General Social Survey
2015 Time Use Survey Technical Note

Release date: June 1, 2017 Correction date: (if required)

Executive summary

Statistics Canada’s General Social Survey on Time Use provides estimates of the average time Canadians spend per day on various activities, including unpaid household activities, and an indication of how these activities may contribute to their feelings of well-being and stress. Generally, data are available nationally and, for some variables, for the following regions: Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, Prairies and British Columbia. The GSS Time Use Survey started in 1986 and has been repeated every five to six years; 2015 was the sixth year in which the survey was conducted.

The 2015 Time Use Survey experienced a lower response rate than the one observed in 2010. Internationally, a number of countries have experienced similar trends of lower response rates for surveys on time use in recent years.

Due to the lower response rate, Statistics Canada applied sound statistical practices to prepare the 2015 Time Use data for dissemination. Extensive validation and comparisons with distributions of variables collected in other surveys were conducted and an extra step was added to the survey weighting strategy. In addition, a cross-survey validation process was undertaken after the final weights were applied to ensure the quality of the information. Based on these statistical adjustments and techniques, Statistics Canada has confidence in the quality of the data disseminated from the 2015 Time Use Survey and assures the data is fit for use, particularly at the national level. However, data for smaller populations, certain provinces, and smaller geographic areas may be subject to higher sampling error and higher risks of nonresponse bias. Statistics Canada’s practise is to produce quality indicators to demonstrate that estimates are fit for use.

Introduction

The 2015 Time Use Survey (TUS) collects important information on paid work as well as nonmarket activities (unpaid work) such as childcare, household chores or maintenance, and volunteering. In addition, it collects data on sleep, commuting, time spent studying or doing homework and participation in leisure activities.

The TUS disseminates estimates of the average time Canadians spend per day on various activities, and provides an indication of how these activities may contribute to their feelings of well-being and stress. Generally, data are available nationally and, for some variables, for the following regions: Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, Prairies and British Columbia.

This technical note provides information on the quality of the data from the 2015 Time Use Survey and the weighting and validation strategies used by Statistics Canada in order to assure data quality.

This paper also provides comparisons of the 2015 TUS response rate to response rates obtained in other cycles of the General Social Survey and in international time use surveys.

Data collection

The 2015 Time Use Survey (TUS) was a voluntary survey that collected information using telephone interviews and self-response electronic questionnaires between April 7, 2015 and April 6, 2016. Respondents were asked to complete a 24-hour recall diary which consisted of the same five questions that had appeared in the 2010 TUS diary as well as two additional questions on use of technology and subjective well-being.

As in previous Time Use Surveys, the 2015 TUS had a pre-assigned reference day for each respondent where activities had to be reported over a 24-hour period. The information for that specific day had to be recorded in the questionnaire module within a maximum of 48 hours from the reference day. For example, respondents who were asked about their Monday activities had to be interviewed over the telephone on either the subsequent Tuesday or Wednesday. This meant that interviewer-respondent contact was limited to two of seven days of the week in order to record a completed response for the survey. Given this limitation, Statistics Canada put considerable effort into maximizing respondent participation and questionnaire completion.

The method of collection for the Canadian TUS is consistent with collection strategies used in other countries which also use a recall diary. This method of collection is, at present, deemed to be the most accurate and robust method of collecting information on time use, yet it also requires significant effort on the part of respondents. Furthermore, the fact that interviewers must collect information from respondents within a very short, specific, time period also imposes constraints on interviewers who often find it difficult to reach respondents on the pre-designated days. As such, both respondent burden and collection challenges mean that response rates on time use surveys tend to be lower than for other types of household surveys.

Response rates

In 2015, the overall response rate for the Time Use Survey (TUS) was 38%, ranging from a high of 53% in Quebec to a low of 28% in British Columbia (Chart 1). At the national level, the final response rate for the TUS was 17 percentage points lower than the response rate achieved for the previous TUS in 2010 (55%).

