Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2001

List of Provinces and Territories with Codes and Abbreviations
Province / Territory SGC Code Alpha Code Abbreviation
Newfoundland and LabradorFootnote 1 10 NLFootnote 2 N.L.Footnote 2
Prince Edward Island 11 PE P.E.I.
Nova Scotia 12 NS N.S.
New Brunswick 13 NB N.B.
Quebec 24 QC Que.
Ontario 35 ON Ont.
Manitoba 46 MB Man.
Saskatchewan 47 SK Sask.
Alberta 48 AB Alta.
British Columbia 59 BC B.C.
Yukon Territory 60 YT Y.T.
Northwest Territories 61 NT N.W.T.
Nunavut 62 NU Nvt.Footnote 3


Footnote 1

The boundaries, names, codes and status of the standard geographic areas reflect those in effect on January 1, 2001 with the exception of the name change of the province of Newfoundland and Labrador (previously Newfoundland) which became effective on December 6, 2001.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Before October 21, 2002, the alpha code for Newfoundland and Labrador was NF. Furthermore N.L. is the official abbreviation for the province of Newfoundland and Labrador. It replaces the provisional abbreviation (Nfld.Lab.) listed in the 2001 SGC manual.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

There is no official abbreviation for Nunavut at this time. The abbreviation used here for this entity is provisional.

Return to footnote 3 referrer