Education Indicators in Canada: Fact Sheets

Warning View the most recent version.

Archived information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please "contact-us" to request a format other than those available.

Doctoral Students and University Teaching Staff

February 2011

A recent estimate of the "upper secondary," or high school, graduation rate in Canada (released in an international context) indicates a higher rate for females (81%) than for males (73%).1 A similar, yet narrower, gender gap is also seen among those who do not obtain a high school diploma; for example, a recent study of young people aged 20 to 24 reported that, in 2009/2010, dropout rates were lower for young women (6.6%) than for young men (10.3%).2 This type of female–male pattern continues as individuals move on to postsecondary education. According to recent data on college and university enrolments in Canada, women accounted for over half of all college enrolments (55%) in 2006/2007, as well as over half of all university enrolments in undergraduate (58%) and master's (56%) programs in 2008/2009. At the doctoral level, however, the gender difference is reversed, with women accounting for less than half (47%) of students enrolled. Although the proportion of women earning doctorates has risen steadily over the last couple of decades, women accounted for less than half (44%) of all doctoral degrees granted in 2008.

This fact sheet presents a brief overview of the number of students who enroll in and complete doctoral programs at Canadian universities, focusing on the female–male patterns and changes in those patterns over time. As many of the individuals who earn doctorates move into teaching positions at universities, it also looks at the changes in the representation of males and females among university faculty. As some fields of study—or fields of instruction—may be either male- or female-dominated, differences between the sexes are also considered by discipline.

Enrolments in doctoral programs

In the 1993/1994 academic year, 26,475 individuals were enrolled in doctoral programs at Canadian universities. With an enrolment count of 16,500, men accounted for 62% of these students, and 9,972 women represented the other 38%.

Recent trends reveal that the number of enrolments for doctoral programs rose overall for both men and women between 1993/1994 and 2008/2009; however, the proportion of male enrollees declined throughout the period as the proportion of females continued to rise (Chart 1). By the end of the 15 years, the number of women enrolled in doctoral programs had more than doubled, and women accounted for 47% of the 42,801 total enrolments. Men still accounted for over half of all enrolments with 22,764, but the 38% increase in their enrolments between 1993/1994 and 2008/2009 was far below the percentage change seen for women.

Chart 1  Proportions of men and women enrolled in doctoral programs, Canada, 1993/1994 to 2008/2009Chart 1 Proportions of men and women enrolled in doctoral programs, Canada, 1993/1994 to 2008/2009

Earned doctorates

In 2008, 5,421 individuals were granted doctorates by Canadian universities, a 40% rise compared with five years earlier, when the figure was 3,864 (also seen in PCEIP Table D.2.3). Ten years earlier, in 1998, a similar number (3,978) of doctorates was awarded, while in 1993, 3,357 students graduated with a doctoral degree. Between 1993 and 2008, the number of doctorates awarded increased from year to year, with an overall increase of 61% over the 15-year period.

The difference between the sexes was quite striking at the beginning of the 1990s, when men represented over two-thirds of doctoral graduates (67%) (Chart 2). By the end of that decade, however, the proportion of women with earned doctorates had moved up to about 40%. By 2008, although women still accounted for less than half (44%) of all graduates from doctoral programs, the gender gap had narrowed considerably compared with 1993.

Chart 2 Proportions of men and women with earned doctorates, Canada, 1993 to 2008 Chart 2 Proportions of men and women with earned doctorates, Canada, 1993 to 2008

University faculty

According to data from Statistics Canada's Survey of Earned Doctorates, which interviewed all graduates who had completed a doctoral degree in Canada in 2007/2008, 33% of those who reported having "firm plans after graduation" planned to pursue postdoctoral studies, 12% expected to pursue "other studies/activities" and 55% planned to work, with more than two-fifths (41%) of this last group planning to head to postsecondary institutions to do so.3 Important differences are seen between the sexes: half of the women were planning to work at a university or college, while only one-third of the men were planning to do so.