Chart 1  2015 Time Use Survey response rate by region

Data table for Chart 1
Chart 1
2015 Time Use Survey response rate by region
Table summary
This table displays the results of 2015 Time Use Survey response rate by region. The information is grouped by Region (appearing as row headers), Response rate (%) (appearing as column headers).
Region Response rate (%)
Total 38
British Columbia 28
Prairies 35
Ontario 37
Quebec 53
Atlantic 41

In recent years, General Social Survey cycles, regardless of topic, have tended to have lower response rates in Western Canada. In addition to having the difficulty of completing a recall diary on designated reference days, progress reports for the 2015 Time Use Survey indicated that survey collection in the Western Region, especially British Columbia, faced several hurdles including diverse linguistic profiles and higher mobility levels of potential respondents.

Response rate comparison to other General Social Survey cycles

Household survey response rates in Canada, as in other countries, have typically been declining over time. Furthermore, time use surveys typically have lower response rates than other types of household surveys. Statistics Canada’s General Social Survey on Time Use (TUS) is not excluded from these trends: as noted earlier, in 2015, the survey’s response rate was considerably lower than it had been five years before, at 38% versus 55%. The response rate for the 2015 TUS was also approximately eight to 15 percentage points lower than that achieved for other recent GSS cycles (Chart 2).

Chart 2 General Social Survey response rates since 2007 by cycle topic

Data table for Chart 2
Chart 2
General Social Survey response rates since 2007 by cycle topic
Table summary
This table displays the results of General Social Survey response rates since 2007 by cycle topic . The information is grouped by Year (appearing as row headers), Cycle and Response rate (%) (appearing as column headers).
Year Cycle Response rate (%)
2007 Family, Social Support and Retirement 58
2008 Social networks 57
2009 Victimization 62
2010 Time Use 55
2011 Family 66
2012 Care Giving 66
2013 Social Identity 48
2013 Giving, Volunteering and Participating 46
2014 Victimization 53
2015 Time Use 38

Response rate comparison to international Time Use Surveys

Many countries collect data on time use in a household survey format. Typically, response rates are highest in countries like Australia, New Zealand and France, which collect their data on time use via face-to-face interviews rather than telephone interviews or by electronic questionnaire. Nevertheless, response rates for TUS in those countriesNote 1 still remain lower than for other surveys conducted by those same statistical agencies due to respondent burden and the separate completion of the activity recall diary.

For the three countries where time use surveys are done using a computer assisted telephone interview with a similar methodology used in Canada, namely, the United States, United Kingdom and Finland, response rates since 2005 have ranged from a high of 59% (Canada in 2005) to a low of 33% (UK in 2015). However, response rates have dropped noticeably in each country in the most recent survey years (Chart 3).

Chart 3 Response rates to Time Use Surveys in the United States, United Kingdom, Finland and Canada, by collection year since the year 2000

Data table for Chart 3
Chart 3
Response rates to Time Use Surveys in the United States, United Kingdom, Finland and Canada, by collection year since the year 2000
Table summary
This table displays the results of Response rates to Time Use Surveys in the United States Canada, United States, United Kingdom and Finland, calculated using Response rate (%) units of measure (appearing as column headers).
Canada United States United Kingdom Finland
Response rate (%)
2000 NA NA 45 52
2005 59 57 59 NA
2009 or 2010 55 57 NA 41
2015 38 49 33 NA

Minimizing errors and bias

There are two types of survey errors: sampling error and non-sampling error. Sampling error arises from estimating a population characteristic by measuring only a portion of the population rather than the entire population. Non-sampling errors including nonresponse errors which can lead to biased estimates when the characteristics of respondents and non-respondents are different.

With respect to non-sampling errors, Statistics Canada does everything possible to eliminate bias in its surveys even from the initial planning stages of the survey: for example, for the 2015 TUS significant effort was made to minimize bias by using a well-tested questionnaire, a proven methodology, specialized interviewers and strict quality control, and by following up with households that did not initially respond to the survey. In addition, extra measures were taken to offset the risk of nonresponse bias and to ensure that 2015 TUS data would be fit to provide quality estimates at the national and regional (Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, Prairies, British Columbia) levels.

