Statistics Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2001

The Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) is Statistics Canada's official classification of geographic areas in Canada. The SGC provides unique numeric codes for three types of geographic areas: provinces and territories, census divisions (counties, regional municipalities), and census subdivisions (municipalities). The three geographic areas are hierarchically related; a seven-digit code is used to show this relationship. In addition the two other areas, Metropolitan Areas and Economic Regions are recognized as standard geographic areas in the SGC.



Changes to SGC 2001

  • Name change to Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs) of Ottawa - Gatineau and Saguenay
  • Change to alpha code for Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Official abbreviation for Newfoundland and Labrador
  • Name change to Census Agglomeration (CA) of Port Hope
  • How to report data for statistical areas that cross provincial boundaries
  • Name change to Census Agglomeration (CA) of Temiskaming Shores
  • Treatment of bilingual geographic names