Information on those who become full-time faculty members at Canadian degree-granting institutions is captured by the University and College Academic Staff Survey (UCASS). The latest data from UCASS, for the 2008/2009 academic year, show that, among teaching staff whose "highest earned degree" was a doctorate, the figures and trends—particularly the gender differences—echo those seen for enrolments in, and graduations from, doctoral programs.

The time-series data available through UCASS allow trends to be observed for the 30 years between 1978/1979 and 2008/2009. The difference in the 1978/1979 and 2008/2009 counts for both sexes reveals an increase of about 15,000 full-time faculty members (all ranks) with doctorates. When the sexes are examined separately, however, the increases seen for women definitely outpace those seen among their male counterparts. At the beginning of the period, 90% of these faculty members were male (Chart 3). By 2008/2009, however, this proportion had dropped to 67%. Overall, the number of male university faculty increased by 5,650 over the period. This stands in sharp contrast to women, who saw their numbers increase from 1,816 in 1978/1979 to 11,068 in 2008/2009. In 2008/2009, women accounted for one-third (33%) of all full-time university teaching staff with doctorates.

Chart 3 Proportions of men and women among full-time university teaching staff (all ranks) with doctorates, Canada, 1978/1979, 1983/1984, 1988/1989 and 1993/1994 to 2008/2009Chart 3 Proportions of men and women among full-time university teaching staff (all ranks) with doctorates, Canada, 1978/1979, 1983/1984, 1988/1989 and 1993/1994 to 2008/2009

Gender differences by discipline

It is not surprising that an examination of fields of study among doctoral graduates and fields of instruction among university teaching staff show parallel gender differences by discipline. There have been some shifts over the years, however, as the numbers of women have begun to rise in traditionally male-dominated areas.

In 2008, the proportions of male and female doctoral graduates were fairly similar in business, management and public administration, as well as in agriculture, natural resources and conservation (Chart 4).4 The representation of women was stronger in social and behavioural sciences, and law (which includes psychology), and in the health, parks, recreation and fitness domain (which includes health professions). Education continued to be female-dominated, with women accounting for approximately two-thirds (67%) of the doctoral graduates in this field of study. The numbers of male enrolments, and thus graduations, in education have both declined since the beginning of the 1990s.

Chart 4 Proportions of men and women among doctoral graduates, by selected fields of study, Canada, 2008Chart 4 Proportions of men and women among doctoral graduates, by selected fields of study, Canada, 2008

While their female counterparts may have a much stronger presence in education, male graduates definitely continue to represent the majority of earned doctorates in two fields of study: mathematics, computer and information sciences (75%) and architecture, engineering and related technologies (78%). These proportions, however, mask the increases in the numbers of female enrolments and graduations in both of these fields. Between 1993/1994 and 2008/2009, the enrolment counts for women in the mathematics, computer and information sciences field rose about threefold (255 to 693), as did the counts for architecture, engineering and related technologies (426 to 1,437). The number of women graduating in these two fields also rose substantially over the 15-year period, from 21 to 93 and 45 to 231, respectively.

Notable gains for women

Overall, women have accounted for the majority of students at Canada's universities for several years. While their representation in enrolments and graduations has been stronger in programs at the undergraduate and master's levels, this pattern has not yet been duplicated among doctoral students and graduates. However, the counts of women at the earned doctorate level have been rising steadily in recent years, and women are gradually closing the gap with their male counterparts in both enrolments and earned doctorates (Chart 5). Although there may be clear gender differences in some disciplines, women have also strengthened their presence in doctoral programs in all fields of study and in all fields of instruction among full-time university educators.