The main method used to reduce nonresponse bias for the 2015 TUS involved a series of adjustments to the survey weights to account for nonresponse as much as possible. For all GSS cycles, weighting adjustments make use of known characteristics about the non-respondents, from the survey frame for example, to create response homogeneity groups that are used to adjust initial design weights for nonresponse. For the 2015 TUS, an additional adjustment was added where basic characteristics of non-responding households, such as income and household composition, were extracted from administrative sources and then used to model and adjust nonresponse. This new adjustment proved useful since very little information was available on the survey frame for household nonresponse and it reduced the potential of nonresponse bias in the 2015 TUS.

As is the case with most household surveys, once all nonresponse weighting adjustments presented above were completed for the 2015 Time Use Survey (TUS), a final weighting step was applied to adjust the weights to known population counts for province by age and sex. This weight calibration ensured that known population counts were respected for key demographic variables when weighted data are used. For example, even though nonresponse was higher in British Columbia, this calibration step ensured that the British Columbia population is accurately represented when survey weights are used to produce estimates. In addition, a reference day calibration was undertaken so that the reference day distribution accurately represents each day of the week.

Data validation

Once the final set of weights for the 2015 TUS were derived, Statistics Canada validated the survey estimates in accordance with Statistics Canada’s standards on data validation and quality assurance. Key estimates were examined at the national and provincial levels by comparing them with internal and external benchmarks. This exercise was used to assess the fitness for use of the data and potential nonresponse bias. Nonresponse bias occurs in statistical surveys if the answers of respondents differ from the potential answers of those who did not answer.

The first step of the validation exercise determined that 2015 TUS results were consistent with findings from the last three GSS Time Use Surveys for variables such as perception of time, general health, main activity and life satisfaction.

Household and respondent characteristics from the 2015 TUS were next compared with data from the 2014 General Social Survey (GSS) on Victimization. This validation showed that, at both the national and provincial levels, the 2015 TUS and the 2014 GSS on Victimization were consistent with respect to the proportion of Aboriginal persons and immigrants and location of residence (Census Metropolitan Area/non-Census Metropolitan Area) and living arrangements of the population.

2015 TUS data were also validated against data from other Statistics Canada surveys, including the 2015 cycle of the Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS). Again, at both the national and provincial levels, there was a consistency in results across several variables, including marital status, dwelling type, household size and the respondent’s main activity.

Fitness for use of 2015 Time Use Survey Data

By applying appropriate nonresponse adjustments to survey weights and validating key survey estimates against several other data sources, Statistics Canada has endeavoured to ensure that data from the 2015 Time Use Survey are fit-for-use. Nevertheless, data users must be aware that estimates for small subpopulations, including those for some provincial regions and lower levels of geography, may be subject to higher sampling error and higher risks of nonresponse bias.


Date modified:

Enquête sociale générale
Note technique de l’Enquête sur l’emploi du temps 2015

Date de diffusion : le 1 juin 2017 Mise-à-joue: (if required)

Début du texte

Résumé

L’Enquête sociale générale (ESG) sur l’emploi du temps de Statistique Canada présente les estimations du temps moyen que les Canadiens consacrent par jour à diverses activités et donne une indication de la façon dont ces activités peuvent contribuer à leur sentiment de bien-être et à leur niveau de stress. En général, les données sont disponibles à l’échelle nationale et, pour certaines variables, pour les régions suivantes : l’Atlantique, le Québec, l’Ontario, les Prairies et la Colombie-Britannique. L’ESG sur l’emploi du temps a débuté en 1986 et s’est répétée à toutes les périodes de cinq à six ans; 2015 constitue la sixième réalisation de l’enquête.

L’Enquête sur l’emploi du temps de 2015 a connu un taux de réponse plus faible que celui observé en 2010. À l’échelle internationale, un certain nombre de pays ont connu des tendances similaires quant aux taux de réponse plus faibles pour les enquêtes sur l’emploi du temps au cours des dernières années.

