Lone-parent families: The new face of an old phenomenon

Canadian Megatrends

One would think that the lone-parent families of today would more readily resemble those of the Swinging '60s than the Dirty '30s, or even the prim Victorian Age. After all, weren't the '60s the birth of the modern era? In fact, the '60s was an age when the predominance of the two-parent married family reached its peak. It was also a time when societal changes led to the increasing prevalence of the lone-parent families of today.

In the early decades of the 20th century, lone-parent families were relatively prevalent. The proportion of children who lived with a lone parent was nearly as high in 1931 (11.9%) as it was in 1981 (12.7%), though the circumstances of these families were often very different.

Chart 1 - Living arrangements of children, aged 24 and under, in census families, Canada, 1931 to 2011
Description for Chart 1
Living arrangements of children, aged 24 and under, in census families, Canada, 1931 to 2011
Table summary
The table shows each decade from 1931 to 2011 as column headers, and the living arrangements 'With married parents', 'With common-law parents' and 'With lone parent' as row headers. The data is shown as percentages.
Year With married parents With common-law parents With lone parent
percentage
1931 88.1 11.9
1941 90.2 9.6
1951 92.0 8.0
1961 93.6 6.4
1971 90.4 9.6
1981 84.7 2.6 12.7
1991 78.9 5.9 15.2
2001 70.7 10.4 19.0
2011 64.9 13.7 21.5

The cultural shifts associated with the baby boom (1946 to 1965), including higher marriage rates and younger ages at marriage, along with continued improvements in adult mortality, contributed to a lower proportion of children living in lone-parent families during these years. In 1961, the vast majority of children in census families (93.6%) were living with married parents—the highest proportion observed over the past century. In turn, the proportion of children living with a lone parent reached a low of 6.4% in 1961, just over one-half the share in 1931 (11.9%).

While the 1960s were the apex of the married family, the number of divorces increased significantly following the 1968 Divorce Act. Other shifts that affected family life in the 1960's and 70's included the growing participation of women in higher education and in the paid labour force, increasing secularization, and the legalization of the birth-control pill. Reflecting some of these societal changes, the share of children living with a lone parent more than doubled from 6.4% in 1961 to 15.2% in 1991.

The proportion of children living with a lone parent continued to increase in the new millennium. Despite the growth of common-law couple families—which outnumbered lone-parent families for the first time in 2011—there were still proportionally more children living with a lone parent (21.5%) than with common-law parents (13.7%) in 2011. Indeed, the share of children living with a lone parent was the highest on record in 2011, and more than triple that observed at the height of the baby boom (6.4% in 1961).

Growing share of children living with divorced, separated or never-married lone parents

Along with changes in the prevalence of lone-parent families, the legal marital status of lone parents has changed considerably. In 1931, most children in lone-parent families (75.9%) lived with a widowed lone parent (Chart 2). By 1991, widowed lone parents were the exception, representing about 1 in 10 (11.2%) children in lone-parent families. Instead, most children in lone-parent families (70.0%) lived with a parent who was divorced or separated. By 2011, while the majority of children in lone-parent families lived with a divorced or separated lone parent (56.2%), over one-third (37.4%) lived with a lone parent who had never married—approximately double the share in 1991 (18.8%).

Chart 2 - Living arrangements of children, aged 24 and under, in lone-parent families by marital status of the parent, Canada, 1931 to 2011
Description for Chart 2
Living arrangements of children, aged 24 and under, in lone-parent families by marital status of the parent, Canada, 1931 to 2011
Table summary
The table shows each decade from 1931 to 2011 as row headers, and the living arrangements 'Divorced, separated or married spouse absent', 'Widowed' and 'Single never-married' as column headers. The unit of measure is percentages.
Year Divorced, separated or married spouse absent Widowed Single never-married
percentage
1931 24.1 75.9
1941 31.9 66.7 1.4
1951 43.5 54.8 1.6
1961 47.1 51.0 2.0
1971 54.7 38.7 6.7
1981 67.5 23.5 9.0
1991 70.0 11.2 18.8
2001 61.6 7.3 31.1
2011 56.2 6.4 37.4

Proportionally more children in the 1940s lived with a male lone parent than today

In addition to changes in the marital status of lone parents, the predominance of female lone parents has varied considerably over time. While lone parents have always been more likely to be female, in the early decades of the 20th century, relatively high maternal mortality contributed to proportionally more male lone parents, compared with later in the century. By 1996, the proportion of children living with a male lone parent reached a record low of 15.5%, compared with 28.1% in 1941, and an estimated 40% in 1901.