Chart 5 Percentage of women enrolled in doctoral programs, with earned doctorates, and among full-time university teaching staff (all ranks) with doctorates, 1993/1994, 1998/1999, 2003/2004 and 2008/2009 Chart 5 Percentage of women enrolled in doctoral programs, with earned doctorates, and among full-time university teaching staff (all ranks) with doctorates, 1993/1994, 1998/1999, 2003/2004 and 2008/2009

For more information on the topics covered in this fact sheet, please see the tables produced for the Education Indicators in Canada: Report of the Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program, as well as the Handbook for the Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program series, both released on December 13, 2010. The tables include information on university enrolments (Table D.1.5 and Table D.1.6), university degrees, diplomas and certificates granted (Table D.2.3 and Table D.2.8), and full-time university teaching staff (Table D.3.1, Table D.3.2.1, Table D.3.2.2, Table D.3.3.1, Table D.3.3.2, Table D.3.4.1 and Table D.3.4.2). The related Handbook entries contain brief explanations of these education indicators, the concepts and definitions, the methodology (including limitations), and the data source(s) used.

A previous fact sheet, entitled Postsecondary Enrolment and Graduation, addresses a related topic, looking at enrolment in and graduation from registered apprenticeship programs (still largely dominated by men) and programs offered at colleges and universities. It also explores differences in the proportions of men and women.5 

The data on university enrolments and graduates used for this fact sheet were provided by Statistics Canada's Postsecondary Student Information System (PSIS).6 PSIS is a national administrative database that collects data on enrolments and graduates from colleges and universities in Canada. PSIS contains comparable annual data beginning with 1992.

The data on university educators were extracted from the University and College Academic Staff System (UCASS),7 an annual survey that collects information on full-time teaching staff at Canadian degree-granting institutions.

End of text box


Notes

  1. For more information, see Indicator A2, "Upper secondary graduation" in Education Indicators in Canada: An International Perspective, 2010 (Statistics Canada, Catalogue no. 81-604-X).
  2. For the complete article, see "Study: Trends in dropout rates and the labour market outcomes of young dropouts" in Education Matters: Insights on Education, Learning and Training in Canada (Statistics Canada, Catalogue no. 81-004; Volume 7, number 4).
  3. These 2007/2008 figures are from the Survey of Earned Doctorates database. For more details, see Doctorate Education in Canada: Findings from the Survey of Earned Doctorates, 2005/2006, a research paper by Darren King, Judy Eisl-Culkin and Louise Desjardins (Statistics Canada Catalogue No. 81-595-M, No. 69), as well as the more recent study, Expectations and Labour Market Outcomes of Doctoral Graduates from Canadian Universities, a research paper by Louise Desjardins and Darren King (Statistics Canada Catalogue No. 81-595-M, No. 89, published January 6, 2011.
  4. These field of study categories reflect the "primary groupings" in the Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP)-2000, which are used by the Postsecondary Student Information System.
  5. See Postsecondary Enrolment and Graduation, Fact Sheet No. 3 (Statistics Canada Catalogue no. 81-599-X), released in October 2009.
  6. See the following CANSIM table series: 477-0013, University enrolments, by registration status, program level, Classification of Instructional Programs, Primary Grouping (CIP_PG) and sex, annual (Number), 1992/1993 to 2008/2009; and 477-0014, University degrees, diplomas and certificates granted, by program level, Classification of Instructional Programs, Primary Grouping (CIP_PG) and sex, annual (Number), 1992 to 2008. (These CANSIM table series can be used to extract data by province.)
  7. See the following CANSIM table series: 477-0018, Number and median age of full-time teaching staff at Canadian universities, by highest earned degree, staff functions, rank, sex, Canada and Provinces, annual. (This CANSIM table series can be used to extract data by province.) Some additional time series data were obtained from the UCASS database.
Date modified:

Indicateurs de l'éducation au Canada : feuillets d'information

Avertissement Consulter la version la plus récente.

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Étudiants au doctorat et personnel enseignant des universités

Février 2011

Selon une estimation récente (diffusée dans le cadre d'une étude internationale), les femmes (81 %) devancent les hommes (73 %) au chapitre du taux d'obtention du diplôme de fin d'études secondaires au Canada1. Un écart semblable entre les sexes, quoique moins marqué, est également observé chez ceux qui n'obtiennent pas de diplôme d'études secondaires. Ainsi, une étude récente visant les jeunes de 20 à 24 ans indique que, en 2009-2010, les taux de décrochage étaient inférieurs chez les jeunes femmes (6,6 %) que chez les jeunes hommes (10,3 %)2. Ce fossé entre les hommes et les femmes se manifeste aussi au niveau postsecondaire. Selon des données récentes sur les inscriptions dans les collèges et universités au Canada, les femmes représentaient plus de la moitié de tout l'effectif étudiant collégial (55 %) en 2006-2007 ainsi que plus de la moitié de tout l'effectif universitaire dans les programmes de premier cycle (58 %) et de maîtrise (56 %) en 2008-2009. Au doctorat, en revanche, la situation inverse est observée : les femmes formaient moins de la moitié (47 %) des étudiants inscrits. Bien que la proportion de femmes titulaires d'un doctorat ait constamment augmenté au cours des dernières décennies, moins de la moitié (44 %) des doctorats décernés en 2008 l'ont été à des femmes.

Le présent feuillet d'information donne un bref aperçu du nombre d'étudiants qui s'inscrivent à des programmes de doctorat dans les universités canadiennes et qui obtiennent leur diplôme, et s'attache tout particulièrement aux écarts entre les sexes et à l'évolution de ces écarts au fil du temps. Dans la mesure où bon nombre de titulaires d'un doctorat se destinent à l'enseignement universitaire, l'analyse porte également sur l'évolution de la représentation des hommes et des femmes dans le corps professoral universitaire. Et comme certains domaines d'études — ou disciplines d'enseignement — peuvent être à prédominance masculine ou féminine, les écarts entre les sexes sont aussi examinés selon la discipline.

Effectif des programmes de doctorat

Au cours de l'année universitaire 1993-1994, 26 475 étudiants étaient inscrits à des programmes de doctorat dans des universités canadiennes. Cet effectif se composait de 16 500 hommes représentant 62 % du total et de 9 972 femmes représentant 38 % du total.

Les tendances récentes indiquent que le nombre d'inscriptions à des programmes de doctorat a globalement augmenté tant chez les hommes que chez les femmes entre 1993-1994 et 2008-2009. Cependant, la proportion d'hommes parmi les étudiants inscrits a diminué tout au long de la période, alors que la proportion de femmes n'a cessé de croître (graphique 1). Au terme de cette période de 15 ans, le nombre de femmes inscrites à des programmes de doctorat avait plus que doublé, les femmes représentant 47 % de l'effectif total de 42 801 étudiants. Même si les 22 764 hommes inscrits formaient toujours plus de la moitié de l'effectif, le nombre d'inscriptions n'a progressé que de 38 % chez les hommes entre 1993-1994 et 2008-2009, ce qui représente un taux de croissance nettement inférieur à celui enregistré par les femmes.

Graphique 1 Proportions d'hommes et de femmes dans l'effectif inscrit aux programmes de doctorat, Canada, 1993-1994 à 2008-2009Graphique 1 Proportions d'hommes et de femmes dans l'effectif inscrit aux programmes de doctorat, Canada, 1993-1994 à 2008-2009

Doctorats acquis

En 2008, 5 421 doctorats ont été décernés par des universités canadiennes, une hausse de 40 % par rapport aux 3 864 doctorats décernés cinq ans plus tôt (voir aussi le tableau D.2.3 dans le PIPCE). Dix ans plus tôt, en 1998, un nombre comparable de doctorats (3 978) avaient été décernés, alors que 3 357 étudiants avaient obtenu un doctorat en 1993. Entre 1993 et 2008, le nombre de doctorats décernés a augmenté chaque année et a progressé de 61 % au cours de la période de 15 ans.

Au début des années 1990, les écarts entre les sexes étaient assez marqués, les hommes représentant plus des deux tiers (67 %) des diplômés du doctorat (graphique 2). À la fin de cette décennie, toutefois, la proportion de femmes titulaires d'un doctorat avait augmenté pour atteindre 40 % environ. En 2008, si les femmes formaient toujours moins de la moitié (44 %) de l'ensemble des diplômés des programmes de doctorat, le fossé entre les sexes s'était considérablement réduit comparativement à 1993.

