Coordinate system

Detailed definition

A coordinate system is a reference system based on mathematical rules for specifying positions (locations) on the surface of the earth. The coordinate values can be spherical (latitude and longitude) using angular units of measure such as degrees, minutes and seconds or planar (Universal Transverse Mercator) using linear units such as metres.

Cartographic boundary files, digital boundary files, representative points and road network files are disseminated in latitude/longitude coordinates.

Image of coordinate  system

Censuses

2011, 2006, 2001, 1996, 1991, 1986, 1981 (latitude/longitude)
1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971 (Universal Transverse Mercator)

Remarks

A coordinate system is usually defined by a datum, ellipsoid and projection, and is specified in terms of units (e.g., degrees, metres).

Latitude and longitude coordinates, often referred to as geographic coordinates, are spherical. Lines of latitude (also called parallels) run in an east-west direction around the earth parallel to the equator. Latitude is the angular measurement of a location expressed in degrees north or south of the equator, ranging from 0° at the equator to 90°N or 90°S at the poles. Lines of longitude (also called meridians) run in a north-south direction from pole to pole. Longitude is the angular measurement of a location east or west of the prime meridian (which runs through Greenwich, England), ranging from 0° at the prime meridian to 180°E or 180°W. The 180th meridian is the approximate location of the International Date Line.

For the land mass of Canada, latitudes range from about 42oN to 83oN and longitudes range from approximately 53°W to 141°W.

Latitude coordinates south of the equator and longitude coordinates west of the prime meridian have minus signs when stored in a digital database. Latitude/longitude coordinates are convenient for transferring and disseminating spatial digital data, and are normally expressed in decimal degrees on a database. However, maps should not be generated using these spherical coordinates, as they are unprojected, resulting in a map that appears distorted (see Figure 14 in map projection definition).

It is now common for geographic information system (GIS) software to convert coordinates from one frame of reference to coordinates of another frame of reference, such as transforming the Lambert conformal conic projection to latitude/longitude coordinates.

The Universal Transverse Mercator (UTM) coordinate system is no longer used as the working coordinate system or for disseminating spatial digital data.

Refer to related definitions of cartographic boundary files (CBFs); datum; digital boundary files (DBFs); map projection; representative point; road network file (RNF) and Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI).

Changes prior to the current census

For 1996, street network files were disseminated in latitude/longitude coordinates, but the working coordinate system was UTM.

Prior to 1996, street network files were disseminated in UTM coordinates only.

Date modified:

Système de coordonnées

Définition détaillée

Un système de coordonnées est un système de référence faisant appel à des règles mathématiques pour préciser des positions (endroits) sur la surface de la terre. Les valeurs de coordonnées peuvent être sphériques (latitude et longitude) utilisant des unités de mesure angulaires comme les degrés, les minutes et les secondes ou planes (universel transverse de Mercator) utilisant des unités linéaires comme les mètres.

Les fichiers des limites cartographiques, les fichiers du réseau routier, les fichiers numériques des limites et les points représentatifs sont diffusés sous forme de coordonnées de latitude et de longitude.

Image de système de coordonnées

Recensements

2011, 2006, 2001, 1996, 1991, 1986, 1981 (latitude et longitude)
1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971 (universel transverse de Mercator)

Remarques

Un système de coordonnées est habituellement défini par un système de référence géodésique, un ellipsoïde et une projection, et s'exprime en unités (p. ex., degrés, mètres).

Les coordonnées de latitude et de longitude, souvent appelées « coordonnées géographiques », sont sphériques. Les lignes de latitude (aussi appelées « parallèles ») font le tour de la terre d'est en ouest et sont parallèles à l'équateur. La latitude est la mesure angulaire d'un endroit, exprimée en degrés nord ou sud par rapport à l'équateur, allant de 0° à l'équateur à 90° N ou 90° S aux pôles. Les lignes de longitude (aussi appelées « méridiens ») vont du nord au sud, d'un pôle à l'autre. La longitude est la mesure angulaire d'un endroit, exprimée en degrés est ou ouest par rapport au méridien d'origine (qui traverse Greenwich, en Angleterre), allant de 0° au méridien d'origine à 180° E ou 180° O. Le 180e méridien correspond à l'emplacement approximatif de la ligne internationale de changement de date.

Pour la masse continentale du Canada, les coordonnées de latitude vont de 42° N à 83° N et les coordonnées de longitude de 53° O à 141° O, approximativement.

Lorsque les coordonnées de latitude au sud de l'équateur et les coordonnées de longitude à l'ouest du méridien d'origine sont stockées dans une base de données numériques, elles sont affectées du signe « moins ». Les coordonnées de latitude et de longitude sont utiles pour transférer et diffuser des données spatiales numériques, et sont normalement exprimées en degrés décimaux dans une base de données. Toutefois, il ne faut pas utiliser ces coordonnées sphériques pour produire des cartes, car elles n'ont pas fait l'objet d'une projection et la carte résultante paraît déformée (voir figure 14 dans la définition de la projection cartographique).

À l'heure actuelle, les logiciels de systèmes d'information géographique (SIG) peuvent ordinairement convertir les coordonnées d'un cadre de référence en coordonnées d'un autre cadre de référence (par exemple, transformer le Système conique conforme de Lambert en coordonnées de latitude et de longitude).

On ne fait plus appel au système de coordonnées universel transverse de Mercator (UTM) pour la production ni pour la diffusion des données spatiales numériques.

Se reporter aux définitions connexes de fichiers des limites cartographiques (FLC); fichier du réseau routier (FRR); fichiers numériques des limites (FNL); Infrastructure des données spatiales (IDS); point représentatif; projection cartographique et système de référence géodésique.

Changements antérieurs au recensement courant

En 1996, les fichiers du réseau routier (FRR) étaient diffusés sous forme de coordonnées de latitude et de longitude, mais le système de coordonnées utilisé pour la production était le système UTM.

Avant 1996, les données des FRR étaient diffusées uniquement sous forme de coordonnées UTM.

Date de modification :