Archived – Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2006

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact us" to request a format other than those available.

Supplement no. 2

May 25, 2009 (Previous notice)

Supplement no. 2 to the Standard Geographical Classification 2006 is issued by Standards Division to inform users of: (1) the guidelines for requesting a name change to a census metropolitan area; and (2) a change of name of the census metropolitan area (CMA) of Abbotsford.

1. Guidelines for Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) name change requests

The Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) Naming Convention has been revised for use in the 2011 Census and in other Statistics Canada products. Below are the guidelines for requesting a change:

CMA names can consist of up to three legislated municipal names of eligible Census subdivisions (CSDs) that are components of the CMA. However, the number of name elements in any new CMA name request is limited to five. If any of the eligible CSD names are already hyphenated or compound, the number of CSD names will be limited to two or one if the number of name elements exceeds five.

The eligible municipal names include the historic central municipality name and the two component CSDs with the largest population, and having a population of at least 10,000, according to the last census.

The ordering of the municipal names within the CMA name is determined by the historic (central) municipality and the population size of the eligible CSDs. The first component of the CMA name is always the historic (central) CSD even if its census population count is less than the other eligible component CSDs. This ensures that CMA names retain a measure of stability for better longitudinal recognition. The second and third place name order is determined by population size. The component CSD with the higher census population count at the time of the name change assumes the second position and the next largest component CSD the third position.

In order for Statistics Canada to implement a requested CMA name change, there must be explicit consensus among all eligible component municipalities on a proposed new name and a formal request, in accordance with these Guidelines, must be sent to the Director of the Geography Division at Statistics Canada by June 1st of the year prior to the Census. The CMA name change will be implemented in the revision of the Standard Geographical Classification related to the Census under consideration.

Statistics Canada will continue to change CMA names whenever the legislated name of a municipality changes. Any other request for a name change will only be considered within the context of these guidelines.

This naming convention and these guidelines will be included under Information on the Standard Geographical Classification in the Naming geographical units section of the classification manual.

2. Change of name – Census Metropolitan Area of Abbotsford

Effective May 25, 2009, the name of the CMA of “Abbotsford” becomes “Abbotsford–Mission”.

Divisions in Statistics Canada releasing data for that CMA are expected to use the new name at the earliest opportunity.

Data dissemination guidelines

Effective May 25, 2009, “Abbotsford–Mission” is the official name of the CMA of Abbotsford in the Standard Geographical Classification (SGC) 2006.

The following applies to data released in print, through CANSIM or electronically.

For non-Census products and programs, the new CMA name should be implemented at the earliest opportunity in any new release, regardless of the reference period of the data.

For the 2006 Census products, the former name will be maintained but a footnote should be added in any new release in The Daily text, or in any analytical text indicating the name change.

Date modified: