Microsimulation

Microsimulation models are computer models that operate at the level of the individual behavioural entity, such as a person, family, or firm. Such models simulate large representative populations of these low-level entities in order to draw conclusions that apply to higher levels of aggregation such as an entire country. This type of model is distinct from aggregate models whose explanatory variables already represent collective properties. An example of such an aggregate explanatory variable might be the national unemployment rate. Certain types of modeling problems are best dealt with using microsimulation whereas for others an aggregate approach is more appropriate.

Statistics Canada has developed a number of microsimulation models as well as general purpose tools that assist in their construction. Some of these models and tools can be downloaded from the pages linked below. A variety of analyses, some originating from inside Statistics Canada and some from outside, have been performed using these models.

For more information about microsimulation activities at Statistics Canada, click one or more of the links below.

SPSD/M

SPSD/M is a detailed cross-sectional microsimulation model of individuals and families. It is based on a non-confidential annual database constructed using a variety of survey and administrative data sources. It is used for policy development and analysis of Federal and Provincial tax and transfer programs, as well as for analyzing issues related to income distribution.

LifePaths

LifePaths is a dynamic longitudinal microsimulation model of individuals and families. Using behavioural equations based on historical data, it creates statistically representative samples consisting of complete lifetimes of individuals. It is used for analyzing and developing government policies having an essentially longitudinal component, in particular those whose nature requires evaluation at the individual or family level. It can also be used to analyze a variety of societal issues of a longitudinal nature such as intergenerational equity or time allocation over entire lifetimes.

The LifePaths project is now discontinued and is no longer supported. Statistics Canada is in the process of developing new dynamic socio-economic microsimulation tools. More information on these developments can be obtained by emailing statcan.microsimulation-microsimulation.statcan@canada.ca

Demosim

Demosim is a microsimulation model designed for population projections, starting with the Canadian census microdata file (20% sample) as the base population. It generates, at the metropolitan area level, projections of the future ethnocultural composition of the population according to different scenarios of population growth.

Health Models

This overview outlines the health-related simulation models either in place or in development from the Health Analysis Division of Statistics Canada.

Modgen

Modgen is a general purpose tool created at Statistics Canada to facilitate the construction and use of longitudinal microsimulation models. The structure, equations, documentation, and result tabulations of a model are supplied to Modgen using a high level language. Modgen in turn constructs a fully functional computer program with a user interface that implements the specified model. BioBrowser, a companion application to Modgen, allows the visual exploration of the longitudinal histories of the low-level simulated entities generated by Modgen models.

Microsimulation

Les modèles de microsimulation sont des modèles informatiques qui traitent l'information sur le comportement au niveau d'une entité telle une personne, une famille ou une entreprise. Ces modèles simulent d'importantes populations représentatives de ces entités de bas niveau afin de permettre de tirer des conclusions qui s'appliquent à un niveau d'agrégation supérieur, par exemple un pays. Ce type de modèle diffère des modèles agrégés dont les variables explicatives représentent déjà des propriétés collectives. Le taux national de chômage serait un exemple de variable explicative agrégée. La microsimulation constitue le meilleur moyen de régler certains types de problèmes de modélisation alors qu'une approche agrégée convient mieux à d'autres types de problèmes.

Statistique Canada a élaboré un certain nombre de modèles de microsimulation ainsi que des outils généraux qui en facilitent la construction. Certains de ces modèles et outils peuvent être téléchargés à partir des pages avec lesquelles un lien est établi ci-dessous. On a procédé à l'aide de ces modèles à diverses analyses, dont certaines ont été effectuées à Statistique Canada et d'autres, à l'extérieur.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les activités de microsimulation à Statistique Canada, cliquez sur l'un ou plusieurs des liens ci-dessous.

BD/MSPS

BD/MSPS est un modèle de microsimulation transversal détaillé d'individus et de familles. Il est fondé sur une base de données annuelle non confidentielle construite au moyen de diverses enquêtes et sources de données administratives. Il sert à l'élaboration de politiques et à l'analyse de programmes fiscaux et de transferts fédéraux et provinciaux ainsi qu'à l'analyse de questions liées à la répartition du revenu.

LifePaths

LifePaths est un modèle longitudinal dynamique de microsimulation des individus et des familles. À l'aide d'équations sur le comportement fondées sur des données chronologiques, il crée des échantillons statistiquement représentatifs de cheminements de vie individuels complets. Il est utilisé pour analyser et élaborer des politiques gouvernementales ayant une composante essentiellement longitudinale, particulièrement celles qui, de par leur nature, exigent une évaluation au niveau de l'individu ou de la famille. Il peut aussi être utilisé pour analyser diverses questions sociales de nature longitudinale comme l'équité entre les générations et l'emploi du temps tout au long de la vie.

Le projet LifePaths est maintenant abandonné et n’est plus soutenu. Le personnel de Statistique Canada est en train d’élaborer de nouveaux outils de microsimulation socioéconomique dynamique. Plus de renseignements sur l’élaboration des outils peuvent être obtenus en envoyant un courriel à statcan.microsimulation-microsimulation.statcan@canada.ca

Demosim

Demosim est un modèle qui effectue des projections démographiques par microsimulation en prenant pour point de départ le fichier de microdonnées (échantillon 20%) du Recensement du Canada. Il permet d'obtenir, à l'échelon des régions métropolitaines, des projections de la composition ethnoculturelle future de la population selon divers scénarios d'accroissement.

Modèles de santé

Cette vue d'ensemble décrit les modèles de microsimulation dans le domaine de la santé, incluant les modèles existants et les modèles en matière de développement par la division de l'analyse de la santé de Statistique Canada.

Modgen

Modgen est un outil général créé à Statistique Canada pour faciliter la construction et l'utilisation de modèles longitudinaux de microsimulation. La structure, les équations, la documentation et les tableaux de résultats d'un modèle sont entrés dans Modgen au moyen d'un langage de haut niveau. Modgen construit ensuite un programme informatique entièrement fonctionnel doté d'une interface utilisateur qui met en oeuvre le modèle spécifié. BioBrowser, une application associée à Modgen, permet d'explorer visuellement les profils longitudinaux des entités simulées de bas niveau générées par les modèles Modgen.