National Geographic Database (NGD)

Detailed definition

The National Geographic Database (NGD) is a shared database between Statistics Canada and Elections Canada. The database contains roads, road names and address ranges. It also includes separate reference layers containing physical and cultural features, such as hydrography and hydrographic names, railroads and power transmission lines.

Censuses

2011, 2006

Remarks

The National Geographic Database (NGD) was created in 1997 as a joint Statistics Canada/Elections Canada initiative to develop and maintain a national road network file serving the needs of both organizations. The active building of the NGD (that is, integrating the files from Statistics Canada, Elections Canada and Natural Resources Canada) occurred from 1998 to 2000. Thereafter, Statistics Canada and Elections Canada reconciled their digital boundary holdings to the new database's road network geometry so that operational products could be derived.

Since 2001, the focus of the NGD has been on intensive data quality improvements, especially regarding the quality and currency of its road network coverage. There has been considerable expansion of road names and civic addresses ranges, as well as the addition of hydrographic names.

Since 2009, the NGD has converged its data holdings to provincially-sourced data in all of British Columbia and six census divisions in Ontario, specifically Halton, Hamilton, Ottawa, Peel, Toronto and Waterloo.

Priorities for road network file maintenance are determined by Statistics Canada and Elections Canada, enabling the NGD to meet the joint operational needs of both agencies in support of census and electoral activities.

The main sources for the NGD include:

  • Statistics Canada's street network files
  • Elections Canada's road network file
  • National Topographic Database (NTDB) digital coverage at 1:50,000 and 1:250,000 from Natural Resources Canada, and Digital Chart of the World (DCW) coverage at 1:1,000,000
  • provincially-sourced data sets
  • other information from field operation activities, municipal maps and private sector licenced holdings.

The reference layers are not edge-matched at former NTDB tile limits.

Since the primary purpose of NGD is to support census and electoral activities, topological accuracy takes precedence over absolute positional accuracy.

The data are maintained and stored in the Lambert conformal conic projection based on the North American Datum of 1983 (NAD83).

Refer to the related definitions of coordinate system; datum; map projection and Spatial Data Infrastructure (SDI).

Date modified:

Base nationale de données géographiques (BNDG)

Définition détaillée

La Base nationale de données géographiques (BNDG) est une base de données partagée par Statistique Canada et Élections Canada. Elle renferme des routes, des noms de routes et des tranches d'adresses. Elle comprend également des couches de référence distinctes renfermant des traits physiques et culturels comme le réseau hydrographique et les noms de cours d'eau, les chemins de fer et les lignes de transmission électrique.

Recensements

2011, 2006

Remarques

La Base nationale de données géographiques (BNDG) a été créée en 1997 dans le cadre d'un projet commun de Statistique Canada et d'Élections Canada visant à élaborer et à tenir à jour un fichier de réseau routier qui répondrait aux besoins des deux organismes. On a procédé à la construction de la BNDG (c'est-à-dire l'intégration des fichiers de Statistique Canada, d'Élections Canada et de Ressources naturelles Canada) de 1998 à 2000. Par la suite, Statistique Canada et Élections Canada ont rendu compatibles leurs inventaires de limites numériques avec la géométrie du réseau routier de la nouvelle base de données afin d'en tirer des produits fonctionnels.

Depuis 2001, la priorité de la BNDG a été l'amélioration continue de la qualité des données; l'actualisation et l'amélioration du réseau routier étant l'objectif principal. Un grand nombre de noms de routes, de tranches d'adresses de voirie ainsi que des noms de cours d'eau ont été ajoutés à la base.

Depuis 2009, la BNDG a fusionné ses inventaires de données aux données provinciales. À ce jour, la Colombie-Britannique ainsi que six divisions de recensement en Ontario, dont Halton, Hamilton, Ottawa, Peel, Toronto et Waterloo, ont été fusionnées.

Les priorités relatives à la mise à jour du fichier du réseau routier sont déterminées par Statistique Canada et Élections Canada, assurant ainsi que la BNDG répondre aux besoins communs des deux agences pour appuyer les activités du recensement et les activités électorales.

Les principales sources utilisées pour élaborer la BNDG sont les suivantes :

  • les fichiers du réseau routier de Statistique Canada
  • le fichier du réseau routier d'Élections Canada
  • la Base nationale de données topographiques (BNDT), qui contient des données numériques à des échelles de 1/50 000 et de 1/250 000, de Ressources naturelles Canada, et la Carte numérique du monde (CNM) à une échelle de 1/1 000 000
  • inventaires de données provinciales
  • d'autres renseignements obtenus dans le cadre des activités sur le terrain, plans municipaux et inventaires sous licence du secteur privé. 

Les traits des couches de référence ne coïncident pas avec la rencontre des limites des tuiles de l'ancienne BNDT.

Comme la BNDG a été créée principalement pour appuyer les activités du recensement et les activités électorales, la précision topologique l'emporte sur la précision absolue de localisation.

Les données sont mises à jour et enregistrées selon la projection conique conforme de Lambert fondée sur le Système de référence géodésique nord-américain de 1983 (NAD83).

Se reporter aux définitions connexes d'Infrastructure des données spatiales (IDS); projection cartographique; système de coordonnées et système de référence géodésique.

Date de modification :