Administrative areas

Administrative areas are defined, with a few exceptions, by federal and provincial statutes and are adopted for purposes of the census. Administrative areas supported by Statistics Canada include:

  • Province and territory
  • Federal electoral district (commonly called federal ridings)
  • Census division (regional government areas such as counties and regional districts)
  • Census subdivision (commonly known as municipalities)
  • Designated place (submunicipal areas such as local service districts)
  • Postal codeOM (defined and maintained by Canada Post Corporation)
Date modified: