Statistics Canada Open Licence

This licence is issued on behalf of Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, as represented by the Minister for Statistics Canada ("Statistics Canada") to you (an individual or a legal entity that you are authorized to represent).

The following are terms governing your use of the Information. Your use of any Information indicates your understanding and acceptance of the terms below. If you do not agree to these terms, you may not use the Information.

Statistics Canada may modify this licence at any time, and such modifications shall be effective immediately upon posting of the modified licence on the Statistics Canada website. Your use of the Information will be governed by the terms of the licence in force as of the date and time you accessed the Information.

Definitions

"Information" means the compilation of non-confidential results from any Statistics Canada activities, including data files, databases, public use microdata files, publications, tables, graphs, maps, reports and text for which Statistics Canada is the owner or a licensee of all intellectual property rights and made available to you in accordance with this licence, at cost or no cost, either on the Statistics Canada website or by other means as a result of a contract for goods or services.

"Value-added Products" means any products you have produced by adapting or incorporating the Information, in whole or in part, in accordance with this licence.

Licence Grant

Subject to this licence, Statistics Canada grants you a worldwide, royalty-free, non-exclusive licence to:

  • use, reproduce, publish, freely distribute, or sell the Information;
  • use, reproduce, publish, freely distribute, or sell Value-added Products; and,
  • sublicence any or all such rights, under terms consistent with this licence.

In doing any of the above, you shall:

  • reproduce the Information accurately;
  • not use the Information in a way that suggests that Statistics Canada endorses you or your use of the Information;
  • not misrepresent the Information or its source;
  • use the Information in a manner that does not breach or infringe any applicable laws;
  • not merge or link the Information with any other databases for the purpose of attempting to identify an individual person, business or organization;
  • not present the Information in such a manner that gives the appearance that you may have received, or had access to, information held by Statistics Canada about any identifiable individual person, business or organization; and
  • not disassemble, decompile or in any way attempt to reverse engineer any software provided as part of the Information.

Intellectual Property Rights

Intellectual property rights, being any and all intellectual property rights recognized by the law, including but not limited to, intellectual property rights protected through legislation, in Value-added Products, shall vest in you, in such person as you shall decide or as determined by law.

Intellectual property rights that Statistics Canada may have in the Information shall remain the property of Statistics Canada. Intellectual property rights that third parties may have in the Information shall remain their property.

Acknowledgment of Source

(a) You shall include and maintain the following notice on all licensed rights of the Information:

Source: Statistics Canada, name of product, reference date. Reproduced and distributed on an "as is" basis with the permission of Statistics Canada.

(b) Where any Information is contained within a Value-added Product, you shall include on such Value-added Product the following notice:

Adapted from Statistics Canada, name of product, reference date. This does not constitute an endorsement by Statistics Canada of this product.

Advertising and Publicity

You shall not include on any reproduction of the Information or any material relating to your Value-added Product, or elsewhere:

(a) the name, crest, logos or other insignia or domain names of Statistics Canada or the official symbols of the Government of Canada, including the Canada wordmark, the Coat of Arms of Canada, and the flag symbol, without written authorization from the Treasury Board Secretariat. Request for authorization from the Treasury Board Secretariat may be addressed to:

information@fip-pcim.gc.ca
Federal Identity Program
Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
300 Laurier Avenue West
Ottawa, Canada K1A 0R5

(b) any annotation that may be interpreted as an endorsement by the Statistics Canada of the Value-added Product or that would imply that you have an exclusive distribution arrangement for any or all of the Information or that you have access to any confidential information or information not available to others.

No Warranty and no Liability

The Information is licensed 'as is', and Statistics Canada makes no representations or warranties whatsoever with respect to the Information, whether express or implied, in relation to the Information and expressly disclaims any implied warranty of merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose of the Information.

Statistics Canada or any of its Ministers, officials, servants, employees, agents, successors and assigns shall not be liable for any errors or omissions in the Information and shall not, under any circumstances, be liable for any direct, indirect, special, incidental, consequential, or other loss, injury or damage, however caused, that you may suffer at any time by reason of your possession, access to or use of the Information or arising out of the exercise of your rights or the fulfilment of your obligations under this licence.

