Map projection

Detailed definition

A map projection is the process of transforming and representing positions from the earth's three-dimensional curved surface to a two-dimensional (flat) surface. The process is accomplished by a direct geometric projection or by a mathematically derived transformation.

The Lambert conformal conic map projection is widely used for general maps of Canada at small scales and is the most common map projection used at Statistics Canada.

Image of map projection

Censuses

2011, 2006, 2001, 1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1976 (Lambert conformal conic)
1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971 (Transverse Mercator)

Remarks

The Earth's surface cannot be flattened without distorting geometrical properties, such as area, shape, distance and direction. These spatial properties can be preserved individually (at least locally) and in certain combinations on map projections. However, the four basic properties of area, shape, distance and direction cannot all be held true simultaneously. Therefore, it is important to select a projection having the properties that are suited to the mapping situation. For example, a projection that accurately represents the shapes of the continents will distort their relative sizes.

The Lambert conformal conic projection (Figure 14) provides good directional and shape relationships for mid-latitude regions having a mainly east-to-west extent. Standard parallels at 49° N and 77° N are most commonly used. The scale is correct along the standard parallels only; areal deformation decreases between and increases away from the standard parallels. The central meridian, normally at 91° 52' W, is a straight line about which the projection is symmetrical. False eastings and northings are given to ensure positive coordinate values in linear units of measure (metres).

Figure 14
Example of a map projection and unprojected coordinates

Figure 14 Example of a map projection and unprojected coordinates

Description for Figure 14

Source: Statistics Canada, 2011 Census of Population.

Latitude and longitude is not a map projection, as the coordinates are spherical (angular units of measure such as degrees, minutes and seconds) therefore unprojected. It is recommended that maps not be generated using these spherical coordinates because they result in maps that are distorted (Figure 14).

The Lambert conformal conic map projection is the working projection for cartographic boundary files, digital boundary files, road network files and the Spatial Data Infrastructure, and for generating representative points.

Refer to related definitions of cartographic boundary files (CBFs); coordinate system; datum; digital boundary files (DBFs); representative point; road network file (RNF) and Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI).

Changes prior to the current census

Prior to 2001, street network files were based on the Transverse Mercator map projection/Universal Transverse Mercator (UTM) coordinate system.

Date modified:

Projection cartographique

Définition détaillée

La projection cartographique est le processus qui consiste à transformer et à représenter sur une surface bidimensionnelle (plane) des points situés sur la surface sphérique tridimensionnelle de la terre. Ce processus fait appel à une méthode directe de projection géométrique ou à une méthode de transformation calculée mathématiquement.

La projection conique conforme de Lambert est généralement utilisée à la production des cartes à petite échelle; cette projection cartographique est la plus utilisée à Statistique Canada.

Image de projection cartographique

Recensements

2011, 2006, 2001, 1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1976 (projection conique conforme de Lambert)
1996, 1991, 1986, 1981, 1976, 1971 (projection transverse de Mercator)

Remarques

La surface de la Terre ne peut être aplanie sans que certaines propriétés géométriques, comme la superficie, la forme, la distance ou l'orientation, ne subissent une certaine distorsion. Ces propriétés spatiales peuvent être conservées séparément (du moins localement) et dans certaines combinaisons sur les projections cartographiques. Toutefois, les quatre propriétés de base, soit la superficie, la forme, la distance et l'orientation ne peuvent être conservées simultanément. Par conséquent, il est important de choisir une projection qui présente les propriétés convenant à la carte à produire. Par exemple, une projection restituant avec exactitude la forme des continents donnera une représentation faussée de leurs superficies relatives.

La projection conique conforme de Lambert (Figure 14) permet de représenter de façon précise, sur le plan de l'orientation et de la forme, les régions des latitudes moyennes s'étendant principalement d'est en ouest. Les parallèles de référence situés au 49° N et au 77° N sont les plus souvent utilisés. L'échelle est exacte le long de ces parallèles uniquement; la distorsion de la superficie diminue entre les parallèles de référence et augmente au-delà de ceux-ci. Le méridien central, normalement situé à 91° 52' O, est une ligne droite de chaque côté de laquelle la projection est symétrique. De fausses abscisses et ordonnées sont indiquées afin que les valeurs des coordonnées en unités de mesure linéaire (mètres) soient positives.

Figure 14
Exemple de projection cartographique et de coordonnées non projetées

Figure 14 Exemple de projection cartographique et de coordonnées n'ayant pas fait l'objet d'une projection

Description de la figure 14

Source : Statistique Canada, Recensement de la population de 2011.

Le système de latitude et de longitude n'est pas une projection cartographique, car les coordonnées sont sphériques (unités de mesure angulaire, comme les degrés, les minutes et les secondes), et n'ont donc pas fait l'objet d'une projection. Il est recommandé de ne pas utiliser ces coordonnées sphériques pour produire des cartes, car les cartes résultantes peuvent être déformées (figure 14).

La projection conique conforme de Lambert est la projection utilisée pour les fichiers des limites cartographiques, les fichiers du réseau routier, les fichiers numériques des limites et l'Infrastructure des données spatiales; de plus, elle sert à générer des points représentatifs.

Se reporter aux définitions connexes des fichiers des limites cartographiques (FLC); fichier du réseau routier (FRR); fichiers numériques des limites (FNL); Infrastructure des données spatiales (IDS); point représentatif; système de coordonnées et système de référence géodésique.

Changements antérieurs au recensement courant

Avant 2001, les fichiers du réseau routier étaient fondés sur la projection cartographique transverse de Mercator et sur le système de coordonnées universel transverse de Mercator (UTM).

Date de modification :