Geographical region of Canada 

Detailed definition

The geographical regions of Canada are groupings of provinces and territories established for the purpose of statistical reporting. The six geographical regions of Canada are:

  • Atlantic
  • Quebec
  • Ontario
  • Prairies
  • British Columbia
  • Territories

Image of geographical region of Canada

Census years



Refer to the related definition of Standard Geographical Classification (SGC).

Date modified: