Visible minority population, by census metropolitan areas (2006 Census)

Visible minority population, by census metropolitan areas (2006 Census)
Visible minorities: The 2006 Census provides information on the characteristics of people in Canada who are members of a visible minority, as defined by the Employment Equity Act. The Act defines visible minorities as "persons, other than Aboriginal peoples, who are non-Caucasian in race or non-white in colour". Under this definition, regulations specify the following groups as visible minorities: Chinese, South Asians, Blacks, Arabs, West Asians, Filipinos, Southeast Asians, Latin Americans, Japanese, Koreans and other visible minority groups, such as Pacific Islanders.
Visible minority not included elsewhere: Includes respondents who reported a single write-in response indicating a Pacific Islander group (e.g., Fijian or Polynesian) or another single write-in response likely to be a visible minority group (e.g., Guyanese, West Indian).
Multiple visible minority: Includes respondents who reported more than one visible minority group.
Census metropolitan area: Area consisting of one or more adjacent municipalities situated around a major urban core. To form a census metropolitan area, the urban core must have a population of at least 100,000.
View definitions for 2006 Census Metropolitan Areas: St. John's, Halifax, Moncton, Saint John, Saguenay, Québec, Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières, Montréal, Ottawa-Gatineau (Quebec part), Ottawa-Gatineau (Ontario part), Kingston, Peterborough, Oshawa, Toronto, Hamilton, St. Catharines-Niagara, Kitchener-Cambridge-Waterloo, Brantford, Guelph, London, Windsor, Barrie, Greater Sudbury / Grand Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Winnipeg, Regina, Saskatoon, Calgary, Edmonton, Kelowna, Abbotsford, Vancouver, Victoria.