L.)
35 10 Ottawa (Ont.)

Changements apportés aux régions économiques pour le Recensement de 2011

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, la limite entre Campbellton--Miramichi (RE 13 10) et Fredericton--Oromocto (RE 13 40) a été touchée lorsqu'une partie de Stanley, P (SDR 13 10 036) faisant partie de York (DR 13 10) a été annexée à Upper Miramichi, RCR (SDR 13 09 027) dans Northumberland (DR 13 09).

En Ontario, la limite entre London (RE 35 60) et Stratford--Bruce Peninsula (RE 35 80) a été touchée lorsqu'une partie de Perth East, TP (SDR 35 31 030) faisant partie de Perth (DR 35 31) a été annexée à East Zorra-Tavistock, TP (SDR 35 32 038) dans Oxford (DR 35 32).

En Alberta, la limite entre Edmonton (RE 48 60) et Banff--Jasper--Rocky Mountain House (RE 48 40) a été touchée lorsqu'une partie de Yellowhead County, MD (48 14 003) faisant partie de la Division No. 14 (DR 48 14) a été annexée à Brazeau County, MD (SDR 48 11 032) dans la Division No. 11 (DR 48 11).

Le tableau 1 de l'Introduction donne le nombre de régions économiques selon la province et le territoire.

Se reporter aux définitions de Classification géographique type (CGT); division de recensement (DR) et subdivision de recensement (SDR)

Changements antérieurs au recensement courant

En 2006, la composition de Côte-ouest--Northern Peninsula--Labrador (RE 10 30) à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a été modifiée à la suite de la création d'une nouvelle division de recensement, soit la Division No. 11 (DR 10 11). Au Québec, la composition de Chaudière-Appalaches (RE 24 25) a été modifiée en raison de la dissolution de la DR de Desjardins (DR 24 24). Au Manitoba, la limite entre Sud-ouest (RE 46 30) et Parklands (RE 46 70) a été touchée à la suite d'une modification à la limite de la SDR. En dernier lieu, en Colombie-Britannique, la composition de Lower Mainland--Sud-ouest (RE 59 20) et Thompson--Okanagan (RE 59 30) a été touchée, cela n'a toutefois pas entraîné de modification des limites.

En 2001, le nombre de régions économiques de la province de Québec est passé de 16 à 17. Le Centre-du-Québec (RE 24 33) et Estrie (RE 24 30) a été modifié suite à un changement apporté à la SDR. De plus, le nom de la région administrative de Québec (RE 24 20) est devenu la Capitale-Nationale (RE 24 20). En Ontario, la limite entre Muskoka--Kawarthas (RE 35 20) et Kingston--Pembroke (RE 35 15) a été modifiée à la suite de changements apportés aux SDR. En Alberta, cinq régions économiques ont été touchées par les changements apportés aux limites et aux noms des divisions de recensement.

Les modifications aux limites ont été faites comme suit : la DR 48 09 a été retirée de la RE 48 50 et a été incluse dans la RE 48 40, la DR 48 10 a été retirée de la RE 48 80 et a été incluse dans la RE 48 20 et la DR 48 13 a été retirée de la RE 48 40 et a été incluse dans la RE 48 70. Les modifications aux noms incluent : Camrose--Drumheller (RE 48 20), Banff--Jasper--Rocky Mountain House (RE 48 40), Red Deer (RE 48 50), Athabasca--Grande Prairie--Peace River (RE 48 70) et Wood Buffalo--Cold Lake (RE 48 80).

Date de modification :