Term

This licence is effective as of the date and time you access the Information and shall terminate automatically if you breach any of the terms of this licence.

Notwithstanding termination of this licence:

  1. you may continue to distribute Value-added Products for the purpose of completing orders made before the termination of this licence provided you comply with the requirements set out in the Acknowledgment of Source clause; and
  2. individuals or entities who have received Value-added Products or reproductions of the Information from you pursuant to this licence will not have their licences terminated provided they remain in full compliance with those licences.

Survival

All obligations which expressly or by their nature survive termination of this licence shall continue in full force and effect. For greater clarity, and without limiting the generality of the foregoing, the following provisions survive expiration or termination of this licence: Acknowledgment of Source, and No warranty and no Liability.

Applicable Law

This licence is governed by the laws of the province of Ontario and applicable laws of Canada. Legal proceedings related to this licence may only be brought in the courts of Ontario or the Federal Court of Canada.

Date modified:

Entente de licence ouverte de Statistique Canada

La présente entente est conclue entre Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre responsable de Statistique Canada (« Statistique Canada ») et vous (un particulier ou une personne morale que vous êtes autorisé à représenter).

Vous trouverez ci-après les conditions qui régissent votre utilisation de l'information. Votre utilisation de toute information indique que vous comprenez ces conditions et que vous acceptez d'être lié par celles-ci. Si vous n'acceptez pas ces conditions, il ne vous est pas permis d'utiliser l'information.

Statistique Canada peut modifier cette entente en tout temps, et ces modifications entreront en vigueur dès la publication de la version modifiée de l'entente dans le site Web de Statistique Canada. Votre utilisation de l'information sera régie par les conditions de l'entente en vigueur à la date et à l'heure où vous avez accédé à l'information.

Définitions

L'« information » comprend tout fichier de données, base de données, tableau, graphique, carte ou texte dont Statistique Canada est propriétaire ou concessionnaire de tous les droits de propriété intellectuelle et qui est mis à votre disposition conformément à la présente entente, moyennant des frais ou gratuitement, dans le site Web de Statistique Canada ou par d'autres moyens en vertu d'un contrat pour des biens ou des services.

Les « produits à valeur ajoutée » comprennent tous produits que vous avez élaborés en adaptant ou en intégrant l'information, en tout ou en partie, conformément aux conditions de la présente entente.

Octroi de licence

Sous réserve des conditions de la présente entente, Statistique Canada vous accorde une licence mondiale, libre de redevances et non exclusive vous permettant :

  • d'utiliser, de reproduire, de publier, de diffuser gratuitement ou de vendre l'information;
  • d'utiliser, de reproduire, de publier, de diffuser gratuitement ou de vendre les produits à valeur ajoutée;
  • d'accorder des sous licences conférant une partie ou la totalité de ces droits, conformément aux conditions de cette entente.

Durant l'exécution de toute activité susmentionnée, vous devez :

  • reproduire l'information avec exactitude;
  • ne pas utiliser l'information d'une façon qui laisse croire que Statistique Canada vous appuie ou appuie l'utilisation que vous faites de l'information;
  • ne pas présenter de manière inexacte l'information ou sa source;
  • utiliser l'information d'une manière qui ne viole ni n'enfreint toute loi applicable;
  • ne pas fusionner ni lier l'information à toute autre base de données pour tenter d'identifier une personne, une entreprise ou une organisation particulière;
  • ne pas présenter l'information d'une façon donnant l'impression que vous auriez pu avoir reçu ou avoir eu accès à des renseignements détenus par Statistique Canada sur toute personne, entreprise ou organisation identifiable.

Droits de propriété intellectuelle

Les droits de propriété intellectuelle visant les produits à valeur ajoutée, à savoir tout droit de propriété intellectuelle reconnu par la loi, y compris mais sans s'y limiter les droits de propriété intellectuelle protégés par une législation, vous sont attribués ou sont attribués à la personne que vous désignez ou qui est désignée par application de la loi.