Children living in lone-parent families in a census year may have more complex living arrangements and custodial circumstances. Trends toward more joint custody following divorce have increased the chance of a father having custody of a child on Census Day. Reflecting this trend, the proportion of children in lone-parent families living with a male lone parent has recently risen, from 15.5% in 1996 to 20.1% in 2011.

Chart 3 - Number of children aged 24 and under, living in lone-parent families and distribution of these children by sex of the parent, Canada, 1941 to 2011
Description for Chart 3
Number of children, aged 24 and under, living in lone-parent families, and distribution of these children by sex of the parent, Canada, 1941 to 2011
Table summary
The table shows each decade from 1941 to 2011 as row headers, and the distribution of children living in lone-parent families by sex of the parent 'Male lone-parent families' and 'Female lone-parent families' as column headers. The data is shown by number of children and percentage of children.
Year Male lone-parent families Female lone-parent families
number percentage number percentage
1941 125,977 28.1 321,942 71.9
1951 99,795 22.5 343,739 77.5
1961 108,880 21.9 388,857 78.1
1971 185,956 21.9 664,128 78.1
1981 175,245 16.7 873,080 83.3
1991 206,140 16.6 1,033,815 83.4
2001 291,210 17.7 1,352,800 82.3
2011 381,860 20.1 1,515,440 79.9

Definition

Census family: A census family is composed of a married or common-law couple, with or without children, or of a lone parent living with at least one child in the same dwelling. Couples can be of the opposite sex or of the same sex.

References

Bohnert, N., A. Milan and H. Lathe. 2014. Enduring diversity: Living arrangements of children in Canada over 100 years of the census. Demographic Documents.Statistics Canada. Catalogue no. 91F0015M – No. 11.

Bohnert, N., A. Milan and H. Lathe. 2014. Living arrangements of children in Canada: A century of change. Insights on Canadian Society. Statistics Canada. Catalogue no. 75-006-X.

Milan, A. 2000. One hundred years of families. Canadian Social Trends. Statistics Canada. Catalogue no. 11-008-X.

Statistics Canada. 2011. Fifty Years of Families in Canada: 1961 to 2011. Families, households and marital status, 2011 Census of Population. Census in Brief. Catalogue no. 98-312-X2011003.

Statistics Canada. 2012. Portrait of Families and Living Arrangements in Canada. Families, households and marital status, 2011 Census of Population. Analytical document. Catalogue no. 98-312-X2011001.

Contact information

To enquire about the concepts, methods or data quality of this release, contact Information and Client Services (1-800-387-2231 or 613-951-9023 or demography@statcan.gc.ca).

Date modified:

Familles monoparentales : le nouveau visage d'un ancien phénomène

Mégatendances canadiennes

On pourrait penser que les familles monoparentales d'aujourd'hui ressemblent davantage à celles des années 1960 qu'à celles des années 1930 ou même qu'à celles de l'ère victorienne. Après tout, les années 1960 n'ont-elles pas marqué le début de l'ère moderne? En fait, les années 1960 sont celles où la prédominance des familles comptant deux parents mariés a atteint son apogée. Il s'agit aussi d'une époque où les changements sociétaux ont mené à la prévalence croissante des familles monoparentales d'aujourd'hui.

Au cours des premières décennies du XXe siècle, les familles monoparentales étaient relativement répandues. La proportion d'enfants vivant avec un parent seul était presque aussi élevée en 1931 (11,9 %) qu'en 1981 (12,7 %), même si la situation de ces familles était souvent très différente.

Mode de vie des enfants de 24 ans et moins dans les familles de recensement, Canada, 1931 à 2011
Description du graphique 1
Mode de vie des enfants de 24 ans et moins dans les familles de recensement, Canada, 1931 à 2011
Sommaire de tableau
Le tableau identifie les décennies de 1931 à 2011 en tant que colonnes, et modes de vie 'Avec parents mariés', 'Avec parents en union libre' and 'Avec parents seuls' en tant que rangées. L'unité de mesure est pourcentage.
Année Avec parents mariés Avec parents en union libre Avec parents seuls
pourcentage
1931 88,1 11,9
1941 90,2 9,6
1951 92,0 8,0
1961 93,6 6,4
1971 90,4 9,6
1981 84,7 2,6 12,7
1991 78,9 5,9 15,2
2001 70,7 10,4 19,0
2011 64,9 13,7 21,5

Les changements culturels associés au baby-boom (de 1946 à 1965), y compris des taux de nuptialité plus élevés et un mariage plus précoce, ainsi que les améliorations continues par rapport à la mortalité des adultes, ont contribué au fait qu'une proportion plus faible d'enfants vivaient dans des familles monoparentales au cours de cette période. En 1961, la grande majorité des enfants des familles de recensement (93,6 %) demeuraient avec des parents mariés. Il s'agit de la plus forte proportion observée au cours du dernier siècle. Parallèlement, la proportion d'enfants vivant avec un parent seul a atteint un creux de 6,4 % en 1961, correspondant à un peu plus de la moitié de la proportion observée en 1931 (11,9 %).

Alors que la famille à couple marié a atteint son apogée dans les années 1960, le nombre de divorces a augmenté de façon notable après l'adoption de la Loi sur le divorce en 1968. Parmi les autres changements qui ont influencé la vie familiale dans les années 1960 et 1970 figuraient la participation grandissante des femmes aux études supérieures et au marché du travail, la sécularisation et la légalisation de la pilule anticonceptionnelle. Dans le sillage de certaines de ces transformations sociétales, la proportion d'enfants vivant avec un parent seul a plus que doublé, pour passer de 6,4 % en 1961 à 15,2 % en 1991.

La proportion d'enfants vivant avec un parent seul a continué d'augmenter au cours du nouveau millénaire. Malgré la hausse du nombre de familles constituées d'un couple vivant en union libre, qui a dépassé celui des familles monoparentales pour la première fois en 2011, on comptait encore proportionnellement plus d'enfants demeurant avec un parent seul (21,5 %) qu'avec des parents en union libre (13,7 %) cette année-là. En fait, la proportion d'enfants vivant avec un parent seul en 2011 a été la plus élevée jamais enregistrée et représentait plus du triple de la proportion observée au plus fort du baby-boom (6,4 % en 1961).

Proportion croissante d'enfants vivant avec un parent seul divorcé, séparé ou jamais marié

Parallèlement aux changements dans la prévalence des familles monoparentales, l'état matrimonial légal des parents seuls a aussi évolué considérablement. En 1931, la plupart des enfants vivant dans des familles monoparentales (75,9 %) demeuraient avec un parent seul veuf (graphique 2). À l'inverse, en 1991, les enfants demeurant avec un parent seul veuf représentaient environ un enfant sur dix (11,2 %) vivant dans des familles monoparentales. La plupart des enfants vivant dans des familles monoparentales (70,0 %) demeuraient avec un parent divorcé ou séparé. En 2011, même si la majorité des enfants vivant dans des familles monoparentales demeuraient avec un parent seul divorcé ou séparé (56,2 %), plus du tiers (37,4 %) demeuraient avec un parent seul qui n'avait jamais été marié, ce qui représente environ le double de la proportion enregistrée en 1991 (18,8 %).

Mode de vie des enfants de 24 ans et moins appartenant à des familles monoparentales selon l'état matrimonial du parent, Canada, 1931 à 2011
Description du graphique 2
Mode de vie des enfants de 24 ans et moins appartenant à des familles monoparentales selon l'état matrimonial du parent, Canada, 1931 à 2011
Sommaire de tableau
Le tableau identifie les décennies de 1931 à 2011 en tant que rangées, et modes de vie 'Divorcé, séparé ou marié avec époux absent', 'Veuf' and 'Jamais marié (célibataire)' en tant que colonnes. L'unité de mesure est pourcentage.
Année Divorcé, séparé ou marié avec époux absent Veuf Jamais marié (célibataire)
pourcentage
1931 24,1 75,9
1941 31,9 66,7 1,4
1951 43,5 54,8 1,6
1961 47,1 51,0 2,0
1971 54,7 38,7 6,7
1981 67,5 23,5 9,0
1991 70,0 11,2 18,8
2001 61,6 7,3 31,1
2011 56,2 6,4 37,4