En raison du taux de réponse plus faible, Statistique Canada a appliqué des pratiques statistiques solides en préparation de la diffusion des données sur l’emploi du temps de 2015. Des activités de validation et de comparaison approfondies avec des distributions de variables recueillies dans d’autres enquêtes ont été faites et une autre étape a été ajoutée à la stratégie de pondération. En plus, un processus de validation entre ces enquêtes a été entrepris après l’application de la pondération finale afin d’assurer la qualité de l’information. Basé sur ces ajustements et techniques statistiques, Statistique Canada a confiance à la qualité des données diffusées de l’Enquête de 2015 sur l’emploi du temps et assure que les données sont adaptées à leur utilisation, particulièrement au niveau national. Toutefois, des données pour des populations plus petites, certaines provinces et des régions géographiques plus petites peuvent ne pas être considérées comme adaptées à leur utilisation, en raison d’une erreur d’échantillonnage ou d’un risque de biais attribuable à la non-réponse. L’approche adoptée par Statistique Canada est de produire des indicateurs de la qualité afin de démontrer que les estimations sont assez fiables pour être publiées.

Introduction

L’Enquête sur l’emploi du temps (EET) de 2015 recueille de l’information importante sur le travail rémunéré ainsi que sur les activités non commerciales (travail non rémunéré) telles que les soins aux enfants, les tâches ménagères ou l’entretien ménager et le bénévolat. De plus, elle recueille des données sur le sommeil, le navettage, le temps consacré aux études et aux devoirs, ainsi que sur la participation à des activités de loisir.

L’EET diffuse les estimations du temps moyen que les Canadiens consacrent par jour à diverses activités et donne une indication de la façon dont ces activités peuvent contribuer à leur sentiment de bien-être et à leur niveau de stress. En général, les données sont disponibles à l’échelle nationale et, pour certaines variables, pour les régions suivantes : l’Atlantique, le Québec, l’Ontario, les Prairies et la Colombie-Britannique.

La présente note technique fournit de l’information sur les taux de réponse pour l’EET de 2015 et les stratégies de pondération et de validation utilisées par Statistique Canada afin d’assurer une qualité élevée des données.

Le document présente également des comparaisons entre le taux de réponse à l’EET de 2015 et les taux de réponse obtenus dans d’autres cycles de l’ESG et dans les enquêtes sur l’emploi du temps d’autres pays.

Demande de travail : La somme des personnes occupées (demande de travail comblée) et des postes vacants (demande de travail non comblée).

Collecte des données

L’Enquête sur l’emploi du temps (EET) de 2015 était une enquête volontaire qui a permis de recueillir de l’information au moyen d’interviews téléphoniques et de questionnaires électroniques autodéclarés entre le 7 avril 2015 et le 6 avril 2016. Les répondants étaient priés de remplir un journal de rappel de 24 heures qui était composé des cinq mêmes questions qui figuraient dans l’EET de 2010 ainsi que de deux autres questions sur l’utilisation de la technologie et le bien-être subjectif.

Tout comme dans les enquêtes précédentes sur l’emploi du temps, l’EET de 2015 avait un jour de référence attribué au préalable pour chaque répondant dont les activités devaient être signalées sur une période de 24 heures. L’information pour ce jour précis devait être enregistrée dans le module du questionnaire dans un délai de 48 heures depuis le jour de référence. Par exemple, les répondants qui étaient interrogés sur leurs activités du lundi devaient être interviewés au téléphone le mardi ou le mercredi suivant. Ainsi, la communication entre l’intervieweur et le répondant était limitée à deux des sept jours de la semaine afin d’enregistrer la réponse fournie pour l’enquête. Compte tenu de cette limitation, Statistique Canada a fourni un effort considérable visant à maximiser la participation du répondant et le remplissage du questionnaire.

