Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI)

Detailed definition

The Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI) is an internal maintenance database that is not disseminated outside of Statistics Canada. It contains roads, road names and address ranges from the National Geographic Database (NGD), as well as boundary arcs of standard geographic areas that do not follow roads, all in one integrated line layer. The database also includes a related polygon layer consisting of basic blocks (BB)1, boundary layers of standard geographic areas, and derived attribute tables, as well as reference layers containing physical and cultural features (such as hydrography, railroads and power transmission lines) from the NGD.

The SDI supports a wide range of census operations, such as the maintenance and delineation of the boundaries of standard geographic areas (including the automated delineation of dissemination blocks and population centres) and geocoding. The SDI is also the source for generating many geography products for the 2011 Census, such as cartographic boundary files and road network files.

Censuses

2011, 2006 (Spatial Data Infrastructure)
2001 (National Geographic Base)

Remarks

The data are maintained and stored in the Lambert conformal conic projection based on the North American Datum of 1983 (NAD83). Links to other data holdings, such as the address register and postal codeOM files, are incorporated into the database.

Given the enhancements to the SDI, primarily through the integration of improved road network data from the National Geographic Database (NGD), geography products for the 2011 Census allow users to geographically reference census data more accurately when compared to the 2006 Census products (e.g., cartographic boundary files, digital boundary files, reference maps, road network files).

Product files from the SDI are available in the Geography Division's data warehouse (GeoDepot).

Refer to the related definitions of block-face; cartographic boundary files (CBFs); coordinate system; datum; digital boundary files (DBFs); dissemination block (DB); geocoding; map projection; National Geographic Database (NGD); reference map; representative point and road network file (RNF), and related reference guides.

Changes prior to the current census

For 2001, the internal database was called the National Geographic Base (NGB), which was divided into National Topographic Data Base (NTDB) map tiles.


Note

  1. Basic blocks are the smallest polygon units in the database, and are formed by the intersection of all roads and the arcs of geographic areas that do not follow roads.
Date modified:

Infrastructure des données spatiales (IDS)

Définition détaillée

L'Infrastructure des données spatiales (IDS) est une base de données de maintenance interne qui n'est pas diffusée à l'extérieur de Statistique Canada. Elle contient des routes, des noms de routes et des tranches d'adresses tirés de la Base nationale de données géographiques (BNDG) ainsi que des arcs des limites de régions géographiques normalisées ne suivant pas les routes, le tout intégré dans une couche linéaire. La base de données comprend aussi une couche de polygones représentant les îlots de base (IB)1 des couches de limites de régions géographiques normalisées, des tableaux d'attributs dérivés ainsi que des couches de référence renfermant des traits physiques et culturels (tels l'hydrographie, les chemins de fer et les lignes de transmission électrique) tirés de la BNDG.

L'IDS soutient une grande diversité d'activités du recensement comme la maintenance et la délimitation des limites des régions géographiques normalisées (y compris la délimitation automatisée des îlots de diffusion et des centres de population) et le géocodage. L'IDS est également la source utilisée pour générer un grand nombre de produits géographiques du Recensement de 2011, comme les fichiers des limites cartographiques et les fichiers du réseau routier.

Recensements

2011, 2006 (Infrastructure des données spatiales)
2001 (Base géographique nationale)

Remarques

Les données sont mises à jour et enregistrées selon la projection conique conforme de Lambert fondée sur le Système de référence géodésique nord-américain de 1983 (NAD83). Des liens avec d'autres fonds de données tels que le registre des adresses et les fichiers des codes postauxMO sont incorporés à la base de données.

Grâce aux améliorations apportées à l'IDS, surtout en ce qui à trait à l'intégration de données améliorées du réseau routier tirées de la Base nationale de données géographiques (BNDG), les produits de la géographie du Recensement de 2011 permettent aux utilisateurs de situer avec une plus grande exactitude les données du recensement comparativement aux produits du Recensement de 2006 (p. ex., les fichiers des limites cartographiques, les fichiers numériques des limites, les cartes de référence, les fichiers du réseau routier).

Les fichiers de produits de l'IDS sont disponibles à partir de l'entrepôt de données de la Division de la géographie (GéoDépôt).

Se reporter aux définitions connexes de Base nationale de données géographiques (BNDG); carte de référence; côté d'îlot; fichiers des limites cartographiques (FLC); fichier du réseau routier (FRR); fichiers numériques des limites (FNL); géocodage; îlot de diffusion (ID); point représentatif; projection cartographique; système de coordonnées et système de référence géodésique, ainsi qu'aux guides de référence connexes.

Changements antérieurs au recensement courant

En 2001, la base de données interne était connue sous le nom de Base géographique nationale (BGN). De même, la BGN était divisée en tuiles de carte de la Base nationale de données topographiques (BNDT).


Note :

  1. L'îlot de base est la plus petite unité de polygone dans la base de données formée par l'intersection de toutes les routes et des arcs de régions géographiques ne suivant pas les routes.
Date de modification :