Comparativement à aujourd'hui, un nombre proportionnellement plus élevé d'enfants vivaient avec un père seul dans les années 1940

Outre les changements relatifs à l'état matrimonial des parents seuls, la prédominance des mères seules a fluctué considérablement au fil du temps. Si les parents seuls ont toujours été plus susceptibles d'être des femmes, au cours des premières décennies du XXe siècle, la mortalité maternelle relativement élevée a contribué au nombre proportionnellement plus élevé de pères seuls à cette époque, comparativement aux périodes ultérieures. En 1996, la proportion d'enfants vivant avec un père seul a atteint un creux sans précédent de 15,5 %, comparativement à 28,1 % en 1941, et à approximativement 40 % en 1901.

Le mode de vie et les circonstances de la garde des enfants vivant dans des familles monoparentales au cours d'une année de recensement peuvent être plus complexes. La tendance vers la garde conjointe après un divorce a fait augmenter la probabilité qu'un père ait la garde d'un enfant le jour du recensement. Faisant écho à cette tendance, la proportion d'enfants vivant dans des familles monoparentales avec un père seul a augmenté récemment, passant de 15,5 % en 1996 à 20,1 % en 2011.

Nombre d'enfants de 24 ans et moins vivant dans une famille monoparentale et répartition de ces enfants selon le sexe du parent, Canada, 1941 à 2011
Description du graphique 3
Nombre d'enfants de 24 ans et moins vivant dans une famille monoparentale et répartition de ces enfants selon le sexe du parent, Canada, 1941 à 2011
Sommaire de tableau
Le tableau identifie les décennies de 1931 à 2011 en tant que rangées, et modes de vie: Familles monoparentales composées de parents seuls de sexe masculin (nombre d'enfants, pourcentage) et Familles monoparentales composées de parents seuls de sexe féminin (nombre d'enfants, pourcentage) en tant que colonnes.
Année Familles monoparentales composées de parents seuls de sexe masculin Familles monoparentales composées de parents seuls de sexe féminin
nombre d'enfants pourcentage nombre d'enfants pourcentage
1941 125 977 28,1 321 942 71,9
1951 99 795 22,5 343 739 77,5
1961 108 880 21,9 388 857 78,1
1971 185 956 21,9 664 128 78,1
1981 175 245 16,7 873 080 83,3
1991 206 140 16,6 1 033 815 83,4
2001 291 210 17,7 1 352 800 82,3
2011 381 860 20,1 1 515 440 79,9

Définitions

Famille de recensement : Une famille de recensement est composée d'un couple marié ou en union libre, avec ou sans enfants, ou d'un parent seul vivant avec au moins un enfant dans le même logement. Les couples peuvent être de sexe opposé ou de même sexe.

Références

Bohnert, N., A. Milan et H. Lathe. 2014. Une diversité qui perdure : le mode de vie des enfants au Canada selon les recensements des 100 dernières années. Documents démographiques. Produit no 91F0015M au catalogue de Statistique Canada, no 11.

Bohnert, N., A. Milan and H. Lathe. 2014. Le mode de vie des enfants au Canada : un siècle de transformation. Regards sur la société canadienne. Produit no 75-006-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada.

Milan, A. 2000. Les familles : 100 ans de continuité et de changement. Tendances sociales canadiennes. Produit no 11-008-X au catalogue de Statistique Canada.

Statistique Canada. 2011. Cinquante ans de familles au Canada : 1961 à 2011. Familles, ménages et état matrimonial, le Recensement de la population de 2011. Recensement en bref. Produit no 98-312-X2011003 au catalogue.

Statistique Canada. 2012. Portrait des familles et situation des particuliers dans les ménages au Canada. Familles, ménages et état matrimonial, Le Recensement de la population de 2011. Document analytique. Produit no 98-312-X2011001 au catalogue.

Personnes-ressources

Pour en savoir davantage sur les concepts, les méthodes et la qualité des données de la présente publication, communiquez avec les Services d'information à la clientèle au 613-951-9023 ou composez sans frais le 1-800-387-2231, ou encore, écrivez à l'adresse demographie@statcan.gc.ca.

Date de modification :