La méthode de collecte pour l’EET canadienne cadre avec les stratégies de collecte utilisées dans d’autres pays qui utilisent aussi un journal de rappel. Cette méthode de collecte est actuellement considérée comme la plus précise et la plus solide pour recueillir l’information sur l’emploi du temps. Elle requiert toujours également un effort important de la part des répondants. En outre, le fait que les intervieweurs doivent recueillir de l’information auprès des répondants dans une période à la fois très brève et précise impose aussi des contraintes aux intervieweurs qui trouvent souvent difficile de joindre les répondants les jours désignés au préalable. En conséquence, en raison du fardeau du répondant et des défis de collecte, les taux de réponse aux enquêtes sur l’emploi du temps tendent à être inférieurs à ceux d’autres types de sondages auprès des ménages.

Taux de réponse

En 2015, le taux de réponse global pour l’Enquête sur l’Emploi du temps (EET) se situait à 38 %, allant d’un sommet de 53 % au Québec à un creux de 28 % en Colombie-Britannique (graphique 1). Au niveau national, le taux de réponse final à l’EET était de 17 points de pourcentage moins élevé que le taux de réponse obtenu pour l’EET précédente, en 2010 (55 %).

Graphique 1 Taux de réponse par région de l'enquête sur l'Emploi du temps de 2015

Tableau de données du graphique 1
Graphique 1
Taux de réponse par région de l'enquête sur l'Emploi du temps de 2015
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Taux de réponse par région de l'enquête sur l'Emploi du temps de 2015 . Les données sont présentées selon Région (titres de rangée) et Taux de réponse (%)(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Région Taux de réponse (%)
Total 38
Colombie-Britannique 28
Prairies 35
Ontario 37
Québec 53
Atlantique 41

Au cours des dernières années, des cycles de l’Enquête sociale générale, peu importe le sujet, ont eu tendance à avoir des taux de réponse plus faibles dans l’Ouest canadien. En plus des difficultés à faire remplir le journal par rappel aux jours de référence désignés, les rapports sur l’état d’avancement de l’Enquête sur l’emploi du temps de 2015 ont indiqué que la collecte d’enquêtes dans la région de l’Ouest, particulièrement en Colombie-Britannique, est aux prises avec plusieurs obstacles y compris des profils linguistiques diversifiés et des niveaux de mobilité plus élevés des répondants potentiels.

Comparaison du taux de réponse avec les autres cycles de l’Enquête sociale générale

Les taux de réponse des enquêtes auprès des ménages, au Canada, comme dans d’autres pays, ont en règle générale baissé au fil du temps. De plus, les enquêtes sur l’emploi du temps obtiennent d’ordinaire des taux de réponse plus faibles que d’autres types d’enquêtes auprès des ménages. L’Enquête sociale générale (ESG) sur l’emploi du temps de Statistique Canada n’est pas épargnée par ces tendances : comme il a été mentionné précédemment, en 2015, le taux de réponse de l’enquête a été considérablement plus faible qu’il l’a été cinq ans plus tôt, qui s’est établi à 38 % par rapport à 55 %. Le taux de réponse pour l’EET de 2015 était environ de 8 à 15 points de pourcentage moins élevé que ce qui avait été observé pour les autres cycles de l’ESG (graphique 2).

Graphique 2 Taux de réponse de l'Enquête sociale générale par cycle depuis 2007

Tableau de données du graphique 2
Graphique 2
Taux de réponse de l'Enquête sociale générale par cycle depuis 2007
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Taux de réponse de l'Enquête sociale générale par cycle depuis 2007. Les données sont présentées selon Année (titres de rangée) et Cycle et taux de réponse (%)(figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Année Cycle Taux de réponse (%)
2007 La famille, le soutien social et la retraite 58
2008 Les réseaux sociaux 57
2009 Victimisation 62
2010 L'Emploi du temps 55
2011 Famille 66
2012 Soins donnés et reçus 66
2013 Identité sociale 48
2013 Le don, le bénévolat et la participation 46
2014 Victimisation 53
2015 L'Emploi du temps 38

