One Hundred Years and Counting

Statcan 100 Banner

Statistics Canada
One Hundred Years and Counting
#StatCan100

Conference – Statistics Canada: 100 Years and Counting

Ottawa, December 6-7, 2018

Statistics Canada partnered with the Association for Canadian Studies, the Canadian Institute for Identities and Migration, Environics Analytics and The Vanier Institute of the Family to host: Statistics Canada: 100 Years and Counting.

This special commemorative event focused on how Canada's population has evolved over the past 100 years, and the critical contributions made by the country's national statistical agency in measuring its evolution.

The event looked at the past 100 years of Canada through the work of Statistics Canada, the current challenges it faces, and what the future holds in multiple facets of Canadian life. It included more than 25 sessions featuring leading academics, researchers, policy makers, representatives from NGO's and governments, and many others from across Canada.

Video: Happy birthday StatCan!

Join Statistics Canada's employees across the country in celebrating 100 years' worth of questions, and millions upon millions of carefully compiled, confidential and accurate data.

Happy Birthday StatCan! - thumbnail

Video: Celebrate Statistics Canada's centennial by looking back on our journey with Canada.

Statcan100 video - 100 Years and Counting

A message from Anil Arora, Chief Statistician of Canada

A century has gone by since the Dominion Bureau of Statistics—later renamed Statistics Canada—was created.

Much has changed since 1918, including the rapid evolution of technology and the emergence of an increasingly global society and economy. Statistics Canada has changed as well, enhancing our processing and analytical capabilities, and expanding our programs. Today, the agency's reach extends from coast to coast to coast and far beyond, as we work with colleagues around the world.

We continue to innovate. Now more than ever, we are focused on the needs of our users. We are adopting leading edge statistical methods, and collaborating with clients, stakeholders and partners. We are striving to meet Canadians' evolving information needs, and using new tools and channels to make our data more accessible and engaging.

Statistics Canada's centennial is an opportunity to honour the generations of talented people who have brought the agency to where it is today. It is also a chance to celebrate what has remained consistent over time: the quality of our data, the dedication of our employees and most importantly, the value that we add to Canadians' understanding of our society, environment and the economy.

As we mark this milestone, Statistics Canada remains committed to providing Canadians with high-quality statistical information that matters. Together, we are laying the groundwork for another remarkable century.

Anil Arora
Chief Statistician of Canada

Our activities

Over the course of 2018, we engaged with Canadians, data users and stakeholders through a series of events and activities.

Activities included:

  • A series of commemorative events with some of our key stakeholders, including:
    • An official launch with Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, Governor General of Canada.
    • A special exhibit at Library and Archives Canada (LAC) during Doors Open Ottawa on June 2-3.
    • A National Consultation Week, from October 15 to 19, to celebrate Statistics Day, along with other countries across the globe.
    • An event with Public Services and Procurement Canada in December.
  • Numerous online activities throughout the year that honour our past and present, including:
    • A special series of blog articles in Connecting Stats, Stories and People that tell the stories of leaders and change-makers that have impacted the world of statistics. The series includes profiles on Jean Talon, Robert H. Coats, Agatha Chapman, and others.
    • An e-book, comprising five chapters, showing the vital role Statistics Canada has played—and continues to play—in the history of our country.
    • A series of articles that highlight 100 years of the Statistics Act, the history of the Vital Statistics Program, the evolution of statistical paradigms and the census story—from enumeration to societal foundation.
    • A weekly #ThrowbackThursday series on Facebook and Twitter. Follow us!

Check out our blog Connecting Stats, Stories and People

Our monthly blog Connecting Stats, Stories and People features stories of leaders and change-makers that have impacted the world of statistics. This special series of blog articles includes profiles on Jean Talon, Robert H. Coats and Agatha Chapman, among others.

Discover Statistics Canada, then and now

1931 Employees of the census and vital statistics branch

To learn about the evolution of Statistics Canada, take a look at these products and projects. This section will be update with new information throughout 2018!

Video: Behind every number: A portrait of Canada

Check out this video featuring Canada seen through the lens of statistics.

Behind every number: A portrait of Canada - Thumbnail

Video: Fundamental Principles

This video shows how the 10 fundamental principles of official statistics guide our agency.

Fundamental Principles of Official Statistics | Principes fondamentaux de la statistique officielle - thumbnail

Date modified:

Cent ans bien comptés

Statistique Canada
Cent and bien comptés
#StatCan100

Conférence – Statistique Canada : 100 ans bien comptés

Ottawa, les 6 et 7 décembre 2018

Statistique Canada a établi un partenariat avec l'Association d'études canadiennes, l'Institut canadien pour les identités et les migrations, Environics Analytics et l'Institut Vanier de la famille pour présenter Statistique Canada : 100 ans bien comptés.

Cette activité commémorative spéciale portait sur l'évolution de la population du Canada au cours des 100 dernières années et sur la contribution essentielle de l'organisme national de statistique du Canada dans la mesure de cette évolution. 

Ensemble, nous avons étudié les 100 dernières années du Canada grâce au travail de Statistique Canada, ainsi que les défis actuels auxquels l'organisme fait face et ce que l'avenir nous réserve dans de nombreux aspects de la vie des Canadiens. Il y a eu plus de 25 séances auxquelles ont pris part des universitaires influents, des chercheurs, des décideurs, des représentants des gouvernements et d'organismes non gouvernementaux, ainsi que bien d'autres participants de partout au pays.