Graphique 2 Proportions d'hommes et de femmes titulaires de doctorat, Canada, 1993 à 2008Graphique 2 Proportions d'hommes et de femmes titulaires de doctorat, Canada, 1993 à 2008

Corps professoral universitaire

Selon les données de l'Enquête auprès des titulaires d'un doctorat, dans le cadre de laquelle Statistique Canada a interviewé tous les diplômés ayant obtenu un doctorat au Canada en 2007-2008, 33 % des diplômés ayant déclaré avoir « des projets précis après l'obtention du diplôme » avaient l'intention de poursuivre des études postdoctorales, 12 % d'autres activités de formation/d'études et 55 % prévoyaient de travailler alors que plus des deux cinquièmes de ce groupe (41 %) prévoyaient de le faire dans un établissement postsecondaire3. On note des différences importantes au niveau des sexes alors que la moitié des femmes se dirigeaient vers les collèges et universités alors que seulement le tiers des hommes en faisaient autant.

Des renseignements sur les diplômés qui obtiennent des postes d'enseignants à temps plein dans des établissements canadiens conférant des grades universitaires sont recueillis dans le Système d'information sur le personnel d'enseignement dans les universités et les collèges (SPEUC). Les dernières données du SPEUC, portant sur l'année universitaire 2008-2009, montrent que, parmi les enseignants dont « le plus haut grade acquis » est un doctorat, les chiffres et les tendances — et tout particulièrement les écarts entre les sexes — s'apparentent à ceux observés pour les inscriptions à des programmes de doctorat et pour l'obtention de doctorats.

La série chronologique fournie par le SPEUC permet d'observer les tendances sur les 30 années allant de 1978-1979 à 2008-2009. Le nombre d'enseignants à temps plein titulaires d'un doctorat, hommes et femmes (tous les rangs), a augmenté d'environ 15 000 entre 1978-1979 et 2008-2009. L'examen de ces chiffres selon le sexe révèle toutefois que la croissance de l'effectif a été manifestement plus forte chez les femmes que chez leurs homologues masculins. Au début de la période, les hommes formaient 90 % du corps professoral (graphique 3). En 2008-2009, cependant, ils ne représentaient plus que 67 % de l'effectif enseignant. Globalement, le nombre d'enseignants de sexe masculin dans les universités a augmenté de 5 650 au cours de la période, ce qui tranche nettement avec la croissance de l'effectif féminin, le nombre d'enseignantes étant passé de 1 816 en 1978-1979 à 11 068 en 2008-2009. En 2008-2009, les femmes représentaient le tiers (33 %) de l'ensemble des enseignants à temps plein au niveau universitaire possédant un doctorat.

Graphique 3 Proportion d'hommes et de femmes titulaires de doctorats dans le personnel enseignant à temps plein des universités canadiennes (tous les rangs), Canada, 1978-1979, 1983-1984, 1988-1989 et 1993-1994 à 2008-2009Graphique 3 Proportion d'hommes et de femmes titulaires de doctorats dans le personnel enseignant à temps plein des universités canadiennes (tous les rangs), Canada, 1978-1979, 1983-1984, 1988-1989 et 1993-1994 à 2008-2009

Écarts entre les sexes selon la discipline

Il n'est pas surprenant que l'examen des domaines d'études des diplômés du doctorat et des disciplines d'enseignement du corps professoral universitaire révèle des écarts parallèles entre les sexes selon la discipline. On observe toutefois, au fil des ans, certains mouvements qui se manifestent à mesure que s'intensifie la présence des femmes dans les domaines traditionnellement dominés par les hommes.