Comparaison du taux de réponse avec celui des enquêtes sur l’emploi du temps d’autres pays

De nombreux pays recueillent auprès des ménages des données sur l’emploi du temps dans un format d’enquête. Habituellement, les taux de réponse sont plus élevés dans des pays tels que l’Australie, la Nouvelle-Zélande et la France, qui recueillent leurs données sur l’emploi du temps au moyen d’interviews sur place au lieu que ce soit par interview téléphonique ou questionnaire électronique. Néanmoins, les taux de réponse pour l’EET dans ces paysNote 1 demeurent tout de même inférieurs à ceux d’autres enquêtes réalisées par ces mêmes organismes statistiques en raison du fardeau des répondants et du remplissage séparé du journal de rappel des activités.

Pour les trois pays dans lesquels les enquêtes sur l’emploi du temps sont réalisées à l’aide d’une interview téléphonique assistée par ordinateur dont la méthodologie utilisée est semblable à celle du Canada, notamment les États-Unis, le Royaume-Uni et la Finlande, les taux de réponse depuis 2005 ont varié, entre un sommet de 59 % (le Canada en 2005) et un creux de 33 % (le Royaume-Uni en 2015). Toutefois, les taux de réponse ont baissé considérablement dans chaque pays au cours des dernières années d’enquête (graphique 3).

Graphique 3 Taux de réponse aux enquêtes sur l'Emploi du temps aux Etats Unis, Royaume Uni, Finlande et Canada, par année de collecte depuis 2000

Tableau de données du graphique 3
Graphique 3 Taux de réponse aux Enquêtes sur l'emploi du temps aux États-Unis, Royaume-Uni, en Finlande et au Canada, par année de collecte depuis 2000
Sommaire du tableau
Le tableau montre les résultats de Graphique 3 Taux de réponse aux Enquêtes sur l'emploi du temps aux États-Unis au Canada, États-Unis, Royaume-Uni et en Finlande, calculées selon Taux de réponse (%) unités de mesure (figurant comme en-tête de colonne).
Canada États-Unis Royaume-Uni Finlande
Taux de réponse (%)
2000 ND ND 45 52
2005 59 57 59 ND
2009 ou 2010 55 57 ND 41
2015 38 49 33 ND

Réduire au minimum les erreurs et les biais

Il existe deux types d’erreurs d’enquête : l’erreur attribuable à l’échantillonnage et l’erreur non attribuable à l’échantillonnage. Il y a une erreur d’échantillonnage lorsqu’on estime une caractéristique en mesurant seulement une partie de la population au lieu de la population au complet. Les erreurs non attribuables à l’échantillonnage, dont les erreurs de non-réponse, peuvent mener à des estimations biaisées lorsque les caractéristiques des répondants et des non-répondants sont différentes.

En ce qui concerne les erreurs non attribuables à l’échantillonnage, Statistique Canada fait tout en son pouvoir pour éliminer les biais dans ses enquêtes, même au cours des premières étapes de planification de l’enquête : par exemple, pour l’EET de 2015, des efforts importants à ont été déployés afin de réduire au minimum les biais grâce à un questionnaire qui a fait ses preuves, une méthodologie éprouvée, des intervieweurs spécialisés et un contrôle de la qualité strict, et au moyen d’un suivi auprès des ménages qui n’ont pas répondu initialement à l’enquête. De plus, des mesures supplémentaires ont été prises afin de réduire le risque de biais attribuable à la non-réponse et de s’assurer que les données de l’EET de 2015 peuvent fournir des estimations de qualité aux niveaux national et régional (Atlantique, Québec, Ontario, Prairies, Colombie-Britannique).