Vidéo : Bonne fête StatCan!

Joignez-vous aux employés de Statistique Canada de partout au pays afin de souligner le travail accompli au cours des 100 dernières années, la richesse des innombrables questions qui ont été posées et les données exactes et confidentielles qui ont été soigneusement compilées.

Bonne fête StatCan! - thumbnail

Vidéo : Célébrez le centenaire de Statistique Canada en jetant un coup d'œil au chemin que nous avons parcouru avec le Canada.

Statcan100 vidéo - Cent ans bien comptés

Message d'Anil Arora, statisticien en chef du Canada

Un siècle s'est écoulé depuis la création du Bureau fédéral de la statistique, qui a par la suite été rebaptisé Statistique Canada.

Beaucoup de choses ont changé depuis 1918, y compris l'évolution rapide de la technologie et l'émergence d'une société et d'une économie de plus en plus mondialisées. Statistique Canada aussi a changé, en améliorant ses capacités de traitement et d'analyse et en élargissant ses programmes. Aujourd'hui, la portée de l'organisme s'étend d'un océan à l'autre et bien au-delà des frontières, puisque nous collaborons avec nos collègues dans le monde entier.

Nous continuons d'innover. Maintenant plus que jamais, nous nous concentrons sur les besoins de nos utilisateurs. Nous adoptons des méthodes statistiques de pointe et collaborons avec les clients, intervenants et partenaires. Nous nous efforçons de répondre aux besoins d'information changeants de la population canadienne, et nous employons de nouveaux outils et moyens pour rendre nos données plus accessibles et intéressantes.

Le centenaire de Statistique Canada est une occasion de rendre hommage aux générations de personnes talentueuses qui ont amené l'organisme là où il est aujourd'hui. C'est également l'occasion de célébrer ce qui est resté constant au fil du temps : la qualité de nos données, le dévouement de nos employés et, par-dessus tout, la valeur que nous ajoutons en aidant les Canadiens à comprendre notre société, notre environnement et l'économie.

Au moment de souligner cette étape déterminante, Statistique Canada demeure résolu à offrir aux Canadiens des renseignements statistiques de haute qualité qui comptent. Ensemble, nous préparons le terrain pour un autre siècle exceptionnel.

Anil Arora
Statisticien en chef du Canada

Nos activités

Au cours de l'année 2018, nous avons échangé avec les Canadiens, les utilisateurs de données et les intervenants dans le cadre d'une série d'activités.

Les activités comprenaient notamment :

  • une série d'activités commémoratives avec certains de nos partenaires clés, y compris :
    • un lancement officiel en compagnie de la très honorable Julie Payette, gouverneure générale du Canada,
    • une exposition spéciale à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC) durant Portes ouvertes Ottawa, les 2 et 3 juin;
    • le Sommet « Des données aux idées » avec la Société royale du Canada, les 24 et 25 septembre – Annulé;
    • une Semaine de consultation nationale, du 15 au 19 octobre, pour souligner la Journée mondiale de la statistique avec d'autres organismes statistiques du monde entier,
    • un événement avec Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada, en décembre;
  • de nombreuses activités en ligne qui soulignent notre passé et notre présent tout au long de l'année, y compris :
    • une série spéciale d'articles dans le blogue Au cœur des données, des histoires et des gens qui raconte l'histoire de dirigeants et d'artisans du changement qui ont transformé le monde de la statistique. Cette série comprend entre autres les profils de Jean Talon, de Robert H. Coats et d'Agatha Chapman,
    • un livre électronique de cinq chapitres expliquant le rôle essentiel de Statistique Canada dans l'histoire de notre pays,
    • une série d'articles qui souligne 100 ans de la Loi sur la statistique, l'histoire du Programme de la statistique de l'état civil, l'évolution des paradigmes statistiques et l'histoire du recensement : du dénombrement au fondement d'une société,
    • une série hebdomadaire #JeudiRétro sur Facebook et Twitter. Suivez-nous!

Jetez un coup d'œil à notre blogue Au cœur des données, des histoires et des gens

Publié chaque mois, Au cœur des données, des histoires et des gens raconte l'histoire de dirigeants et d'artisans du changement qui ont transformé le monde de la statistique. Cette série spéciale d'articles comprend entre autres les profils de Jean Talon, de Robert H. Coats et d'Agatha Chapman.

Découvrez Statistique Canada à travers le temps

1931 Les employés de la branche du recensement et des statistiques de l'état civil

Pour suivre l'évolution de Statistique Canada, jetez un coup d'œil à ces produits et projets. Cette section sera mise à jour tout au long de 2018!

Vidéo : Au-delà des chiffres : un portrait du Canada

Jetez un coup d'œil à cette vidéo brossant un tableau du Canada de la perspective des statistiques.

Au-delà des chiffres : un portrait du Canada

Vidéo : Principes fondamentaux

Cette vidéo montre comment les 10 principes fondamentaux des statistiques officielles guident notre organisme.

Principes fondamentaux de la statistique officielle - thumbnail

Date de modification :