En 2008, les hommes et les femmes diplômés du doctorat se retrouvaient dans des proportions relativement comparables en commerce, gestion et administration publique, de même qu'en agriculture, ressources naturelles et conservation (graphique 4)4. Les femmes étaient plus nombreuses que les hommes dans les sciences sociales et de comportement, et le droit (ce qui comprend la psychologie), de même que dans le domaine de la santé, des parcs, de la récréation et du conditionnement physique (qui comprend les professions de la santé). L'éducation restait un secteur à prédominance féminine, les femmes représentant les deux tiers environ (67 %) des diplômés des programmes de doctorat dans ce domaine d'études. Le nombre d'hommes inscrits en éducation et, par conséquent, le nombre de diplômés de sexe masculin dans ce domaine ont diminué depuis le début des années 1990.

Si la présence des femmes est beaucoup plus marquée en éducation, les hommes continuent incontestablement de former la majorité des titulaires d'un doctorat dans deux domaines d'études : en mathématiques, informatique et sciences de l'information (75 %), et en architecture, génie et services connexes (78 %). Ces taux masquent toutefois la montée des femmes dans ces deux domaines, qu'il s'agisse du nombre d'inscriptions ou du nombre de diplômées. Entre 1993-1994 et 2008-2009, le nombre de femmes dans les domaines des mathématiques, informatique et sciences de l'information a presque triplé (255 à 693) ainsi qu'en architecture, génie et services connexes (426 à 1 437). Le nombre de femmes ayant obtenu un diplôme dans ces deux champs d'étude a également augmenté de façon significative au cours de cette période de 15 ans, passant de 21 à 93 dans un cas et de 45 à 231 dans l'autre.

Graphique 4 Proportion d'hommes et de femmes parmi les titulaires de doctorats, selon le domaine d'études, Canada, 2008Graphique 4 Proportion d'hommes et de femmes parmi les titulaires de doctorats, selon le domaine d'études, Canada, 2008

Percée sensible des femmes

Globalement, les femmes forment la majorité de l'effectif étudiant des universités canadiennes depuis plusieurs années. Si la présence des femmes, parmi les inscrits et les diplômés, est plus marquée que celle des hommes dans les programmes du premier cycle et de la maîtrise, cette tendance ne se retrouve ni dans l'effectif étudiant des programmes de doctorat ni chez les diplômés du doctorat. Cependant, le nombre de femmes au niveau du doctorat a augmenté constamment ces dernières années, si bien que le fossé séparant les sexes au chapitre des inscriptions et de l'obtention du diplôme au doctorat se réduit graduellement (graphique 5). Bien qu'il reste des écarts sensibles entre les sexes dans certaines disciplines, les femmes ont aussi raffermi leur présence dans les programmes de doctorat de tous les domaines d'études et dans toutes les disciplines d'enseignement du corps professoral universitaire.

Graphique 5 Pourcentage de femmes dans l'effectif des programmes de doctorats, chez les titulaires de doctorats et parmi le personnel enseignant à temps plein des universités (tous les rangs) qui sont titulaires de doctorats, 1993-1994, 1998-1999, 2003-2004 et 2008-2009Graphique 5 Pourcentage de femmes dans l'effectif des programmes de doctorats, chez les titulaires de doctorats et parmi le personnel enseignant à temps plein des universités (tous les rangs) qui sont titulaires de doctorats, 1993-1994, 1998-1999, 2003-2004 et 2008-2009

Pour plus de renseignements sur les sujets abordés dans le présent feuillet d'information, veuillez consulter les tableaux produits pour les Indicateurs de l'éducation au Canada : rapport du programme d'indicateurs pancanadiens de l'éducation ainsi que le Manuel pour le Rapport du Programme d'indicateurs pancanadiens de l'éducation, deux publications diffusées le 13 décembre 2010. Ces tableaux présentent des renseignements sur les effectifs universitaires (tableau D.1.5 et tableau D.1.6), les grades, diplômes et certificats universitaires décernés (tableau D.2.3 et tableau D.2.8), et le personnel enseignant à temps plein dans les universités (tableau D.3.1, tableau D.3.2.1, tableau D.3.2.2, tableau D.3.3.1, tableau D.3.3.2, tableau D.3.4.1 et tableau D.3.4.2). Les entrées connexes du Manuel présentent de brèves explications de ces indicateurs de l'éducation, les concepts et les définitions, la méthodologie (y compris les limites), et les sources de données utilisées.