La principale méthode utilisée pour réduire le biais attribuable à la non-réponse à l’EET de 2015 comportait une série d’ajustements aux poids de l’enquête pour tenir compte de la non-réponse autant que possible. Pour tous les cycles de l’ESG, les ajustements à la pondération ont recours à des caractéristiques connues sur les non-répondants, de la base de sondage, par exemple, afin de créer des groupes de réponses homogènes qui servent à ajuster pour la non-réponse les poids déterminés initialement par le plan d’échantillonnage pour la non-réponse. En ce qui concerne l’EET de 2015, un ajustement supplémentaire a été ajoutée lorsque des caractéristiques de base de ménages non-répondants, tels que le revenu et la composition du ménage, ont été extraites de sources administratives et puis ont été utilisées pour modéliser et ajuster pour la non-réponse. Ce nouvel ajustement s’est avéré utile puisque très peu d’information était disponible sur la base de sondage pour la non-réponse des ménages et a réduit le potentiel de biais attribuable à la non réponse dans l’EET de 2015.

Comme c’est le cas pour la plupart des enquêtes auprès de ménages, une fois que les ajustements à la pondération pour tenir compte de la non-réponse présentée ci-dessus ont été effectués pour l’Enquête sur l’emploi du temps (EET) de 2015, une dernière étape de pondération a été appliquée afin de d’ajuster les poids aux totaux connus de la population par âge et sexe. Ce calage des poids a fait en sorte que les totaux connus de la population ont été respectés pour les principales variables démographiques lorsque les données pondérées sont utilisées. Par exemple, même si la non-réponse était plus élevée en Colombie-Britannique, cette étape de calage s’assure que la population de la Colombie-Britannique soit adéquatement représentée lorsque les poids de sondage sont utilisés pour produire des estimations. En outre, un calage sur le jour de référence a été effectué pour que la distribution du jour de référence représente avec exactitude chaque jour de la semaine.

Validation des données

Une fois que l’ensemble de poids final pour l’EET de 2015 a été dérivé, Statistique Canada a validé les estimations de l’enquête conformément à la Directive sur la validation des produits statistiques. Les principales estimations ont été examinées à l’échelle nationale et provinciale en les comparants aux données repères internes et externes. Cet exercice a été utilisé pour évaluer l’adéquation des données et le biais potentiel de la non-réponse. Le biais de non-réponse survient dans les enquêtes statistiques si les réponses des répondants sont différentes des réponses potentielles de ceux qui n’ont pas répondu.

Selon la première étape de l’exercice de validation, les résultats de l’EET de 2015 étaient conformes aux constatations des trois dernières ESG sur l’emploi du temps pour les variables telles que la perception du temps, la santé générale, l’activité principale et la satisfaction à l’égard de la vie.

Les caractéristiques des ménages et des répondants de l’EET de 2015 ont été ensuite comparées aux données de l’Enquête sociale générale (ESG) sur la victimisation de 2014. Cette validation a montré qu’aux niveaux national et provincial, l’EET de 2015 et l’ESG sur la victimisation 2014 étaient conformes à la proportion d’Autochtones et d’immigrants et au lieu de résidence (région métropolitaine de recensement et région autre qu’une région métropolitaine de recensement) et les conditions de vie de la population.

En outre, les données de l’EET de 2015 ont été validées par rapport aux données d’autres enquêtes de Statistique Canada, y compris le cycle 2015 de l’Enquête sur la santé dans les collectivités canadiennes (ESCC). Ici encore, aux niveaux national et provincial, les résultats sont cohérents dans l’ensemble de plusieurs variables, y compris l’état matrimonial, le type de logement, la taille du ménage et l’activité principale du répondant.

Adéquation des données de l’Enquête sur l’emploi du temps de 2015

En appliquant les ajustements pour la non-réponse aux poids de l’enquête et en validant les principales estimations de l’enquête par rapport à plusieurs autres sources de données, Statistique Canada s’est efforcé à s’assurer que les données de l’Enquête sur l’emploi du temps de 2015 sont adaptées à leur utilisation. Néanmoins, les utilisateurs de données doivent savoir que les estimations pour les petites sous populations, dont celles pour certaines régions provinciales et les niveaux inférieurs de géographie, peuvent être assujetties à une erreur d’échantillonnage plus élevée et à des risques plus élevés de biais attribuable à la non-réponse.


Date de modification :