Geographic reference date

Detailed definition

The geographic reference date is a date determined by Statistics Canada for the purpose of finalizing the geographic framework for which census data will be collected, tabulated and reported. For the 2011 Census, the geographic reference date is January 1, 2011.

Image of geographic reference date

Censuses

2011, 2006, 2001, 1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971, 1966, 1961

Remarks

Names, boundaries and other attributes of geographic areas change frequently (examples of these changes include municipal amalgamations and annexations, and changes in the name and status of municipalities). Since the geographic framework is used for census data collection, the geographic reference date must be set sufficiently in advance of Census Day to permit all changes to be processed in time. Furthermore, notification of these changes is normally not received from the applicable federal and provincial authorities until after the changes have occurred. For these reasons, the census reports data according to the geographic areas that are in effect on January 1, 2011, provided that Statistics Canada receives the information on the changes by March 1, 2011.

Since the geographic framework is established according to the geographic areas in effect as of January 1, 2011, and census data refer to conditions as they exist on Census Day (May 10, 2011), census data may be reported for geographic areas that have subsequently changed during this period.

The geographic framework established for census purposes may not reflect the actual geographic framework in effect on January 1, 2011, if Statistics Canada never receives, or does not receive by March 1, 2011, the appropriate notification from relevant federal and provincial authorities.

Changes prior to the current census

Prior to 1981, the geographic reference date was set to the same date as Census Day. From the 1981 Census onwards, it has been set at January 1 of the census year, which has improved the timeliness of the release of census products.

Date modified:

Date de référence géographique

Définition détaillée

La date de référence géographique est la date fixée par Statistique Canada aux fins du parachèvement du cadre géographique dans lequel les données du recensement seront recueillies, totalisées et diffusées. Pour le Recensement de 2011, la date de référence géographique est le 1er janvier 2011.

Image de date de référence géographique

Recensements

2011, 2006, 2001, 1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971, 1966, 1961

Remarques

Il arrive souvent que le nom, les limites ou d'autres caractéristiques des régions géographiques changent (par exemple, fusions de municipalités, annexions, changements de nom ou de statut). Étant donné que le cadre géographique est utilisé aux fins de la collecte des données du recensement, la date de référence géographique doit être déterminée assez à l'avance du Jour du recensement pour que tous les changements soient intégrés à temps. En outre, les autorités fédérales et provinciales compétentes ne donnent avis de ces changements, en règle générale, qu'une fois qu'ils ont été apportés. Ce sont les raisons pour lesquelles les données du recensement sont établies selon les régions géographiques qui existaient le 1er janvier 2011, si les renseignements sur les changements sont parvenus à Statistique Canada avant le 1er mars 2011.

Comme les données du recensement décrivent une situation qui existait le jour du recensement (le 10 mai 2011), alors que le cadre géographique est établi d'après les régions géographiques existant le 1er janvier 2011, les données du recensement peuvent avoir trait à des régions géographiques ayant changé dans l'intervalle écoulé.

Il se peut que le cadre géographique établi aux fins du recensement ne corresponde pas au cadre effectif en vigueur le 1er janvier 2011, si Statistique Canada n'a jamais reçu, ou ne reçoit pas avant le 1er mars 2011, les avis des changements des autorités fédérales et provinciales compétentes.

Changements antérieurs au recensement courant

Avant 1981, la date de référence géographique était fixée à la même date que le Jour du recensement. À partir du Recensement de 1981, elle a été fixée au 1er janvier de l'année de recensement, ce qui a permis de diffuser plus tôt les produits du recensement.

Date de modification :