Un feuillet d'information antérieur, intitulé Effectifs et diplômés au niveau postsecondaire, traite d'un sujet connexe et examine les effectifs et les diplômés des programmes des apprentis inscrits (qui se caractérisent encore par une prédominance masculine très forte) et des programmes collégiaux et universitaires. Il examine aussi les écarts quant à la représentation des hommes et des femmes5.

Les données sur les effectifs et les diplômés des programmes universitaires dont fait état le présent feuillet d'information sont tirées du Système d'information sur les étudiants postsecondaires (SIEP)6 de Statistique Canada. Le SIEP est une base nationale de données administratives, qui rassemble des données sur les effectifs et les diplômés des collèges et des universités du Canada. Le SIEP contient des données annuelles comparables depuis 1992.

Les données sur les enseignants dans les universités sont tirées du Système d'information sur le personnel d'enseignement dans les universités et les collèges (SPEUC)7, lequel est alimenté par une enquête annuelle qui recueille des renseignements sur les enseignants à temps plein dans les établissements canadiens conférant des grades universitaires.

Fin de l'encadré


Notes

  1. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez consulter l'Indicateur A2, « Obtention d'un diplôme de fin d'études secondaires » dans le rapport Indicateurs de l'Éducation au Canada : une perspective internationale, 2010 (Statistique Canada, numéro de catalogue 81-604-X).
  2. Pour le texte complet, voir «Tendances du taux de décrochage et des résultats sur le marché du travail des jeunes décrocheurs » dans Questions d'éducation : le point sur l'éducation, l'apprentissage et la formation au Canada (Statistique Canada, numéro de catalogue 81-004; volume 7, numéro 4).
  3. Les données de 2007-2008 mentionnées ici proviennent de la base de données de l'Enquête auprès des titulaires de doctorats. Pour plus de détails, veuillez voir Les études doctorales au Canada : Résultats de l'Enquête auprès des titulaires d'un doctorat de 2005-2006, un document de recherche écrit par Darren King, Judy Eisl-Culkin et Louise Desjardins (Statistique Canada, numéro de catalogue 81-595-M, numéro 69), ainsi que l'étude récente Espérances et résultats sur le marché du travail des titulaires de doctorat des universités canadiennes, un document de recherche écrit par Darren King et Louise Desjardins (Statistique Canada, numéro de catalogue 81-595-M, numéro 89).
  4. Les domaines d'études correspondent aux « regroupements principaux » de la Classification des programmes d'enseignement (CPE), Canada, 2000, utilisés par le Système d'information sur les étudiants postsecondaires.
  5. Voir Effectifs et diplômés au niveau postsecondaire, feuillet d'information Numéro 3 (Statistique Canada No. 81-599-X au Catalogue), publié en Octobre 2009.
  6. Voir les tableaux CANSIM suivants (SIEP) : 477-0013, Effectifs universitaires, selon le régime d'études, le niveau d'études, la Classification des programmes d'enseignement, regroupement principal (CPE_RP) et le sexe, annuel (nombre), 1992-1993 à 2008-2009; et 477-0014, Grades, diplômes et certificats universitaires décernés, selon le niveau d'études, la Classification des programmes d'enseignement, regroupement principal (CPE_RP) et le sexe, annuel (nombre), 1992 à 2008. Ces tableaux CANSIM peuvent être utilisés pour extraire des données provinciales.
  7. Voir le tableau CANSIM suivant : 477-0018, Nombre et âge médian du personnel enseignant à plein temps dans les universités canadiennes selon le plus haut grade acquis, les fonctions de directions, le rang, le sexe, Canada et les Provinces, annuel. Ce tableau CANSIM peut être utilisé pour extraire des données provinciales.
Date de modification :