Cartographic boundary files (CBFs)

Detailed definition

Cartographic boundary files (CBFs) portray the boundaries of standard geographic areas together with the shoreline around Canada. Selected inland lakes and rivers are available as supplementary layers.

Image of cartographic boundary  file

Censuses

2011, 2006, 2001 (cartographic boundary files)
1996 (digital cartographic files)
1991, 1986, 1981, 1976 (CARTLIBs)

Remarks

The boundaries of the geographic areas reflect those in effect on January 1, 2011 (the geographic reference date for the 2011 Census of Canada).

Cartographic boundary files are created by integrating Canada's external shoreline with the selected source boundary layer from the Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI). The boundaries extending into water bodies are 'erased' and replaced by the shoreline and offshore islands. The hydrographic features are also from the SDI. Further adjustments are made, such as the feature selection and the ranking of features for scale-dependent mapping.

Cartographic boundary files (CBFs) are intended for thematic mapping and analysis purposes. The positional accuracy does not support cadastral, surveying or engineering applications. CBFs can be used in conjunction with road network files (RNFs), since both products are derived from the same sources, and features are generalized in the same manner. The roads in RNFs provide additional geographic context when used with CBFs. CBFs can be used with Census of Population, Census of Agriculture or other Statistics Canada data. Geographic codes provide the linkage between the statistical data and geographic areas.

The maps in Figure 4 below show the differences between cartographic boundary files and digital boundary files.

Figure 4
Example of a cartographic boundary file and a digital boundary file (provinces and territories)

Figure 4 Example of a cartographic boundary file and a digital boundary file (provinces and territories)

Description for Figure 4

Source: Statistics Canada, 2011 Census of Population.

Refer to the related definitions of digital boundary files (DBFs); road network file (RNF); Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI) and to the Boundary Files, Reference Guide (Catalogue no. 92-160-G).

Date modified:

Fichiers des limites cartographiques (FLC)

Définition détaillée

Les fichiers des limites cartographiques (FLC) contiennent les limites des régions géographiques normalisées ainsi que le littoral canadien. Certains lacs intérieurs et cours d'eau sont inclus dans les couches supplémentaires.

Image des fichiers des limites cartographiques

Recensements

2011, 2006, 2001 (fichiers des limites cartographiques)
1996 (fichiers numériques cartographiques)
1991, 1986, 1981, 1976 (CARTLIB)

Remarques

Les limites des régions géographiques utilisées sont celles qui étaient en vigueur le 1er janvier 2011 (date de référence géographique pour le Recensement du Canada de 2011).

Les fichiers des limites cartographiques sont créés en intégrant le littoral externe du Canada à la couche de limites source tirée de l'Infrastructure des données spatiales (IDS). Les limites, se prolongeant dans les étendues d'eau, sont « effacées » et remplacées par les rives et les îles au large des côtes. Les traits hydrographiques proviennent également de l'IDS. D'autres modifications sont apportées, telles que la sélection de traits et la hiérarchisation des traits aux fins de la production de cartes dépendantes de l'échelle.

Les fichiers des limites cartographiques (FLC) sont destinés à des applications de cartographie thématique et d'analyses. La précision de localisation ne permet pas des applications telles que le cadastre, l'arpentage ou l'ingénierie. Les FLC peuvent être utilisés en même temps que les fichiers du réseau routier (FRR), car les deux types de fichiers proviennent de la même source et les traits sont généralisés de la même manière. Les routes des FRR fournissent un contexte géographique additionnel lorsque les FRR sont utilisés avec les FLC. Les FLC peuvent être utilisés avec les données du Recensement de la population, du Recensement de l'agriculture ou d'autres données de Statistique Canada. Les codes géographiques établissent un lien entre les données statistiques et les régions géographiques.

Les cartes présentées à la figure 4 ci-dessous illustrent les différences entre les fichiers des limites cartographiques et les fichiers numériques des limites.

Figure 4
Exemple d'un fichier des limites cartographiques et d'un fichier numériques des limites (provinces et territoires)

Figure 4 Exemple d'un fichier des limites cartographiques et d'un fichier numériques des limites (provinces et territoires)

Description de la figure 4

Source : Statistique Canada, Recensement de la population de 2011.

Se reporter aux définitions connexes de fichier du réseau routier (FRR); fichiers numériques des limites (FNL); Infrastructure des données spatiales (IDS) ainsi qu'au document Fichiers des limites, Guide de référence (no 92-160-G au catalogue).

Date de modification :