Les droits de propriété intellectuelle visant l'information que possède Statistique Canada demeurent la propriété de Statistique Canada. Les droits de propriété intellectuelle visant l'information qui appartient à des tiers demeurent la propriété de ces derniers.

Mention de la source

(a) Pour tout exercice de vos droits d'utilisation de l'information, vous devez inclure et maintenir la mention suivante :

Source : Statistique Canada, nom du produit, date de référence. Reproduit et diffusé « tel quel » avec la permission de Statistique Canada.

(b) Pour toute information contenue dans un produit à valeur ajoutée, vous devez inclure dans ce produit la mention suivante :

Adapté de Statistique Canada, nom du produit, date de référence. Cela ne constitue pas une approbation de ce produit par Statistique Canada.

Promotion et publicité

Il vous est interdit d'utiliser sur toute reproduction de l'information ou sur tout matériel ayant trait à votre produit à valeur ajoutée, ou ailleurs :

(a) le nom, l'emblème, les logos ou tout insigne ou nom de domaine de Statistique Canada ou les symboles officiels du gouvernement du Canada, y compris le mot symbole « Canada », les armoiries du Canada et le symbole du drapeau, sans l'autorisation écrite du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. La demande d'autorisation au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor peut être adressée à :

information@fip-pcim.gc.ca
Programme de coordination de l'image de marque
Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada,
300, avenue Laurier Ouest
Ottawa (Canada) K1A 0R5

(b) toute annotation qui pourrait être interprétée comme une approbation du produit à valeur ajoutée par Statistique Canada ou qui sous-entendrait que vous avez conclu une entente de distribution exclusive pour une partie ou pour toute l'information, ou que vous avez accès à des renseignements confidentiels ou non accessibles à d'autres parties.

Pas de garantie ni de responsabilité

L'information est octroyée sous licence « telle quelle », et Statistique Canada ne fait aucune assertion et n'offre aucune garantie d'aucune sorte, explicite ou implicite, relativement à l'information et rejette expressément toute garantie implicite de qualité marchande de l'information ou de son utilité à des fins particulières.

Statistique Canada ni aucun de ses ministres, dirigeants, fonctionnaires, employés, agents, successeurs et ayant droit ne sera tenu responsable d'aucune erreur ni omission dans l'information et ne sera en aucun cas tenu responsable des pertes, blessures ou dommages directs, indirects, spéciaux, conséquents ou autre, quelle qu'en soit la cause, que vous pourriez subir à n'importe quel moment en raison de votre possession de l'information, de votre accès à cette information ou de son utilisation, ou résultant de l'exercice de vos droits ou du respect de vos obligations aux termes de la présente entente.

Terme

La présente entente entre en vigueur à la date et à l'heure où vous accédez à l'information et est résiliée automatiquement si vous enfreignez l'une de ses conditions.

Nonobstant la résiliation de cette entente :

  1. vous pouvez continuer de distribuer les produits à valeur ajoutée aux fins de remplir les commandes faites avant la résiliation de l'entente, à condition que vous respectiez les exigences énoncées dans la clause de mention de la source;
  2. les licences des particuliers ou des personnes morales auxquels vous avez fourni des produits à valeur ajoutée ou des reproductions de l'information en vertu de la présente entente ne seront pas résiliées à condition qu'ils continuent à se conformer entièrement aux conditions de ces licences.

Survie

Les obligations qui survivent à la résiliation de la présente entente, expressément ou en raison de leur nature, demeureront en vigueur. Pour plus de clarté, et sans limiter la généralité de ce qui précède, les dispositions qui suivent survivent à l'expiration ou à la résiliation de la présente entente : « Mention de la source » et « Aucune garantie ni responsabilité ».

Lois applicables

La présente entente est régie et interprétée conformément aux lois de la province de l'Ontario et aux lois du Canada qui sont applicables. Par la présente, les parties reconnaissent la compétence exclusive de la Cour fédérale du Canada.

Date de modification :